Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RD 4 Jets versus NZ Vulcans

2 True Blues

I know its still a whole four days away guys but was bored so started the thread.

Anyone know who is playing for the Vulcans ??

I noticed they have a for against of 74 / 74. Our defence is more than twice as good on paper, and our attack almost twice theirs. Though I have a feeling this will be a tough game.

Who's going on Sunday ?

PS... Go The Jets !!!

bluebag43

I'll be there 2TB's.

I'm sure this will be a pretty physical encounter!

Look forward to catching up with you at the game!

ozzie

gee I miss the old triple headers. It would be good to see Newtown as a prelude game.

To be honest, I don't miss having to pay through the nose to see the Jets play before an NRL game. I'm loving the fact that I can go to a Jets game this year and it'll be top billing for that ground on that day.

Anyway, it'll be good to head back to Henson on Sunday. I think however that'll throw my internal body clock off worse than any jet lag....

2 True Blues

From the ARL site, sorry about the formatting / size etc.

Positions

Fullback

Raymond Ioane
Wing

Malo Solomona
Centre

Aidan Kirk
Centre

TBA
Wing

Michael Crockett
Five-Eight

TBA
Half

Aaron Heremaia
Front Row

Herman Retzlaff
Hooker

Arron Pawley
Front Row

Wayne McDade
2nd Row

Jeremiah Pai
2nd Row

Karl Guttebeil
Lock

Ralph Ah Van
Interchange

Pita Godinet
Interchange

TBA
Interchange

Toleafoa Leaupepe
Interchange

Dion Briggs
Interchange
COACH

Bernie Perenara

Apparently Koopu is also playing, after bein dropped from the warriors.

Darn shame we are coming up against Aiden KIRK in this game. One of the better Jets players in our grandfinal loss season in my books, even scored a g/final try for us prior to goin off injured, remember. !? Hope he does not play today.

2 True Blues

Remember koopu playin for the Jets in year 2000. He used to stay in Sydney at Chika's house rather than travel back to NZ by memory ?

2 True Blues

Remember koopu playin for the Jets in year 2000. He used to stay in Sydney at Chika's house rather than travel back to NZ by memory ?

2 True Blues

Yeah. It was a very lack lustre game in my opinion. Jets thru it away towards the end. Credit to the Vulcans for getting the two points, but Jets were asleep and made them look better than they actually are in all seriousness.

Hopefully they will play some football against Manly next weekend, as if they play like that against Heath Le Strange's team, the score line will be a lot different.

Jets led by ten at halftime, and were in front right up until the last 8 minutues. Aidan KIRK scored the equalising try by memory too. Not sure who the NZ kicker was but he was putting the conversions over from sideline like MERRITT or SOWARD at one stage there in a strong wind.

very ordinary performance from the Jets though from what we have seen in the first 3 rounds, they just had an off day.

Yeah pretty average all round I thought.

The game was pretty even at half time with Auckland having the edge in the first 20 mins but we had the upper hand in the 2nd 20mins before half time.

Second half again was pretty even with either side having chances to win the game. A draw would have been a fair result.

Still we had to have a loss at some point!

Bring on the woManly scum on Saturday!!!!

2 True Blues

Yeah pretty average all round I thought.

The game was pretty even at half time with Auckland having the edge in the first 20 mins but we had the upper hand in the 2nd 20mins before half time.

Second half again was pretty even with either side having chances to win the game. A draw would have been a fair result.

Still we had to have a loss at some point!

Bring on the woManly scum on Saturday!!!!

I dont think we had the darn ball for the first twenty minutes. NZ had a glutens share of possession and still could not capitalise. What happened to the Jets towards the end of the game.?? Some individual brilliance but no cohersion or teamwork at all. Made NZ look good in my opinion.

Suppose if ya gotta lose, losing by one point is the way to go though. Our For and against is the strongest in the comp by far.

Crowd was not that special on Sunday either and a bit quite for me. Maybe about 700 in all ?? Get loud Jets fans !!!! Did the Sunday gameday keep the crowds away ??

PS.....I thought KOOPU was awesome for them as well.

With Manly and Parra/Wenty breathin down our heels in third and fouth place also on 6 points, it is pumping up towards a must win game next Saturday at Henson for the Mighty Blues. Pump up Jets fans !!!

2 True Blues

Forgot. Also a special mention to Aidan KIRK, how good did he play on Sunday ??

I reckon we lost that Grand Final in 2006 when we lost ( our fullback ) him injured in the first half shortly after he scored that grand final jets try. It hurt when he scored the equaliser on Sunday against us. A good player though there is nothing to him wringing wet !

What do you guys reckon. How was it for you on Sunday BB43 ??

bluebag43

G'day 2TB's,

I found it very quite as well. I was up at the Hill Bar with some of the regulars.

I think I will have to get with HPH, Carpet and yourself (if you make the long journey two weeks in a row) on the middle of the Hill and make some noise. I will be bringing the bugle!

I am also bringing along a pommie guy that's never been before and want I him to experience some Newtown chanting and atmosphere!

Maybe we were like the team a bit complacent and lethargic!

I also thought Koopu and Kirk had big games!

2 True Blues

KOOPU and KIRK were among their best mate, making it even the harder pill to swallow. LOL.

Dont think I can make this one buddy, though would walk it if I could. How good is heath goin for manly, gonna be a tough one I reckon.

Though there is always the mid week lotto draw for petrol money . LOL....

Would love to get on the Hill with some noise makin mate's. Last week had the girl and kids there and took the two dogs up to Henson for the first time. Had both dogs running away from me prior to half time as they had never seen me " YELL " before. Come on Jets, have a farkin go ", My dogs ran after that towards the vacant car. LOL...

Would love to get the bugle boys goin again mate, this time lets get up amongst the HILL crowd instead of down in front like at the henson 2006 Penrith semi final win.