Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Player status for 2005 - from official site

Jimbo

Sharks player status for 2005
Players presently signed for next season (as at July 14, 2004)
Will be updated as circumstances change
Clubs going to or coming from, included

Russell Aitken yes

Phil Bailey yes

Chris Beattie no

Matt Bickerstaff no

Greg Bird no

Dean Bosnich no

Cameron Ciraldo yes

Luke Covell yes from Wests Tigers

Andrew Dallalana no

Daniel Dumas yes

Paul Franze no

Keith Galloway yes

Paul Gallen yes

Pat Gibson no

Jon Green yes

Michael Greenfield yes

Luke Harlen yes from Panthers

Matt Hilder yes

Sam Isemonger yes

Jason Kent no

Brett Kimmorley yes

Andrew Lomu yes

Hutch Maiava yes from Bulldogs

Ryan McGoldrick yes

Vince Mellars yes from Warriors

Nathan Merritt yes

Dale Newton yes

Danny Nutley yes

David Peachey no

Dimitri Pelo yes

Matthew Rieck no

Mick Russo yes

David Simmons yes

Jason Stevens yes

Michael Sullivan yes

Nigel Vagana yes

Reece Williams yes

Special K

Sign Pelo for live. I love the bastard. Hopefully a few of those listed as no can agree to staying on and becoming a yes(Peach, Bird, Rieck and Kent) 8)

Jimbo

In summary, the following players are still off contract:

Chris Beattie
Matt Bickerstaff
Greg Bird
Dean Bosnich
Andrew Dallalana
Paul Franze
Pat Gibson
Jason Kent
David Peachey
Matthew Rieck

Surely the last three should be the priority...

Shark

Chris Beattie - Offer him SOMETHING, if he's got nowhere to go he'll be a bargain

Matt Bickerstaff - Has played solidly for us, I'd like to see him stay around

Greg Bird - I can take him or leave him. Not the most gifted player I have seen and his off-field attitude hasn't impressed me.

Dean Bosnich - Not a scratch on Triester, yet took over our #1 hooker role last year? Ph-leaze.

Andrew Dallalana - Lots of hype early on! I hope his Real Estate career is going well!

Paul Franze - I sense he's on the outer, which is a pity as he has the potential to be a crowd favourite. Obviously never going to be the player he could have been, now that he is post-knee recon.

Pat Gibson - What happened to Pat? Great kid, lots of promise. Coaches might need to work a bit smarter with him.

Jason Kent - He will re-sign, now that he appears to have genuine 'utility' value.

David Peachey - We should maybe think about upping our 1-year offer a little. Bit of a compromise between his request for a 2 year deal and our insistence on a 1 year deal.

Matthew Rieck - He'll snare something. Won't be big money, but he'll get something.

pogo

hey shark with due respect could you tell me about greg birds " off field attitude" and how it hasnt impressed you?

Shark

Well, to start with Pogo...

The FIRST week he was out with the kneeing suspension, he was strutting around the crowd with a few of his mates pre-game, like a (pardon the pun) a rooster in the hen house. No huge problem there, he's a young fella with a high profile and we sometimes forget just how YOUNG these guys are.

BUT, this was ONE WEEK after he had shamed the club by committing an act of unsportsmanship for which he (quite rightly) copped a 10 week ban.

WORSE, he was wearing the official players uniform. Well, kind of...

The shirt was untucked, the sleeves were unbuttoned, one was half rolled up, very loosely. The top 2 or 3 buttons were undone, it just looked scruffy.

Now, I have no problem with that attire if it's just casual wear. BUT, it was his official team uniform. It looked to me like he had been TOLD to wear it by Sludge or someone, so to thumb his nose at them he wore it as poorly as he could.

I made the comment to Jimbo, Bubbles, Waz and GF, who were standing with me as he strolled past with his entourage. He shouldn't have been strutting about the place high-fiving his mates. He should have been humbly approaching people like us, punters in the crowd, APOLOGISING for his brain snap the previous week.

I know some of my concerns are very petty, but I think it goes to an overall pattern of behaviour and attitude. He needs to be more humble. He's not really that good, you'd think he was Joey or Lockyer the way he was carrying himself.

pogo

yes shark i think the boy has more than his fair share of lair in him also.....

i also think he is one of the most promising young players ever to come to cronulla.

i often have a verbal joust with mcjoey about his ability......

i think the real test will be whether this bloke can focus on footy......and achieve his potential.

in a way he reminds me of scott freestone who could have been an absolute stand out, i suggested to the powers that be that maybe hatchy could have looked after freestone as a sort of minder/role model......maybe the current management might like to find a mentor for bird!!!

Shark

Yeah, fair call Pogo. I guess all he has done this season is raised the stakes. Now, with his 13 weeks off and his "I'm the King of the World" attitude, he's going to have to perform SO much better to really prove his worth. To the fans and to the club.

Greg bird & scott Freestone?
Pleeaassee.
Ones a huge front rower & as strong as anybody i have ever met with 0 tolerance & the other is greg Bird.
I dont like Greg Bird but even he is not as bad as Scotty.
Scott was not good enough for the big time.
Farny merkin though.

ali

Scott must have been well before my time but the rest of Pogo's post I strongly agree with. He may be lair, but so was Brad Fitltler once. He's got the arrogance about him that suggests he will be a real good footballer. I really hope we resign him or otherwise he will be one we regret releasing in years to come.

SirShire

I agree Pogo. I reckon (hope) he'll come good. If he plays like he did against Newcastle every game, I'll be happy.

pogo

"in a way he reminds me of scott freestone" ............in attitude/discipline backflip!!!

as for scott freestone being big you must be vertically challenged old mate.

it s good to see that some posters are hoping greg bird will achieve his full potential and not continually death riding him.

whether he be 5/8 lock or interchange, he will be of great value.

Surely

Good to see we have kept a lot of the crap and not signed some of the better players.

Looking good for PL next year ... oh hang on we can't win PL this year with those guys !

Jimbo

Surely said:
Good to see we have kept a lot of the crap

Russell Aitken
Phil Bailey
Cameron Ciraldo
Daniel Dumas
Keith Galloway
Paul Gallen
Jon Green
Michael Greenfield
Matt Hilder
Sam Isemonger
Brett Kimmorley
Andrew Lomu
Ryan McGoldrick
Nathan Merritt
Dale Newton
Danny Nutley
Dimitri Pelo
Mick Russo
David Simmons
Jason Stevens
Michael Sullivan
Nigel Vagana
Reece Williams

Be a good sport and highlight where all the crap is, will you?

Thanks...

pogo said:
"in a way he reminds me of scott freestone" ............in attitude/discipline backflip!!!

as for scott freestone being big you must be vertically challenged old mate.

No Bobo. Again you are wrong. Not similar in in anyway.
& he didnt look too small a few weeks ago when I had a beer with him. I would say he is 100kg now & running at about <5% body fat.
Anybody who knows me can guess how big the crazy mofo is as I lent him one of my shirts to go out in & his arms would not fit the sleeves.