Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Return to the glory days of Kangaroo Tests

Coastbloke

Last night I had a few bevvies and pulled out the Australia vs GB Tri Nations Test at the SFS in 2006..

GB won that one 23-12 in front of a pissy crowd of 27,000 in the 42,000 seat stadium..It deserved a full house, it was a awesome Test..

When do you think we'll get back to the glory days of Test footy when 3 games in England were played at stadiums over 40,000 and generally - apart from Wembley - were full..

Come 4 Nations time I wonder how effectively the Administrators will sell the tournament..If Sydney only gets a 'Roos vs PNG game, do you think it'll be at the SFS..??

They should sell out the Australia vs England in Melbourne and the Final in Brissy..

What about 4Ns 2011 in Europe..I don't want to see England vs Australia at Wigan or the final at a half empty Elland Road..

Sam_the_man

The only way to get the crowds back is for international footy to be taken seriously which by and large it is. But ESL and NRL clubs have to stop standing in the way of Kiwi test players playing for there country. And as other countries develop the clubs of the ESL and NRL will have to release them as well instead of thinking up bullsh*t ways of standing them down.
Also, the NZRL wants to stage it's own version of SOO but yet again the clubs of the NRL and ESL are and have been standing in the NZRL's way for years. If this happens then wont see the Kiwis walking into an ambush each and every ANZAC test. A cold Kiwis out fit runs into a battle hardened Aussie outfit fresh out of SOO and then you get boozos saying that international league is a joke or dead.

Doing away with the ARL, as is propsed, won't help one bit. As ineffective as they are at times they still offer out best hope by comparison to a News Ltd or club-run elite level of the game. I don't think it's completely coincidental that the international game went downhill from about 94/95 onwards when Super League first started to removed control of the game here from the ARL.

But the biggest issue is still credibility and the only way to win that battle is to 1. make IRL more competitive and 2. make it more authentic. That means developing the lower-ranked nations, introducing new ones and bringing in some rules that do away with the ability of players to pick and choose who they play for.

LESStar58

Last night I had a few bevvies and pulled out the Australia vs GB Tri Nations Test at the SFS in 2006..

GB won that one 23-12 in front of a pissy crowd of 27,000 in the 42,000 seat stadium..It deserved a full house, it was a awesome Test..

When do you think we'll get back to the glory days of Test footy when 3 games in England were played at stadiums over 40,000 and generally - apart from Wembley - were full..

Come 4 Nations time I wonder how effectively the Administrators will sell the tournament..If Sydney only gets a 'Roos vs PNG game, do you think it'll be at the SFS..??

They should sell out the Australia vs England in Melbourne and the Final in Brissy..

What about 4Ns 2011 in Europe..I don't want to see England vs Australia at Wigan or the final at a half empty Elland Road..

Australia Vs England in Melbourne will sell like hot cakes and I for one cannot wait to see it!

As for the "glory days" of Test footy, mate, I'd love to go on a proper Kangaroo tour! 3 tests vs the Poms, 1 against the french and all the midweek matches against the clubs, or at least the big three of Wigan, Saints and Leeds.

Western_Eel

We had good crowds in the world cup, we just need england and france to do the same, if we have another good NRL season we should get good crowds in the 4 nations as well.

1 Eyed TEZZA

Id love to see tours return, but the problem with the Ashes tour is that it can be very restrictive to other nations and building them. Like what would NZ do during an Ashes tour. They cant realistically tour lower nations like Samoa, Tonga, USA, France, etc etc. Theyd flog em all and it wouldnt be taken seriously.

Id be in favour of it maybe once every four years, and it must be against Great Britain, not England. And it would be nice if there was another super power as strong as the big 3 so NZ could have a series to play in.

Jankuloski

Why must it be against Britain when it's the same team? This way you give the welsh and Irish propper national squads to aspire to. They might not be top class, but it is something.

I thought origin elligibility came from weather you're elligible to play for Aus and where you played your junior footy, not weather you were born in Aus...

deluded pom?

Australia Vs England in Melbourne will sell like hot cakes and I for one cannot wait to see it!

As for the "glory days" of Test footy, mate, I'd love to go on a proper Kangaroo tour! 3 tests vs the Poms, 1 against the french and all the midweek matches against the clubs, or at least the big three of Wigan, Saints and Leeds.

You haven't seen much Super League lately have you?

That was probably the disappointing thing about the 4 nations last year, the crowds.

Whilst they were good crowds, you'd expect at least one game to almost sell out. Unfortunately not even the final what had the host nation involved, could almost sell out.

I'd like to go back the days of the early 90s, the test crowds were great.

Over 70,000 for the WC final at Wembley, no International has even come close to that mark. Id say Brisbane's crowd in 2006 Aus Vs GB, was probably the biggest in years. Over 44,000 and that was in November too.

griff

It really isn't that hard to get back to the glory days. All we need to do is what we used to do. We need 3 match series between GB and Australia, with club games on Kangaroo Tours.

4 year cycle:
Kangaroo Tour
Lions Tour
Kiwi Tour
World Cup

1 Eyed TEZZA

It really isn't that hard to get back to the glory days. All we need to do is what we used to do. We need 3 match series between GB and Australia, with club games on Kangaroo Tours.

4 year cycle:
Kangaroo Tour
Lions Tour
Kiwi Tour
World Cup

Not a fan of the 4Nations are we? Heres what Id like for the top 3 nations.
Year 1 - 4Nations
Year 2 - Tours, in the event of Ashes tours, the touring team can play lower teir nations aswell, perhaps mid week and perhaps a single test against the 3rd Super Power.
Year 3 - 4Nations
Year 4 - WC

hutch

4 year cycle:
Kangaroo Tour
Lions Tour
Kiwi Tour
World Cup

what about png, wales, france, fiji who have all shown they can compete with the big 3. international rugby league is bigger than 3 nations, and yeah while i would like to see an ashes series and a lion tour again, we cannot ignore the other nations and deprive them of a chance to play against the bigger nations.

i think the year should be broken into 2 stages for internationals, mid season and post season. mid season internationals would be pac cup, state of origin, anzac test, nz v pac islands, kiwi roots, atlantic cup in the south, euro cup, euro shield, euro bowl in the north (3 groups of 3). we would need a break from the nrl and super league for 3-4 weeks, which is why it probably wont happen. post season is for world cups, 4 nations, ashes, lions etc.

Coastbloke

For me, I wasn't trying to spark a debate about tour cycles and such..

I just want to see Australia and England play in big stadiums again and achieve post 40-50,000 crowds... :sarcasm:

Coastbloke

You've forgotten about the world champions;)

Australia vs NZ these days can usually see a 40,000 crowd albeit at Suncorp, but yeh, would still be great to see that number and beyond at ANZ Stadium or NZ and even blockbuster crowds between England vs NZ as these are often very very entertaining games, certainly above and beyond their yawnion cousins...

But, I was mainly talking abiut Tests in England..

But I'm happy to see blockbuster crowds for ANY league Test just for the record... :cool: :D

The Observer

If one of the three occurs:
* England defeat Australia
- in tests at home and away (e.g. in a 3/4 nations tournament)
- in an RLWC, and/or
* GB defeat Australia in a 3 test series

then that will boost interest in international RL enormously.

kiwileaguefan

If one of the three occurs:
* England defeat Australia
- in tests at home and away (e.g. in a 3/4 nations tournament)
- in an RLWC, and/or
* GB defeat Australia in a 3 test series

then that will boost interest in international RL enormously.

I disagree, more games like Aus vs NZ 2006 Tri Nations (pick any of the three matches) and NZ vs Aus 2009 Four Nations match....they will boost International Rugby League.

If England and NZ can become competitive against Aus in every match, then watch the interest grow.

Of course the next thing we need is for Wales, PNG and France to be semi competitive against the big three nations. And when i mean semi competitive i mean getting within 30 points constantly.