Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Premier League Round 13

Jeffles

Bulldogs v Roosters
Friday 5.10pm
Telstra Stadium

Friday's battle for the Rod Silva Trophy :lol: sees the 4th place Roosters venture to the home of the freefalling 11th placed Bulldogs. The Bulldogs have a team that should be performing a lot better than they are. They will be hungry for a win in front of a partisan crowd. They will need a big improvement from their May form if they are to overcome the Roosters.

----

Wests v Cronulla
Friday 7.30pm
Campbelltown Stadium

This stand alone Premier League game is between 9th placed Wests, who host 11th placed Cronulla. All roads point to a very close match. Cronulla are on a high after beating Souths, while Wests celebrated their recent win over Canberra with the bye last week. Watch for Liam Fulton to have a big game and get the Magpies home.

----

Newtown v Balmain
Saturday 3.00pm
Henson Park

The first Ryan-Pringle Trophy match iss between inner-western rivals Newtown and Balmain. Balmain cross Parramatta Road to enter fortress Henson where they will be met by a solid Jets crowd, weather permitting. They face a Newtown side that has won 3 of the past 4. Newtown play well at home but Balmain are playing some very good football. Get set for an exciting day between two proud Foundation Club.

----

Newcastle v Parramatta
Saturday 5.30pm
EA Stadium

The first placed Parramatta Eels travel to Newcastle where they face a struggling Knights side. Parramatta have hit their straps of late with a good win over Balmain last week taking them to the top of the ladder. The Knights lost to Newtown last week and will need to improve out of sight to even challenge the Eels.

----

Dragons v Bears
Saturdy 5.30pm
WIN Stadium

The Dragons come off the bye to face a struggling North Sydney in the Frank Facer Cup :lol: . The Saints are a much better side to that which lost narrowly to Parramatta a fortnight ago. This will worry the Bears who have not had a home game in what seems like an eternity. The question is not who will win but how many points the Saints will score

----

Manly v Cougars
Sunday 12.15pm
Brookvale Oval

Again the match of the round takes us to the northern beaches. The Seas Eagles host the Penrith side in the Des Hasler Cup :lol: . While it is 2nd v 6th on the ladder. Just 1 point separates these two sides, highlighting the even nature of this NSWRL competition.The Eagles lost away to Canberra last week and will be pleased to be playing in more familiar surrounds. The Cougars will be no mugs. They always turn up to play Rugby League.

----

Souths and Canberra have the bye.

Jeffles

The Dawson Twins Minus 1 said:
"The Seas Eagles host the Penrith side in the Des Hasler Cup..."

"The Cougars will be no mugs."

Oh how droll, BB...

Regards,
TDT-1

That's why you're the writer and I'm the law talking guy.

If you find better copy in the Shanghai Daily or the New Town Club feel free to post it. :lol:

Fanny Batter said:
u r takin the piss outa the trophys jeffles.

wot about a leo dynevor cup for wests and newcastle

Thought about that one last night. Get set for next week when Norths take on Newcaslte for the Jason Martin Trophy. :lol:

Mighty Tiger

Bluebag said:
Keep dreaming Mighty, we are on a roll. See you tomorrow.

Mate you will be after tomorrow a roll down the hill at hensons :lol: :lol:

All jokes aside will catch you there

Mighty Tiger

Bluebag said:
Its not the rolling down the hill that worries me just the drop at the end. :lol:

:lol: :lol: Well I'm sure your fellow blue bags could form a mutual protection pact at the bottom :p

Red Bear

Dragons 44 Bears 12 - Played alot better in attack than against Souths a couple of weeks ago but still dropped the ball at crucial times. First try was to Namila Davaui following some good lead up work by Black. That was right in front of me. St George Illawarra then skipped out to a 34-4 lead before two excellent tries down the left hand side to the Bears. The first was to Tarei McKenzie and i honestly cant remember who scored the next try. Other times there looked like there would be breaks but couldnt quite get through. They played quite well in attack tho. Ben Black is an excellent half and Namila Davui played very well, as did Brad Mclean and Ben Fisher. But like the last time i saw them play the defense was poor and at times woeful. One try in particular the winger ran in ostraight over two players and there were many busts where they didnt tackle and gave away easy metres. We have no chance of winning some matches until our defence improves out of sight. There weer some decent tackles but their technique is wrong, they are just grabbing rather than going round the legs. If defence improves we can strt playing better footy but if it stays the same we will be losing game after game by these rediculous scorelines.

Jeffles

Bulldogs 16-28 Roosters
Wests 22-17 Cronulla
Newtown 20-12 Balmain
Newcastle 16-38 Parra
Dragons 44-12 Bears
Eagles 20-14 Cougars

Reports to come shortly.

Significant to see upsets from Newtown and from Manly.

Went Out To The sharks wests match, it wasnt a bad game at all, i thought franze, burns, And Jason Williams had really strong games, it was really exciting with the magpies scoring in the last 2 mins. A shock to me was when the ground announcer said the Michael Buttener was comming off the bench in jersey 20. he played very well as did ken mcguinness.

www.geocities.com/thesharkiearmy
Home Of The Sharkie Army

Jeffles

Bulldogs 16-28 Roosters
Wests 22-17 Cronulla
Newtown 20-12 Balmain
Newcastle 16-38 Parra
Dragons 44-12 Bears
Eagles 20-14 Cougars

----

It was 5 in a row for the Bulldogs as their slump in Premier League continued. This time they lost to a strong Sydney Roosters outift at Telstra Stadium. The Roosters were too good for a depleted Bulldogs unit. Although it was one of the better Dogs performances for a while, it will take a lot more from them to get back into finals contention.

----

Wests won a thrilling match at Campbelltown Stadium on Friday night. The Sharks thought they hade the match wrapped up holding the smallest of leads. But right at the death, the Magpies came from behind and won, scoring a try with just minutes to spare. A tragic defeat for the Sharks but a brave win for the Magpies.

----

Newtown made it 3 in a row with a 20-12 win over Balmain. It was a dour contest played in front of a big local derby crowd at Henson Park. Tries were the order of the day with no team kicking a conversion. Newtown led 16-12 at the break. The Tigers were battered around by Newtown's tough pack. Two penalty goals towards the end of the match sealed a tough victory for the Jets. Monah Elahamed was sent off for the Jets late in the game.

----

Parramatta took full advantage of Balmain's defeat to consolidate their position as leaders of the VB Premier League. The Eels defeated an improving Newcastle 38-16 at Energy Australia Stadium. Newcastle will be encouraged by an improved performance. For Parramatta it means at least another week at the top.

----

North Sydney improved slightly on their performances of the past fortnight but it was still not enough to overcome a slick Dragons outift. Yet again silly defence cost the Bears dearly but there were encouraging signs for coach Gary Larson, especially when the Bears take on teams closer to their standing on the ladder.

----

Manly provided the second upset of the round when they overcame a flat Cougars side at Brookvale Oval. Manly won 20-14, stemming the flow of the Cougars side, which was missing many key players due to NRL call-ups. The win was timely for the Eagles as it signalled a return to form after the loss to Canberra last week.

Jeffles

NSWRL VB Premier League Table as at 7 June 2004

TEAM / P / W / L / D / B / F / A / Pts

Parra 12 8 2 2 1 368 281 20
Saints 12 8 3 1 1 324 236 19
Roosters 12 8 3 1 1 311 243 19
Manly 11 7 4 0 2 247 203 18
Cougars 11 6 4 1 3 322 261 17
Balmain 12 6 5 1 2 334 280 17
Raiders 11 6 5 0 2 321 287 16
Newtown 11 5 5 1 2 270 262 15
--------
Souths 11 5 6 0 2 284 241 14
Cronulla 12 5 7 0 1 230 280 12
Wests 11 4 7 0 2 280 340 12
Bulldogs 12 4 8 0 1 259 317 10
Knights 11 2 8 1 2 238 339 9
Norths 11 2 9 0 2 180 408 8

Fanny Batter

Thanx jeffels. im goin 2 norths newcastle on friday nite i reckon that itll b a cracker norths r on the way back.
newtown balmain on the weekend was good but henson park is lookin like shit. the turf i meen.
the new teem to talk about is the roosters cos now there in equal 2nd wif a by in hand so u gotta watch out for them plus they hav a good side wif luke dorn at halfback.

Jeffles

Henson Park is severely negelected by the Council. It is a culture inherited from past Councils. In summer only the soccer plays there so the field does recover, but that is not good enough. It needs care and attention NOW!

The Roosters are a good side at this level. As a Jets fan I've seen them pile on 50 points against us on more than on occassion these past couple of years. Strangely thought they do not threaten come finals time. They have a good side now. Maybe this year will be signal a change in fortune for them.

The Wombat

hey fanny if you are going to the norths/knights game wanna catch up for a beer before the game? or are you too young? you seem to be a young kid is taht rite?
i cant wait to hear the bears song 'the big black bears are back on the road again' i love it! hope the bears get a good crowd

Fanny Batter

wombat im only 18 but i can go 4 a drink ill b at the game wif my m8 he goes 4 norths ill send u a privat msg we usually go 2 the pub across the road from north sydney oval