Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Red V Podcast

randomdragon

On this week's episode with chat with former St George Five-Eighth Peter Coyne.
Peter spent two years at the Saints and played in the 1992 Grand Final.
In our chat we talk growing up with little brother Mark, success in the Brisbane 1st Grade competition, teething pains in the UK, his time at Saints including that dramatic semi-final against Newcastle and lots more.

Plus we bring you the latest Dragons news (Aaron Woods signing), Position Review (front row) and we tackle your fans questions. #redv
hey mate love the podcast however have to give my 2 cents worth... Last week you guys were saying the fan base should be more supportive and back the club etc and then your mate this week says woods is a waste of money and he could do the job for 100k... if youre going to be negative at least back it up with statistics that prove the point. Why would any player want to move to the club if he is being put down on such a powerful fan platform? if woods is coming on similar money to what ellis was on how can that possibly be a bad signing? just some constructive criticism to enhance the podcast :) keep it up.

jackyboi90

In the fifth and final part of the missing rings documentary, we take a journey through the latter part of the Dragons 93 campaign. Upset defeats, semi final success and Grand Final heartbreak are all addressed. We talk that Jason Stevens break, the players response to another Grand Final defeat, and the positives that come from this story. Ultimately the pride and passion has been restored for the St George Dragons.
Insights from Noel Goldthorpe, Tony Priddle, Jeff Hardy, Rex Terp, Scott Gourley and Jason Donnelly.

jackyboi90

hey mate love the podcast however have to give my 2 cents worth... Last week you guys were saying the fan base should be more supportive and back the club etc and then your mate this week says woods is a waste of money and he could do the job for 100k... if youre going to be negative at least back it up with statistics that prove the point. Why would any player want to move to the club if he is being put down on such a powerful fan platform? if woods is coming on similar money to what ellis was on how can that possibly be a bad signing? just some constructive criticism to enhance the podcast :) keep it up.
Yeah that's a fair shout. Agree with what you're saying. I think in Johnny's defence I was prob more of the stance of supporting the club, but def should be getting behind the new players, regardless of what we might think about them. Cheers for listening.

Crush

I think both Jack and Johnny are pretty balanced. There is never anything disrespectful in what they say and there is definitely nothing personal in Johnny’s negativity toward the Woods signing. He is just giving his opinion and it’s an opinion many share. Pretty sure Jack said opinion was split on this one and I think he’s right.
Many think it’s a handy signing and many think it’s a poor one.
It’s a great podcast, particularly in the off-season! Interviews with ex-players are outstanding.

jackyboi90

In a cracking episode of the Red V Podcast we chat with Author of The Spirit of The Red V Geoff Armstrong.
Geoff talks about his love for the Dragons and his first memories as a supporter in the 1970's, how The Spirit of The Red V books have come together, the famous story of Gordon Hart and the 1941 Grand Final (included in the Spirit of The Red V volume 1), excitement about 2022 under Anthony Griffin and the rise and fall of pioneer George Carstairs amongst many other great yarns.

Plus we roundup all of the latest St George Illawarra news (potential signings of Moga and Gosiewski, young players signed up for junior reps and update on George Burgess recovery), finish our position review on the Dragons back-row and also answer your fans corner questions. #redv

OneEyedDragon

In a cracking episode of the Red V Podcast we chat with Author of The Spirit of The Red V Geoff Armstrong.
Geoff talks about his love for the Dragons and his first memories as a supporter in the 1970's, how The Spirit of The Red V books have come together, the famous story of Gordon Hart and the 1941 Grand Final (included in the Spirit of The Red V volume 1), excitement about 2022 under Anthony Griffin and the rise and fall of pioneer George Carstairs amongst many other great yarns.

Plus we roundup all of the latest St George Illawarra news (potential signings of Moga and Gosiewski, young players signed up for junior reps and update on George Burgess recovery), finish our position review on the Dragons back-row and also answer your fans corner questions. #redv

Another great episode! Thanks for keeping my need for Red V news fed during the off-season.

jackyboi90

Giant former St George Illawarra forward Ashton Sims drops by for a chat on this week’s podcast. In our part one chat, Ashton speaks about growing up in Gerringong and the fight against adversity that instilled tenacity in him that was invaluable throughout his career.
He also talks his first grade debut in 2003, playing with his heroes such as Trent Barrett, Shaun Timmins and Lance Thompson, the relationship with fans of the Red V and that famous win against Manly at Kogarah amongst many other things.

Plus we bring you the latest Dragons news (George Burgess court update, young guns sign on for Jersey Flegg in 2022 and confirmation of a trio of signed Dragons) and tackle your fans corner questions! #redv

jackyboi90

One of the biggest offseason episodes we've ever had at the Red V Podcast!
In this week's episode we chat with newly appointed NRLW Coach Jamie Soward. Sowie talks to us about how the job came to pass, what he is excited about, how his lack of experience shouldn't count against him and what a Jamie Soward coached side will look like.

We continue our chat with Ashton Sims. Ashton delves into the painful years of 2004-2006 and what went wrong for the Red V. Plus he talks highs, lows and leaving the Dragons. Playing test football with Fiji and tells us a little of what he is doing now.

Plus we wrap up your latest Dragons news and answer your Fans Corner questions. Listen on Apple podcasts, Spotify, Podbean, Google and all other good podcast providers. #redv

OneEyedDragon

Thanks Jacky for the latest podcast. I enjoyed hearing Jamie's coaching philosophy and wish him all the best in his extended role. It was also great to hear Ashton Sims talk about his interesting back story and his obvious passion for the Dragons. Keep up the good work over the looooong off season!

jackyboi90

Thanks Jacky for the latest podcast. I enjoyed hearing Jamie's coaching philosophy and wish him all the best in his extended role. It was also great to hear Ashton Sims talk about his interesting back story and his obvious passion for the Dragons. Keep up the good work over the looooong off season!
Not much else to keep us occupied! Although I am a huge cricket fan so great to have the Sheffield shield on atm!
some great off season interviews coming up. Excited to bring them to you

denis preston

Not much else to keep us occupied! Although I am a huge cricket fan so great to have the Sheffield shield on atm!
some great off season interviews coming up. Excited to bring them to you
Ahh Sheffield Shield ! Remember the days when test players played and you could go out to the SCG and have your esky & BBQ chicken and plenty of space on the hill to enjoy it all !

jackyboi90

Former St George player Russell Cox drops by the podcast to talk about his career with the Red V.

In our part one chat he talks about playing in the 1971 Grand Final, playing under Jack Gibson and with superstars Graeme Langlands and Billy Smith, being graded by Saints as a 16-year-old and a lot more.
Plus latest Dragons news and we answer your fans questions. #redv

jackyboi90

This week's podcast is stacked full of Dragons goodness!
We recap and reveal the 2022 NRL draw and what the early season fixtures mean for the Dragons. Plus talk about the Feagai twins re-signing news as well as some some young lads signing on for the Dragons SG Ball squads.

Also we play part two of our engrossing chat with Russell Cox. Russell talks about the 1970's at St George including the infamous 1975 Grand Final and the 1977 Grand Finals against Parramatta.
What it was like to play with Langlands and Smith, coaching, post life footy and plenty of entertaining stories!

jackyboi90

Rugby League journalist Michael Carayannis chats to the Red V Podcast about the expose and deep dive he and others have done on the club over the last week.
Mick talks about the start of the St George Illawarra era, culture clashes, uncertainty, success and why the last decade can be seen as an abject failure for the club.

Plus we bring you the latest St George Illawarra news (Bird's move to the back row and St George junior development update) as well as answering your fans questions.

OneEyedDragon

Rugby League journalist Michael Carayannis chats to the Red V Podcast about the expose and deep dive he and others have done on the club over the last week.
Mick talks about the start of the St George Illawarra era, culture clashes, uncertainty, success and why the last decade can be seen as an abject failure for the club.

Plus we bring you the latest St George Illawarra news (Bird's move to the back row and St George junior development update) as well as answering your fans questions.
Thanks for another good episode. I hope St George and WIN were listening when it was mentioned that it wouldn't hurt for each of them to sling a bit more money at the team than just the minimum $500,000 pa each they currently contribute. Loosen the purse strings boys!