Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pay to watch Junior Football?

Fin077

Have a quiet Sunday to myself today, so thought I'd go and watch some junior footy down at the local park.

I arrived at the ground and some woman tried to charge me to get in and watch boys play football.

Now, I'm not "tight" at all (hate to know the amount of $$ I've wasted on following the Sharks the past 25 years :lol: ;-) ), but to be me it's absurd to have to pay to watch a bunch of amateurs play football.

I must admit, it's been a while since I've been to a junior game, so thought I'd ask the question - Is it common place these days to have to pay to go down the local park and watch some "grass roots" football?

Mighty Tiger

The only thing I have ever had to pay for at junior games would be the food - Junior rep games is another matter but even then you can usually get into some of the rep gams without having to pay a cent

brook

junior as in kids or junior as in flegg/pl/jb cup?

$5 is about usual for the latter but I couldn't imagine having to pay to see the real juniors

yappy

Pretty common. Junior league clubs have costs too mate, and they don't get grants from the NRL or have leagues clubs backing them. Some run raffles, some make the dough from the canteen, some charge entry, some do all three. Just be proud of yourself for doing your bit to keep the club alive and giving kids a chance to play the game.

mightydragon

Junior reps fair enough but not for normal junior club games. Registration and local sponsorship coupled with canteen and raffles should cover most the costs.

Fin077

My thinking was along the lines of yours mightydragon.

I understand junior clubs have costs, but thought rego fees and canteen takings etc. covered them. These weren't rep sides... Just regualr junior club games.

yakstorm

It all depends on the area your in whether there is ground entry or not. Most junior setups in Sydney have no entry fee, however if you head north to Queensland its acctually quite common.

Areas like Townsville, all the junior games for the district are played at one venue and everyone pays entry, including the players. Stricter rules on items such as alcohol which traditionally earnt many clubs canteens their money in the past, have lead to some areas having no choice but to bring it in.

From being involved in Junior RL, I can understand why some areas do it, but at the same time it does make it difficult to draw any say 'casual' fans who otherwise may turn up on a semi-regular basis if the venue was free, and possibly contribute more via the canteen or so on.

Bluebag

Consider the following, average rego isn $60 which gets kids a jersey, shorts socks and insurance, this does not even come close to covering these costs. there is also public liability, ground hire and lights for training in many cases. So if a few dollars to help out junior football is too much for you dont go. In open grounds clubs dont get as much revenue as people take there own food and drink.

2 True Blues

Bluebag said:
Consider the following, average rego isn $60 which gets kids a jersey, shorts socks and insurance, this does not even come close to covering these costs. there is also public liability, ground hire and lights for training in many cases. So if a few dollars to help out junior football is too much for you dont go. In open grounds clubs dont get as much revenue as people take there own food and drink.

Good thing in that case the supporters do contribute though BB, how about you repay them by answering the odd question on the Jets forum for a fricken change. Or does that cost extra !!!!!????:crazy: :x

2 True Blues

Or it too much to ask to have the odd question actually answered once in a million from us meager supporters who so passionately fork out in support of our beloved team that we have followed all of our lives ??????. I do understand what you guys do for the club Re sponsors ETC and that you have built it up from almost nothing, but sometimes the utter egotism sharts me off.

You have built it, but if they dont come, how can it survive, and I think you more than often forget that factor.......

Jeffles

2 True Blues said:
how about you repay them by answering the odd question on the Jets forum for a fricken change. Or does that cost extra !!!!!????:crazy: :x

2 True Blues said:
Or it too much to ask to have the odd question actually answered once in a million from us meager supporters who so passionately fork out in support of our beloved team that we have followed all of our lives ??????. I do understand what you guys do for the club Re sponsors ETC and that you have built it up from almost nothing, but sometimes the utter egotism sharts me off.

You have built it, but if they dont come, how can it survive, and I think you more than often forget that factor.......

The LU Newtown Jets forum is not an official Newtown Jets forum. It is an unofficial meeting place for fans. Some fans are better connected than others but one should not excpect answers all the time from there for various reasons.

These reasons can include the fact that people aren't always connected to the internet. More likely, it is the fact that the club's operations are so big that people with some connections could not possibly tell what is happening in another department. I don't go to training and BB doesn't always go so finding out about injuries and suspensions can be difficult. On match days, we are too busy packing up to find out about the injuries and rehab. Plus, when the coach puts the suide in Big League, nothing is mentioned about whether a change was for form, injury or suspension.

To inquire about suspended players or players facing charges, it would probably be better to call the NSWRL. For scores and results, the website is updated on Mondays as is the recorded message on the club infoline (1300 36 36 90). Alternatively, the NSWRl website is now better updated AND the Daily Telegraph (and possibly the Herald) now publish scores and ladders for PL, JBC and Flegg. For injuries, it will be difficult to find out. Sometimes a player is named in the hope that they will be fit. Sometimes players are injurd after they have been named etc. Just bear with us.

2 True Blues

Point taken, but when people ask is such and such playing, Is it true that such and such has been released by the club, ETC, ETC and there is absolutely no reply what so ever, it is sometimes frustrating. What you have posted above would have been appreciated as a reply to those constant questions on the Jets forum, and would have been immediately understood. Instead in past seasons there has been merely unreplied silence in most previous instances.

Your above thread is understood, and appreciated, and now I know why. Simple and I thank you for it. It was really that easy.

As far as rumors go, I don't know WTF that is supposed to mean, as have NEVER had anything to do with any so called RUMOR threads. Any questions I have wanted answered previously have been basic player questions. Having said that. I appreciate your reply Jeffles, and am not surprised by the reply from BB, which as usual told me consistanly absolutely NOTHING......