Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Red V Podcast

jackyboi90

@jackyboi90 really interesting fans question regarding fans showing more support. I think they raise a good point and we should all try to be more positive at times. As a Dragons tragic myself, winning and losing really affects my general mood, after a win I’m ecstatic for days however after a loss I can be quite down.
The players don’t show this emotion however after a loss, they can be seen smiling and having a laugh with the opposition at full time.
I think this is where fans get frustrated and negative. They feel that the players aren’t as invested as the fans (however silly that sounds)
Anyway, another great episode Jack, keep them coming mate.
Yeah I thought it was at least a good discussion to have. The side has seemed to play with this real weight of expectation and some players don't deal very well with that kind of pressure.
That said, I think the fact the performances on the field have been so poor and some players act like they don't even care, gives us as fans the right to vent our feelings publicly.

Trifili13

@jackyboi90 really interesting fans question regarding fans showing more support. I think they raise a good point and we should all try to be more positive at times. As a Dragons tragic myself, winning and losing really affects my general mood, after a win I’m ecstatic for days however after a loss I can be quite down.
The players don’t show this emotion however after a loss, they can be seen smiling and having a laugh with the opposition at full time.
I think this is where fans get frustrated and negative. They feel that the players aren’t as invested as the fans (however silly that sounds)
Anyway, another great episode Jack, keep them coming mate.
This socialising on the field after games (which happens now in most sports) and having a laugh I am sure pisses off a lot of supporters. Some players would take a loss harder than others. If you are still copping $200k, $300k or more to play a game, I would also probably laugh as well.

In the "good old days" you shook hands and walked off. Have a drink and laugh in the opponent's dressing room.

Older formites can correct me if I am wrong but were there residency rules or maximum number of imports (or similar rules) so players had to live or grew up in the area and therefore had a greater affiliation with the club. Most I would suggest grew up following the club and wanting to play for the club so a loss would cut deep. Just using an example, how could someone from QLD, NZ, etc, with no affilition who just treats it as a job, have to same buy-in as a supporter of say the Dragon's or any other Sydney based club.

Like you said Crush, it take days to get over losses, especially when a lot of them are self inflicted like our mob.

Inisai Toga

I wish the players would warm up on a separate field and just run on.; that used to be an exciting part! Now, you've already watched them warm up for 30 minutes so the run-on falls flat. Fulltime, just shake hands and walk off. No boring after match interviews rehashing the same crap each week. Forbid cameras from the dressing rooms at all times as this is the players domain only and then finally blow up the bunker. Good start for 2022 I reckon....

George Dragon

Good job you guys, appreciate the effort and content.

Good to hear that we have 3 (so far) in the DS for next year. All forwards.

The re-signing of Bud 'appears' to be in advanced stage, which is also good news.

The insights from those inside the Club, does paint a positive outlook for our long term future.

Well done everone associated wirh the podcast.......and may it continue

Jack has been doing a great job getting interviews with the players and staff, despite having to deal with Brady.
His interviews and insight to our juniors is well needed and something the club should be doing.
If Brady is not going to do it, he needs to get out of the way and give Jack more access.
It should not be left to fans to promote the club, the players and the juniors coming through.
Most on here would know nothing about them if it wasn't for some supporters. efforts.

jackyboi90

St George has glided its way into the Semi-Finals for the first time in 7 years, on the back of some smart game plans, a positive club culture and superb resilience.
In the third installment of The Missing Rings Documentary, we focus in on the Semi-Final run that saw the Saints come from the dead, to win back-to-back sudden death matches and achieve a Grand Final Appearance.
Plus insights from the players who defied the critics, including Tony Priddle who had the Grand Final week and day from hell and Noel Goldthorpe's revelation that Brian Smith knew the Saints were done at half-time.

Included are all the big games from the finals series including the try-less semi final against Newcastle and the dramatic Preliminary Final win against Illawarra.

OneEyedDragon

It was great listening to the details of the 1992 season. I had forgotten the 3 - 2 win against Newcastle and how I had chewed my fingernails up to my elbows during that game! As a sore loser I still can't see how Brisbane could field the team they did - have they never heard of a salary cap? Anyway, enough complaining. The Dragons really overachieved that year and Brian Smith deserves to have won at least one grand final.

Trifili13

I was at a wedding that afternoon and remember getting in the car after the ceremony and they were interviewing Smith who sounded down so I thought we had lost. Nearly drove off the road when the interviewer asked him how they pulled up and any injuries for next week.

jackyboi90

It was great listening to the details of the 1992 season. I had forgotten the 3 - 2 win against Newcastle and how I had chewed my fingernails up to my elbows during that game! As a sore loser I still can't see how Brisbane could field the team they did - have they never heard of a salary cap? Anyway, enough complaining. The Dragons really overachieved that year and Brian Smith deserves to have won at least one grand final.
Just wouldn’t see semi finals like that these days. Just absolute grit and determination. Current mob could learn a thing or two from that side. Smith was a damn miracle worker. Don’t think he even got coach of the year that season which was a travesty.
That brisbane side was a joke. The salary cap wasn’t quite effective back then!

jackyboi90

I was at a wedding that afternoon and remember getting in the car after the ceremony and they were interviewing Smith who sounded down so I thought we had lost. Nearly drove off the road when the interviewer asked him how they pulled up and any injuries for next week.
Probably saved the aging process for you mate!
Smith was never that jovial after a game, let alone a win. It’s like the side was expected to win each week, which is a great thing for a footy club to be like.
I reckon there was about 30 chances for both sides to score tries that day, the fact that only one was scored and there was such amazing scrambling defence, reinforces what a great semi it was

Trifili13

While a lot of people bag Smith for not winning a comp over his many years coaching, I give home credit for the jobs he did at the Dragon's where I think we were a bit if a rabble before he took over, plus unlucky to come up against those Broncos sides, Rooster's I think were struggling a little before he took over and took them to a grand final in 2010 while Parra were also struggling and still living off the Sterling, Kenny, Cronin, Price, Grothe era and was unlucky to come up against Joey Johns and Kennedy in the grand final. The guy in my opinion was great in setting up a team for success but once you got in a position to go for it you had to appoint another coach to finish the job. Don't know if it's the teacher in him, just like Roy Masters, got very close with us and also had strong Wests sides but could not get over the line.

jackyboi90

St George Illawarra Premiership winner Mick Weyman stops by the Red V Podcast to reflect on his career in Rugby League. Mick opens up about the frustrations and anger that plagued him in Canberra, how Wayne Bennett believing in him gave him the confidence needed to star at the Dragons, the injury struggles in 2010 and the amazing feeling of lifting the Premiership in the same season plus why he still loves the Dragons and hopes of returning there in a mentoring role.

Also in this week's podcast we recap the latest Dragons news as Craig Young is named the new Chairman of the football club, review the halves position at the club during 2021 and we tackle your fans questions for this week. Available on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify and other good podcast channels #redv

OneEyedDragon

St George Illawarra Premiership winner Mick Weyman stops by the Red V Podcast to reflect on his career in Rugby League. Mick opens up about the frustrations and anger that plagued him in Canberra, how Wayne Bennett believing in him gave him the confidence needed to star at the Dragons, the injury struggles in 2010 and the amazing feeling of lifting the Premiership in the same season plus why he still loves the Dragons and hopes of returning there in a mentoring role.

Also in this week's podcast we recap the latest Dragons news as Craig Young is named the new Chairman of the football club, review the halves position at the club during 2021 and we tackle your fans questions for this week. Available on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify and other good podcast channels #redv

Great interview with Mick Weyman. He left nothing in the tank whenever he played for us. Enjoyed reliving his famous "sidestep" try against Manly! Like a lot of Dragons former players, it is a shame the club can't get them involved in some way in mentoring the current crop of players. Anyway, I enjoyed the episode immensely, so thanks Jack and Johnny.

jackyboi90

Great interview with Mick Weyman. He left nothing in the tank whenever he played for us. Enjoyed reliving his famous "sidestep" try against Manly! Like a lot of Dragons former players, it is a shame the club can't get them involved in some way in mentoring the current crop of players. Anyway, I enjoyed the episode immensely, so thanks Jack and Johnny.
He’d be a great addition wouldn’t he mate?
Thanks again for the support and listening to our little podcast.

BBTB

While a lot of people bag Smith for not winning a comp over his many years coaching, I give home credit for the jobs he did at the Dragon's where I think we were a bit if a rabble before he took over, plus unlucky to come up against those Broncos sides, Rooster's I think were struggling a little before he took over and took them to a grand final in 2010 while Parra were also struggling and still living off the Sterling, Kenny, Cronin, Price, Grothe era and was unlucky to come up against Joey Johns and Kennedy in the grand final. The guy in my opinion was great in setting up a team for success but once you got in a position to go for it you had to appoint another coach to finish the job. Don't know if it's the teacher in him, just like Roy Masters, got very close with us and also had strong Wests sides but could not get over the line.
Parramatta 2009.

Red V for life

Listened to the podcast today. Fantastic interview with Mick Weyman.

Whether the club bring him into the fold officially, I really liked that Lawrie sought him out for advice and he had a chance sit down with Benny Hunt.

How he ended the interview thanking Dragons fans for everything though was all class. Never met him, but hope to once we’re back to ‘normal’.

Well done Jack and Johnny! Keep it coming.

jackyboi90

As 1993 dawns on the horizon, The St George Dragons are desperate to make it back to the Grand Final. After the heartbreak of 1992, can they do it again?
With new signings in Graeme Bradley and Phil Blake, along with talented juniors Nathan Brown, Jason Stevens, Gorden Tallis and Anthony Mundine, there is renewed hope for the Red V.

Hear the big matches and moments that defined the 1993 season, with interviews from Brad Mackay, Jeff Hardy, Noel Goldthorpe and Tony Priddle.

OneEyedDragon

As 1993 dawns on the horizon, The St George Dragons are desperate to make it back to the Grand Final. After the heartbreak of 1992, can they do it again?
With new signings in Graeme Bradley and Phil Blake, along with talented juniors Nathan Brown, Jason Stevens, Gorden Tallis and Anthony Mundine, there is renewed hope for the Red V.

Hear the big matches and moments that defined the 1993 season, with interviews from Brad Mackay, Jeff Hardy, Noel Goldthorpe and Tony Priddle.

Another enjoyable episode! Two of the highlights for me were hearing old Billy J Smith calling a footy game again and listening to the commentators, Manly fans and Manly players sooking after a narrow loss! 🤣😂🤣😂
It was true in 1992 and 1993, and hopefully will be true for us in 2022 - have a strong, solid and reliable defence with a bit of attack and you will have a good year.

jackyboi90

Yeah how was old mate Benny Elias form saying that Manly had been robbed! haha! You have to play for the full 80 mins and Manly didn't do that. That field goal from Goldie was something of beauty! What a moment. Very underrated half.

jackyboi90

On this week's episode with chat with former St George Five-Eighth Peter Coyne.
Peter spent two years at the Saints and played in the 1992 Grand Final.
In our chat we talk growing up with little brother Mark, success in the Brisbane 1st Grade competition, teething pains in the UK, his time at Saints including that dramatic semi-final against Newcastle and lots more.

Plus we bring you the latest Dragons news (Aaron Woods signing), Position Review (front row) and we tackle your fans questions. #redv