Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Petty things that give you the shits…

The wolfpack and I walk the local beach every morning. A crowded day would be 10 people and maybe 13dogs ( It is a leash free beach ). Everybody knows everybody acknowledge usually by a quick chat or a convo on the meaning of life.

Within the last couple of months two of the lovely ladies and both of them in their early forties have both been hit with breast cancer. It (f**king cancer) is rampant, bastard of a thing.

DJDL

The vaccine kicking in ya reckon

That's the insinuation.
Unfortunately the facts don't back up the claim:

Cancer incidence in Australia has generally increased, with an estimated 169,759 new cases expected in 2025, up from 153,526 in 2021
. While the number of cases grew, the age-standardized incidence rate has seen a slower increase in recent years, and mortality rates have decreased by 25% since the mid-1990s due to better treatment and survival, particularly for breast and prostate cancers.
Key Trends Since 2020:

• COVID-19 Impact: A temporary dip in diagnoses occurred in 2020-2021, likely due to reduced screening and diagnostic procedures during the pandemic, which caused lower-than-expected case numbers in those years.
  • Most Common Cancers: Skin cancer (melanoma and non-melanoma) remains the most reported cancer, with others including prostate, breast, colorectal, and lung cancer.
  • Age-Specific Trends: While overall rates are driven by an aging population, there is a notable rise in cancer incidence for people under 50, with 20,000 cases estimated in 2024 for this demographic.
  • Survival Rates: The five-year survival rate for cancers diagnosed between 2016-2020 was 71%, with high survival rates (over 90%) for breast, prostate, and melanoma.
  • Mortality: Despite higher numbers, the risk of dying from cancer is decreasing, with significant reductions in death rates for lung (33% decline), colorectal (43% decline), and breast (27% decline) cancers between 2000 and 2023.
Projections indicate that while cancer remains a leading cause of death, the age-standardized death rate is declining.

Back to your original post - that's nasty to hear, Oz.
Hope they are all responding well to treatment and that their prognoses are positive.

Reactions: PJ

shadowboxer

Life’s short.
Enjoy as best and honestly as you can.
Government of any form can’t be trusted.
Don’t believe what’s written in the paper
A few things my dear gran told me before she popped off from cancer back in the late 70’s. I was young then without a lot of understanding or care.
I know better now.

Rudy

The woman who absolutely REFUSES to acknowledge you or say hello when walking my dog past her when she's walking her dog. Everyone else says hello, but this one actually puts effort into pretending you're not there and dragging her dog away quickly - it's like something very bad must have happened to this woman to make her absurdly antisocial. And if you say hello to her, you get nothing, she won't even look at you - I've tried 3 times.

It's a petty complaint, but it's just so weird.

Since 73

The woman who absolutely REFUSES to acknowledge you or say hello when walking my dog past her when she's walking her dog. Everyone else says hello, but this one actually puts effort into pretending you're not there and dragging her dog away quickly - it's like something very bad must have happened to this woman to make her absurdly antisocial. And if you say hello to her, you get nothing, she won't even look at you - I've tried 3 times.

It's a petty complaint, but it's just so weird.
Tossers at work who pass you in a corridor and cant nod a hi.
I couldnt care less about knowing anything about you but if you work in the same place some acknowledgement of a hello is normal.
Must be great at parties.

Move to a bush town or a small coastal set-up. It is whole different world. I went back to Syd-a-ney twice in December / January last year (Brother in Law crook then later Funeral). Me being me everywhere I went I'd nod and say hello or g'day. Letting old dears go before me at the checkouts They would look at me like it was stranger danger time.

Should of seen and heard my grown nephews and his kids when I'd stop and pick up rubbish and put it in nearby bins. And don't get me going on driving there. It was like I had killed the Pope when I slowed down and let someone change into our lane.

Thank fur huck I am a 40 year veteran of living where I live.

DJDL

In the correct thread, and on the topic of others moaning about supermarket experiences:

Self serve checkouts.

We moved back to Oz just before Christmas and I can’t believe just how far Australia has gone with them.
Everywhere we go, whether it be supermarkets or department stores or wherever, it is literally impossible to find an actual human being standing at a checkout.

Then when the inevitable mis-scan happens and you need some help, there’s only one person around and they’re off selling cigarettes/phone credit/gift cards or whatever other shit is sold at the front kiosk.

Customer service?
Never heard of it

It’s a real eye opener after being spoilt for service in Thailand.
It’s the complete opposite over there - too many staff trying to help you.
walk in to Home Pro (kind of Harvey Norman/Bunnings) and you’re greeted by ~20 staff all asking if you need help.

You still get driveway service at the servo over there as well.
I can’t remember the last time I saw that here.

Ozzi_78

My superfund disappearing cos of trump. Jus cos you’re in your last decade of life you dont have to f**k up everyone else’s.

But, but, he speaks his mind (the far can imbecile)

You know what I hate: when your main computer starts far can up and of course you have not backed up anything recent.

I am working around it as we partake of intelligent forum conversation - well typin' comments

DJDL

My superfund disappearing cos of trump. Jus cos you’re in your last decade of life you dont have to f**k up everyone else’s.

Just like it did this time last year after his "reciprocal" tariffs.
Wanker.

Unless you're on the verge of starting to use it I wouldn't overly worry.
It'll come back. The good funds seem to know how to make decent money out off all the volatility as well.
You might take a short-term hit, but long-term you should be ok.

BossyC

Scrums. Well the facsimile versions of today at least. What point is there to them?
Totally agree. they mean SFA today! Perhaps we can learn from RU, and install scrums again, with the ball put in the middle, no lose arms and hooking the ball back to achieve possession. To avoid penalties, or at least reduce them, let the ref or a linesperson put the ball in.

DJDL

I’m greedy DJ!!!

Haha, me too!!

I've been tracking mine for years now, with a view to my end date and what it will look like.
Everything has been doing well, and on track per my projections, except for the f**kwit in the White House messing things up haha

Totally agree. they mean SFA today! Perhaps we can learn from RU, and install scrums again, with the ball put in the middle, no lose arms and hooking the ball back to achieve possession. To avoid penalties, or at least reduce them, let the ref or a linesperson put the ball in.

Agreed also. Along with Freddy Fittler, Joey Johns, Billy Slater, Cam Smith, Johnathon Thurston etc etc. I find Danika Mason much more interesting. View attachment 110419

You're freaking me out a bit with the Frenzy replies.