Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pacific Island Double Header - MAY 2015

byrner

why would it be??

the NRL/ARLC have absolutely no right selling rights to other countries games....

PNG,TONGA,FIJI,SAMOA & APRLC need to sitdown and come up with a package to sell to a broadcaster

Even when something good is being done you find something to sook about.
The ARLC is best placed to sell the rights.

roughyedspud

and take their cut???

all the ARLC needs to do is OK the games.

the APRLC needs to take charge of selling the game to broadcasters & sponsors..

and fiji,tonga,samoa & png take their cut

thats how it should be done,it doesn't need the ARLC trying manage it,giving it just attention to make sure it doesn't become a bigger event than the anzac test..i reckon this pacific double header could pull 30-40k if played at suncorp or SFS

byrner

and take their cut???

all the ARLC needs to do is OK the games.

the APRLC needs to take charge of selling the game to broadcasters & sponsors..

and fiji,tonga,samoa & png take their cut

thats how it should be done,it doesn't need the ARLC trying manage it,giving it just attention to make sure it doesn't become a bigger event than the anzac test..i reckon this pacific double header could pull 30-40k if played at suncorp or SFS

Who at ths APRLC will negotiate it? Do they even have the resources to do this?

Who do you think has more pull with the networks?

Given it is taking place in Australia, the ARLC should be running it and negotiating it on behalf on the APRLC.
stop being a naysayer and sooking about everything.

franklin2323

Is the Pacific Test played mid year not part of the current TV agreement, which would be the main reason it will be and has been played in Sydney, ie. costs.

Yep. Foxtel broadcasts NSW Cup and U20's Origin. So as the stuff is already there setup they play a test as well. Far from ideal but it's a starting point as is PNG cutters and Fiji NSW Cup teams

franklin2323

Who at ths APRLC will negotiate it? Do they even have the resources to do this?

Who do you think has more pull with the networks?

Given it is taking place in Australia, the ARLC should be running it and negotiating it on behalf on the APRLC.
stop being a naysayer and sooking about everything.

Samoa can't even get funding for tours these days. Tonga v PNG had no TV coverage as a WC qualifier/Full test. So there's no chance of them funding a potential loss of income 1 off test

It will be an NRL effort to drag fans to a failing club they are financially supporting. Great motives as always from the governing body.

franklin2323

It will be an NRL effort to drag fans to a failing club they are financially supporting. Great motives as always from the governing body.

SEQ needs more footy. They will be more likely to show then people where there's plenty of games. The Titans have bigger issues then a test double header can fix

Hang on. So there's less games in seq so this will lead to a bigger crowd?

So that's why titans crowds are so great.

Of course the titans have bigger issues which is why the NRL trying to use (misuse) internationals to promote them is a disgraceful abuse of a power they should not even have.

franklin2323

Hang on. So there's less games in seq so this will lead to a bigger crowd?

So that's why titans crowds are so great.

Of course the titans have bigger issues which is why the NRL trying to use (misuse) internationals to promote them is a disgraceful abuse of a power they should not even have.

So people on GC don't know they exist without this test match? All Stars hasn't helped them yet test match involving 4 neutral countries will?

This isn't my reasoning. Fmd. Ask the NRL why they think they can use internationals to prop up their failing club instead of playing it where it will actually benefit international football and the countries involved. This is what you get when you have an admin that is only interested in money and growing brand NRL. Their motives will only ever be about them, not IRL.

franklin2323

If the ANZAC Test is at Suncorp and they made a deal with the QLD Government for a whole weekend thing. Does it matter? We are getting internationals like we all want. What's the alternative sit back and hope some private investor does it?

paulmac

Well this is great news for me as I live on the GC.I hope they can break the 10000 mark as that's what Penrith were getting otherwise it will be labelled a flop.All they have to do is put extra trains on from Logan to Robina and the NRL should get a healthy attendance.For what its worth the Burleigh Bears got 4000 to the game against the Hunters,So there is a large PNG population.Marcus Bai lives just around the corner from me.

I didn't say anything about a private investor wanting to. I said they would be just as likely to put money into IRL as the NRL would. If you can't comprehend what I'm saying you need to think a little harder.