Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pie in the Sky Promotion

parra pete

Hay Magpies, a finalist in the NRL One Community 2008 Grass Roots Club of the Year, is close to finalising arrangements for four former NRL players to make guest appearances during the 2009 season.
The promotion, in past seasons. has been described as Pie in the Sky stuff by CRL General Manager, Terry Quinn.
He is against 'guest appearances'. Terry wants Club to entice big name players as captain/coaches. That would be fantastic, and a definite plus for the development of the game in the 'bush'. The only problem is Terry hasn't explained how such recruitment is to be funded...
The four "guests" will include a seasoned NRL player who retired at the end of the 2008 season, a former State of Origin prop, a veteran of over 200 senior games in the NRL / English Super League, and a former winger/centre who made his name with with Penrith, Newcastle and Wests.
The four will follow the success of Dave Furner, Snoopy Collins, Andy McFadden, who played in 2006, Gary Belcher and Darren Smith, who played in 2007 and Mark Tookey who was the guest player in 2008.
If you want to find out more check out the Clubs website haymagpies.leaguenet.com.au.
Despite the drought, Rugby League is thriving in this part of the State, thanks to the imagination of a strong committee prepared to look outside the square.

All well and good, but the idea described as "pie in the sky" was for players to travel around the state playing for various clubs in various competitions, switching week to week. That's not what is happening here. Good on this club is it works for them but the broader idea is far less workable.

parra pete

All well and good, but the idea described as "pie in the sky" was for players to travel around the state playing for various clubs in various competitions, switching week to week. That's not what is happening here. Good on this club is it works for them but the broader idea is far less workable.

No. That is not what was proposed AT ALL.
Players were only to make one appearance for ONE Club...
There was a pool of players available at the time, but NO INTEREST was shown by the CRL. The Company that was going to be behind the promotion now is sticking to the Magpies Club.
The local Club has reaped the benefits....and will continue to reap the benefits..from a weekend that has become part of the Football Club willingness to promote itself and the code. The locals love it. And they turn out in droves to the matches.
I have been involved with the Club for over forty years, and the gate takings for the past three PIE IN THE SKY weekends have been record breaking...2009 will probably be another record breaker...
The appearance of David Peachey, I believe, has had the same results in Group 11...

parra pete

July 26 has been confirmed as the date of the match. The 2008 retired player has confirmed his attendance..and he will be bringing either a former SOO prop..or former SOO fullback with him..
Fantastic...Watch this space for further details....
It's gonna be Huuuuuuuuge. Planning is already underway....
Hay Magpies were runners up in the NRL One Community Awards in 2008. The Club has set its sights on winning the title in 2009...

No. That is not what was proposed AT ALL.
Players were only to make one appearance for ONE Club...
There was a pool of players available at the time, but NO INTEREST was shown by the CRL. The Company that was going to be behind the promotion now is sticking to the Magpies Club.
The local Club has reaped the benefits....and will continue to reap the benefits..from a weekend that has become part of the Football Club willingness to promote itself and the code. The locals love it. And they turn out in droves to the matches.
I have been involved with the Club for over forty years, and the gate takings for the past three PIE IN THE SKY weekends have been record breaking...2009 will probably be another record breaker...
The appearance of David Peachey, I believe, has had the same results in Group 11...
There is nothing stopping clubs from doing it if they can find players willing to do it. So go nuts. But to think there are really a heap of these players out there willing to play in these games all over the state is crazy. These players just don't exist. Those that do want to play are playing. Plus, making a novelty of a serious Group competition might seem like a great idea to some people but to many it will be seen as a gimmicky joke that may bring in a few hundred dollars but do nothing for the game long term.

parra pete

There is nothing stopping clubs from doing it if they can find players willing to do it. So go nuts. But to think there are really a heap of these players out there willing to play in these games all over the state is crazy. These players just don't exist. Those that do want to play are playing. Plus, making a novelty of a serious Group competition might seem like a great idea to some people but to many it will be seen as a gimmicky joke that may bring in a few hundred dollars but do nothing for the game long term.

Few hundred dollars...make that a few thousand dollars

Yep..It is Pie in the Sky stuff.
But it has sure helped promote Rugby League in this town over the past three years, and this season will be the BIGGEST yet. But I agree, it does NOTHING for the game EXCEPT keep people interested, provide value for sponsors dollars, give the players plenty to talk about, as well as raising a MOTZA for the local Club. And that is not to mention the exposure the Club AND the code receives through the media - national and local.
What else is required?
It sure beats raffling chooks...everyone comes away happy..even the opponents.
But can the Clubs find players willing to play...We have NO trouble..The players LOVE it.
Nothing is IMPOSSIBLE. If the mind can think it, it can be done...Better to be proactive than go out backways by sitting on your hands.
Serious Group competitions belong to Clubs where the rich get rich and the poor get poorer..
Battling Clubs have to make it for themselves WHATEVER it takes - by their own devices..

parra pete

Confirmed starters....One former NRL Captain who retired at the end of 2008...One former premiership player, international, State of Origin star, who also captained not one, but TWO NRL Clubs; One former lower grade coach at a Sydney Club, who played over 250 senior games in the NRL/ESL...
Names will be disclosed at a later date when clearances have been finalised and players registered with the CRL. In addition, the Club hopes to have injured Raiders players come to town to conduct coaching clinics, with the great John 'Bomber' Peard to host a Sportsmans Night on Sunday evening.
Not only does the match promise to be one of the biggest sporting events EVER held in our small town, it is certain to grab the attention of the National Media, with Footy Show to be asked to provide coverage.
Pie in the Sky...Pffft.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
The promotion, in past seasons. has been described as Pie in the Sky stuff by CRL General Manager, Terry Quinn.
He is against 'guest appearances'. Terry wants Club to entice big name players as captain/coaches. That would be fantastic, and a definite plus for the development of the game in the 'bush'. The only problem is Terry hasn't explained how such recruitment is to be funded...

"Terry wants Club to entice big name players as captain/coaches" i assume you are talking about http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,24990517-5006066,00.html

CRL is encouraging players to return to the bush to be involved with clubs and communities for entire seasons, not for one off games.

and honestly, if i hear you say "thats just Pie in the Sky stuff" one more time im going to have an anuerism!

and when you say "That would be fantastic, and a definite plus for the development of the game in the 'bush'. The only problem is Terry hasn't explained how such recruitment is to be funded..."
[URL said:
http://www.news.com.au/dailytelegraph/sport/nrl/story/0,26799,24990517-5006066,00.html[/URL]]Quinn admitted the CRL was not in a position to financially assist struggling individual clubs directly.
"We can't give clubs cash but if they can get their community to back this scheme, I think it could be a real win-win for everyone,'' he said.
CRL is also encouraging clubs to work with communities to offer a package that would be attractive to a player coming from Sydney, without having massive impact on the club's financial situation

parra pete

Great stuff Jess...Answers nothing..
I encourage players to return to the bush too...Where do you find them jobs? Jess despite what you say ----it is all 'Pie in the Sky' stuff from the CRL.
Say for arguments sake a retired NRL player wants to come to the bush and he is married. Say for instance his wife is employed on the ancilliary staff of a school..at (say )$30,000 per year.
Player X wants to come to the bush to play a season. He wants $40,000 a season, plus employment, and accommodation.
Where are the jobs in the bush (or even regional centres) to fund that? Where does his wife get a comparable job when there are none available.
The idea sounds great in principle, but in practice it is Pie in the Sky stuff really...and don't have an anuerism because someone speaks the truth...especially out here in the bush when people have to travel over 160 km to have a baby delivered, or get a tooth pulled out (if you can get an appointment).
Do the communities work with Rugby League Clubs in putting these fabulous packages together - instead of AFL, Union or Soccer - or their own citizens who have lived here for yonks.
Get real Jess, Country is not Penrith, Katoomba, Central Coast, Wollongong, or the big regional centres. Country, to blokes like me, is the little Clubs that are the life blood of every Group competition. When the little Clubs fold believe me, the Group competitions will go down too!.
Or is that the aim? To make it a second tier competition involving just the regional centres ..

parra pete

More good news for out little Club. There will be TWO "Pie in the Sky" promotions in 2009...One late April or early May..featuring three former NRL players.a different three to the one appearing on July 26.
The Club HAS to do something to keep the game alive out here, especially as the Junior Rugby League teams have been stripped of their solitary HOME game this season.
Who was the 'guru' who thought that one up? Did he think of the consequences. Why not leave well enough alone. It will never change now. Another example of the Rich get rich, the poor get poorer, in the meantime don't they have fun. Someone is looking to chop off the head of the golden goose
Our boys, parents, coaches and officials are required to travel over 160 km - one way EVERY weekend for competition (that's a round trip of 320 km) for upwards of 80 kids.
Kids up leave home at 6.30 am Saturday morning back home by 3pm.....(BTW..Not only does it get hot down here it gets COLD too, with frosts in winter!!)
When there is AFL Soccer and other sports in competition for these boys, how long do you think it will be BEFORE parents say ENOUGH is ENOUGH and pull their kids out of League and place them with other sports?
I am not talking about home and away matches. We are talking ABOUT A HOME GAME, where every kid in the Group came to our home town ONCE...per annum.
Again the Regional Centres are the beneficiary of these decisions - and the little Clubs cop it ONCE AGAIN...Another step to promote a second tier competition involving Regional Centres
The Junior Club raised finance from this day to assist it with bus fares for the rest of the year....

I am not an official of the local Club, but just someone who loves his Rugby League, and his community. I have had plenty of experience in Club administration, and I help out the hard working people of the Club when they request it.
But pardon me for saying what the CRL proposes is Pie in the Sky stuff. The last thing I want to do is give Jess an anuerism because I know how good she is at her job.
There is still freedom of speech in Australia. I will continue to throw my twenty cents worth in where I see fit. There is nothing wrong with letting the CRL know where it is at in the forgotten part of the State.
Out here is seems that the CRL wants it to be every town for itself, and stuff the spirit of sportsmanship and co-operation

To put a twist on the speech delivered by Pastor Martin Niemöller

In the bush they (the other sporting organisations) first came for the junior officials,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a junior official

Then they came for the Junior parents,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a junior parent

Then they came for the junior players,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't a junior player.

Then they came for the smaller country Clubs,
and I didn't speak up because I wasn't involved with a smaller Country Club

Then they came for our Club —
and by that time no one was left to speak up.

parra pete

From today's Wagga Daily Advertiser.

City to country move has some huge holes

THE VERY thought of a stream of NRL players heading away from Sydney to play for bush clubs is as absurd as it is appealing.
Country Rugby League (CRL) president Jock Colley wants to persuade, entice or tempt NRL players nearing the end of their elite careers to consider playing on for teams in the country for a few more years.

Dusting off a new broom in the staid old corridors of CRL headquarters, Colley has hit on an idea that involves linking aging and fading NRL players with clubs across NSW, including this great region.

It’s all to do with a data base on which clubs register their interest and the CRL tries to find a perfect match.

Colley’s amazing plan has the measured support of NRL chief executive David Gallop, but he definitely realises there are some huge holes in the proposal.

Gallop knows the main stumbling block to luring NRL players to the bush, even those on the bottom branches of the money tree, is all to do with the basics of living.

First off, there would need to be cash up front, something in the vicinity of a minimum $25,000, steady employment and probably other incentives like a house and/or car.

The average NRL player isn’t getting fabulously rich playing football in Sydney, but they’re not on the poverty line either.

Obviously the top of the line models – guys like Lockyer, Thurston, Folau, Smith, Slater etc – would be getting rich off the sport.

I can only guess these players earn anywhere between $400,000 and $600,000 a year and would not be in the CRL equation.

Even so, a player on a rock bottom rugby league salary of $60,000 a season can still work outside of football and pick up another $40,000 or $50,000 for digging ditches or holding a stop-go sign.

This means a possible combined wage of around $100,000 which is not bad for some oaf with the IQ of a turnip.

Naturally, there are footballers with trades or even brains who can pocket as much as you or I for a week’s labour.

Given their football earnings as well, these players with education and training are certainly in the nicely-off category.

They would be equally aghast as Brett Kimmorley at the thought of ditching the salubrious Sydney lifestyle to live – and play football – in Bourke or Binalong.

I’d say it would be pull your fingernails out with pliers hard to leave the coast to move inland to live especially if it meant taking a huge pay cut.

There is much to like about living in Sydney – and not just the surf and shops.

Sure, the cost of living is much higher, but jobs are a bit easier to find.

Employment in small towns is drying up faster than Lake Albert in the worst drought in 100 years and people are actually leaving these places to try to find work in bigger centres.

Of course there is still massive competition for the meagre employment that is available.

It’s a vicious cycle, so the smaller the town the tougher the circumstances.

Country clubs desperately need wealthy benefactors to prop them up or they just can’t compete.

Raising money by chook raffles, cake stalls or selling a trailer of wood was fine in 1960, but it won’t cut the ice in 2009.

Football club sponsors come in all shapes and sizes. There are the guys with deep pockets who can throw in $20,000 at the drop of a hat or those who barely manage to pitch in $100 to keep the wolf from the door.

Every dollar is a help, but the dollars are getting harder to find.

A few years ago, one Group Nine club had a backer who was prepared to subsidise the coach of “his” team to the tune of $60,000 a year.

The coach got the deal of a lifetime, but they don’t often come along.

These days, people are more prudent with their cash, even those people with a pile of it.

That’s what makes Jock Colley’s plan so intriguing.

It’s a wonderful sentiment, but where exactly do clubs find the bucket of money?

There are means and ways as Brothers discovered when they signed Craig Field and Grant Wooden.

Kangaroos have also found the resources by luring Wooden across town.

In the past 20 years other clubs have managed the same thing by pulling off massive player coups such as recruiting Billy Noke, Steve Funnell, Brett Gale, Scott Gale, Craig Bellamy, Pat O’Doherty, Garry McFarlane etc.

In more recent times there have been less and less, but Jock Colley wants to change the state of affairs.

Gundagai has certainly set the standard for 2009 by snatching Jason Ferris, an NRL player with a decent pedigree and background.

The process hasn’t gone without incident, however, as Ferris wasn’t happy with the employment situation in the town and was looking at his options.

As much as the Tigers have wailed that the deal isn’t in danger – and the original story in The Daily Advertiser about the drama was a “beat up” – there is no doubt in the wide world that Ferris was feeling uneasy. Ferris has a trade, but the prospect of working as a rugby league development officer – like Adam Perry at Junee – would also have great appeal.

So maybe that’s the solution for Jock Colley.

All he needs for his plan to succeed is to spend a fortune to fix up employment on the CRL payroll for NRL players.

I’m sure David Gallop and the NRL clubs will throw in a spare $2 million to let it happen.

And Tigers will fly the coop.

www.dailyadvertiser.com.au/news/loc...-has-some-huge-holes/1429467.aspx?storypage=0

This will be the same bloke that said the World Cup was a joke and waste of time because RL is not an international sport and never will be. I'll take what he says with a grain of salt. This plan may not work but the game is not going to be worse off for trying.

parra pete

This will be the same bloke that said the World Cup was a joke and waste of time because RL is not an international sport and never will be. I'll take what he says with a grain of salt. This plan may not work but the game is not going to be worse off for trying.

I agree with you ECT..But really, the proposal by the CRL is Pie in the stuff, despite what Jess thinks.
Great in theory, but an impossibility in reality.
Adam Perry came back to Junee..picked up an Rugby League Development Officer's job - and is good at it. Good luck to Adam and to Junee Diesels. Win Win all round.
How many more of those jobs going in the places AWAY from the Regional Centres?

BTW, the DA journo, in my opinion, was right in what he said about World Cup.
You can't manufacture teams from nothing...
Did you really get excited about the World Cup...*yawn*?

I agree with you ECT..But really, the proposal by the CRL is Pie in the stuff, despite what Jess thinks.
Great in theory, but an impossibility in reality.
Adam Perry came back to Junee..picked up an Rugby League Development Officer's job - and is good at it. Good luck to Adam and to Junee Diesels. Win Win all round.
How many more of those jobs going in the places AWAY from the Regional Centres?

BTW, the DA journo, in my opinion, was right in what he said about World Cup.
You can't manufacture teams from nothing...
Did you really get excited about the World Cup...*yawn*?

The WC was the best thing to happen to RL in years. Ignorant pillocks who criticise international football can't hope to have any credibility on any other RL issue. It is this kind of narrow minded ignorance that is actually at the heart of why RL in the bush is in trouble. Too many stupid people don't know what is best for the game, don't know how to achieve it and yet are willing to ignore new ideas and approaches like the promotion of international football and expansion of the game. When I hear advocates of bush football run down things like international expansion I just think to myself, you deserve every misfotune you get. Why should the RL world care about bush footy when bush footy doesn't care about the RL world?

This plan is not likely to achieve much, but the CRL has nothing to lose. If they set up this database or whatever it is they might, just might get one or two results out of it. I don't think anyone expects it to be the saviour of bush footy but then no one single thing will be. It's still worth a try. There are jobs out there and some are quite possibly accessible to footy clubs looking to attract good players/coaches. Denman has just offered a $100,000 a year job for a new captain/coach with the local mine. That might be just one example, and probably an extreme one, but there are sure to be other opportunities like this and plenty of them will be in smaller towns. Just down the road Muswellbrook has just signed Wise Kativerata to coach them. He's a former NRL player and he's not even from that area. Muswellbrook may well be a bigger town and able to come up with a bit more cash than most but you can bet your boots they've got him a job and that's why he's gone there. If the CRL can help link more clubs with more high profile players like this, even in a small way, it will be worth it.

parra pete

Hay Magpies have signed former Melbourne Storm premiership player Ben Roarty for the 2009 season. The Club will have the services of four TOP NAME Rugby League players for the fourth Annual Pie in the Sky match to be held at Hay Park Oval on July 26, 2009.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?c=7-2186-23531-0-0&sID=71257

Previous "Pie in the Sky" players were David Furner, Andrew McFadden, Wayne "Snoopy Collins"; (2006) Darren Smith, Gary Belcher (2007), Mark Tookey (2008)..each game attracting huge crowds and bringing much need finance into the Magpies Club - as well as the community which relies on its fantastic sporting Clubs to support its economy.

Tamworth has the Country and Western Festival, Deniliquin has the Ute Muster, Gympie has the Muster, Sydney has the Spring Racing Carnival, Booligal has the Sheep Races, now Hay has the 'Pie in the Sky'
weekend. Set the date down in your books and come to our town and see the players in action...

parra pete

Hay Magpies have signed former Melbourne Storm premiership player Ben Roarty for the 2009 season. The Club will have the services of four TOP NAME Rugby League players for the fourth Annual Pie in the Sky match to be held at Hay Park Oval on July 26, 2009.

Previous "Pie in the Sky" players were David Furner, Andrew McFadden, Wayne "Snoopy Collins"; (2006) Darren Smith, Gary Belcher (2007), Mark Tookey (2008)..each game attracting huge crowds and bringing much need finance into the Magpies Club - as well as the community which relies on its fantastic sporting Clubs to support its economy.

Tamworth has the Country and Western Festival, Deniliquin has the Ute Muster, Gympie has the Muster, Sydney has the Spring Racing Carnival, Booligal has the Sheep Races, now Hay has the 'Pie in the Sky' weekend. Set the date down in your books and come to our town and see the players in action...

A phone call from former Canberra Raider/St George Illawarra star Simon Woolford, confirmed Simon and fellow 2009 Pie in the Sky players, Bryan Fletcher and Shane Millard are set for the Magpies in the match against Darlington Point on July 26.
We are actually looking forward to coming out to Hay and help promote the game in the area", Simon said.
"When Ken (Beissel) first approached me, I jumped at the idea. I mentioned it to Fletch (Bryan Fletcher) and Shane (Millard) and they both said they were keen to help out.
"Timmo (Shaun Timmins) wants to come also, but he won't be able to play, his knees are buggared", the man they call Germ said.
"Furnsie (David Furner) Snoopy (Wayne Collins) and Cappy (Andrew McFadden) raved about the time they came out to play for Hay in 2006.
"They had a great time, loved the town, and the whole atmosphere at the game.
"They had a laugh about the half time huddles at half time, and how the supporters mulled around to listen to the 'half time instructions'.
"They all commented on how 'grass roots' the football was in the town. Plus Kenny Beissel is a good mate who has a great wrap for the Magpies.
"It is good to be able to help promote the code and the Magpies Club out.
"I am originally from Young. I understand the plight of bush football. So it is good to be back into it, " Simon said
The players were originally going to fly down on the Friday, but work commitments have put that back to Saturday.
They will fly into Griffith at about 2 pm, before driving over to Hay.
The players will have a hitout with the team, and then the idea is to hold a barbecue and Sportsman's evening, probably at the Community Building as there is a function booked at the Services Club that evening.
John Peard has been forced to cancel his trip as Bomber has a Men of League function in Townsville on the same day. If there is a change of plans he will let the Club know.
The Pie in the Sky Festival is huge - not only for the code of Rugby League, but the drought stricken community which loves it sport, particularly Rugby League, and has the support of a Shire Council which provides great facilities, and encourages all activities.
The Magpies Pie in Sky match in 2007 attracted a $4000 gate to the match featuring Test stars Gary Belcher and Darren Smith.
Magpie officials are tipping the gate takings could be in the vicinity of $6000 this season -and that would easily be a record crowd for ANY Rugby League match ever played in Hay.
The Club is seeking local match Day sponsors for the event and is confident of announcing a Corporate Sponsor for the naming rights of the Festival within the next week or so.
The event will be known as the "Watch This Space Hay Magpies Pie in the Sky Rugby League Festival"
Several local Match Day sponsors have been signed up to come on board.
The Pie in the Sky was the subject of a full back page story in the Area News (Griffith).
http://www.areanews.com.au/news/local/sport/general/nrl-stars-set-to-turn-out-for-hay/1499216.aspx

The Pie in the Sky guest player in 2008 was Mark Tooooookey, and he was fantastic

Plans are well underway for 2010 "Watch this Space Hay Magpies Pie in Sky Rugby League Festival" with one of the all time great wingers keen to play, alongside on of the biggest names in Rugby League.
BTW, The Magpies have also signed former Melbourne Storm/Penrtith Panther Ben Roarty for the season. Ben made his debut against TLU last week.

parra pete

The WC was the best thing to happen to RL in years. Ignorant pillocks who criticise international football can't hope to have any credibility on any other RL issue. It is this kind of narrow minded ignorance that is actually at the heart of why RL in the bush is in trouble. Too many stupid people don't know what is best for the game, don't know how to achieve it and yet are willing to ignore new ideas and approaches like the promotion of international football and expansion of the game. When I hear advocates of bush football run down things like international expansion I just think to myself, you deserve every misfotune you get. Why should the RL world care about bush footy when bush footy doesn't care about the RL world?

This plan is not likely to achieve much, but the CRL has nothing to lose. If they set up this database or whatever it is they might, just might get one or two results out of it. I don't think anyone expects it to be the saviour of bush footy but then no one single thing will be. It's still worth a try. There are jobs out there and some are quite possibly accessible to footy clubs looking to attract good players/coaches. Denman has just offered a $100,000 a year job for a new captain/coach with the local mine. That might be just one example, and probably an extreme one, but there are sure to be other opportunities like this and plenty of them will be in smaller towns. Just down the road Muswellbrook has just signed Wise Kativerata to coach them. He's a former NRL player and he's not even from that area. Muswellbrook may well be a bigger town and able to come up with a bit more cash than most but you can bet your boots they've got him a job and that's why he's gone there. If the CRL can help link more clubs with more high profile players like this, even in a small way, it will be worth it.

I don't know about the WC being the best thing to happen to Rugby League, but the Pie in the Sky weekends are DEFINITELY the best thing to happen to the code down here. The Magpies Club which was really struggling to exist in 2006 with just one senior team, now fields teams in reserves, Under 18, Under 16, Under 14, Under 13, Under 12, Under 10 and Under 7, as well as League Tag.
It submitted two entries into the NRL One Community Awards last year - Grass Roots Club of the Year, and Community Achiever and gained TWO places in the final. Its webpage has had over 20,000 hits in the past 12 months - including almost 7000 this month alone.
The Club (I am told) topped the gate takings for home and away matches in Group 20 in 2008.
The game is kicking on in town. Success can be traced back to the day David Furner, Wayne Collins and Andrew McFadden gave up their time, and at their own cost, to drive out to Hay to pull on the boots and help out a grass roots Club survive. It has grown from that day. The supporters of Rugby League love the work being done by Club officials who aren't afraid to think outside the square - they are innovative and creative, and I applaud their dedication and efforts. Proud of you....
BTW the Magpies webpage is http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?c=7-2186-23531-0-0&sID=71257 if you want to have a look.