Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pub Side

COACH STERLING

Interesting comments made by Gus Gould on the footy show. Gus has labelled the mentality of the parra players the equivalent to a pub team. He went on top say there needs to be sweeping changes in personnel. I've got to agree. You can't have 350K players in one squad who simply don't perform often enough. Cayless and Finch need to go. I'd invest in a top line hooker and give Kris Keating a go in the halves (fulltime).

Matty Johns & Matt Geyer were also of the opinion that someone like an Albert Kelly or Daniel Mortimer could be experimented with.

If I were Daniel Anderson I'd be setting KPI's for these goons.

Right Caylo here's the plan: I want 20 hits ups for atleast 170m
Right Finch: I want 2 try assists and 3 drops outs. No more than 1 missed tackle and no drop ball.

If they f**k up, tell them to start learning French.

Oravoiur....

we are a "social pub side" were Goulds exact words

He also had a dig at Anderson, saying flogging them at pre season training wasnt going to achieve anything, he needs to do more than that

He said the whole mentality and culture has to change. right from the top through to the bottom

caylo

Interesting comments made by Gus Gould on the footy show. Gus has labelled the mentality of the parra players the equivalent to a pub team. He went on top say there needs to be sweeping changes in personnel. I've got to agree. You can't have 350K players in one squad who simply don't perform often enough. Cayless and Finch need to go. I'd invest in a top line hooker and give Kris Keating a go in the halves (fulltime).

Matty Johns & Matt Geyer were also of the opinion that someone like an Albert Kelly or Daniel Mortimer could be experimented with.

Right Finch: I want 2 try assists and 3 drops outs. No more than 1 missed tackle and no drop ball.

Oravoiur....

For a forward I say oh k, but to say to finch I want so many try assist and so many drop outs isnt the answer. A half should know his role, Kick deep, repeat sets or try when close to the line. It is about taking the right options, and Finch just doesn't

1 Hayne

6 Keating/ Kelly
7 Mortimore/ Keating

We need this, They mentioned that Kelly seamed more physically capable, and Mortimore being very small would take more time. So promote kelly, and give Keating some responsability and see if he has better vision.

You cant teach vision and finch has none.

Oravoiur....

It's spelt "au revoir". If you're going to use the term at the very least spell it correctly.

TheMoneyBoxMan

Gus changes his mind more frequently than he changes his underwear. Last season he was forever banging on about how unfit we were and we didn't do enough in the off season, now he's banging on about DA floggin us in the off season. FFS make up your mind Gus.While I do agree with his summation that it is an attitude thing with us I just get tired of the hypocritical bullcrap that dribbles out of his mouth constantly.

barney gumble

Gould often engages mouth before brain, though the underlying sentiment of what he said rings true.

The 'pub side' remark is an insult to a few, especially Hindmarsh, who try their hearts out every week. Mind you there are a few over paid, under-performing players who should be playing pub footy for Wentworthville very soon (Finch, Hayne............??)

lewiscook

It's spelt "au revoir". If you're going to use the term at the very least spell it correctly.

oi dickhead,
he can spell it how he wonts!
instead of puling out spelling mistakes maybe you should take note into what he's saying!

lewiscook

Oravoiur....

Really good thread.

this is a really good idea!
DA should give some of the boys in our side aa piece of paper of goals they need to achieve during the match.
e.g.
jarryd hayne:
-atleast 1 try assist.
-no more then 3 missed tackles.
-120+ metres.

Weller Hauraki:
-atleast 15 it ups.
-120m's +

oldmancraigy

Really good thread.

this is a really good idea!
DA should give some of the boys in our side aa piece of paper of goals they need to achieve during the match.
e.g.
jarryd hayne:
-atleast 1 try assist.
-120+ metres.

Weller Hauraki:
-atleast 15 it ups.
-120m's +

Genius!

I'm sure DA never thought of giving players goals to achieve in a match before - quick, someone fax this stuff off to him :roll:

And, for the record, the "goals" that you set for Hauraki (and the original poster for Cayless) are psycho...
If a forward averages over 100m per contest over the course of the season, then they've had a good year.
110m is getting strong
120m+ is awesome.

And, for the record, Hayne has 123m per game, he's making 22 tackles per contest - and is only missing 1 per game. He's going nowhere on the try assists - but it's hard when you rely on Finch for the ball with room to move...

COACH STERLING

Genius!

And, for the record, the "goals" that you set for Hauraki (and the original poster for Cayless) are psycho...
If a forward averages over 100m per contest over the course of the season, then they've had a good year.

If they could just make 100m in once in 3 games I wouldn't be complaining. DA should be printing these statistics and taping it to every players locker. There's way too many passengers in this f**king team.

oldmancraigy

If they could just make 100m in once in 3 games I wouldn't be complaining. DA should be printing these statistics and taping it to every players locker. There's way too many passengers in this f**king team.

I completely agree with ya!

So far we have Moi Moi and Mateo making over 100m.

If we're going to win another 5 games this season, we'll need another prop to start making big meters - one out of 4 IS bad.

lewiscook

Genius!

I'm sure DA never thought of giving players goals to achieve in a match before - quick, someone fax this stuff off to him :roll:

110m is getting strong
120m+ is awesome.

And, for the record, Hayne has 123m per game, he's making 22 tackles per contest - and is only missing 1 per game. He's going nowhere on the try assists - but it's hard when you rely on Finch for the ball with room to move...

just saying f**khead!

mate im setting high goals because thats what it takes for teams to win games.
and besides it was only an example.
f**king idiot

KPI's for try assists and line breaks etc. That's completely implausible. Every game of football is different and every team you play is different and sides need to play differently accordingly. You can's just say to a player "I want you to score 2 tries this week or set up 1 try'. That's completely not the way to do things. It's 4 weeks into the season, we're 2 from 4 which is not great but it's not terrible either.

lewiscook

KPI's for try assists and line breaks etc. That's completely implausible. Every game of football is different and every team you play is different and sides need to play differently accordingly. You can's just say to a player "I want you to score 2 tries this week or set up 1 try'. That's completely not the way to do things. It's 4 weeks into the season, we're 2 from 4 which is not great but it's not terrible either.

your 100% correct.
i just though if that its not happening already, that DA would give key players goals to set themselves for a week to week basis reagrding who there versing...

but tbh...
where 2 from 4..
manly are 0 from 4
we just got to get a bit more composure and come away with the 2 pts at the end of the day as much as possible...
even if it means winning ugly and just grinding?

lingard

I can`t believe people would actually take this drivel seriously. From the most over-rated coach in living memory, too. If I were Daniel Anderson I would be incredibly insulted. God, he`s been at the club for how long? And the season is four weeks old. Does Parramatta have to perform like world-beaters already? And, in fact, Gould is quite wrong. Our attitude is not the problem at present - Daniel Anderson has actually done a remarkable job in that regard in a very short period of time. We only have two problems:
1. We don`t have a very good playing roster - just have a look through the other NRL teams starting sides in Friday`s Telegraph, and tell me our team actually ranks with the likes of Easts, or Manly or Melbourne or Saints or Brisbane or the Titans or the Warriors or the Cowboys or even the Bulldogs or the Knights.
2. Even given our lack of personel, I think if we had a quality half-back, we could be competitive. The halfback is the real problem at the moment - and the only one we can change right now.

your 100% correct.
i just though if that its not happening already, that DA would give key players goals to set themselves for a week to week basis reagrding who there versing...

but tbh...
where 2 from 4..
manly are 0 from 4
we just got to get a bit more composure and come away with the 2 pts at the end of the day as much as possible...
even if it means winning ugly and just grinding?

Winning ugly is the key. 2/4 is not a bad start to the season. The last time we won more than 2 out of our 1st 4 to start the season was back in 1999. Even in '01, '05 and '07 it took us a while to get going. Grind out wins at the start of the season, cop a few bad losses, but then pick up later when it matters and things may fall into place.

Joshuatheeel

Is not making metres our major problem ? Would making more metres on Friday help us win the game ? no , becuase we had plenty of chances to score points!!
I reckon our problem is not converting sets within the 20 into points and simple mistakes !!!

The thing that set the Roosters game apart from our efforts against Souths (workmanlike) and Raiders (lucky) was leaking in defence...

Sure, look at the stats about the ball we had and didn't convert to points due to poor options.

But also look at the fact we leaked three tries down the right side defence, and changing a half back or five eighth doesn't fix that...

Joshuatheeel

The thing that set the Roosters game apart from our efforts against Souths (workmanlike) and Raiders (lucky) was leaking in defence...

Sure, look at the stats about the ball we had and didn't convert to points due to poor options.

But also look at the fact we leaked three tries down the right side defence, and changing a half back or five eighth doesn't fix that...

Yes "maybe" some soft tries - but we had enough chances to score 3 tries as well. You get away with conceding three tries if you convert your chances.

I'd hate to burst the "lets send the slackers to France" bubble - but you can't suddenly force KPIs on any player mid contract and expect to be able to cut them if they don't achieve em .... unless the underachievers choose to leave, then we have them until the end of their contracts