Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Random Tigers articles from the media

stryker

I don’t think we’re mentally fragile. I think the players are indifferent, I really think probably 12 of the 17 don’t give a flock, as long as there’s money going into their bank. We recruited James Robert’s, I think he’s a decent footballer, but he’s had dramas at every club he’s played at, and now there’s talk of going after Naden. It’s one thing to be gifted, quite another to fulfill the promise that you show. It’s no good to be a talented player if you haven’t got the mindset to see it through. I reckon we should get David Goggins out to train with the Tigers for the rest of the season, the bloke can show our guys what mental fortitude is all about. He would break every one of our guys within a week.
Goggins would cause tears...

Ron's_Mate

‘Miracle worker required’: Sheens’ new job just got a lot tougher at Tigers
By Adam Pengilly
June 21, 2021 — 4.45am

Tim Sheens is expected to get his hands dirty in the Tigers’ football department as soon as he steps foot out of quarantine next month, with the club unequivocally throwing their support behind coach Michael Maguire.

On the back of their humiliating 66-16 defeat at the hands of a rampant Storm, Sheens’ appointment has turned from feelgood factor to one the club desperately needs.
The Tigers are staring down the barrel of a 10th straight season without making the finals, and were so awful on Saturday night Melbourne led 60-0 after just 51 minutes on the Sunshine Coast.

Somehow, the 50-point margin actually flattered them as they ran in two tries while Nelson Asofa-Solomona was in the sin-bin. So disgusted was he, Maguire walked out on his team at half-time.

What Sheens made of it from the other side of the world might not be able to be posted on a family website. He’s the joint venture’s only premiership-winning coach in 2005, and the Tigers’ distant past has never looked so good.

When his appointment was announced earlier this month, it included areas from “supporting pathway development and planning” to “ensuring sustainability in all aspects of the organisation”. Club culture was thrown in there and recruitment too.
But let’s cut to the chase: his first job will be to get into the club’s football program and find players who can help turn the club around.

How he and Michael Maguire, a strong personality with his own principles, combine will be compelling viewing.
Maguire is not going anywhere anytime soon. The Tigers have set their clocks to coaching changes every two to three years since Sheens left in 2012 - Mick Potter, Jason Taylor, Ivan Cleary have all come and gone. The board is reticent to go down the same path with Maguire, who has a new two-year contract which is due to begin in 2022. They are backing him to succeed.

But how much longer can they accept performances like the one on the Sunshine Coast, the Anzac Day humbling at the hands of the Sea Eagles, the insipid performances on occasions to remember Tommy Raudonikis against the Cowboys and Titans?
“We were taught a lesson [on Saturday] night by a team that has been the benchmark for the best part of 10 years and continue to be,” Tigers chief executive Justin Pascoe told the Herald and The Age “It’s only a valuable lesson if we actually learn from it.

“The whole club is hurting, the players, staff, coaching staff. There’s certainly no panic, but we’re hurting.”

Even allowing for the blowouts this season, conceding more than 60 points in one game is a debacle.

Captain James Tamou said there were “underlying issues” after the Storm defeat, hinting even he couldn’t work out why they can match it with top teams in patches and crumble at will on other occasions. Only the Broncos have conceded more points this season.
“That’s the frustration,” Pascoe said of the inconsistency. “Our core product is rugby league and our core focus is winning rugby league games. That’s not happening and we’re not accepting that as a standard. It’s really difficult to explain such a result given the continuation and improvement behind the scenes.

“Our training has been outstanding and the roster is the best we’ve had for some time. Our staff and personnel and support around the football club means we’re now far better equipped financially.”

The Tigers have been circling out-of-favour Brisbane behemoth Tevita Pangai jnr, but there is competition for his signature. There’s been constant links to the Titans and Roosters, which have just lost their inspirational captain and second-rower Boyd Cordner. Would they even want to take the risk on him?
You get the feeling if it doesn’t come down to dollars and just sense, Pangai jnr will only end up at one club. That’s just the Tigers’ lot at the moment. No matter how hard they try, they haven’t been able to land a circuit-breaking signature which can turn around their on-field fortunes.
A man who watched the Sunshine Coast slaughter up close, Melbourne lock Dale Finucane, would be perfect for a team which doesn’t know how to turn up, let alone win, consistently. The Tigers have the chequebook to get him. But the initial indication is Finucane’s management claim he is looking elsewhere.

Which is where Sheens will be expected to make a change.

“His gravitas in the game is second to none,” Pascoe said. “His experience, knowledge and the fact he’s been in winning environments all helps. Him coming in and identifying talent, helping with that whole pathways and development program … you can see how valuable he’ll be.”

Sheens may have worked some miracles in his times, but this one could top the lot.

By Adam Pengilly
June 21, 2021 — 4.45am

Tim Sheens is expected to get his hands dirty in the Tigers’ football department as soon as he steps foot out of quarantine next month, with the club unequivocally throwing their support behind coach Michael Maguire.

On the back of their humiliating 66-16 defeat at the hands of a rampant Storm, Sheens’ appointment has turned from feelgood factor to one the club desperately needs.
The Tigers are staring down the barrel of a 10th straight season without making the finals, and were so awful on Saturday night Melbourne led 60-0 after just 51 minutes on the Sunshine Coast.

Somehow, the 50-point margin actually flattered them as they ran in two tries while Nelson Asofa-Solomona was in the sin-bin. So disgusted was he, Maguire walked out on his team at half-time.

What Sheens made of it from the other side of the world might not be able to be posted on a family website. He’s the joint venture’s only premiership-winning coach in 2005, and the Tigers’ distant past has never looked so good.

When his appointment was announced earlier this month, it included areas from “supporting pathway development and planning” to “ensuring sustainability in all aspects of the organisation”. Club culture was thrown in there and recruitment too.
But let’s cut to the chase: his first job will be to get into the club’s football program and find players who can help turn the club around.

How he and Michael Maguire, a strong personality with his own principles, combine will be compelling viewing.
Maguire is not going anywhere anytime soon. The Tigers have set their clocks to coaching changes every two to three years since Sheens left in 2012 - Mick Potter, Jason Taylor, Ivan Cleary have all come and gone. The board is reticent to go down the same path with Maguire, who has a new two-year contract which is due to begin in 2022. They are backing him to succeed.

But how much longer can they accept performances like the one on the Sunshine Coast, the Anzac Day humbling at the hands of the Sea Eagles, the insipid performances on occasions to remember Tommy Raudonikis against the Cowboys and Titans?
“We were taught a lesson [on Saturday] night by a team that has been the benchmark for the best part of 10 years and continue to be,” Tigers chief executive Justin Pascoe told the Herald and The Age “It’s only a valuable lesson if we actually learn from it.

“The whole club is hurting, the players, staff, coaching staff. There’s certainly no panic, but we’re hurting.”

Even allowing for the blowouts this season, conceding more than 60 points in one game is a debacle.

Captain James Tamou said there were “underlying issues” after the Storm defeat, hinting even he couldn’t work out why they can match it with top teams in patches and crumble at will on other occasions. Only the Broncos have conceded more points this season.
“That’s the frustration,” Pascoe said of the inconsistency. “Our core product is rugby league and our core focus is winning rugby league games. That’s not happening and we’re not accepting that as a standard. It’s really difficult to explain such a result given the continuation and improvement behind the scenes.

“Our training has been outstanding and the roster is the best we’ve had for some time. Our staff and personnel and support around the football club means we’re now far better equipped financially.”

The Tigers have been circling out-of-favour Brisbane behemoth Tevita Pangai jnr, but there is competition for his signature. There’s been constant links to the Titans and Roosters, which have just lost their inspirational captain and second-rower Boyd Cordner. Would they even want to take the risk on him?
You get the feeling if it doesn’t come down to dollars and just sense, Pangai jnr will only end up at one club. That’s just the Tigers’ lot at the moment. No matter how hard they try, they haven’t been able to land a circuit-breaking signature which can turn around their on-field fortunes.
A man who watched the Sunshine Coast slaughter up close, Melbourne lock Dale Finucane, would be perfect for a team which doesn’t know how to turn up, let alone win, consistently. The Tigers have the chequebook to get him. But the initial indication is Finucane’s management claim he is looking elsewhere.

“His gravitas in the game is second to none,” Pascoe said. “His experience, knowledge and the fact he’s been in winning environments all helps. Him coming in and identifying talent, helping with that whole pathways and development program … you can see how valuable he’ll be.”

Sheens may have worked some miracles in his times, but this one could top the lot.

Thanks for posting!👍

By Adam Pengilly
June 21, 2021 — 4.45am

Sorry, but how long has Sheens been out of the NRL now, is it 10 years?
How long will it take a 70yo to get up to speed with the rules and talent?
A lot of the above is just paper talk, unless things have changed, it’s all pie in the sky comments.
Does anyone think Hartigan will stick around if they put Sheens over him?
Do we not remember why they called him “Sheenius“? He got punted from here and a few other clubs as well.
However, in the role the WT’s site had him doing, he will be gold, but let’s face it, most of the footy players today were in nappies, when we won our premiership.
I just can’t see him getting too close to the footy team? Unless they change his role, which has not been mentioned on the WT’s site?

Fordy20

Does anyone think Hartigan will stick around if they put Sheens over him?
No. Assembling a roster and building a team that breaks the longest standing finals drought in the NRL is quite an achievement to have on your resume, but if Sheens is installed at the top, credit would be given to him. If I was Hartigan, I'd find that unacceptable and walk.

How NRL club transformed into Indigenous leader​

The NRL landscape is shifting and a bold strategic shift has the potential to create a new giant in the battle for junior Indigenous talent.

The Wests Tigers have taken giant strides to become the first-choice destination club for Indigenous sporting talent across Australia.

The club’s strategic direction is already resulting in a major shift in the representation of Indigenous players on the club’s senior roster — but under the club’s bold vision for the future it is just the start.

How NRL club transformed into Indigenous leader​

The NRL landscape is shifting and a bold strategic shift has the potential to create a new giant in the battle for junior Indigenous talent.

The Wests Tigers have taken giant strides to become the first-choice destination club for Indigenous sporting talent across Australia.

The club’s strategic direction is already resulting in a major shift in the representation of Indigenous players on the club’s senior roster — but under the club’s bold vision for the future it is just the start.
Might be time to look at some indigenous executives as well.

It’s in there?

Pascoe said the club is committed to recruiting Indigenous people cross all aspect of its operation including senior management, administration and high performance.
Pascoe says things.

“Ivan will not be released”

And ferret head was gone 4 days later.

That is racist.
No it’s not.

Its a sly dig at our current management.

There’s probably plenty of indigenous managerial types that could manage the club better than our current lot.

I think you should retract that ill-advised and less than complimentary comment.

Don’t get pissed off your face, locked out of the house and come into lu looking for a fight.

If you do, head upstairs on the forum to Ivan loving smugville.

Bloody cheek.

We lost against Melbourne, your Nostradamus footy thing died a horrible death ( i warned you) let it f**king go ya mug.

Racist my ass. There goes our finals catch up too.

stryker

No it’s not.

Its a sly dig at our current management.

There’s probably plenty of indigenous managerial types that could manage the club better than our current lot.

I think you should retract that ill-advised and less than complimentary comment.

Don’t get pissed off your face, locked out of the house and come into lu looking for a fight.

If you do, head upstairs on the forum to Ivan loving smugville.

Bloody cheek.

We lost against Melbourne, your Nostradamus footy thing died a horrible death ( i warned you) let it f**king go ya mug.

Racist my ass. There goes our finals catch up too.
Lol

‘I need to find men’: Michael Maguire flags roster overhaul as Tigers lashed over ‘garbage’ loss​

A frustrated Wests Tigers coach Michael Maguire has lashed his team’s “garbage” performance as they sunk to a new low at their spiritual home.

The Tigers treated defence like it was optional as the Rabbitohs piled on seven tries in a 38-22 training run.

It came off the back of Maguire’s men conceding an embarrassing 66 points in their previous outing against the Storm.

It was a good thing there were no fans at the ground because the players would have been booed off at Leichhardt Oval for the second time this season.

A month to the day after they stunned the Panthers, Michael Maguire’s side folded as the Origin-in-waiting halves of Cody Walker and Adam Reynolds picked them apart with consummate ease.

Speaking after the match Maguire said they needed to fix their diabolic starts to games.

“For three weeks, our starts have been ordinary. We have to be accountable for that,” he said.

“It’s sad to say that our start looked like a training run for Souths. It’s very disappointing to see us start like that.

“I need to find men who are going to be accountable for what we’re doing. That’s not acceptable for where we’re going with the club.

“Our first half was garbage.”

Maguire, who said there was no repeat of the silent treatment he gave his side at halftime during the Storm hammering, said he would use the rest of the season to work out which players had a future at the Tigers.

“I’ll be definitely having a look at the team,” Maguire said.

“They’ve got a week now where they can go away from footy for a while.

“I want to find the ones that are ready to take Wests Tigers forward.”

“We’re very focused on where we want to get to. Seeing a performance like that is disappointing because the effort around the organisation is a strong club.

If he shafts half the roster, I’d support him.
The majority of our first 17 don’t deserve NRL status.
Yep, there is no where to hide on the field. The trouble is, we don't have a lot of options atm.

Ned Kelly

Some guys don’t perform until they hit the cauldron of top grade.
We need to try everyone out this year to decide upon a group for next year.
Yup. Our season has been well and truly over for a long time now. Attitude has not improved. Nothing to lose by see what other players have to offer.