Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Revenue for NRL Clubs (2018-2021)

The Great Dane

Teams want to win, Those days are long gone. We have teams going back to the expense of funding their own 2nd tier side just to seemingly get ahead
That's a nice fairy tale you've got yourself there.

Struggles over funding between football teams and their leagues clubs are inevitable so long as clubs are reliant on leagues club grants. If anything I can see these problems becoming more frequent for a lot of clubs as stronger restrictions on gambling come into place.

forby

It is in their charter, but generally it doesn't specify exactly how much... There're always loopholes.

Generally what happens is you get some smooth operators at the leagues club that realise that the footy club is a massive expense that just eats into their profit. Sooner or later the football club comes demanding an increase in their grants to remain competitive, and the smooth operators argue that they give them enough already and that it's not their fault that the club invests that money poorly, then you have a power struggle.

In my experience the leagues club is in the right more often than not frankly... Some of the stories of how clubs have pissed money up against the wall, with the expectation that the leagues club will just bail them out no matter the cost, are truly astounding.
Panthers is basically one entity with one board. There is no us and them, it has one objective - rugby league.

macavity

Some people would argue that some of the current leagues clubs run their NRL sides as cheaply as possible, I've definitely heard people level that accusation at Wests Rosellas for example. I couldn't say whether or not that's a fair accusation in that case though.

Wests are tighter than a nunny's noo-noo.

Haven't even properly furnished the Knights COE yet.

They have lots to spend, just don't like spending it.

Wb1234

It is in their charter, but generally it doesn't specify exactly how much... There're always loopholes.

Generally what happens is you get some smooth operators at the leagues club that realise that the footy club is a massive expense that just eats into their profit. Sooner or later the football club comes demanding an increase in their grants to remain competitive, and the smooth operators argue that they give them enough already and that it's not their fault that the club invests that money poorly, then you have a power struggle.

In my experience the leagues club is in the right more often than not frankly... Some of the stories of how clubs have pissed money up against the wall, with the expectation that the leagues club will just bail them out no matter the cost, are truly astounding.
Yeh so what

leagues clubs get money from people p””sing up money all the time

it should just be one board running both

Wb1234

Wests are tighter than a nunny's noo-noo.

Haven't even properly furnished the Knights COE yet.

They have lots to spend, just don't like spending it.
They got the knight for free from the nrl on the basis of a promise to build the coe and support juniors

Ozzi_78

What is the end game of all these threads which are effectively the same exact topic?

Cutting all the data out do you want to simply cut Sydney clubs and get more in other states?

If so STOP WASTING YOUR TIME. It’s not going to happen unless a team dies of natural causes.

Just stop with the repeat threads.

Iamback

What is the end game of all these threads which are effectively the same exact topic?

Cutting all the data out do you want to simply cut Sydney clubs and get more in other states?

If so STOP WASTING YOUR TIME. It’s not going to happen unless a team dies of natural causes.

To Bag out the NRL

Rod Coil

To bag out anything to do with NSW clubs with ongoing monotonous axe grinding

Munky

@Iamback still hasn't answered how much revenue Penrith makes each year from property, plant and equipment.

You dumb merkin.

In 2019 pre covid per note 4a of the financials

Gaming: $64m
Catering and beverages: $31m
Functions and banquets: $6m

Total just over $100m.

The PPE being the the buildings, kitchens, dining rooms and pokies used to create the value add sold to the end consumer.

Or are you saying Panthers could just rent these and generate the same revenue?

Which would still be a wrong assumption since PPE under an operating lease is required by the lessee to be shown on the balance sheet as an asset in the financial statements.

You dumb merkin.

Total just over $100m.

The PPE being the the buildings, kitchens, dining rooms and pokies used to create the value add sold to the end consumer.

Which would still be a wrong assumption since PPE under an operating lease is required by the lessee to be shown on the balance sheet as an asset in the financial statements.
Its interesting that only about 12% of Panthers revenue comes from football operations. I wonder how that compares to other sports?

You dumb merkin.

Total just over $100m.

🙄

All you've done is tell me how much money the Leagues Clubs make from patrons playing the pokies, attending music gigs held on the premises, renting the functions room for events, eating food and drinking alcohol. That money doesn't go directly to the Penrith District Rugby League Club because it is owned by the Panthers Group.

If you're going to include the revenue from services provided by the Leagues Club then you need to subtract the expenses paid to its employees, which was $58,558,000. Also remove the $18,588,000 depreciation.

I want to know how much is made from the non-Leagues Clubs assets that fall under PPE. Your mate spoke about the assets here:

Panthers own $200m worth of assets
That includes 2 hotels
The Academy
5 clubs

These assets make money.
this money is constant and not reliant on weather, teams performance and other factors that can affect memberships and ticket sales

A review of the Panthers Group annual report proves the "hotels" he spoke about haven't produced any revenue because as they've not even been constructed:

SIGNIFICANT CHANGES IN THE STATE OF AFFAIRS
On 25th November 2019, the Group finalised a competitive tender process and signed the construction contract for the Western Sydney Community and Conference Centre and Hotel project with Richard Crookes Construction Pty Limited.
The Group has committed to capital expenditure of $64,196,000 (2019: $88,184,000) for the construction of the Western Sydney Community and Conference Centre. Located near the Penrith Panthers Leagues Club, the new conference centre will feature 1,250 sqm of floor space, be serviced by a 153 room 4.5 star hotel and sit below a 1,200 sqm community centre. Expected completion date is late 2024.
The centre was made possible due to combined Federal and State Government grants of $24,000,000.
On 28 February 2020, the Group finalised and signed a $63,000,000 development funding loan with the Commonwealth Bank of Australia for construction of the Western Sydney Community and Conference Centre and Hotel project.

Rental income was just $3m.

Munky

🙄

All you've done is tell me how much money the Leagues Clubs make from patrons playing the pokies, attending music gigs held on the premises, renting the functions room for events, eating food and drinking alcohol. That money doesn't go directly to the Penrith District Rugby League Club because it is owned by the Panthers Group.

If you're going to include the revenue from services provided by the Leagues Club then you need to subtract the expenses paid to its employees, which was $58,558,000. Also remove the $18,588,000 depreciation.

I want to know how much is made from the non-Leagues Clubs assets that fall under PPE. Your mate spoke about the assets here:

A review of the Panthers Group annual report proves the "hotels" he spoke about haven't produced any revenue because as they've not even been constructed:

SIGNIFICANT CHANGES IN THE STATE OF AFFAIRS
On 25th November 2019, the Group finalised a competitive tender process and signed the construction contract for the Western Sydney Community and Conference Centre and Hotel project with Richard Crookes Construction Pty Limited.​
The Group has committed to capital expenditure of $64,196,000 (2019: $88,184,000) for the construction of the Western Sydney Community and Conference Centre. Located near the Penrith Panthers Leagues Club, the new conference centre will feature 1,250 sqm of floor space, be serviced by a 153 room 4.5 star hotel and sit below a 1,200 sqm community centre. Expected completion date is late 2024.​
The centre was made possible due to combined Federal and State Government grants of $24,000,000.​
On 28 February 2020, the Group finalised and signed a $63,000,000 development funding loan with the Commonwealth Bank of Australia for construction of the Western Sydney Community and Conference Centre and Hotel project.​

Rental income was just $3m.

The f**k?

You asked for revenue not profit or operating surplus of Panthers.

Words have meaning.

In three years time maybe take up business studies as a year eleven elective.

The f**k?

You asked for revenue not profit or operating surplus of Panthers.

Words have meaning.

In three years time maybe take up business studies as a year eleven elective.
Your mate said there are "hotels" making a yearly profit.

His exact words were:

"These assets make money.
this money is constant and not reliant on weather, teams performance and other factors that can affect memberships and ticket sales"​

The Panthers Group Annual Report says the hotel is not going to be built until 2024.

So I've exposed his lie about the "hotels".

The point I was making is $217m worth of assets doesn't equal $217m of yearly revenue. In Penrith's case the yearly revenue was half the value and the profit was only a quarter of it.

The Great Dane

Yeh so what
It’s generally a bad idea to reward people for making bad decisions. It incentivises them to continue making bad decisions instead of making positive changes, which is a pattern that’s very well played out in RL’s history.
leagues clubs get money from people p””sing up money all the time
That’s not an excuse to piss said money away yourself.
it should just be one board running both
That’d be a disaster at most clubs.