Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Remember Luke Branighan???

RICHO

Remember this fella? Possibly one of the worst signings the Sharks ever made!!!!!!!

from www.rleague.com

Former Dragon Luke Branighan has signed with the Balmain Tigers after Wests Tigers coach Tim Sheens searched for some more back-up in the halves due to the season ending injury to Ben Reynolds. The former Dragon, Shark and Rabbitoh has signed for match payments and will play five-eighth this weekend for Balmain.

Branighan's signing is a boost for both Balmain and the Wests Tigers with Wests having been hit hard by injuries this season, with injuries to Ben Reynolds, Michael Buettner still recovering from last year's knee operation, and young star Benji Marshall having already spent several weeks on the sidelines. With the added possibility of Scott Prince being called up to the Queensland State of Origin squad if Darren Lockyer and Shaun Berrigan aren't passed fit, Branhigan may well get another chance to resurrect his NRL career.

Another former Dragon, Keiran Kerr, may also come into consideration should the Tigers' depth in the halves be tested any further. Daniel Fitzhenry is another possibilty for five-eighth, but his performances in the position have been unconvincing to date. Magpie Liam Fulton could also be a bolter for the position after some impressive form at lock in the Premier League this season.

Branighan's NRL career seemed doomed after two successive knee injuries left him on the sidelines for much of the past few years. Luke failed to fire for Souths and subsequently found himself playing for Cabramatta in the Jim Beam Cup this year.

This would surely be his last chance at the top grade, and for his sake let's hope he has left his injuries and his tendency to be greedy with the ball behind him, so that the talent that seemed so obvious at the Dragons may finally be realised.

He didn't play more than 4 games with us did he?

You can't really rate him at all because nobody knows.
I remember his injury was quite bad however.
Scott Prince is a classic example of what serious injury does to you. I don't think he is shadow of the form he displayed at the cowboys.

He didn't play more than 4 games with us did he?

If I remember correctly, he filled in for us in one top grade game in 2001. The Knights game in Newcastle where Peach did that dreaded chip kick in our own half when we were leading...

beekershark

HE'd pedestrian at best.

Kieran kerr would be a far better option by far, even Blaine Stanley playing for St Marys would have been a better buy for the tigers.

supermario

i atually was in the same hospital room as him when i had my knee recon, he was having the same.

This was back in his cronulla days.

Hopefully he can get over his injuries.

Booyah

I'm a mate of Branno's and I know how hard those knee injuries have been for him. He had a heck of a lot of potential and I still have vivid memories of him carving up for first grade Marcellin and Aussie School boys.

To see a guy like him cut down so suddenly is a bit of a shock, so imagine what it must have been like for him.

Sure he didn't play much footy with us, but that's hardly his fault is it?

When Branno is on fire, he's red hot. Don't believe me? Go check the weekly scores in the Jim Beam cup. He must score about 10 points a week for Cabramatta. He has been going great this year because its the first time he's been injury free.

Luke Branighan thought he was the next big thing at this club
His ability didnt match his ego
He didnt like being benched and acted petulantly

Then the Dragons got happy cos they got him, of course he was always going to be rubbish. He was.

If he plays at the Tigers, he'll struggle. But he'll probably get injured before long anyway.

Booyah

He was practically our biggest signing that year.

Most definantly. His ability was much higher then his Ego.

Noone's perfect! :lol:

he was always going to be rubbish. He was

No way. He might be a bit past it now but he was a real gun player before his injuries.

I thought he had heaps of potential. I can't say that he was definitley going to be a star here but he looked the goods before he was injured. I guess we'll see how he goes at the Tigers.

Shark

ShireShark said:
before long anyway.

Here here.

I had the incredible misfortune of sitting near him and his family in 2001 in the stands. He never had any time for the younger fans who approached him, and his old man spent more time talking about how good the dragons were and how they were a much better team than the Sharks.

No respect at ALL for our club. They all spoke openly about how soft the coach was, they rubbished Dykes and Ferris, and by round three or four of that year, he hardly even turned up to watch first grade. When he did, it was in his homeboy street gear or some scrappy beach garb, NOT in the official team uniform.

Might seem petty, but I'm a bit old fashioned and those small details say alot to me about the character of a bloke.

shadowboxer

He was dead set ugly as a half sucked mango as well. He wasnt too bad against the knights but pretty much stunk