Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pokie Tax strikes

Alan Shore

sullyfan said:
I lost all respect for Geyer after his comments about Sully in RLW about his attempted field goal in the Parramatta game. :(

You really are obsessed.

As for MG, at least he can admit he's wrong. He called Martin Lang and Steve Price at the start of the year, now he's apologised and says they're up with the best in the business!

Special K

As soon as Geyer and the Panthers were having some troubles - he was gone. Now they are winning he is back there and saying how great they are :?

Tamazoid said:
Sheros los Deros said:
Salmon said:
Bob Carr you dickhead.

Vote 1 Liberal.

I don't support the pokie tax, but there is no way I'd vote Liberal. They aren't an alternative government, they are full of empty wind, not policies.

Geyer and Piggins as pollies :shock: , jee Anrie as Major of California is scary enough.

And let the ALP increase your taxes so they can waste them on fancy dress parties for themselves, let the hospitals fall down and make NSW a laughing stock?

If the Libs/Nats aren't an alternative government, then what the hell is the ALP "government"? Ignorant mongrels anyone?

Mmmm....what do they say about religion, and politics? I guess I'll just keep my opinions of John Brogden and Kerry Chickarovski to myself. Don't want to add to any defamatory comments made in other posts on this subject.

SirShire

I've just been thinking... if a few clubs in the NRL do bite the dust, would there be a chance of seeing the Bluebags back in the NRL? Singo is a Newtown man and I'd imagine he'd inject funds, and possibly Tommy Radounikos coaching? Just an idea, but could this pokies tax see the rise of once great ARL clubs back to play in the NRL??

Just curious - my dad's a Jets man. Also, this is off topic but anyway, in 2008 it will be the 100th aniversary of rugby league and of course, the Newtown Jets (the oldest club). Are we to expect a big bash at Newtown?? :D

SirShire

Haha sorry - this is all way too premature. Just thought that this forum is the most likely to have some sort of answer since there is no dedicated Jets forums etc.

Ohh God, wouldn't my Dad love that. He's an old Jets man too but has remained bitter since they were booted out of the comp. I'm slowly trying to get him to support Cronulla with a passion, but if the Jets (or Bluebags?) came back then all hope would be lost.

I do doubt it, although maybe Singo would inject them back into the top level via the Central Coast?

SirShire

My dad supports the Sharks but always he will be a Jets man. He would piss the sharks off tomorrow if the Jets were to be put back in.

He is still very bitter about it too, I dont think he ever got over the 1981 Grand Final loss to Parramatta.

The Popper

Jets back in the NRL? No hope. I liked the Bluebags and I still do but they lost out when their territory became industrialised and a residence for soccer loving ethnics. And as an inner city club, they were forced out to Campbelltown where they were crucified because of a debt which, I believe, was not as bad as some others clubs have had. In the current climate for finances, the NRL probably still believes there are too many Sydney clubs (and I think they are right). If we don't get our act together soon I believe that we could be in danger of extinction. Hope not, but I gotta be realistic.

imasharkie

Salmon said:
My dad supports the Sharks but always he will be a Jets man.
I was at that game when the jets brought that american winger, I reckon it was the biggest crowd they had for ages and geez it was the funniest debut game ever, forget his name but he made for a big day out :lol:

blueboatboy2 said:
Salmon said:
I was at that game when the jets brought that american winger, I reckon it was the biggest crowd they had for ages and geez it was the funniest debut game ever, forget his name but he made for a big day out :lol:

I think it was a double header, in 1977, at the SCG. Manfred Moore from memory, he scored a try from an up and under. The Sharks thrashed the Jets 37-10 or something.

imasharkie

Sheros los Deros said:
blueboatboy2 said:
Salmon said:

I think it was a double header, in 1977, at the SCG. Manfred Moore from memory, he scored a try from an up and under. The Sharks thrashed the Jets 37-10 or something.
Yeh that was the joker but I am absolutely positive the game was a blue bags home game because they had heaps of personalities there and at the time I lived with my sister at Enfield and not to sure who they played but they were beaten pretty badly :)