Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta The True NRL Soap

Casper The Ghost

Parramatta the true NRL soap
Andrew Webster
The Daily Telegraph
August 16, 2010

RUGBY league is often described as a soap opera,
and the clear Logie winner of the past two seasons
is the Bold And The Beautiful-esque Parramatta Eels.

582721-buzz.jpg

Holiday ... Phil Rothfield. Source: The Daily Telegraph

Once again, they are the talk of the game and for all the wrong reasons as it emerged that Eels boss Paul Osborne held secret talks with Storm assistant coach Stephen Kearney last week.

A ticket led by chairman Roy Spagnolo disposed of the regime of Denis Fitzgerald last season, but it has hardly brought stability to the joint. The club leaks more than the Federal cabinet.

An obvious question: Is Daniel Anderson that bad as a coach?

He achieved the near impossible last season when the Eels made the grand final and were defeated by a team rorting the salary cap. The players respect him, and some approached Osborne privately when the talk started two months ago about him being punted.

Up until that loss to the Roosters, they were flying. An emotional win against the Broncos on Friday night, amid the news of Osborne's approach to Kearney, has kept them in the hunt.

Yet the finger remains firmly on the trigger concerning his future. Osborne says he was working independently of the board in speaking to Kearney, who has been heavily courted by other clubs for three seasons now.

It can be explained as due diligence should Anderson be punted, but it is hardly a vote of confidence in the coach as he attempts another desperate run at the premiership.

Anderson's future has been a source of speculation in his own club since about round six last year and he deserves to operate with some semblance of confidence from those above him that he can do the job.

Who knows if Anderson will have a job next season, but this is the safest bet going around: if he gets the flick, he and the players will be the last to know about it.

TIGERS captain Robbie Farah yesterday accused the media of "stabbing" his team in the back whenever they lose and talking them up when they win.

Let's hope he takes this criticism better, because despite their win over the Panthers, the Wests Tigers were far from purring along in the Battle of the Big Cats at Campbelltown Sportsground.

On that form, they cannot win the premiership. That's not a knifing but a reality.

There is no better side to watch when the Tigers are humming along, yet they struggle to put a game away - just like last weekend against the Bunnies and even yesterday arvo.

Frank Pritchard scores that try with 16 to go, and it was game on in a match the Panthers had no business winning.

They cannot find controlled footy when it's needed and it was never more evident than their first set of six after the break when Farah threw a terrible ball on the last and then five-eighth Benji Marshall produced a grubber kick behind the line for his winger - 35m out from his own line.

While that brand of football is beautiful to watch, it must be giving coach Tim Sheens more than an ice-cream headache. It also won't cut it like it did for the 2005 Tigers.

The highlight

The late-season form of the Canberra Raiders - the little engine of the NRL that can and sometimes does – has been beautiful to watch.

They flattened the Bulldogs on Saturday night after a slow start and are doing their best John Laws impression in keeping their finals dream alive.

Campese (right), Dugan, Shillington, Leahroyd-Lahrs – these are players the Raiders can build a future around.

The lowlight

The chestnut debate about “what happens on the field stays on the field’’ will rage again today after Clinton Toopi’s claim he was bitten by Cowboys forward Scott Bolton.

Toopi went off like a firecracker but did not make an onfield complaint.

The courage

The Sports Editor-at-large who usually fills this page is lying back on a sunbed in Phuket as we speak, and Phillip Ronald Rothfield will no doubt be smiling after his beloved Sharkies beat the Roosters on Friday night.

The effort of coach Shane Flanagan and the players to hang in there deserves much respect.

Poor form

“They just don’t understand the game of rugby league, really,’’ said Bulldogs coach Kevin Moore of the refereeing of the ruck during his side’s loss to the Raiders.

He is not the Lone Ranger. I don’t understand the difference between a flat cut-out pass and a forward one any longer.

I don’t understand why a clear knock-on over the line needs to be looked at six times by the video ref.

I don’t know how a defender puts pressure on a kicker, without touching them in fear of penalty.

Link: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nrl/parramatta-the-true-nrl-soap/story-e6frfgh6-1225905582779

boxhead

Bloody hell, the media are just idiots if they publish this story after our chairman came out and expressly said Anderson would see out his whole contract.....

Your wife says she loves you but has joined a dating site. You sleeping well at night boxhead ? :lol:

barney gumble

Yes but how can you believe our chairman when we have our CEO flying to Melbourne to meet with Stephen Kearney. Hardly a glowing endorsement for the coach and pretty pathetic really. Ando did get us to the GF last year remember, we lost to a mob of blantant cheats.

This whole coaching saga is an appalling mess.

Parra sell papers.

Winning or losing.

It's only the Telegraph running the smear campaign.
Yeah pick up the SMH they are running a smear campain against News ltd's part in the NRL and part ownership of the Broncos, the Tele as a news ltd paper is trying to take the heat of themselves by bagging one of the most supported NRL clubs and saying we are signing this and that player and sacking the coach.
Read the article Phil Gould wrote yesterday for the Sun-Herald? he is spot on with what he says.

TIGERS captain Robbie Farah yesterday accused the media of "stabbing" his team in the back whenever they lose and talking them up when they win.

You should try playing for Parra Robbie.

Nobody cops this worse than the Eels.

sarahk

You should try playing for Parra Robbie.

Nobody cops this worse than the Eels.

That's exactly what came to my mind when i read that quote. The most obvious example is praising Hayne when he touches a ball yet being the first ones to bring him down when we're losing. I Hate the media! Ever since the Hayne debacle i find that i can't bring myself to go on the DT website and any article i read is through this website.

True - but our club is providing all the information they need to run the smear campaign !!

But FP, do you REALLY think it is warranted that an emblem of the Eels is plastered in the Telecrap today with the words "CLUB IN CRISIS" beneath it? FMD.

Fair dinkum, a club in crisis? :roll: I'd be more than happy for ANYBODY to tell me what the crisis is that we are supposed to be in.

I can't believe so many people here are falling for the Telecraps campaign.

But FP, do you REALLY think it is warranted that an emblem of the Eels is plastered in the Telecrap today with the words "CLUB IN CRISIS" beneath it? FMD.

Fair dinkum, a club in crisis? :roll: I'd be more than happy for ANYBODY to tell me what the crisis is that we are supposed to be in.

You'd be surprised how many people out there read it and believe it.

As FP alluded to, why are we supplying them with amo for them to use against us ? :crazy:

You'd be surprised how many people out there read it and believe it.

As FP alluded to, why are we supplying them with amo for them to use against us ? :crazy:

Do you call this quote from Spagnolo supplying them with ammo?

Parramatta chairman Roy Spagnolo vehemently denied the suggestion Anderson could be axed because he was employed by Fitzgerald.

"Not at all, never," Spagnolo said.

"That is small-minded. That isn't our position at all."

Asked would Anderson be in charge of Parramatta next season, Spagnolo said: "Yep. It's never been in question from the board's point of view. I have just finished talking to Daniel. It was just due diligence [approaching Kearney]. There was no directive from the board."

But Spagnolo would not be drawn on Anderson's future at the club beyond next season, saying: "At the end of the season, we will review all football operations."
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nr...-1225905571310

Nevermind that he was quoted as saying this, which was conveniently hidden in the middle of a large article, they have still managed a double page spread of "The Eels in Crisis".

Shouldn't the headline have been "Eels Chairman Quashes Coaching Rumours"?

But you see, that doesn't sell papers, so they jump on speculation instead and pad their stories out with crap, and then Joe Public reads it and believes it and then gets on here and starts getting ranting and raving.

FMD. It's all just a load of sh*t, and people are falling for it.
Same as the Hayne debacle. A load of sh*t.

Do you call this quote from Spagnolo supplying them with ammo?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nr...-1225905571310

Nevermind that he was quoted as saying this, which was conveniently hidden in the middle of a large article, they have still managed a double page spread of "The Eels in Crisis".

Shouldn't the headline have been "Eels Chairman Quashes Coaching Rumours"?

But you see, that doesn't sell papers, so they jump on speculation instead and pad their stories out with crap, and then Joe Public reads it and believes it and then gets on here and starts getting ranting and raving.

FMD. It's all just a load of sh*t, and people are falling for it.
Same as the Hayne debacle. A load of sh*t.

I think you're getting direct quotes from the CEO or Chairman confused with board room leaks Suity.

forward pass

i don't read that sh*tty paper. That headline is a joke and it is ludicrous that any real Eels supporter would take that seriously.

BUT - my point still stands. Think about it.
Eels appoint Ando as coach. 12 months later the news comes out that two members of the board want him gone.
Ando has a dig at Haynes performace. Ozzie tells media that there will be a meeting to clear things up.
Eels chase Quade Cooper. Hindy comes out and says he doesn't think it is the right player to chase.
Ozzie goes to Melbourne to speak to Kearney. He must have posted his itinerary to the DT.
News comes out about Ozzies meeting. Hayne says he wont be happy if Ando gets the chop.
Pricey (a FC board member) publicly bags the coach and players and says the club wont let former players near the joint - even though Sterlo is doing some work and Bert is coaching our Reserves.
Cayless comes out and bags the board for making so many things public.

I agree Suit, the DT are being sensationalist, but still our club has more leaks than the Titanic - and too many journos are on our players and boards speed dial!

True - but our club is providing all the information they need to run the smear campaign !!

I think you're getting direct quotes from the CEO or Chairman confused with board room leaks Suity.

No I'm not. Most of the info that FP states below are direct quotes.

i don't read that sh*tty paper. That headline is a joke and it is ludicrous that any real Eels supporter would take that seriously.

BUT - my point still stands. Think about it.
Eels appoint Ando as coach. 12 months later the news comes out that two members of the board want him gone.
Ando has a dig at Haynes performace. Ozzie tells media that there will be a meeting to clear things up.
Eels chase Quade Cooper. Hindy comes out and says he doesn't think it is the right player to chase.
Ozzie goes to Melbourne to speak to Kearney. He must have posted his itinerary to the DT.
News comes out about Ozzies meeting. Hayne says he wont be happy if Ando gets the chop.
Pricey (a FC board member) publicly bags the coach and players and says the club wont let former players near the joint - even though Sterlo is doing some work and Bert is coaching our Reserves.
Cayless comes out and bags the board for making so many things public.

I agree Suit, the DT are being sensationalist, but still our club has more leaks than the Titanic - and too many journos are on our players and boards speed dial!

I agree, it's about time they all stfu, but fair dinkum, A CLUB IN CRISIS??

The sooner people around here stop posting these crap bullsh*t articles, the sooner the Telecrap doesn't get what they what, which is what we are all doing now.

mrpwnd

Remember not too long ago, when the DT thought Hayne was going to cancel his contract and leave us because of Ando's comments? Dead set, some of the nutters that feed on that crap needed Hayne coming out of origin to tell everyone nothing's wrong...

There are 2 reasons I skim through these sorts of crapticles:
1. It's amusing what level of exaggeration they'll use for something as small as a blood cell.
2. Sometimes i'm chucking a big crap and i'm bored...So I need a laugh, therefore I read the sports section.