Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 11 v Rabbitohs 22 May 2015

Concussions don't have anything to do with a broken neck. There are plenty of players both young and old that have had their fair share of concussions.

I think both injuries are related in their likely cause - Fa'aoso leads with his forehead (when he's not leading with his forearm).

yy_cheng

I don't think our attitude has been too bad this year, so I can count out a).
We do have a problem in the tackle. A lot of the time our first-up contact is good, but we slip off the tackle allowing the attacker to make some extra metres and get on his stomach for a quicker play-the-ball. It's been like this for years. That's where all our missed tackles came from. We are not strong enough in the tackles to hit and stick, and our technique is poor because we can't wrestle them down onto their backs when we do make the tackle.

Also we aren't able to lock the ball up. Sutton slipped a ball out for a try.

I hate when there are 2 in the tackle and the guy is still standing and we're trying to wrestle him to the ground and one of our 3rd defender just stands there watching.

Just rip in and hit the bastard hard instead of watching. By the time held is called, the watcher has to run back to the defensive line and is not leading the linespeed.

Noise

Nice use of math, doesn't really explain shit though.

We were leading until Mcinnes goes over untouched in the 76th minute. Untouched means no missed tackle ( missed tackles as a stat are a function of tackle breaks )

Point being, taking one stat in isolation and using it as an argument is f**king dumb.

f**king genius. Peats made contact and missed the tackle. Watch the replay and get back to me.

yy_cheng

I dont think Fa'asso adds much to our team. Too many one dimensional forwards with Mannah, Terepo, Faasso and a bit Wicks.

When Gowie is back I would drop Faasso.

He's either hit hard in a collision or is concussed

yy_cheng

f**king genius. Peats made contact and missed the tackle. Watch the replay and get back to me.

I concur.

McInness doesnt look like any super either in size or footwork. Peats must've been fatigued and it's actually why I like IDG on the bench.

There are times when there is no dummy half or Sandow is at dummy half as Peats is knackered

Mate, fans have "had enough of this shit" every year. And I mean that regardless of how well we've been going. Yeah it sucks. I was nine months old the last time this club won. You reckon I'm f**king happy? But the same f**kwits whine about sacking all and sundry, and eventually wind up perpetuating the problem by either swaying opinion or straight up voting like shit at the club because they're too blind and impatient to see the good signs when they are there...
I get what you are saying Baz, it's just so hard following this mob. BA deserves to see out his 3rd year with a team he has had a decent say in. But gee whiz his decision to play Sandow at fullback was just shocking. I remember sitting through the early to mid 90's but the last 6 seasons seems so much worse.

Mau and Sandow's dropped ball were both critical. But the fact we missed 25 missed tackles means we:

a) have a poor attitude or

b) have a coach that does not know how to teach blokes to tackle.

which do you think it is?

C) Had less footy
D)Have smaller bodies in the contest
E)Didn't handle the wet as well as Souths
F)Beaten in the ruck, leaving us with a retreating line/isolated players
G)Fatigue

etc etc

Serious question. Have you ever played a competitive game of football? Because you talk about tackling like someone who has never done it, tbh. There are any number of reasons players miss tackles. Attitude/laziness is just one of them...why don't you prove that all 25, or even 50% of them, were "poor attitude"?

Lemon Squash

We look like we have forgotten how to win. We are trying but are lacking in confidence and our execution is being directly effected by that.

All year there has only been one game where we were never in the contest and that was against the Warriors in rd3 and that was only due to the fact we were diabolical in the first half and got way too far behind to give ourselves a sniff. The second half in that game proved when we aren't playing under pressure we can play decent footy.

All these games where we are getting into the 'grind' we are struggling to close out

Mentally we are weak as piss

souths_pride

I thought Parra played very well tonight and on another night, may have gotten the chocolates. In saying that, I think the result was a fair one. Now a lot of people are going to say that Souths weren't the better team and didn't do enough to deserve to win the game. While that may be true, I believe that Souths didn't do enough to deserve to lose the game either. Gus Gould and other may have felt that Souths were playing conservatively and that they didn't chance their arm enough to score points. I completely disagree with that sentiment; our tactics were spot on! I think that Gus forgot what happened a few weeks back against the Sharks in wet conditions, where we tried to play expansively with a heap of sweeping back-line moves and lost. I always feel that in the wet, the team that makes the least amount of errors and concedes the least amount of penalties generally wins. I think you only need to look at the match stats tonight to see that Souths were marginally the better team tonight.

Kornstar

I get what you are saying Baz, it's just so hard following this mob. BA deserves to see out his 3rd year with a team he has had a decent say in. But gee whiz his decision to play Sandow at fullback was just shocking. I remember sitting through the early to mid 90's but the last 6 seasons seems so much worse.

Because those guys in the 90's tried their hardest week in, week out. I don't have the same of the players these days.

I dont think Fa'asso adds much to our team. Too many one dimensional forwards with Mannah, Terepo, Faasso and a bit Wicks.

When Gowie is back I would drop Faasso.

He's either hit hard in a collision or is concussed

And he's got weirdly skinny arms.

I think it's very likely he'll be the one to make way for Gower.

I concur.

McInness doesnt look like any super either in size or footwork. Peats must've been fatigued and it's actually why I like IDG on the bench.

There are times when there is no dummy half or Sandow is at dummy half as Peats is knackered

Wicks is the reason McInness got through, he made a horrific read which left Peats scrambling and isolated...sorry, I mean it gave Peats a terrible attitude problem and he missed the tackle as a result.

hybrideel

Why? Because i am sick of being the joke of the league for almost 30 years???

Have you been following what has been happening at our club in the last month? The election shit, now the salary cap shit?

We are a joke on the field as has been evident since 2011......

We don't even look like things are going to get better as with each week that passes we do dumb shit that no other team is doing consistently.

We are an embarrassment and to be honest tonight is a game i would never miss without a really good reason like a wedding or something. but this is the first time in a decade that i have voluntarily not gone to a game at ANZ (or close to home), you know why? Cause i am f**king getting over it.

If you don't like that i say take the team to Perth, then ok, i hope NRL boot all of our management from front to back, side to side and top to bottom and bring in independents because we have proven we can't run a club!

I'm sick of feeling like shit every weekend!

Mate i and many others on have been through the pain of the last 6 years. I hate losing but unfortunately have become used to it. After yeaterdays revelation i believe we are in for a tough year. Now we can only use the top 25 it really limits our options. Due to that i think we need to lower our expectations to being competitive, jagging a few wims and finshing 10-13th at best. As far as that goes, losing by a goal kick to the reigning premiers is a decent efort

Noise

Wicks is the reason McInness got through, he made a horrific read which left Peats scrambling and isolated...sorry, I mean it gave Peats a terrible attitude problem and he missed the tackle as a result.

Bandwagon is arguing McInnes went in untouched. Peats missed the tackle. Clearly. And Wicks made a bad read. There is no way he went in untouched.