Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rd6: Eels v Tigers GAME DAY THREAD @ Commbank Stadium 18/4/22

He didn’t do his job, he missed an important conversion and then didn’t nail the field goal to ice the game. Icing games is his job it’s why he’s our highest paid player.
Two low percentage kicks. It’s not a failure to miss either of them.

The only reason the drop kick was low percentage was him and his dummy half acted like a couple of school girls and shit the bed. It’s his job to ice the game and he didn’t.

I dont know if Wests Tigers made many mistakes, they seemed more patient in attack, whereas Eels made missed opportunities early and there were periods when they were just getting a roll on, a silly mistake happened.

Eg. Two big hit ups from the Eels forwards then a kick out on the full, or a couple of good runs, then a run from dummy half only to drop the ball.

I feel after these mistakes the Eels dropped their heads a bit and lost a bit of focus, whereas other weeks they seemed to regroup quickly

Its as of it they had "that we'll be right its Wests Tigers" mentality

I just wonder with that sort of attitude how they wouldve gone against Canterbury.

How the f**k is a game against the Tigers a big game? It’s only big for them.
It was the "game of the year' according to twitter.

Our two loses this year have been on the bell (79th minute). That sucks.

In pre-game warm ups, Moses practices his field goals a the northern end in front of us. He's got a issue of straying to the right from right in front too many times for it to be bad luck. Vs Dragons and Tigers he went for FGs and strayed to the right. Do better f**ker, you're stressing me out.

I dont know if Wests Tigers made many mistakes, they seemed more patient in attack, whereas Eels made missed opportunities early and there were periods when they were just getting a roll on, a silly mistake happened.

Eg. Two big hit ups from the Eels forwards then a kick out on the full, or a couple of good runs, then a run from dummy half only to drop the ball.

I feel after these mistakes the Eels dropped their heads a bit and lost a bit of focus, whereas other weeks they seemed to regroup quickly

I just wonder with that sort of attitude how they wouldve gone against Canterbury.
+1 that's the way I saw it too. What about when we won the Captains Challenge and then got pushed off the loose head n feed from the following scrum on halfway. FFS.

The issue is we had heaps of ball on their line and created very little but anytime they where in our 20 they caused us headaches.
We win games cause our forwards are dominant and Moses kick game. It limits how many times the opposition are in our 20 and also gives us 2-3 times the amount of chances on their line.
The concern is if both sides get equal time inside the red zone I reckon we lose nearly everytime. And if it's a top 4 side we probably get a hiding.
So forget the scoreline and think of time spent in opponents half. Then you can start to see what areas we are poor in.
Bar the crash play we didn't once look like getting over with smart ball play. Yes of course you can score off BOMBS. They generaly are last option and involve luck. There is nothing well constructed about it. Heck we could win a premiership this way but your odd are stretched. You are basicaly hoping for luck.

Tigers had us stretched everytime they where in our red zone which was not often. They looked far superior in attack

We lost. I wasn't suprised.

Bar our Melbourne victory which we also almost blew we haven't been great.
Very poor against Sharks and let the Titans back in it in both games and just held on to win.

Dragons gave up...... Big 6 -8 weeks of footy coming up. Play a few good sides.
Souths,Manly,Roosters,Penrith. It will be good.
I dont see why we can't win those games. Knights are a good test also
Dragons gave up cos we were giving them a good old analing .... shall i just say every good panthers win is nothing cos opposition gave up? No

We beat melbourne in melbourne - dont care if harry wasnt playing they still had a shit hot team .... its no easy feat

If we were poor against sharks then they were poor too ... cos they beat us on the buzzer .... so the sharks are hardly any better than us, tho people talk em up

Im not saying we are good but we are still up there ... and its april ffs

I agree with everyone, penrith and melbourne are the benchmark ... but we are as good as the other teams and can compete with melb and the riff

Soto

We seem to have that attitude against the Tigers, dogs, dragons, Titans, warriors. Teams we're expected to win well against we seem to make it a real arm wrestle.
Even the dragons game up til halftime you could argue they were the better team.

DaveMc

Our red zone defence is a real worry. Some of that can be put down to issues around having blokes playing out of position (Penisini yesterday in particular), but it’s been poor all season. The Titans carved up our edges in round 1, and yesterday was similar. It means it’s constantly heart in mouth stuff whenever the opposition starts a set in decent field position, and bar the St George game, we’re just leaking way too many easy points.

In saying that, it’s perhaps not the worst worry to have at this stage of the season. Obviously plenty to work on, but improvement can be expected (and is desperately necessary) with outside backs returning to their proper positions.