Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Qld connection

Weipa Dragon

Putting this out there and being a qlder expect a bit of rubbish but picture this. Price has driven our mighty team into the ground with average coaching to say the least. We recruit kevin Walters; though inexperienced would have had a hell of an apprenticeship under Bellamy; not unlike brad arthur- also kevin Walters was a very good football player. He becomes our coach and along with the cutters, we also have a feeder team north of the border; Ipswich jets in which all the Walters boys came through and possibly the Sunshine Coast falcons who don't seem to have a club as feeder in the qld cup. Cutters and whoever north if the border for recruitment and someone out of the dragons who
Has an extremely formidable football brain...who never played for the dragons or steelers. Price has had a chance for two and a third seasons and has not produced a strong or even left field playing team. Time to move on I think. Bring on Walters.
Another thing. There are a hell of a lot of dragons supporters in qld who would live to see a few more banana benders sitting in the ranks.

I don't think it is such a bad idea.

Would afford us a totally different culture. Heaps of talent and resources in general up there. And heaps of Dragons fans too...!

Saint69

Kevin Walters was a very good footballer and a winner and I don't doubt that he has learned plenty about coaching through various clubs,I just doubt that he would be the one to take us forward since he hasn't actually scored a head coaches job yet been in the running a few times.

As for the rest of the plan I would like to see us have wider access to more talent outside the Illawarra,so tapping into QLD makes sense,only thing is we should already have scouts up there and if not we would be behind most other clubs that do.

dragonreddy

Obviously from my posts on other threads that i think he would be a good coach, I believe he was also heavily considered for the Cowboys job. Would definately help that he knows so many people up here and i think his brothers are still involved in some way with league , so couldnt hurt to have a few more scouts out identifying talent early ,because we dont seem to have the amount of younger players making the cut to NRL like we did 10 -12 years ago.

...no, and Canberra is running out of crop

dragonreddy

Kevin Walters was a very good footballer and a winner and I don't doubt that he has learned plenty about coaching through various clubs,I just doubt that he would be the one to take us forward since he hasn't actually scored a head coaches job yet been in the running a few times.

As for the rest of the plan I would like to see us have wider access to more talent outside the Illawarra,so tapping into QLD makes sense,only thing is we should already have scouts up there and if not we would be behind most other clubs that do.

They had an alliance with all of the BROTHERS junior clubs up here in the early 2000's ,but it didnt go anywhere ,they had a junior development squad ,but in the end didnt go anywhere because of money.Not sure if Logan Brothers was in on that but ironically Gerard Beale played all his junior footy there and ends up at STGI via Broncos, im sure they would have scouts up here there is a few ex players kicking around up here too which some times arent bad for atipoff on young talent.

64 Dragon

That goes without saying. Is Craig Young still or recruitment manager?

BrissyRedV

Would be hard to see him coaching us because of both our history and his, buts I would welcome his appointment as head coach if he was approached and accepted. Surround him with the appropriate staff required and recruit the forwards we need and he would no doubt be successful.

GT0007

Wouldnt be any stranger than Bennett coaching us in regard to history but he has no NRL head coach experience. He has worked under Belamy and has a football brain and plenty of experience as a player. The Qld connection would be an advantage as well but it's still a toss of the coin

FlameThrower

Uncomfortable with another Rookie coach, not even with super league exposure? We need a hard head to mentor the team, not a mate. We've been 2 years in wilderness and don't want another 2 more messing about. Next....

BrissyRedV

Any coach unless it is Bellamy, Bennett or Hasler will be a toss of the coin. But matter who the coach is, the roster has to be right as well to be competitive and successful.

GT0007

Any coach unless it is Bellamy, Bennett or Hasler will be a toss of the coin. But matter who the coach is, the roster has to be right as well to be competitive and successful.

The roster is not too far off and you would think a new coach would have a plan to complete the roster in regard to props.

BrissyRedV

It's not far off but our lack of go forward and ability to stop the bigger packs is killing us. Let's hope Doust has something lined prop wise and it is the best available and not the cheapest option. Next year's coach will need the roster to be squared away if we are to be competitive against the larger sides in the comp.

Gomarchin

Why not another Qlder in Neil Henry?

He's assistant coach at the Titans but it doesn't look like Cartwright will be going anywhere in the short to medium term?!

GT0007

Why not another Qlder in Neil Henry?

He's assistant coach at the Titans but it doesn't look like Cartwright will be going anywhere in the short to medium term?!

45% win ratio at Canberra and 48% at the Cowboys. I'd be expecting better than that as Price is sitting on 50% this season

Slippery Morris

If you are going for an ex player Jason Taylor is the man for the job. He has a much better football brain than Kevy. Roosters are going great guns and he has had some input into that so they may as well tap into it.

GT0007

If you are going for an ex player Jason Taylor is the man for the job. He has a much better football brain than Kevy. Roosters are going great guns and he has had some input into that so they may as well tap into it.

His had NRL experience as well albiet mixed results