Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 v Manly game thread

Listening to the post match interviews (or at least trying to). How hard is it for the NRL video guys to actually capture the questions being asked to the captain/coach? Been almost inaudible for the past two years.

i know!!

Unknown: *mumble mumble mumble*
Coach: yep, thats right
Player: yes I thought we did that well
Coach: thanks, bye

i know!!

Coach: yep, thats right
Player: yes I thought we did that well
Coach: thanks, bye
:lol: And when Benny is interviewed it's just mumbles all round.

ParraEelsNRL

That might have been the most pleasing aspect of the win. It was great to see.

Yep looked hungry even around the 77 min mark still smashing them in defense.

Be great if they can keep that up and improve this area a little more, out wide had me crapping myself each time manly went wide in the first half, Reece Robinson will give me a heart attack before the season is out :lol:

drago brelli

:lol: I thought they called him Porky cos he f**ked pigs...

How dare he leave Parra with a plan to 'do the best for his family'! Taka went ok last night. I wonder if Jason Taylor was watching. When Taylor signed as coach of Wtigers the first thing he did was to get rid of Takairangi. Takairangi was at Easts when Taylor was assistant coach. Taylor doesn't rate him because of his poor defence.

Joshuatheeel

Also don't forget while our wingers/centres did get caught out a couple of times we were up against the best half/ 5/8 comb in the comp. While manly's forwards look soft you give manly enough ball on the tryline and their halves were make most defensive lines look terrible.

hilltop hood

Proud to be a Parra Boy today..... last night was tooo much fun :)

Loved.... junior, especially his slips catch and subsequent trampling of the wee waa maggot. Loved Chrissy's little koori jig. Loved choc in blue n gold. Tepaiiiiii..... Corey.... de gois....

Expect peats to be back to his best next week after the distraction becoming a father.

Sensed some old parra passion returning.... and that warm feeling inside that, while we have had a great win, we know we will get much much better.

Q. Can somebody enlighten me as to who the celeb was at half time?

Early in the game- Manly where creating lots of space out wide-Just like Penrith did against us. Inside our 20mtrs zone manly must of had twice as much ball as what we did on theres.
They managed 2 tries. Im unsure of the percentage in the first half but the game ended with them having 54%. Considering we leaked 12 points its not too bad.
Id hope our defense would improve too.None of the centres have played with there wingers or second rowers so combinations will happen and reading will get better.I thought it already did in the second half.

I did mention on here Degois is a crafty little hoooker and a few years back was on of the top 6 -7 in the game.He has been average the last 2 yrs but he has just turned 30.He can still give us a few good years.He looks very fit this year.

Tepai needs to learn not too go to hard all the time.He is 19 and has 12 yrs of first grade to play. He was brutal in defense-Missed a few tackles but can fault him.

For me Takarangai impressed a lot.He has decent speed, good leg drive a bit of a shimmy and knows when to pass.Sure its one game but id re-sign him for 3 yrs now.He would be a cheaper option than Hoppa who may return to centre.
TBH id dint expect that much from him.I thought he would just run straight.

Champion and Taka showed they are both stronger in defense than what Morgan and Hoppa where last year. People are forgetting how much ball manly had on our line.

We played very physical.We wont be able to do that every week. But If wicks-Pauli-Alvaro-Terepo-Nelson are firing why not do a 1 week off 3 games on roatation.Keep everyone fresh.

Other than that solid game. We made too many errors but lots of possitives.I was worried we wouldnt score points without Hayne. But we did, just meant taka got earlier ball and so did Semi.

I put $250 on liverpool into man city..... odds-1.70...return $425.
Also had $40 on city-pool-arsenal-tott-Man u ... returned 9/1.

I wouldnt bet in league this weekend.Nothing i like.
Id never bother with mulit's over 10-1. Maybe now and than for fun id chuck a $5 one on.

Best way to bet IMO thou is like my first one. Few hundred on, two short favourites.Make few hundred and high chance of winning!

I have friends who put 10 x $5 multis on that are 20-1 + They can go 6mths without a win or longer. Find your bet of the week and stick with it. Load up and even thou you eventualy come off second best you will have more wins and may even end up infront!

Sphagnum

Josef Paulo did nothing but miss tackles and give away penalties again. With degois and peats in the 17 it's the perfect time to f**k him off to park footy where he belongs.

Joe Paulo was forced to play on the edges (where he is unsuited) a fair bit last night. He was good in the middle before Moeroa and Ma'u had a rest.

Just watched the replay on Fox, so that's 2 1/2 times I've seen the game now (fell asleep halfway through last night's replay). What a great way to start the season.

Some of those Manly boys will be nursing some serious bruises today from the Tepai Treatment. He was just punishing in the first half.

eels_fan

What's everyone's thoughts on the Jnr Paulo reported incident?

Completely unintentional, but I reckon they'll slap him with a high grade charge as first point of impact appears to be head/neck with the ground

jono

I think he's looking at a couple of weeks, that said , it was pretty tame , and later in the match Hoppa copped a similar tackle and nothing was said or done about it

T.S Quint

Sorry mate, but this team has ruined me for positivity. Until they prove me wrong, I stand by my words.

For mine we are a better team in the forwards, but a very average team out wide and we are still ill disciplined and can't hold on to the ball as well as we should.

I understand what you're getting at, and I agree at least with your first post (not so much the second about Hopoate).
And I'm glad Arthur has come out as not being happy with how we played overall, in the press conference.
I know next week will be a much bigger test, and it will give us more of an idea as to how we might actually fare this season.

But as fans we need to celebrate games like the one we had last night. Especially since they have been few and far between for the last half decade.
Enjoy it for now. You can be critical next week.