Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

#redvredout

TomRedVRiver

Hey all! First time post, long time reader. Pleasure to be among you all!

I'm not sure if anyone has made comment on this yet, but this #redvredout thing seems to be all over the dragons facebook page at the moment and i'm guessing it's got something to do with the round 12 clash with Cronulla. Most probably trying to attract as many Red V fans as possible to 'red out' the ground and flush out the opposite support base.

This got me thinking though, I know it's most probably not possible and rugby league may not have the support base as a whole to pull it off, but for me i'd love to see some sort of 'Wanderers-type' support happening at St George games. Although i'm not the biggest fan of soccer, I remember going to a Wanderers game last year, and it was unbelievable being a part of the atmosphere. The supporters just bled red and black, and everyone knew the chants... the songs. It was unreal. Parramatta stadium was a constant sell-out, and even away games were sold out... With Wanderers fans. And it started a trend!
The A-League had mediocre support from fans at best, but the Wanderers fans started something special. Sydney FC fans were always looking to try and top Wanderer's fans in support at games, and other clubs started to follow suit.
Wouldn't it be amazing to start seeing this sort of thing happening at Dragons games and ultimately the NRL. Because to be honest, nothing is more painful or embarrassing to see than a half empty stadium.

Hopefully I haven't waffled on too much. Cheers for providing constant insight and entertainment!

TomRedVRiver

Ever stood on the hill at Kogarah with the Dragon Army?

Yes! Absolutely have Nick, not taking away from that at all don't get me wrong! I'd love to see that throughout the whole stadium. And even away games! I mean obviously not anything crazy like Auckland and North Queensland haha.

Hey all! First time post, long time reader. Pleasure to be among you all!

I'm not sure if anyone has made comment on this yet, but this #redvredout thing seems to be all over the dragons facebook page at the moment and i'm guessing it's got something to do with the round 12 clash with Cronulla. Most probably trying to attract as many Red V fans as possible to 'red out' the ground and flush out the opposite support base.

This got me thinking though, I know it's most probably not possible and rugby league may not have the support base as a whole to pull it off, but for me i'd love to see some sort of 'Wanderers-type' support happening at St George games. Although i'm not the biggest fan of soccer, I remember going to a Wanderers game last year, and it was unbelievable being a part of the atmosphere. The supporters just bled red and black, and everyone knew the chants... the songs. It was unreal. Parramatta stadium was a constant sell-out, and even away games were sold out... With Wanderers fans. And it started a trend!
The A-League had mediocre support from fans at best, but the Wanderers fans started something special. Sydney FC fans were always looking to try and top Wanderer's fans in support at games, and other clubs started to follow suit.
Wouldn't it be amazing to start seeing this sort of thing happening at Dragons games and ultimately the NRL. Because to be honest, nothing is more painful or embarrassing to see than a half empty stadium.

Hopefully I haven't waffled on too much. Cheers for providing constant insight and entertainment!

Welcome to the forum Tom. Great first post.

In reply, I'd say that I don't know why Dragons fans are so fickle. The kind of passionate, almost tribal support we used to enjoy in the 1950's, 60's and 70's seems to have been replaced by a generation of fair-weather supporters with short memories and even shorter attention spans.

I know that it's partly the clubs fault. Not enough premierships. For example, given enough time, success and the unlimited News Corp money, even the cheating purple stain will eventually attract supporters, while a proud record like ours will eventually count for nothing.

It's a brave new world my friend.

league fans are dead set lazy IMO. especially in Sydney. any excuse not to go.

dragons are one of the few fan bases that turn up in good numbers each week home or away, regardless of how the club is going on the ladder.

you watch all those pet memberships disappear at south Sydney when they aren't at the top of the heap

TomRedVRiver

Welcome to the forum Tom. Great first post.

In reply, I'd say that I don't know why Dragons fans are so fickle. The kind of passionate, almost tribal support we used to enjoy in the 1950's, 60's and 70's seems to have been replaced by a generation of fair-weather supporters with short memories and even shorter attention spans.

I know that it's partly the clubs fault. Not enough premierships. For example, given enough time, success and the unlimited News Corp money, even the cheating purple stain will eventually attract supporters, while a proud record like ours will eventually count for nothing.

It's a brave new world my friend.

Thanks so much for the kind words mate! Much appreciated.

I don't think it's so much Dragons fans being fickle, I think old Russell Crowe's Band might be more on the right track. It's across all clubs. And to be honest with how substantial TV coverage is these days I think a lot of people would rather stay home on the couch. Don't get me wrong though, It's a sight to behold when you're on the hill at Kograh and you're right about how tribal the support used to be.
But I don't know if anyone here has been to a Wester Sydney Wanderer's match before, it's something else. As I said, i'm not a soccer fan, but it's actually attracting people outside of the sport just to go to matches to experience the atmosphere. And supporters from all clubs in the A-league have gone... S***, we better jump on this train so we don't get caught behind.
That's my dream for NRL games.

Lovemedragons

That's more of a soccer cultural thing, they need to provide their own entertainment because the game itself has a lot of slow periods. Still, agree would love to be part of it at WIN or Kogarah.

Ace-STi

#REDVREDOUT IS COMING TO ROUND 12 v CRONULLA-SUTHERLAND SHARKS… ARE YOU?

The #REDVREDOUT is taking over Jubilee Oval, Kogarah for Round 12 when the Red V take on the Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks, and we need YOU to make it happen!

So grab your friends, grab your family and get ‘RED-y’ for the biggest game of the season!

WATCH THIS SPACE, more information to follow.

#REDVREDOUT BEST DRESSED COMPETITION
WIN A JERSEY AND CORPORATE HOSPITALITY UPGRADE FOR ROUND 26

At the #REDVREDOUT we will be on the lookout before kick-off for the best #REDVREDOUT costumes and have some fantastic prizes to give away.

If you are nominated for Best Dressed by our Senior Flames you will get an instant ticket upgrade for you and a friend to ‘The Deck’ all thanks to St George Bank.

Nominees will be presented to the crowd ON FIELD at half time of the NRL match where one lucky person will be crowned #REDVREDOUT Best Dressed for 2015.

The winner will be heading to Round 26 versus Wests Tigers at ANZ Stadium, Olympic Park on us.

The prize includes:

2015 St George Illawarra Dragons home jersey

2 x corporate hospitality upgrades

http://www.dragons.com.au/tickets/_redvredout.html

FlameThrower

!!! What makes us stand out is our jersey, my mates who support other clubs acknowledge our jersey stands out and looks great on TV. Having said that after being at 2 Wanderers games in Newcastle, you felt it was there hone game!!! League gas a long way to go to match the passion of Soccer in Europe. I think our ground announcer, music and format can do heaps to build up the crowd!!!! Btw our halftime "entertainment" is a joke and amateurish at best....the whole game day experience is something the NRL and all Clubs need to improve. It seems like it was a last minute quick cheap easy option???

Tom, you have done a good bit of promotion here and I'm all for big atmosphere. But if I may ask, were you at the last game at Kogarah against the Broncos?

TomRedVRiver

Hey Willow! Always loved reading your posts mate.
I wasn't actually, I won't deny there's probably a little bit of hypocrisy on my end, I don't go to as many games as I used to.. Mainly because I live quite a fair way out of the area now. I'm guessing I missed a pretty good atmosphere there!

saints4ever

Wouldn't call it hypocrisy as such Tom. But I was lucky enough to be standing next to the army at the Donkeys game and it was one of the best night's at the footy for some time.
Not sure what it was, perhaps a combination of how the team is playing, who the opponents were etc but every big hit, mistake, try and good run was met with roars, chants and the refs copped a pasting. As did Thaiday and Hodges. The last time I can remember the crowd so fired up was against the Tigers in 2012, first game after Moltzengate.
If you can, get to the hill next Sunday. One can only hope it can match that epic Friday night

Hey Willow! Always loved reading your posts mate.
I wasn't actually, I won't deny there's probably a little bit of hypocrisy on my end, I don't go to as many games as I used to.. Mainly because I live quite a fair way out of the area now. I'm guessing I missed a pretty good atmosphere there!
No worries at all and yes you are right about the atmosphere. Indeed the only reason I asked was because of the game against the Broncos, the crowd got louder as the match went on, every tackle was getting a big cheer.

It was a close match and the crowd was very much part of it. Imo we got a few calls from the ref and I'm sure it lifted the team.

Plenty of singing and chanting too. It spilled over onto the street afterwards. It has been a while since I've heard fans singing 'oh when the saints...' down Jubilee Avenue. People were still in voice as we crossed the Princes Hwy.

Anyone who says there is no such thing as home ground advantage should take stock of that game.

silverex

Welcome to the Forum, OP.

While your sentiments are admirable, comparing football (soccer) crowds to NRL crowds is, in my opinion, a bit of a lost cause.

Rugby league and football are quite different cultures. What happens amongst the fans during the game is different, the form of the games are different.

My wife and I also hold Sydney FC memberships and we know what you mean about the Wanderer's fans. The games against the Wanderers are some of the most anticipated during the A-League season.

Being amongst fellow Dragons supporters, all wearing the Red V is also pretty special, especially when the Dragons win.

Unfortunately I was interstate when we played the Broncos and therefore missed being at Kogarah that night. But I do remember, during the halcyon days of 2010, the upper stand being very loud during games, cheering, chanting and singing.

saint.nick

I think it's a bit more of a national culture than a sport culture. The game that's unfolding in front of them doesn't stop Super League fans from singing and chanting all game, so that excuse doesn't fly with me.

A-league fans are exception to the rule. Their fans decided to make an effort to create atmosphere as soon as the league was established.

I also wouldn't say that the RBB have pioneered active support in the a-league. Northern Terrace (Melbourne Victory) and The Cove were creating their own atmosphere long before they were, and Northern Terrace are still regarded as the best in the country.

I did laugh at this excuse that Matty Johns used to explain why the Knights crowd is quiet...it's because they are a 'studious' crowd :lol: