Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Passionate Fans

Clevo

For all the hype about how fast and superior the NRL is to the ESL one thing we certainly lack are fans who stand and sing with passion.

It's so enjoyable to watch the Sl on fox and hear the passion of the fans.

So UK fans...if you are ever in Sydney and miss the passion that ony beer, standing and singing can bring to a footy game don;t pass up the opportunity to join with The Burrow.

www.theburrow.com.au/

We borrow heavily from the UK supporter styles and we're about the only NRL supporter group that can trot out a huge selection of tunes familiar to followers of UK sports.

I'll be in the UK late next year at some stage an I want to watch a few games. Who has the best singing fans??

deluded pom?

Clevo said:
For all the hype about how fast and superior the NRL is to the ESL one thing we certainly lack are fans who stand and sing with passion.

So UK fans...if you are ever in Sydney and miss the passion that ony beer, standing and singing can bring to a footy game don;t pass up the opportunity to join with The Burrow.

www.theburrow.com.au/

We borrow heavily from the UK supporter styles and we're about the only NRL supporter group that can trot out a huge selection of tunes familiar to followers of UK sports.

I'll be in the UK late next year at some stage an I want to watch a few games. Who has the best singing fans??

Hull F.C. definitely . Probably more so at away games than at home . However if you get the chance get to the KC stadium . It`s the finest stadium outside the soccer Premiership in England .

Fairleigh Good!

deluded pom? said:
Clevo said:

www.theburrow.com.au/

Hull F.C. definitely . Probably more so at away games than at home . However if you get the chance get to the KC stadium . It`s the finest stadium outside the soccer Premiership in England .

Don't talk rubbish!

Hull have a decent set of fans, topped off with the cream of the ar@ehole brigade which always leads to a atmosphere of one kind or another. The KC is an amazing place, superb facilities and a good atmosphere. The fans have, like Saints at times, been given a bad press which puts a lot of people off going to Hull but take it from me they are lovely really!

Hull are a play off team in the fan stakes I think.

Its like this:

Wigan - Silent at home AND away, unless they are winning by a clear 20 or so in the last minute they MAY sing their only song, "Wiiiiiiiigan, Wiiiiiiiigan....."

Bradford - They are so dumb they have to be told to sing by the PA! They opitomise the 'sing when you're told to' approach and have some really gay co-ordinated clapping routines.

Warrington - Great fans on the hole, but tend to get a bit ar@y when Saints get past the 50 mark. And whoever the guy is with the drum needs to be put down. They can call themselves the barmy army and not get laughed at, they are decent and very vocal fans. I hope it continues to the Tesco Car Park Stadium with them.

Saints - Superb away support, always vocal and have unquestionably the finest sense of humour in the game of chanting. Some classics have been heard blarring from the TV during the SKY coverage when we are on. At home the atmosphere is electric for the big matches and any close games. However games against teams with no away support like Fax, Wakey, Hudds etc are absolutely silent. There is a tendancy to turn on the players at times too, but even that is noisy.

Cas - Great support at home when they are playing well. Fairly good travelling support too. A good effort.

Wakefield - They haven't got enough supporters to get a chant going. When we visit their ground we stand in the corner near the Costa Del Wakefield and play 'spot the Wakey fan'. I don't think I've ever seen a Wakey fan at Knowsley Road. You can't blame them either, anyone that watches them is a true die-hard and should be congratulated!

Leeds - Great support from the South standers at home, and always good travelling support. Can be a little whinging at times, but they have had plenty of success against Saints this last season so they were more falling about the floor laughing than chanting!

Widnes - Very vocal home support, great supporters away too. They seem to hate just about everyone too, which helps the atmosphere simmer along nicely. I have had a few great experiences at Widnes and have always sat in the home fans stand and have never had problems.

Huddersfield - Don't travel at all well. Those who bother to turn up at home are alright, but they don't seem to have enough regulars to get any meaningful chants going. They are always outnumbered at home by Saints anyway.

Hull - A favourite of mine. They have a reputation for being horrible little buggers but that isn't true from my own experiences. Saints fans also get some very bad press so I think there seems to be an understanding between the two sets of fans, both fiercely passionate for their club. And you are right, the KC should be put in a museum and preserved, its that good. Awesome away support too given the distances involved.

London - Don't travel on the whole for obvious reasons, but are getting a good hardcore of 2,000 or so at home. There are some very knowledgable fans following London, and I genuinely hope they find the right formula eventually.

Clevo

Well.... because we are coming last it's been hard to get the fans along especially the UK style standing and singing.

We're the only bunch that do it and there ain;t that nmany of us. 40-80 at home games and even less at away games. Still on a good day we still manage to out sing:

The Dragon Army who are large in numbers but have no songs. Like to sit and clap. They sound good when they get going but need to get it together with songs.

Chook Pen...as above but worse.

Bulldog Army.... noisy and vocal...no songs... drummer and cow bell. Large numbers.

The other teams have nothing really organised but the idea of singing is catching on.

If we start getting competitive we should grow and start rivalling the UK RL supporters.

In-goal

If chanting starts in Australia i'll go heeeeee.

I don't refer to that Union rubbish as a chant either.

Clevo

Well it has started..... we have quite a few originals and quite a few we pinched from UK Football (but changed the words).

And we don;t do that ozzie ozzie ozzie-oi oi oi crappy one either. :)

Shed Lad

I cant believe nobody has commented on how loud Salford fans are at home. 'The Shed' as it is known, has got to be one of the loudest stands in Super League. In 2002, our season we were relegated Phil Clarke said we are the loudest set of Super League fans especially for our numbers. We only get about 2500 in 'The Shed', where as Hull can get upto 9000 in a stand.

Next time Salford are on Fox TV, which should be our first game of the season at home v Widnes listen out.

deluded pom?

Shed Lad said:
I cant believe nobody has commented on how loud Salford fans are at home. 'The Shed' as it is known, has got to be one of the loudest stands in Super League. In 2002, our season we were relegated Phil Clarke said we are the loudest set of Super League fans especially for our numbers. We only get about 2500 in 'The Shed', where as Hull can get upto 9000 in a stand.

Next time Salford are on Fox TV, which should be our first game of the season at home v Widnes listen out.

There isn`t room for 2500 Salford fans in the Shed when Hull are in town .

ouwet

I really hope Souths go good in the 2004 season... THey have the potential too get the biggest crowds easily!!! The Bulldogs Army would have too be the biggest at the moment for home & Away!

mono_mal

clevo mate i suggest you have a look at the Sydney Green Brigade the next time the Raiders play your mob in Sydney.
we have struggled for numbers over the years though this year had massive turnouts for most Sydney games due to recent success. we wouldve had around 100 for our game against you this year and were fairly vocal in bay 23.
the raiders are very appreciative of our support and you may remember them joining us after the match on the fence.
we've been doing the whole singing thing for a number of years and have gained a lot of respect amongst many nrl supporter groups.
i've heard and seen The Burrow a number of times though you guys have a lot of improving to do. i think our mob as well as the EWO could easily outsing you.
i agree with most of your reviews of the armies though.
the blue and gold army sing a bit though most of the time its more chants like the dragons and bulldogs armies.
bulldogs army though would be the only one that could boast a 'medditeranean' vibe with the lebo drums.
the storm are a loud bunch although i suppose you guys wouldnt have noticed them as they really only travelled during the finals. ;-)
the beer squad out at penrith have started singing this year though are still fairly quiet and the eagles rockers also occasionaly break into song.
the tigers have attempted to start a army this year though its still very much in the infancy stage.
warriors oz army are deafening though the only chant that goes up is 'warriors' and the fans only seem to come out when the freebies are on.
and the hill mob at newtown are a unique bunch. they would have to be the only supporter group actively using acoustic guitars and break into a reworked version of paul mc cartneys 'jets' after every try.

unfortunately when a few of your guys came out to Guildford to watch Souths Juniors in the Jim Beam Cup the Owls Nest could not be in attendance.
we are the only singing mob in the Jim Beam Cup and cannot be shut up. we are small in numbers though large in voice (and drum!) and the size of the grounds means a good atmosphere wherever we turned up.
doesnt seem Guildford will be going around again this year though so it looks like the end of the owls nest.

cheers mate
Ben
Sydney Green Brigade - Co-ordinator
The Owls Nest

MEE

The lack of noise that the Dragon and Bulldog army's make for there size is embarrasing. A lot of Australian grounds just aren't atmosphere friendly. They tend to be very open and spread out.

As it stands there is more atmosphere on Mars than any NRL ground.

Clevo

Mono Mal

Yeah we have heaps of improving to do... won;t deny that. We need to win games and win those Souths fans that sit in the periphery of The Burrow but for some reason don;t make the leap on over. Standing and singing is a bit too unusual for many supporters and it's harder to sing when you are coming last. But considering that, we have tried to move on from the rabble mentality.

We've done quite well in the off season by approaching the club. They have given discounted season tickets for Bay 38 and also given us the top 10 rows as a recognised standing and singing areas. So this year we'll have more opportunities to recruite and get better organised and no more racing to Aussie stadium to secure our spot

The Bulldog army is huge...but they leave games 20 minutes early if it ain;t going their way. They look awesome.

The strom were a surprise on their homeground. We did go there about 40 of us travelled down. We sang throughout the game and enjoyed the piss up afterwards with some of their crazy fans. We had a Ball at the crickerters Arms hotel when a few AFL supporters came in...we had turns in a 3 way sing fest.

The tigers unfortunately have issues with merged supporters but I have spoken with Andrew. At our next meet up I will push him more.

I will keep an eye and ear out for the Sydney Green Brigade. All in all I feel things are improving and getting that atmosphere happening at games will be of benefit to the clubs and the NRL.

Cheers for that.

my eagle eye.... yeah you are right.... after going to the cricket last sunday for the first time us NRL fans need to step up.

SaintKnightUK

Although not a part of it, the Funbus (Saints) are quality to stand near on away trips!! Win or lose they will sing their hearts out for the lads.True fans.

MEE

Keep up the good work though Clevo and mono mal. I suspect it would be difficult to get a singing group together as us Aussies are a bit reserved when it comes to this. But with persistence we'll have a good core of singing fans in a couple of years from organisations such as the burrow and sydney green brigade.

I remember Northern Spirit games at North Sydney Oval in the late 90's when they had a singing group of somewhere around 300 to 400 fans in the Bob Stand.

Shed Lad

deluded pom? said:

It's usually half and half. And I think you will agree those games offer one of the best atmospheres in the whole of the Super League season.

Clevo

my eagle eye said:
Keep up the good work though Clevo and mono mal. I suspect it would be difficult to get a singing group together as us Aussies are a bit reserved when it comes to this. But with persistence we'll have a good core of singing fans in a couple of years from organisations such as the burrow and sydney green brigade.

I remember Northern Spirit games at North Sydney Oval in the late 90's when they had a singing group of somewhere around 300 to 400 fans in the Bob Stand.

It's amazing what a few beers do. :)

True...we are in no big rush. Souths have to become competitive and The burrow need to establish the basics like our own space, club and player liason and most importantly build up the comraderie and fun aspects.

Organised cheering and singing is definitely more fun than sitting there and abusing the ref. If one is going to do that it might as well be done with a cheeky song or two. The Aussies have the larrikan culture and that's what singing and chanting attracts.

deluded pom?

Shed Lad said:
deluded pom? said:

It's usually half and half. And I think you will agree those games offer one of the best atmospheres in the whole of the Super League season.

Agreed . I enjoy going to the Willows . Best clubhouse in the league and plenty of banter between fans but very little if any trouble .

mono_mal

clevo,
i did notice you guys this year and congratulate you guys on what your doing.
the arrangement with souths in regards to seating should help immensely as it did the chook pen who grew rapidly. though a problem with the army getting bigger is it becomes harder to sing hence many of the larger armies sticking to chants.
how do you guys go in regards to flags and banners?
you'll find these will often attract supporters as will calculator rolls, newspaper.... basically whatever can get peoples attention.
flares also work wonders though make sure they are done safely and they are well hidden to not be found by ground security on entry into the ground. if they are found you could well find yourself on the nrl black list.
a drum could also do wonders and have been allowed entry into aussie stadium this year. alternatively you could purchase a cow bell which whilst loud do not seem to be banned at most grounds. trumpets may also be a goer though the problem being is finding someone who can play one. if not cheap horns do a decent job. whistles are now a no go zone and seem to have been banned by the nrl.
i hope some of that helped you out and good luck to you and the Burrow in the coming year.
cheers
Ben
Sydney Green Brigade