Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Penrith

soc123_au

Not content with $15mill hand out from the NRL just for turning up Penrith now want more prize money as well!

Penrith chief executive Brian Fletcher has blasted the NRL's prizemoney as 'embarrassing', blaming Australian Rugby League Commission boss Peter V’landys for slashing the financial reward.
The winners of this year's Grand Final will receive $200,000, a sum Fletcher said leaves 'a poor taste in the mouth' given the NRL's current financial status.

Fletcher is a blowhard wanker that needs to learn to keep his mouth shut, but he is pretty much on the money this time.
Based on revenue 200k for winning the comp is laughable. As for the 15mil handout, all teams get it and is hardly a handout, it pays for the product that creates the revenue.

Iamback

Fletcher is a blowhard wanker that needs to learn to keep his mouth shut, but he is pretty much on the money this time.
Based on revenue 200k for winning the comp is laughable. As for the 15mil handout, all teams get it and is hardly a handout, it pays for the product that creates the revenue.

We can do all the comparisons in the various competitions in the world. Most are Apples and Oranges.

AFL winners get $1.2m. Runners up $600k

That is a more like for like comparison

We can do all the comparisons in the various competitions in the world. Most are Apples and Oranges.

AFL winners get $1.2m. Runners up $600k

That is a more like for like comparison
Not anymore, like NRL they reduced it during covid to: $232,000 in finals prize money for each of the 2020 and 2021 seasons, and $246,500 in season 2022

I’m more in Perth Red camp here. Much like the article suggests that Real Madrid’s prize money is the tip of the iceberg, I am sure Penrith’s financial position is greatly enhance by the exposure we get from winning the comp.

So given the NRL’s status, IF the money that doesn’t go to the winners of the Premiership is funnelled into getting kids, women and the bush to be able to participate in the game I am hugely supportive. IF it goes on bloating head office then less on-board…

I’m more in Perth Red camp here. Much like the article suggests that Real Madrid’s prize money is the tip of the iceberg, I am sure Penrith’s financial position is greatly enhance by the exposure we get from winning the comp.

So given the NRL’s status, IF the money that doesn’t go to the winners of the Premiership is funnelled into getting kids, women and the bush to be able to participate in the game I am hugely supportive. IF it goes on bloating head office then less on-board…
It was cut during covid, at the same time that each club got over $5mill more in grant payments. He knows the NRL have said they are going to review it inline with the new tv deal next year. WTF is he whining about?

Because his stakeholders are the team that is looking like they might win it this year (ie before they are planning to review) and he knows that the NRL are a reactive organisation scared of even the slightest suggestion of bad press.

Just because I can get onboard with the prize money as it stands and I think it makes Penrith come across as more smug, doesn’t mean that it isn’t Fletchers job to try.

Pink Panther

We will bitch slap Parramatta Eels and prove we are the greatest team in the history of not only the NRL but professional sport

And the whole of Penrith will rise and take over Australia and the modern world as the system collapses and energy prices hit record highs

Face it

It is accept the Penrith Panthers as your Gods

or it is Death and Eternal Damnation

those are the only two options

Pink Panther

the Penny Ps v Eels is the most important game in the history of the NRL

the future of the NRL is at stake and the whole of the new age growth market in Sydney is up for grabs here

the West is rising, and we are seeing mass migration into our area of very poor unlean people who only have two things in their lives

Religion and Rugby Leage

The whole future dynamic of where the real "Capital" of Sydney will lie in the future is at stake

With Penrith or Parramatta be the physical centre and the capital suburb of mighty middle Sydney

there is more at stake than a game

Western_Eel

im sick of the media making out that penrith and parramatta are arch rivals.

parramatta sees penrith as just another club, theyre not our arch rivals

Pink Panther

the West is the best

Penrith and Paramatta are the new Elite area that everyone wants to go and live in; we are the "posh" area of Sydney

and we are like best "rich" mates

Forget the muddy litter filled Sydney Harbour

Everybody wants to live out West now

We are the chosen ones

Even Tom Cruise has bought a house in Penrith

Angry_eel

im sick of the media making out that penrith and parramatta are arch rivals.

parramatta sees penrith as just another club, theyre not our arch rivals
Our arch rivals are Manly and Bulldogs. In the recent times, it's been hard to sell those games. Manly looked good for a few seasons but that's gone now.

Angry_eel

the West is the best

Penrith and Paramatta are the new Elite area that everyone wants to go and live in; we are the "posh" area of Sydney

and we are like best "rich" mates

Forget the muddy litter filled Sydney Harbour

Everybody wants to live out West now

We are the chosen ones

Even Tom Cruise has bought a house in Penrith
Lux Cranebrook has a ring to it!

soc123_au

Our arch rivals are Manly and Bulldogs. In the recent times, it's been hard to sell those games. Manly looked good for a few seasons but that's gone now.
The rivalry is developing pretty well though. It's only been very recently that we have both been decent at the same time. Hopefully it continues. The more proper rivalries the better imo.

soc123_au

Lux Cranebrook has a ring to it!
It even has water views!! Who wouldn't want to live here?

penrith-idal.jpeg

Pink Panther

Penrith and Paramatta are the new "IT" centres of Sydney

The cool crowd live in the West

the Harbour is for try hards.

Do yourself a favour and come out West to live

We are all that and more

Pink Panther

It even has water views!! Who wouldn't want to live here?

penrith-idal.jpeg

Tommy Cruise and Matt Damon cant be wrong mate

Matt Damon spends most of his time in Penrith rather than Byron Bay now

The Wesr is Beautiful

And Matt Damon who has flown all over the world knows it, he loves West Sydney

Here is a view from Matt Damon's new home here.

Attachments

• parra.PNG
    parra.PNG
    461.7 KB · Views: 2

soc123_au

Tommy Cruise and Matt Damon cant be wrong mate

Matt Damon spends most of his time in Penrith rather than Byron Bay now

The Wesr is Beautiful

And Matt Damon who has flown all over the world knows it, he loves West Sydney

Here is a view from Matt Damon's new home here.
Matt and Tom can often be seen having an iced chocolate and smashed avo on toast at Emu Hall on a Saturday morning. It's where the social elite of the east coast want to be seen. Then head over to I Fly for a quick session followed by a pie at Harrys. Penrith is becoming the new Dubai.

Pink Panther

Matt Damon started on the Harbour Bridge but as he got to know Sydney, he spent more and more of his time out West with the real people. He loves the Capuchino sect down near the Parramatta river coffee house
MATT D.PNG

Matt did his GQ cover page at the Paramatta Shopping Centre photobooth

matt damon 2.PNG