Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PLEASE HELP PENELOPE

ozzie

To stop her from having a fit - could you put your grand ifnal posts in asap....I think the oppositions tactics are to rush us at the end thinking they aren't posting..

RoostarGirl

No Ozzie they are just waiting to see how good our articles are so that if need be they can amend theirs.

Don't let their tactics worry you guys....post when your all ready. Lets just worry about our own game :lol: :lol: sound familiar??? I've been watching to much footy. :roll:

GO THE ROOSTERS!!!!!!!!!!!

Genghis Chan

And I need something to finish my article - how many goals did ElMasri kick consecutively earlier in the season, and was it a world record, Aussie record, or tied for either?

RoostarGirl

Lord Reynoldson said:
And I need something to finish my article - how many goals did ElMasri kick consecutively earlier in the season, and was it a world record, Aussie record, or tied for either?

Hey Lord check you pm's I sent you an article I found which answers the question.

Good Luck.........
GO THE ROOSTERS!!!!!!!!!!!

The Backpacker

Child is lounging on the deck with alcohol in the first sun we have seen since Adam was a boy constructing an article.

I'm going to see just how late I can post mine - the time difference between LU's clock and mine on my computer is four minutes. Does that mean I should post at 4 minutes to, or 4 minutes past the Aussie 9pm. How many hours behind are you?

LALALALALALALA

:lol: :lol: :lol:

RoostarGirl

Penelope Pittstop said:
Cat, I throughly enjoyed your Article. Your a Champ !!

Yeah I agree great article!!!.

Who is next???

Hey Mort I hope the sun is inspirational :lol: :lol:

Genghis Chan

Cat's article - 755 words, that's too many. Will we not be penalised? Can she not edit out 5 words before the 9pm deadline and us escape a penalty?

Thanks for the article RG. My post will go up in a matter of minutes (whether that's a few minuites, or a few thousand minutes, I do not know :lol: :lol: :lol: )

Genghis Chan

Here's my article. Not my best, but the best I could come up with. Anyone think that maybe PP should post instead of me? If you still want it posted ahead of PP, let me know and I will be back tonight to post it.

---------------------------------------
Hits and Misses

There has rarely been a season where the importance of goal kicking has shone through like the one just gone. In one of the closest competitions of the modern era, near hits and misses by the men with the magic boots have elevated them to victory or cost them defeat. Throughout the season there were some stand out kicks, but the number of costly misses in the top rugby league competition in the world was absolutely appalling.

Goal kicking is one part of play that should never cause a team any concern. It is the one part of play that the opposition can do nothing about. The displays of goal kicking atrocities this season by dozens of goal kickers has been absolutely disgraceful for the standard of football being played. Simple conversions have been missed by not the narrowest of margins, but by the width of the field.

What better time is there to reflect on the goal kicking displays of the 2003 season than after watching a second rower play role of halfback and goalkicker in a New Zealand victory over Australia where he did not even have to take a single shot at goal. That’s probably a good thing too, because he showed why he doesn’t kick for his club with his 50% strike rate.

The Hits

Very few goal-kicking performances stood out this season, but Hazem El Masri showed his goal-kicking prowess when he nailed a record breaking 35 consecutive goals. The importance of those kicks is undermined by the fact that he could have missed all 35 of those goals and it not have affected the outcome in a single match. In a season as close as the one just passed, that is a remarkable statistic of one of the most remarkable goal kicking feats where the ball was being struck over the black dot from all parts of the field.

Andrew Johns put a conversion over from right on the sideline to give Newcastle an important 32-30 victory over the Dragons in the final minute of the Knights round 14 match against the Dragons. It was the type of kick that a player is not expected to get, but the type of kick that great goal kickers love to take.

It’s a pity that there were only few great goal kickers going around this season.

The Misses

After being outscored 5 tries to 4 in round 2 against Manly, the Cowboys got home on the back of some lacklustre Manly goal kicking, which saw the Eagles leave Townsville without converting a single try and, as a result, without the victory. The next week the Cowboys were at it again. This time it was some Josh Hannay penalties that elevated the Cowboys to a second consecutive victory where their opposition scored more tries but inability to convert goals more often than not led to their downfall.

South Sydney almost got home against Brisbane on the back of 4 of Brisbane’s 5 tries not being converted, but it was their own goal kicking problems that show the atrocious situation that some clubs are in. Their lack of a top-line goalkicker cost them victory or at the very least an opportunity at victory or a shot at extra time in half a dozen games in 2003. It’s not as though they were missing sideline conversions that were letting them down, but simple shots at goal from near to the posts that a half-decent goalkicker could have kicked blindfolded.

They weren’t the only ones. Melbourne have always had problems in the goal kicking department, and when Matt Orford missed what was a routine conversion 10 metres to the right of the upright in a round 19 match against the Broncos, the result was devastating. The game was taken into extra time where Scott Minto scored the game-winning try. It wasn’t the only time. Many simple conversions either hit the upright, fell short or sailed wide. The result was many games became too close for comfort, missed victory, and premature old age for coach Craig Bellamy.

The concept is simple – put the ball between 2 posts and over a crossbar. The execution has been dismal. Many teams tried multiple kickers with multiple failures. For professional athlete’s that get paid to play, they obviously aren’t getting too much training to kick a football.

If only I had more time to expose all culprits of these goal kicking atrocities...
-----------------------

RoostarGirl

Penelope Pittstop said:
He can edit it. I've pm'd him. So it will be fixed.

Thanks Pen :D I was worried.

No worries Lord glad to be of help...excellent article....but you forgot a good kick one I will always remember.

Mark Riddell final round of the season Friday Night game against the Broncos (with a lot of stars out)......excellent kick....put the Broncos in a position where they could have been knocked out of the 8 by Parramatta if they could manage to beat Penrith by 26 or something on the Sunday.

The Backpacker

Why has everyone got the panics? Did Australia suddenly become one day ahead in some warped time zone?

It is Tuesday, isn't it?

RoostarGirl

The Backpacker said:
Why has everyone got the panics? Did Australia suddenly become one day ahead in some warped time zone?

It is Tuesday, isn't it?

Of course it is?? Who is in a panic?? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I think you've been enjoying to much sun today ;-)

Hey don't rush that article now will you BP? :lol: :lol:

The Backpacker

No chance of that. Have more important things to do than that. I've been online booking and changing airfares. I cannot believe that there are no afternoon flights direct to Alice Springs in the weekend. What sort of country is this Australia place. :lol:

RoostarGirl

The Backpacker said:
No chance of that. Have more important things to do than that. I've been online booking and changing airfares. I cannot believe that there are no afternoon flights direct to Alice Springs in the weekend. What sort of country is this Australia place. :lol:

Hey booking airfaires over the net is great fun :lol:

PS Where is Alice Springs?? ;-)

The Backpacker

RoostarGirl said:
The Backpacker said:

I have no idea but I hear the remote nurses come back a little feral. Glad I don't have to see her in Sydney afterwards. ;-) :lol:

RoostarGirl

The Backpacker said:
RoostarGirl said:
The Backpacker said:

I have no idea but I hear the remote nurses come back a little feral. Glad I don't have to see her in Sydney afterwards. ;-) :lol:

Gee I just realised that I have something on...on that Anzac weekend ;-)

Just joking I reckon the more feral the better :p Should be great fun...pity you won't be there. :cry: