Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Predictable Test Squad

macnaz

Once again the NRL's most performed and consistent forward gets snubbed for a Rep Jersey. I just knew that Manly winning would once again let Bob Knob Fulton pick his Eagle mates , the only surprise was he couldnt squeeze in Jamie Lyon:eek:. All the media crap about them winning thus having a share of positions didnt apply in 2005, but now its Manly all of a sudden it does.

Sorry Heighno your time will come mate:oops: hang in there.

Tiger Hawk

None of our players deserve a spot given our season. It's irrelevant what happened (or didn't happen) in 2005. There were more deserving players than Hino from other clubs that didn't get a look in as well.

macnaz

None of our players deserve a spot given our season. It's irrelevant what happened (or didn't happen) in 2005. There were more deserving players than Hino from other clubs that didn't get a look in as well.
But anyway as i said it was predictable Manly would get players in as a result of one game. If they had of lost in the finals could you say that all 6 players still would have been selected. i reckon NO!!! anyway please tell me who you consider more deserving in the side ahead of Chris that missed out??

Tiger Hawk

But anyway as i said it was predictable Manly would get players in as a result of one game. If they had of lost in the finals could you say that all 6 players still would have been selected. i reckon NO!!!
Not really 1 game, more 2 seasons of consistently good football that's finally been rewarded, only 2 Manly players had played rep footy in that period I think.

And, you can't compare players like Perry, Williams etc to Hino because they play different positions. Glenn Stewart's been the form second-rower this year & Watmough has had an awesome last 8 weeks. Can't argue there.
anyway please tell me who you consider more deserving in the side ahead of Chris that missed out??
Off the top of my head:

Sam Thaiday
Dallas Johnson
Ben Creagh
Anthony Tupou

Not all individually had better seasons but they all played finals football.

In the end though, I think the team they've selected is pretty much on the money. No complaints from me.

Tommax25

But anyway as i said it was predictable Manly would get players in as a result of one game. If they had of lost in the finals could you say that all 6 players still would have been selected. i reckon NO!!! anyway please tell me who you consider more deserving in the side ahead of Chris that missed out??

lats year manly lost players who were in line to be picked because of one game, it should work the other way this year. watmough was going to be picked for sure, and orford was a good chance, but they got hammered and both missed out. Turn tables and this is a fair result. PLus its voerall form not one game.

Vicious

The side was slected on form, the only 2 who are real unlucky to miss out are Sam Thaiday and Karmichael Hunt, you`d have to think that the investigations surrounding them have something to do with their exclusion ?

NZtiger

Couldn't see either Heighno or Farah making the squad tbh. Their time will come. Heighno and Farah to make their Origin debuts in 2009. Farah must play most of 2009 at 9 though, Sheensie...or else Boyd will steal the vacant spot.

Boyd is
a) A Queenslander
b) A utility back

I assume you mean Ennis?

For mine Farah has 3 main Rivals for the hooking role next year
-Michael Ennis (Had a strong season in 08, and got inside the selectors heads with his attack on Robbie Farah earlier this year)
-Kurt Gidley (not a hookers arsehole, but they wanted to select him at halfback, so why not hooker)
-Isaac De Gois (Good player, had a great season with Cronulla, and with the Knights he'll get a heap of ex-Knights cronies pushing his claims (Joey, Matt Johns, Chief etc)

macnaz

Talking of test sides, when the Junior Burger plays for Ireland will that make him an international?? maybe dad will then push to upgrade his contract.:)