Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Premier league.

I had high expectations from some of these players but they were quickly eroded last night.
All people pushing Aitkens basket, give yourselves a triple. he's not up to it.
The 1/2 back went OK but he is too slight.
Galloway was MIA but somehow got the man of the match award.
Stand out forwards were Vagg & this number 15 who nobody knew. If anybody knows who he is, put your hand up. He had the head gear on.
I don;t know what Seersys role is, he is sort of like an on feild coach. Just runs around & talks & stands where he wants. Had me quite confused. But other than that, he did nothing.
I was looking forward to seeing the Goodwins play, but only saw PL. Well the one in that game went OK & scored a try, but another Lord Ted he aint. Might be, but he will need to get far more involved.
Saleh was fantastic. He has to go to the top grade. A class above every winger on the paddock from either team & any grade. He stops points.
Other good news is the giant Makisi.
He did come on late, but he really looked to get involved. He is probably the biggest player in the club bar Stevo & maybe Lomu & plays left centre.
Has anybody seen any of his other games?

On the match itself, well they threw it away in a 15 minute period where the ruck defense just went missing & the roosters ran length of the feild sets to score.

15 = Newton = gun player
Aitken didnt put in one of his better performances, has been going well before this.
Travis Burns was the half and he is too slight for first grade football and from what i hear he isnt overly committed to his football, enjoys the good life more.
Seers like you said seemed to just talk.
I like the look of Goodwin. Despite being his first game he was talking it up heaps in goal and showing some leadership qualities.
I also though Franze went alright.

SirShire

Then that back injury was not as serious as we thought! Sooner that man plays firsts, the better.

Yeah AI thought it was him but I too was under the impression he was gone for the year.
He went well.
Him & makisi were my picks for the potentials

ali

I watched most of the game and was pretty sure 15 was Dale Newton. The more I see of him the more I like. He's got a lot more going for him than fatty Vagg. He hits bloddy hard in defence, and I think he will be one of those late developing front rowers who goes a long way.

Makisi I also am impressed by. It baffles me that he only get 15 or 20 minutes in many of the games. He looks to have a touch of class about him, and looks a lot more dangerous than many of the other outside backs.

Aitken was quiet, but still showed touches of class. I'm liking the way he is starting to show signs of being a decent hole runner. That was a nice break he made late in the game. As a 5/8 outside Noddy this is one aspect of his game that will be important. As I've said early in the year, his biggest problem appears to be a lack of self confidence and willingness to over call the halfback etc. His best games this year were at halfback, where he had to do all the kicking and play making as we had no play making 5/8.

I don't think Burns will make it. He's slight, and all he really has going for him is a good turn of speed. Bronx Goodwin goes ok, but I can't ever seeing him become more than a fringe first grader. Simmo will be heaps better in the long run.

And Galloway, was outstanding in the last 15 minutes. If i was picking a man of the match it would have been him or Newton.

Having said all that, we are well off the pace in comparison to the Roosters. How good was 17 year old centre, number 3. Soliola? or something like that. What a player he is going to become. I guess that team went to show what can be achieved when you have millions to spend on recruitment and development.

I thought he was liability for them actually.
In defense anyway, I thought Seers would have been smarkt enough to have a few more cracks at him.
He always had his back turned.

ali

He's possibly still learning the game, but he was massive and had brilliant footwork. At times he looked close to unstopable.

If he is the 17 year old I'm thinking of, then surely he's got a massive future. Either way, I heard Gus say both their PL centres were Flegg eligable.

Booyah

If he is the 17 year old I'm thinking of, then surely he's got a massive future.

I'm pretty sure the guy you mean is Pee Wee Moke.

He's only 17 but has played Flegg all season and is now in Premier League with another young bloke - Mickey Paea.

Pee Wee is an absolute gun player. I have played against him and he's just bloody awesome. A real powerhouse and can easily slot into Lock - which is where he was playing this week.

A player of the future, and educated right down the street from our very own club - Endeavour High.

newman

I saw a highlights package of last years Endeavour Highs team, and boy was that Peewee impressive. Such a big hitter. The guy who showed it to me said Parra was after him, Im glad we got him.

JCSwank

Makisi looks to have great potential. Put him in the run on side and see how he handles a full game I reckon.

Did you notice that Franze played in the backrow when Makisi came on. Bet he wouldn't be happy with that.

Hopefully Newton has another good game next week in PL and remains injury free. After that he should go straight into the top grade. We need his mongrel in the pack.

ali

Booyah I'm pretty sure when I had a look at Big league last week, Moke was named at Lock in Flegg, though maybe reserve grade. That Soliola who I heard Gus say was only 17, was definately one of the centres, I'm just not sure if he was 3 or 4. I'll check out Big League in a shop today.

Either way, whoever it was is doing well as their two Flegg centres were both in the same Aus schoolboys side as Galloway, Aitken, Ross and Pelo.

NthCronullaLocal, How did Stephen Ross and Rhys Lovegrove go in Flegg? Were there any other standouts other than Pelo?

13 for roosters in Flegg was Pee Wee.

Its very hard to make a good assessment of individual players from where i was watching so i just point out what i noticed.
I wouldnt say Pelo was a standout. He was probably our best back IMO having said that. He was solid and did enough to suggest to me that the Sharks should hold onto him as long as they can.
Ciraldo is all class. He caused the roosters damage all night constantly taking the ball up hitting the line and getting away quality offloads. Dont know why he isnt in PL at the moment.
Tony Caine playing 5/8 went ok too. It was my first serious look at him and i thought he was fairly creative and tried to make things happen.

I cant say i noticed Ross and Lovegrove do that much, but like i said it was hard to assess people and i was paying more attention to some players than others. Ill have to get there early to the next game and see them.

We really should have won the game. The roosters could not hold onto the ball and scored two 80m tries from crap Scott Porter kicks which were never on. We werent good enough to put them away with all the chances we had.

Booyah

newman said:
I saw a highlights package of last years Endeavour Highs team, and boy was that Peewee impressive. Such a big hitter. The guy who showed it to me said Parra was after him, Im glad we got him.

We didn't sadly. The Roosters snapped him up super quick.

He is a massive hitter - from first hand experience, and I'm not feather weight either if you get my drift.

A real coup for the Roosters.

I think you were right actually Ali, Pee Wee was playing Flegg this week. I hadn't checked, I'd just heard from a mate of his.

That Soloia guy you mean, just made the NSW U-19's with Galloway and Williams. I haven't seen or heard anything from him either.

Without blowing my own trumpet, if there's a gun player running around in the juniors I usually find out about it pretty quick.

I'll try and find out a bit for you this week if you like.

newman

newman wrote:

We didn't sadly. The Roosters snapped him up super quick.

Drag.