Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Peachey in Doubt for Next Year

From NRL site:

Anti-tampering deadline ends

30 June 2004

Jason Ryles and Darren Lockyer aren't going anywhere, but a host of the National Rugby League's brightest youngsters were ready to test their value on the open market when the NRL's anti-tampering deadline expired at midnight tonight.

Clubs moved quickly to secure their off-contract stars before tomorrow's anticipated signing frenzy begins, with Dragons prop Ryles, Roosters centre Ryan Cross and Warriors five-eighth Lance Hohaia all re-signing with their clubs today.

Lockyer, the biggest name yet to re-sign for 2005, is expected to ink a deal to remain with the Broncos in the next few days.

Other players set to re-sign with their clubs in the near future are Dragons fullback Ben Hornby, Broncos youngsters Karmichael Hunt and Brett Seymour and Bulldogs skipper Steve Price.

But the likes of Timana Tahu, Hazem El Masri, Joel Monaghan, Johnathan Thurston, Amos Roberts, Glenn Morrison and Ruben Wiki were set to explore their options.

Five clubs are believed to be in the hunt for Canberra centre Monaghan, with his manager Jim Banaghan confirming he had already had talks with the Roosters and Wests Tigers, and was still to meet the Raiders, Manly and Parramatta.

Panthers utility Roberts, the NRL's leading tryscorer this season with 16 four-pointers, and unwanted by the Dragons at the start of the year, is now one of the hottest properties in the game.

"There are many, many clubs who are interested," his manager Darryl Mather said today.

"The Panthers are working feverishly today to try and get it done before midnight, but if nothing is done I'll be talking to other clubs tomorrow."

Pointscoring machine El Masri was not only considering his future with the Bulldogs, but also in rugby league, following a reported offer from the French Rugby Federation.

"His preference is to stay in rugby league and in Australia," his manager Adam Houda said today.

"He feels he has some unfinished business. He wants to win a competition and wants to play for NSW.

"The money on offer overseas is very tempting, though."

His teammate Thurston, who has been sidelined since the Bulldogs' round five clash against Manly with a knee injury, was waiting to hear back from the club after rejecting the club's latest offer.

His manager Sam Ayoub said his client and the Bulldogs were "still a fair way apart", with a number of clubs waiting in the wings should nothing be signed by tonight's deadline.

Ryles, who took a pay cut to stay with St George Illawarra for a further three seasons, said he wanted to be part of what he saw as a successful future for the red-and-whites.

"I could possibly have looked to go to a less competitive side for extra, but I chose to take less than I was on the previous three years because this side is capable of anything," Ryles said.

Cross, who broke into representative football with City earlier this year, re-signed with the Roosters for a further two years today, ending speculation linking him to a return to rugby union.

Meanwhile, David Peachey's future at Cronulla was in doubt after Sharks CEO Steve Rogers today confirmed the club had yet to make an offer to the former NSW fullback.

"We will be making a decision (on whether to offer Peachey a contract) later in the year, based on a number of factors," Rogers said.

The following leading players are yet to sign a contract for the 2005 season:

Brisbane: Darren Lockyer, Gorden Tallis, Karmichael Hunt, Brett Seymour, Casey McGuire
Bulldogs: Johnathan Thurston, Steve Price, Hazem El Masri
Canberra: Ruben Wiki, Joel Monaghan, Michael Robertson
Cronulla: David Peachey, Paul Franze, Paul Gallen
Manly: John Hopoate, Scott Donald, Albert Torrens
Melbourne: Rodney Howe, David Kidwell, Alex Chan, Ben MacDougall, Danny Williams
Newcastle: Timana Tahu, Robbie O'Davis, Matt Parsons
New Zealand Warriors: Mark Tookey
North Queensland: Glenn Morrison, Kevin Campion
Penrith: Amos Roberts, Paul Whatuira
St George Illawarra: Ben Hornby, Reece Simmonds
Souths: Paul Stringer, Joey Williams
Wests Tigers: Darren Senter

Man I hope they sign him, why are they even considering not doing so!

RICHO

To sign Peach, they have to let a promising young bloke go.
Is it worth keeping a bloke for 1 year? Or do you give that money to a kid who could be around for 10 years?

Hard call.

Having said that, I want Peach to stay.

Alan Shore

Peachey can stay for 2 years, and I wouldn't put it beyond him to be able to retire at 33 on top. We'd be crazy to let him retire.

millersnose

its obvious

the board at cronulla are obviously racist

there is no other conclusion

/cheap shot at reefy

Nullajet

I will be absolutely filthy with the club if they don't sign Peach!!

Stuff anyone else..he MUST be resigned!!!!!!

and they shouldn't be letting Gallen go either.

wittyfan

Letting Peachey go is the height of madness, especially as there is no similar alternatives at the club.

Alan Shore

Sharks Management: JOKE of the LEAGUE

Bring back Peter Gow please. He wouldn't preside over such hapless incompetence like now. Especially the development plans.

Special K

Peachey will never leave. Let Sludge sign up players and Gallen then worry about Peachey. It is not as if he is gonna go to ESL or another club. He will stick with us if there is a offer

I dont think thats disputed (Peachey will leave for another club), but the thing is Peachey if not offered anything will have to retire. The decision will be made 'later in the year' so lets hope its the right one (ie Keep Peachey!)

Shark

Tamazoid said:
Sharks Management: JOKE of the LEAGUE

Bring back Peter Gow please. He wouldn't preside over such hapless incompetence like now. Especially the development plans.

Look out! Tama's got the thesaurus out again!

On the Peach issue, let me say this:

Look at what Tallis has done in Brissy. His line was basically "see what's left over after you lock up all the younger, up-and-coming blokes, they are the future of the club. Then, if there's anything left and I am fit, let's talk about what you can offer me."

Now, I reckon both the club and Peach could learn a bit from that.

Hell, the club could pay the bloke $50K for next year and then cut him in on a Johns-style deal with local businesses or merchandising opportunities. Or, offer him a job with the club post-footy, if that's what he wants.

Gallop and co got involved to keep Joey. OK, Tallis and Peach are not Joey. BUT, they are both highly marketable and well-respected veteran players. Gotta be worth something...

PJ

I wanna know who your favourite player is PJ?

Why? My reaction to this has no basis on favouritism. Peachey has been a loyal clubman who offers a hell of a lot more than Merrit and tries a hell of a lot harder then Merrit.

But for the record I've allways loved watching Peach play, Noddy is a favourite as anyone who'll give their best for the sharks even with a fractured jaw and a busted nut is fine by me, Stevo's great as is Nuts, Sully and Beattie. Big fan of Hilder and I have high hopes for Aitken and Simmons and think Goldy is worth a bit fo patience.

Not a big fan of Bickerstaff, Isemonger or Merrit but I think Merrit has potential to turn it around.

Shark said:
Tamazoid said:
Gallop and co got involved to keep Joey. OK, Tallis and Peach are not Joey. BUT, they are both highly marketable and well-respected veteran players. Gotta be worth something...
bbbzzzzzz. Wrong
Maybe not Peach but definitely Tallis.
Newcastle = < 1 Million
QLD = > 4 million & every single one of them a league supporter & gordie lover.

Shark

Yeah, whatever mate. Naturally you know best.

So you're saying that Peach isn't marketable? That his image and reputation are worth nothing in a financial sense to the game?

Uppercut time!

WTF!!!
You said & I quote smart arrse " OK, Tallis and Peach are not Joey. "
You try & sell shoulder pads, shoes or boots in QLD using Joey of you want.
I'll use Gordy & simpley make 4 times as much as you.

Peachey has a high profile in the Shire. Whats the population?

You fill in the blank
QLD Gordie supporters 4 Mill
Nsw Johns Supporters 3 Mill?
Peachey ______________

Shark

OK, so that would be why Macquarie Bank has chosen to sponsor the David Peachey Foundation...Because he only has a profile in the Shire.

Get real, mate.

He's as marketable as ET. Look at HIS media career. And his mother ship of a fishing boat. And tell me he's not doing it easy.

Besides, if you're talking talent, Gordie really doesn't have much of it. Sure, he's got guts and passion and strength, but he ain't no Wally Lewis, Alfie Langer or Lockyer in the playmaking department. And THAT is why Locky and Joey win lots of awards. 'Coz they got the flash moves, brutha!

You stick to selling your cheap sh!t shoulder pads and your mouthguards, Reef. I'll be taking care of the Peach and the major corporate money he'll be pulling in, for a fraction of the marketing effort and set up costs. Sure, Gordie is a crowd favourite, but turning that popularity into dollars beyond footy will mean work - And it's work the NRL should start now.

As for Joey's market power - Where's the record sales for the Gordie DVD? Or the Alfie DVD? Or even Wally? If the market for ex-footballers is so strong North of the Tweed, surely Sony would have flooded the place with merchandise by now?

Reg freakin Reagan's DVD will sell better in QLD than anything with Alf's head on it.