Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Eels' salary cap doesn't fit, shelling out more than $750,000 for departed

What happened to all the massively backended contracts we used to hear about?
Wonder when they all expired? They would have freed up a stack of cash.
Would there still be any that were signed before Nolan arrived?

We backended Gower's 1-year deal. He gets paid heaps more in August than he did in March. We just did it out of habit apparently.

Joely01

Losing Joseph Paulo is music to my ears. Sio is a good player but replaceable with either Goodall or Vai. I noticed Gower isn't on your list as going. I hope he stays. Allgood and Morgan should be offered to Canberra seeing that Supercoach signed them.

I agree with you that $1 million won't get DCE however with third party sponsorship $1.3 could.

Sio is the best winger at the club.

He should have been resigned by the club before they even thought about Resigning Vai

Joely01

Didn't we re-sign Gower?

They were at final stages of negotiations a week or two ago. The fact there hasn't been an announcement yet is a little bit concerning for mine.
Gower has been a standout this year, and a must for our team moving forward.

In regards to Inu, the dogs are the road block at the moment.

Sio is the best winger at the club.

He should have been resigned by the club before they even thought about Resigning Vai

Toutai was already contracted for next year when he signed the extension and Goodall was already contracted for next year as well. Sio is off contract so he's the one who goes.

Toutai and Goodall would also be on less than Sio, meaning we'll have more to spend on other positions.

Toutai was already contracted for next year when he signed the extension and Goodall was already contracted for next year as well. Sio is off contract so he's the one who goes.

Toutai and Goodall would also be on less than Sio, meaning we'll have more to spend on other positions.

What you are talking about is balance and I totally agree. If Sio goes and we are able to snag a specialist and experienced goalkicking centre like Inu that is a better use of our cap.

Joshuatheeel

Hasn't Goodall been playing centre and going ok? It's hard to say if letting sio go for Vai is the right move until we know exactly what each player is asking. Sio also covers fullback.

I reckon letting Sio is more related to having hunt under contract until 2016 then Vai.

You're convinced we're after Inu?

We are at the right price. My mate is best buddies with a Dogs board member. They are OK for us to take him at his full contract amount. I heard that they took Loko for the full amount but the papers reckon we are paying some which I think is bullshit. Inu is the perfect replacement for Tonga with the added benefit of goalkicking.

emjaycee

They were at final stages of negotiations a week or two ago. The fact there hasn't been an announcement yet is a little bit concerning for mine.
Gower has been a standout this year, and a must for our team moving forward.

In regards to Inu, the dogs are the road block at the moment.

They want us to take over the full contract but we won't budge. If Sio and Paulo are not re-signed we may change our mind.

I am hearing we don't want INU.