Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Positives

Joshuatheeel

It is the first round and we were expected to lose tonight. I reckon we should look at the positives from tonights game instead of the negatives. Yes if we are still playing like tonight after 6-10 rounds then lets be negative.

Anyhow my positives from tonight;

- Our defence in the first half, we defended quite a few sets on our line without letting the broncos in.
- Our speed especially in the first half when moving up in defence was very fast and agressive - good signs there
- Considering the amount of ball or penalties we gave the broncos we were still in the game with ten to go.
- Our inexperienced backs went quite good. Blair and Sio look the goods, both run the ball hard and have good speed - they will improve over time. All the backs defended quite well and controlled Hodges nicely
- Our centres went ok in defence and in my opinion Tonga went ok considering what has been mentioned of his trial form.
- Hindmarsh went great considering at what stage his career is at.
- In Mannah and Allgood we have two props with the potential to lead the side for the next 5-7 years.
- Sandow's kicking game in the first half was good.
- Roberts went better then expected.
- Broncos from my understanding had a full strenght side. WEe had Tonga and Hayne out (ilike the broncos without hodges and Yoh Yeh)

Anyhow lets be positive for a while and give the side a chance.
-

I think you should look at the positives and the negatives. If you don't look at the negatives then you're not going to improve.

ethan tremblay

i agree but i would really like too see kearney come out and blast the teams 2nd half preformance instead of he taking the safe rout we toiled hard we were in the game for long periods of time we need him to be hard not everyones mate!

Joshuatheeel

I think you should look at the positives and the negatives. If you don't look at the negatives then you're not going to improve.

Can see your point but it is still early in the season, plenty of time for improvement. The side can build on the positives but not the negatives

Parra Pride

Mannah and Allgood were outstanding, if they play like that all year our front row will never be a problem (though I suppose that's the same as last year)

I thought Roberts went alright before he got injured, and after he went off what little attack we had seemed to die.

Hindy just more of the usual.

Sio was good, very promising, same with Blair though I'd like to see Blair get a run at centre.

MrT

Mannah and Allgood were outstanding, if they play like that all year our front row will never be a problem (though I suppose that's the same as last year)

I thought Roberts went alright before he got injured, and after he went off what little attack we had seemed to die.

Hindy just more of the usual.

Sio was good, very promising, same with Blair though I'd like to see Blair get a run at centre.

How Morgan is a centre infront of him is beyone me. Morgan was smashed everytime he got the ball. Seriously I don't like slamming our players but he offers nothing

ethan tremblay

How Morgan is a centre infront of him is beyone me. Morgan was smashed everytime he got the ball. Seriously I don't like slamming our players but he offers nothing

he's D was solid they were goin to hodges all night and finally had to go over too blair and tonga to get a try

eel01s

The thing is, we looked pretty good when we cut out the mistakes and silly penalties (first half). Sandow's kicking game was sharp, and he was providing what we previously lacked in the halves.

However, once the mistakes started from the first set in the second half, we just didn't have the class to go with the Broncos. If SK can get the boys to play mistake free footy, we will go OK.

I thought Sio, Mannah, Allgood and Maitua looked good. Also pretty happy with Morgan and Blair.
)

Sandow was a positive for me. I wasn't expecting the earth, he's finding his way with the side but he made us so much better in that first half. Yes, he lost his way in the back forty but he lost his halves partner, his only combination in a new side. He will find his feet and I think we'll be very happy we signed him. The commentators mentioned it in the coverage, when he had Roberts he looked calm and composed, rather than running around like a lunatic. I think once he settles and gets combinations with the rest of the side going he will really take off, personally.

barney gumble

C'mon, if we didn't focus on the negatives, then 90% of the clowns here would have nothing to write about!!

mickdo

i agree but i would really like too see kearney come out and blast the teams 2nd half preformance instead of he taking the safe rout we toiled hard we were in the game for long periods of time we need him to be hard not everyones mate!

So you were in the sheds after the game were you?

It's not our job to improve; our job is to enjoy the team.

For most of us that means looking at the positives. The rest must enjoy focusing elsewhere.

Can see your point but it is still early in the season, plenty of time for improvement. The side can build on the positives but not the negatives

Yeah I just look at last night's game and look at how well drilled the Knights and Dragons were in the off season despite coaching changes. You could tell both teams will be in the finals by their round 1 performances. Our performance tonight on the other hand, looked like we hadn't even trained in the off season. We were a rabble.

You're spot on with some of your positives, but I will say wet weather footy played a part in some of them. But the negatives far outweigh the positives. One point I'll disagree with is our aggressive defence. If we continue to rush out of the line like that week in and week out we'll be on the receiving end of a lot of big losses.

Joshuatheeel

Sandow was a positive for me. I wasn't expecting the earth, he's finding his way with the side but he made us so much better in that first half. Yes, he lost his way in the back forty but he lost his halves partner, his only combination in a new side. He will find his feet and I think we'll be very happy we signed him. The commentators mentioned it in the coverage, when he had Roberts he looked calm and composed, rather than running around like a lunatic. I think once he settles and gets combinations with the rest of the side going he will really take off, personally.

then add Hayne to the mix

Morgan was a rock in defence, smashed a Bronco and forced an error in a danger situation too. Blair looked like he went to the Grothe Jnr school of defence and missed every second lesson. Pretty simple I'd have thought.

The rubbish Morgan cops is ludicrous, he is a very solid young kid and will be a good player.

there where more negatives than positives.Yes it was wet but our attack was worse than last year-we didnt even look like making a break.
Lassalo and Horo where very poor.Id be keeping an eye on paulo and tatai to step in (reni to start )