Well, our final bye week for 2022 is over and it's time to get back into the hard work and back into the grind. Hopefully the boys all had a great break, took some time away from Footy to freshen up and get ready for what needs to be a huge back end of the Season. Seriously, we need to find some form and go on a run, quick smart. That all starts this week as we take on Parra back there at home in what is no doubt one of the more monumental games of the Season for us. Potentially Season-defining. Close to must-win territory.
Given our record this year, any opponent this week would be a monumental occasion but when you add to it the fact that it's the Parramatta Eels, well, it just becomes that much bigger. Parra are a potential top four team and a potential Premiership contender so this is going to be a huge test for us back at home. Certainly the most stiff competition we've had in weeks which I'll be honest, is a worry with the way we've been going. They're a classy side on their day full of absolute superstars like Gutho, Sivo, Brown, Moses, Paulo, Mahoney, RCG, Matterson, Papali'i, just to name a few. That's pretty daunting when you read that out and think about it. On their day I reckon they are capable of beating anyone, as we have seen with their wins earlier in the Season against the Storm and Panthers. What's more, they'll still be smarting from their shock loss to the Dogs a couple weeks back and that spells danger for us.
However, we should also be smarting from our last game against the Dragons. We all know what happened there and I want the boys to remember that hurt and embarrassment, and use it to drive them this week. As I said earlier, we need to turn our Season around over the next eight or so weeks and that all starts on Saturday night. This game is so, so important and if the stakes don't fire the lads up, then nothing will. I just want to see some pride and passion, some heart. Some effort for the jersey and for the fans. Completing our sets and defending better wouldn't go astray too. Significantly, we should be able to field one of the strongest line ups we've had all year as Latrell is certain to return. That is just huge for us, adds so much to the team and boy do we need him right now. I really hope he's the key to unlocking Cody and we see a big game from our 5/8 in tandem with his Indigenous mate agiainst the Eels. We need some magic and that will go a long way to getting the result.
So super important week! Our backs are well and truly against the wall and the stakes are high. She's a big one in the context of our Season as win this and it will be huge for the confidence of the team but lose, and we could find ourselves out of the eight. What's it going to be? It's up to the boys. This is our line in the sand moment, a moment that is so very important. We need to make sure it is our moment. Bring on Saturday!!
Given our record this year, any opponent this week would be a monumental occasion but when you add to it the fact that it's the Parramatta Eels, well, it just becomes that much bigger. Parra are a potential top four team and a potential Premiership contender so this is going to be a huge test for us back at home. Certainly the most stiff competition we've had in weeks which I'll be honest, is a worry with the way we've been going. They're a classy side on their day full of absolute superstars like Gutho, Sivo, Brown, Moses, Paulo, Mahoney, RCG, Matterson, Papali'i, just to name a few. That's pretty daunting when you read that out and think about it. On their day I reckon they are capable of beating anyone, as we have seen with their wins earlier in the Season against the Storm and Panthers. What's more, they'll still be smarting from their shock loss to the Dogs a couple weeks back and that spells danger for us.
However, we should also be smarting from our last game against the Dragons. We all know what happened there and I want the boys to remember that hurt and embarrassment, and use it to drive them this week. As I said earlier, we need to turn our Season around over the next eight or so weeks and that all starts on Saturday night. This game is so, so important and if the stakes don't fire the lads up, then nothing will. I just want to see some pride and passion, some heart. Some effort for the jersey and for the fans. Completing our sets and defending better wouldn't go astray too. Significantly, we should be able to field one of the strongest line ups we've had all year as Latrell is certain to return. That is just huge for us, adds so much to the team and boy do we need him right now. I really hope he's the key to unlocking Cody and we see a big game from our 5/8 in tandem with his Indigenous mate agiainst the Eels. We need some magic and that will go a long way to getting the result.
So super important week! Our backs are well and truly against the wall and the stakes are high. She's a big one in the context of our Season as win this and it will be huge for the confidence of the team but lose, and we could find ourselves out of the eight. What's it going to be? It's up to the boys. This is our line in the sand moment, a moment that is so very important. We need to make sure it is our moment. Bring on Saturday!!