Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

phil gould attacks the broncos' salary cap

Forum Idiot

on the footy show just then he had a go at the broncos for playing players like ben ikin and darren smith and paul green. he pissed and moaned and then suggested that when luke ricketson retires at the end of the season the roosters will bring him back for $100 a game. :lol:

Phil Gould:blahb:
What a joke. Darren Smith is payed by Easts Tigers, and Ikin and Green are payed by Clydesdales. Clydesdales don't come under the broncos salary cap. Stupid Gould's a joke.

Eelectrica

All of those players are way past their prime and are there to fill gaps due to injury. The clydesdales (broncos feeder club) were knocked out of the QRL comp yesterday so they are hardly stock piling great heaps of talent like the Roosters are.

t-ba

:lol: . Would Mr Gould like to trade the Roosters Flegg and Premier League sides for Green, Ikin and Smith?

The Broncos produce very loyal players. One of the many benefits of killing all the competition in SEQLD...

Kiwi

the guy is a toss, considering the Roosters have staked their lower grades with as much talent as they can due to the salary cap for the lower grades being abolished thanks to someone who shall remain name*cough*canavan*cough*less.

Gould your a wanker and still pushing your pointless biased bullshit agenda's, hurry up and retire from the media as well as coaching already. You wont be missed by many.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

I don't agree. The leagues club must be paying them something on the side... How can Ikin get $200 and spend $50 just driving to brisbane and back.....

rossy

Smith, Green & Ikin played al of their grade football with the Broncos. They should be given a concession on that basis.

Hang on, none of them did... But they're still very loyal... LOL

Sea_Eagles_Rock said:
I don't agree. The leagues club must be paying them something on the side... How can Ikin get $200 and spend $50 just driving to brisbane and back.....

Do you really think that Ikin is ONLY playing football. He is doing it out of loyalty to WB. Great to see. He has a full time job where he gets all the money he needs.

Eelectrica

One more thing: Gould use Ricketson as an example. As a ten year club player Ricketson is entitled to a $100k discount under the cap. So if the roosters pay him $100k for his services next year, his salary isn't counted against the cap at all.

Sorry Phil, maybe the people that can't think for themselves will buy into your pathetic argument.

rossy

Kiwi said:
the guy is a toss, considering the Roosters have staked their lower grades with as much talent as they can due to the salary cap for the lower grades being abolished thanks to someone who shall remain name*cough*canavan*cough*less.

What has Canavan had to do with it?

You blokes are getting dumber by the day.

Do you actually know what you are talking about at all?

t-ba

rossy said:
Smith, Green & Ikin played al of their grade football with the Broncos. They should be given a concession on that basis.

Loyal to the Region. Maybe if the Crushers and the Chargers were still around, it'd be a different story.

rossy

t-ba the hutt said:
rossy said:

Loyal to the Region. Maybe if the Crushers and the Chargers were still around, it'd be a different story.

Green played with Easts, Parra, Cronulla and the Cowboys.

Smith played with Canterbury and St Helens.

Ikin came into grade via the North Sydney Bears!

Which part of the region is that?

Kiwi

t-ba the hutt said:
rossy said:

Smith spent a few years at the club, a few very good years winning his only title, the Broncos stood by Ikin during 2 years on the sidelines, and the Broncos gave Green a shot with the Clydesdales before his Eels or Roosters contract, can't remember which.

brenno

Why do you guys even bother getting so upset about what that wanker says? Here's a tip, don't listen to what he has to say or read his article's. Once you've done that you'll find that life isn't so bad afterall. As soon as i see Gould's ugly mug pop up on tele i either change the channel or just press the mute button.

miccle

Gould = loser.

Quite frankly I don't care what he's moaning about. The bloke hates the broncos, and it just makes it all the sweeter when he has to offer them credit after we win matches. Which, hey, he never does - but he always makes himself look the fool.

Gould - leave the media job to the journalists please. Not the coaches, and not the ex-coaches or ex-players unless you study journalism.

JW

brenno said:
Why do you guys even bother getting so upset about what that wanker says? Here's a tip, don't listen to what he has to say or read his article's. Once you've done that you'll find that life isn't so bad afterall. As soon as i see Gould's ugly mug pop up on tele i either change the channel or just press the mute button.

:clap:

Cheers.

Razor

What a joke. Darren Smith is payed by Easts Tigers, and Ikin and Green are payed by Clydesdales. Clydesdales don't come under the broncos salary cap. Stupid Gould's a joke.

Ikin gets $2000 a game
Green gets $200 a game

That's Broncos payments. So that does come under the Broncos salary cap

But that's what Gould was saying. The NSW clubs(except Penrith) and North QLD have teams of their own in lower grades, so all of the players can come under the cap. The other clubs don't have that, their lower grades can sign players for high amounts and even if he's being paid more than the 25th paid player from the top grade side he won't come under that clubs cap.

The fact Smith played for the Broncos is a joke. He was contracted to Easts, who have an agreement with Canberra. He should not have been allowed to play. That's like a Roosters reserve grade player playing for Souths