Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Predict the 2010 FG squad

bigfoot

Figured it was something to do. The forum has been too quiet lately. :p

I'm not sure when the squad is actually going to be announced, does anyone know?
Apparently it is being reduced from 38 to 30.

The squad for 2009 was this:
Lachlan Coote*, Dan Randall, Michael Gordon, Geoff Daniela, Brad Tighe, Ben McFadgean, Michael Jennings, Michael Mate*, Greg Waddell*, Junior Tia Kilifi, Shane Elford, Danny Chia, Luke Lewis, Jarrod Sammut, Maurice Blair, Wade Graham*, Trent Iselin, Pee Wee Moke, Joel Romelo*, Paul Aiton, Keith Peters, Masada Iosefa, Nathan Smith, Matthew Bell, Frank Pritchard, Trent Waterhouse, Junior Moors, Josh Bateman, Gavin Cooper, Daniel Penese*, Joseph Paulo, Frank Puletua, Tim Grant, Sam McKendry*, Andrew Pearn, Petero Civoniceva, Adam Woolnough, Joel Orton
* denotes player is still eligible for Toyota Cup

From this, the following have all left/are leaving:
Dan Randall
Geoff Daniela
Junior Tia Kilifi
Trent Iselin
Pee Wee Moke
Paul Aiton
Keith Peters
Junior Moors
Andrew Pearn
Adam Woolnough
Joel Orton

We have added the following with FG experience:
Luke Walsh
David Simmons
Daine Laurie
Nigel Plum
Kevin Kingston
Adrian Purtell

This leaves us with:
Lachlan Coote, Michael Gordon, Brad Tighe, Ben McFadgean, Michael Jennings, Michael Mate*, Greg Waddell*, Shane Elford, Danny Chia, Luke Lewis, Jarrod Sammut, Maurice Blair, Wade Graham*, Joel Romelo*, Masada Iosefa, Nathan Smith, Matthew Bell, Frank Pritchard, Trent Waterhouse, Josh Bateman, Gavin Cooper, Daniel Penese*, Joseph Paulo, Frank Puletua, Tim Grant, Sam McKendry*, Petero Civoniceva, Luke Walsh, David Simmons, Daine Laurie, Nigel Plum, Kevin Kingston, Adrian Purtell

33 players.

From that list, the following have not played FG this year and I would say will probably drop off:

Michael Mate
Greg Waddell
Danny Chia
Josh Bateman
Daniel Penese

28 players.

The only other player who has played FG for us this year is Andrew Emelio. I would say he would be added.

That leaves us with 29.
I am going to take a guess at the last one and say Tinirau Arona will be added.

Therefore, my predicted squad of 30 is this:

Lachlan Coote, Michael Gordon, Brad Tighe, Ben McFadgean, Michael Jennings, Shane Elford, Luke Lewis, Jarrod Sammut, Maurice Blair, Wade Graham, Joel Romelo, Masada Iosefa, Nathan Smith, Matthew Bell, Frank Pritchard, Trent Waterhouse, Gavin Cooper, Joseph Paulo, Frank Puletua, Tim Grant, Sam McKendry, Petero Civoniceva, Luke Walsh, David Simmons, Daine Laurie, Nigel Plum, Kevin Kingston, Adrian Purtell, Andrew Emelio, Tinirau Arona.

Thoughts?
Post your predicted squad too. :D

Sleep

I think Elliott will go with something like:

1. Coote
2. Gordon
3. Jennings
4. Tighe
5. Purtell
6. Graham
7. Walsh
8. Civoniceva
9. Iosefa/Kingston
10. Puletua
11. Waterhouse
12. Pritchard
13. Lewis

14. Bell
15. Kingston/Iosefa
16. Cooper/Smith/Plum
17. Cooper/Smith/Plum

I'd like to see Blair and Grant in the side personally but I can't see it happening.

Fibroman

I think Lewis will play 5/8th and Wade Graham will be groomed to slot into lock or backrow as a ball playing forward.

murraymob

Frank .. pulutua
michael.. gordon
Brad ..... tighe
ben........mcfadgeon
michael...jennings
shane.....elford
luke........lewis
jarrod......sammut
maurice...blair
wade......graham
joel.........romelo
masada....isofia
nathan.....smith
mathew....bell
frank.......pritchard
trent.......warehouse
gavin.......cooper
josepth....paulo
tim..........grant
sam.........mckendry
petro......civiniciva
luke........walsh
daivid......simmons
daine......laurie
nigel......plum
kevin.......kingston
adrian......purtell
tinirau.....arona
evrett.....vaurasi

bigfoot

Can't say I have seen all that much of Evret Vaurasi play... or at least, I haven't focused my attention on him.
What can you tell me about him murray? Lock forward/second rower in the mold of someone like Lewis with a bit of footwork and a tiny bit of playmaking ability, or just a hard working toiler who tackles everything that moves?

murraymob

Can't say I have seen all that much of Evret Vaurasi play... or at least, I haven't focused my attention on him.
What can you tell me about him murray? Lock forward/second rower in the mold of someone like Lewis with a bit of footwork and a tiny bit of playmaking ability, or just a hard working toiler who tackles everything that moves?

evrett was being groomed last year had a few injuries but was being fast tracked up to the u20.Higly skilled lock/backrower has had a few games out in the centers as a junior it was a close call between evrett and jesse sene lefeo a center backrower scored plenty of points in the u20 this year

murraymob

just found out from Everett he is part of the u20 squad not the first squad for next year my guess is the last spot will stay with daniel penese

The Teach

A couple of interesting developments from today's member and media event.

Harry Sejka is part of the fulltime squad so he can work with senior players and getting experience running around with the more mature bodies on the training paddock. A staff member indicated to me that it is an attempt to get him mature in the mind and body, as he has had some discipline issues on game day.

Harry's brother Stirling has left the club officially and will be playing for the Gold Coast's feeder club in the Queensland competition. This is a bit of a loss in my eyes because his attitude is fantastic and he was developing into a handy player in the Toyota Cup last year.

Of the new signings, Daine Laurie looks to have trimmed down a bit and big things are expected according to training staff. Kevin Kingston is incredibly excited to be a Panther and seems to have high hopes given the competition for positions within the club. The guy that really surprised me however was Adrian Purtell. He is a massive unit for an outside back and having spoken to him in depth today, he is keen to wear the jersey as he said he felt stale at Canberra and is looking forward to a new challenge.

I now have renewed enthusiasm for next season and truly believe we can go up the ladder with the squad we have developed.

bigfoot

Wow thanks heaps for the information Teach, I appreciate it mate. :)

According to someone on PI whose brother is apparently close friends with Emelio, he has quit the NRL.

Also as mentioned Harry Siejka will be part of the fulltime squad.

So in that case I would swap Emelio with Siejka giving:

Lachlan Coote, Michael Gordon, Brad Tighe, Ben McFadgean, Michael Jennings, Shane Elford, Luke Lewis, Jarrod Sammut, Maurice Blair, Wade Graham, Joel Romelo, Masada Iosefa, Nathan Smith, Matthew Bell, Frank Pritchard, Trent Waterhouse, Gavin Cooper, Joseph Paulo, Frank Puletua, Tim Grant, Sam McKendry, Petero Civoniceva, Luke Walsh, David Simmons, Daine Laurie, Nigel Plum, Kevin Kingston, Adrian Purtell, Harry Siejka, Tinirau Arona.

Not too bad IMO.

bigfoot

Haha, I admit it's not amazing, but IMO enough to sneak into the Top 8 with a hell of a lot of luck. Either that or we sack Elliott, and our chances increase by 1000%. :lol:

Sure we've got some nuffies like Smith, Cooper, Simmons, Purtell etc, and some old blokes on their last legs like Elford, Puletua, etc, but we also have:

Jennings - one of the best centres in the comp
Gordon - one of the most underrated players in the comp and the best goalkicker by far
Civoniceva - the best and most consistent prop in the comp (arguable with Moi Moi's recent form, but I'd still take Civoniceva)
Lewis - the best Lock/Utility in the comp (he was the highest in the comp on Dally M's before his injury!)
Trent Waterhouse and Frank Pritchard - two of the best second rowers in the comp on their day.

As well as plenty of young inexperienced yet talented blokes who should only get better like Coote, Graham, Iosefa, Romelo, Grant, McKendry, Arona, Walsh, Siejka, etc.

The future is not all bleak.
OK, well it is until we sack Elliott. :lol:
But after that, things are looking up IMO.

murraymob

A couple of interesting developments from today's member and media event.

Harry Sejka is part of the fulltime squad so he can work with senior players and getting experience running around with the more mature bodies on the training paddock. A staff member indicated to me that it is an attempt to get him mature in the mind and body, as he has had some discipline issues on game day.

Harry's brother Stirling has left the club officially and will be playing for the Gold Coast's feeder club in the Queensland competition. This is a bit of a loss in my eyes because his attitude is fantastic and he was developing into a handy player in the Toyota Cup last year.

Of the new signings, Daine Laurie looks to have trimmed down a bit and big things are expected according to training staff. Kevin Kingston is incredibly excited to be a Panther and seems to have high hopes given the competition for positions within the club. The guy that really surprised me however was Adrian Purtell. He is a massive unit for an outside back and having spoken to him in depth today, he is keen to wear the jersey as he said he felt stale at Canberra and is looking forward to a new challenge.

I now have renewed enthusiasm for next season and truly believe we can go up the ladder with the squad we have developed.

thanks teach i have spoken to purtell a few times as well and have been rapt in his attitude and keeness to play for penrith.Hey teach should you be called the teach anymore lol maybe the nurse lol:lol::lol:

Big Mick

Speak to any Canberra fan and they'll always say that he was a great clubman and much loved by fans. Just his play was ordinary.

Wasn't a fan of his signing at first, but since he is a Panther, i'll give him a go on the field before smashing him, because you are only as good as your last performance and he isn't terrible.

If he can do sprint training, and trim down a bit, he'd actually be very difficult to stop.

Good to hear about Kingston. That was one thing I was worried about...his heart being here and not Parra...glad to hear that.

Big Mick

Well excuse me for having some bloody optimism as opposed to a lot of posters on this forum! We have a solid squad that is capable of big things next year if they live up to their potential.

I actually tend to agree.

We missed some pieces last year, and while we have not bought big...we've filled I think about 75% of them. If we have some luck with the last 25%...i.e. with Injuries, we can cover them next year.

We need to rely on Elliot getting the best out of these kids but...and that is what worries me.

The Teach

thanks teach i have spoken to purtell a few times as well and have been rapt in his attitude and keeness to play for penrith.Hey teach should you be called the teach anymore lol maybe the nurse lol:lol::lol:

lol, maybe just call me the police informant since I seem to be ringing and talking to them abt clients constantly these days :lol::lol:

footy1

Figured it was something to do. The forum has been too quiet lately. :p

I'm not sure when the squad is actually going to be announced, does anyone know?
Apparently it is being reduced from 38 to 30.

The squad for 2009 was this:
Lachlan Coote*, Dan Randall, Michael Gordon, Geoff Daniela, Brad Tighe, Ben McFadgean, Michael Jennings, Michael Mate*, Greg Waddell*, Junior Tia Kilifi, Shane Elford, Danny Chia, Luke Lewis, Jarrod Sammut, Maurice Blair, Wade Graham*, Trent Iselin, Pee Wee Moke, Joel Romelo*, Paul Aiton, Keith Peters, Masada Iosefa, Nathan Smith, Matthew Bell, Frank Pritchard, Trent Waterhouse, Junior Moors, Josh Bateman, Gavin Cooper, Daniel Penese*, Joseph Paulo, Frank Puletua, Tim Grant, Sam McKendry*, Andrew Pearn, Petero Civoniceva, Adam Woolnough, Joel Orton

From this, the following have all left/are leaving:
Dan Randall
Geoff Daniela
Junior Tia Kilifi
Trent Iselin
Pee Wee Moke
Paul Aiton
Keith Peters
Junior Moors
Andrew Pearn
Adam Woolnough
Joel Orton

We have added the following with FG experience:
Luke Walsh
David Simmons
Daine Laurie
Nigel Plum
Kevin Kingston
Adrian Purtell

This leaves us with:
Lachlan Coote, Michael Gordon, Brad Tighe, Ben McFadgean, Michael Jennings, Michael Mate*, Greg Waddell*, Shane Elford, Danny Chia, Luke Lewis, Jarrod Sammut, Maurice Blair, Wade Graham*, Joel Romelo*, Masada Iosefa, Nathan Smith, Matthew Bell, Frank Pritchard, Trent Waterhouse, Josh Bateman, Gavin Cooper, Daniel Penese*, Joseph Paulo, Frank Puletua, Tim Grant, Sam McKendry*, Petero Civoniceva, Luke Walsh, David Simmons, Daine Laurie, Nigel Plum, Kevin Kingston, Adrian Purtell

33 players.

From that list, the following have not played FG this year and I would say will probably drop off:

Michael Mate
Greg Waddell
Danny Chia
Josh Bateman
Daniel Penese

28 players.

The only other player who has played FG for us this year is Andrew Emelio. I would say he would be added.

That leaves us with 29.
I am going to take a guess at the last one and say Tinirau Arona will be added.

Therefore, my predicted squad of 30 is this:

Lachlan Coote, Michael Gordon, Brad Tighe, Ben McFadgean, Michael Jennings, Shane Elford, Luke Lewis, Jarrod Sammut, Maurice Blair, Wade Graham, Joel Romelo, Masada Iosefa, Nathan Smith, Matthew Bell, Frank Pritchard, Trent Waterhouse, Gavin Cooper, Joseph Paulo, Frank Puletua, Tim Grant, Sam McKendry, Petero Civoniceva, Luke Walsh, David Simmons, Daine Laurie, Nigel Plum, Kevin Kingston, Adrian Purtell, Andrew Emelio, Tinirau Arona.

Thoughts?
Post your predicted squad too. :D

My team would be:

1. Lachlan Coote
2. Adrian Purtell
3. Michael Jennings
4. Brad Tighe
5. Michael Gordon
6. Travis Burns
7. Luke Walsh
8. Petero Civoneciva (c)
9. Kevin Kingston
10. Frank Puletua
11. Trent Waterhouse
12. Frank Pritchard
13. Luke Lewis

14. Masada Iosefa
15. Nigel Plum
16. Nathan Smith
17. Daine Laurie

This is a very strong team and will do very, very well next year. The backrow is absolutely dynamite.

Can't believe there is no room for super simmo.

Now seriously that is a fine looking team.

You will all become Kinga fans quick smart, great player is Kinga.

Panthers_God

1. Lachlan Coote
2. Brad Tighe
3. Michael Jennings
4. Maurice Blair
5. Michael Gordon
6. Wade Graham
7. Luke Walsh
8. Petero Civoneciva (c)
9. Kevin Kingston
10. Frank Puletua