Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 18 - Bulldogs vs Rabbitohs @ ANZ, Saturday 14th July, 3pm

Itsamansgame

Merritt should have been selected in SOO,IMO, whilst in his prime,years before he was----he was the NRL's leading tryscorer over a very long period--even scored the most tries when we collected the wooden spoon.I believe he was crucified in SOO!!
Yes mate as Stan said....f**k Daley!!!
He was on a hiding to nothing!!!

What a wondrous time that was Itsa,

If 2012-2014 hadn't of happened I'd probably have my house paid off by now. But it was all worth it for that magical Sunday in October 2014.

I bought 4 Platinum tickets to the GF three years in a row as soon as they went on sale. I couldn't bring myself to attend in 2012 and 2013, and couldn't sell them for anywhere near what I paid, so there was close to $3000 down the drain. I hit a roo driving down for the Canberra semi in 2012 and almost wrote off my ute. Had to borrow a mates car and got to the game anyway. I remember having a ciggie at halftime in the smoking area at ANZ in the Prelim against the Bulldogs. I was talking to a couple of young Bunnies fans who were still optimistic about our chances, but I had a hollow feeling in my gut, knowing that with Reyno out we were done.

In 2013 I came down for the Qualifier against Melbourne, but decided to skip the Prelim against Manly as I was very confident of the win. I remember ringing my old man at halftime from the pub I was watching the game. We agreed that he could shout the accommodation as I'd got the tickets. How wrong we were. I was absolutely gutted. I woke up the next day sick as a dog and it took me 6 weeks to get over it. I honestly believe the main cause was my devastation. I even tried unsuccessfully to claim insurance on the tickets to no avail.

Then came 2014, I flew down for the Manly game and drove down for the Roosters. I went to both games with Manly and Roosters mates and was absolutely living the dream. I flew down to Sydney for the GF and went to the game with 3 Doggies friends from my home town, did a pub crawl through Redfern before catching a train to the game.

After the game I got the train and joined the street party in Redfern until the early hours of the morning, it was magical. After a couple of hours sleep I backed up at Redfern Oval to see the boys with the trophy and lined up for hours for merchandise. We may have even crossed paths.

After this I headed to the Woolpack Hotel for a few beers. The atmosphere was so awesome, just unbridled joy everywhere. I even shouted a beer and had a good yarn with the big guy with the beard that they often show on tele at our games. I think it was Channel 9 that had a camera crew there and were having a live cross to us on the 6pm news. I texted a heap of friends and family to make sure they were watching. There was a heap of us that rushed the camera when they crossed and within 30 seconds my phone went red hot. Texts like "It was pretty hard to watch you, when the guy behind you was waving his c**k around". I had no idea but one excited punter had pulled his c**k out and waved it around. Anyway, the cops shut the pub down within about 15 mins, which was a complete overreaction.

Anyway, it made the moment more memorable and has now been viewed more than half a million times on youtube.

I'm the fat dude with the black shirt with the white rabbit on it, next to the pot plant on the far left of picture. I sometimes watch this when I need a laugh.

What an amazing time that was.

Cheers Stan.
Thanks for sharing Stan!

I've already got GF tickets for this year!

If not I'm confident I can sell them and have done before! I can just feel it that we can get there again. I feel it in my Red and green veins providing we keep our stars on the paddock!

I sadly couldn't afford platinum and that was the same for the 2014 GF where I was in 146-2. For this year I've had to buy Gold category again and they're still $255 a ticket!

After we won the GF I had work the next day lol. I remember going home and re-watching it again and tearing up. I went to bed about 5:30am in the morning!!!

Words can't describe what a night that was!!!!!

doyen

Thanks for sharing Stan!

I've already got GF tickets for this year!

If not I'm confident I can sell them and have done before! I can just feel it that we can get there again. I feel it in my Red and green veins providing we keep our stars on the paddock!

I sadly couldn't afford platinum and that was the same for the 2014 GF where I was in 146-2. For this year I've had to buy Gold category again and they're still $255 a ticket!

After we won the GF I had work the next day lol. I remember going home and re-watching it again and tearing up. I went to bed about 5:30am in the morning!!!

Words can't describe what a night that was!!!!!

You're going to be crying again in 2018 R20---& you're going to have a long happy evening & very early morning!!

ThingFish

What a wondrous time that was Itsa,

If 2012-2014 hadn't of happened I'd probably have my house paid off by now. But it was all worth it for that magical Sunday in October 2014.

I bought 4 Platinum tickets to the GF three years in a row as soon as they went on sale. I couldn't bring myself to attend in 2012 and 2013, and couldn't sell them for anywhere near what I paid, so there was close to $3000 down the drain. I hit a roo driving down for the Canberra semi in 2012 and almost wrote off my ute. Had to borrow a mates car and got to the game anyway. I remember having a ciggie at halftime in the smoking area at ANZ in the Prelim against the Bulldogs. I was talking to a couple of young Bunnies fans who were still optimistic about our chances, but I had a hollow feeling in my gut, knowing that with Reyno out we were done.

In 2013 I came down for the Qualifier against Melbourne, but decided to skip the Prelim against Manly as I was very confident of the win. I remember ringing my old man at halftime from the pub I was watching the game. We agreed that he could shout the accommodation as I'd got the tickets. How wrong we were. I was absolutely gutted. I woke up the next day sick as a dog and it took me 6 weeks to get over it. I honestly believe the main cause was my devastation. I even tried unsuccessfully to claim insurance on the tickets to no avail.

Then came 2014, I flew down for the Manly game and drove down for the Roosters. I went to both games with Manly and Roosters mates and was absolutely living the dream. I flew down to Sydney for the GF and went to the game with 3 Doggies friends from my home town, did a pub crawl through Redfern before catching a train to the game.

After the game I got the train and joined the street party in Redfern until the early hours of the morning, it was magical. After a couple of hours sleep I backed up at Redfern Oval to see the boys with the trophy and lined up for hours for merchandise. We may have even crossed paths.

After this I headed to the Woolpack Hotel for a few beers. The atmosphere was so awesome, just unbridled joy everywhere. I even shouted a beer and had a good yarn with the big guy with the beard that they often show on tele at our games. I think it was Channel 9 that had a camera crew there and were having a live cross to us on the 6pm news. I texted a heap of friends and family to make sure they were watching. There was a heap of us that rushed the camera when they crossed and within 30 seconds my phone went red hot. Texts like "It was pretty hard to watch you, when the guy behind you was waving his c**k around". I had no idea but one excited punter had pulled his c**k out and waved it around. Anyway, the cops shut the pub down within about 15 mins, which was a complete overreaction.

Anyway, it made the moment more memorable and has now been viewed more than half a million times on youtube.

I'm the fat dude with the black shirt with the white rabbit on it, next to the pot plant on the far left of picture. I sometimes watch this when I need a laugh.

What an amazing time that was.

Cheers Stan.
:joy:Great story Stan. For a moment there I thought you were going to say you were the infamous guy who rocked out with his cock out.

My brother and sister-in-law had their kids with them so we got rooms in the hotel above the Brewery pub. We partied until that placed closed then went back to our well stocked rooms.

I remember a strange confidence during that game. Normally i’m a wreck during games. But I remember it being only 6-0 at halftime but Bunnies supporters high fiveing each other at the bar. Then the elation at full time and the stadium still being packed for the presentation, you still don’t see that much.

Now whenever I watch the replay i’m nervous at 12-6 even though I know we smashed them and I think why wasn’t I shitting myself on the day. :joy:

:joy:Great story Stan. For a moment there I thought you were going to say you were the infamous guy who rocked out with his c**k out.

My brother and sister-in-law had their kids with them so we got rooms in the hotel above the Brewery pub. We partied until that placed closed then went back to our well stocked rooms.

I remember a strange confidence during that game. Normally i’m a wreck during games. But I remember it being only 6-0 at halftime but Bunnies supporters high fiveing each other at the bar. Then the elation at full time and the stadium still being packed for the presentation, you still don’t see that much.

Now whenever I watch the replay i’m nervous at 12-6 even though I know we smashed them and I think why wasn’t I shitting myself on the day. :joy:
You caught me out bro, I was trying to take the humble route and claim to be the fat dude and hope someone would blame Itsa for getting his cock out. :D:D:D

The funny thing was there was quite a bit of confusion afterwards as most people were watching the cameras and had no idea what happened. The first couple of texts I got I was pretty confused what they were talking about until someone rang me. I think I actually spoke to cockman afterwards but had no idea it was him.

The best thing was when I sent the group text to two of my female cousins. Neither of them were league fans, and I had been signing their kids up for memberships for a couple of years. Both of them had gathered the kids to watch the news and see Uncle Stan. The first one that texted me said something along the lines of "So glad you got me and the kids to watch a guy throwing his penis around." The second, whose husband is an AFL man and thought leaguies were somewhat unrefined said something like "Thankyou for making my kids Rabbitoh's fans. I was already worried enough about how they would turn out."

Anyway there's 6 nieces and nephews from 3 families that are now Rabbitoh's for life. So I must be doing something right.

Cheers Stan.

ThingFish

You caught me out bro, I was trying to take the humble route and claim to be the fat dude and hope someone would blame Itsa for getting his c**k out. :D:D:D

The funny thing was there was quite a bit of confusion afterwards as most people were watching the cameras and had no idea what happened. The first couple of texts I got I was pretty confused what they were talking about until someone rang me. I think I actually spoke to cockman afterwards but had no idea it was him.

The best thing was when I sent the group text to two of my female cousins. Neither of them were league fans, and I had been signing their kids up for memberships for a couple of years. Both of them had gathered the kids to watch the news and see Uncle Stan. The first one that texted me said something along the lines of "So glad you got me and the kids to watch a guy throwing his penis around." The second, whose husband is an AFL man and thought leaguies were somewhat unrefined said something like "Thankyou for making my kids Rabbitoh's fans. I was already worried enough about how they would turn out."

Anyway there's 6 nieces and nephews from 3 families that are now Rabbitoh's for life. So I must be doing something right.

Cheers Stan.
Great work. I’ve got 2 out of 3 nieces converted plus my brother and sister-in-law.

I’m really hoping to relive another GF before I cark it. Next time I’m wearing a go-pro on my head so I can remember it all:joy::joy:

So with Mixo' report from Norths match today it seems Douiehi may have played himself out of that centre spot.

The fact Hymel Hunt didn't play makes me wonder if he was rested and has been told he's the guy to cover GI and that Douiehi has to stay on the bench and keep working hard plus sometimes going back to Norths to keep developing too!

On that left edge I think Hunt is the better defensive option and for the physicality he brings! Hunt may not bring as much in attack as Douiehi but he's sure improved with the shit work this year.

With Clarky suspended a week and Fui in a moon boot today I've no doubts that Nicholls will get a bench spot and a smokey may be Britt too if Angus doesn't back up!

Pommy

Yeah--"the FLAG."

Bit too English for you Pom!!????

Do they play for a "flag" in the "Motherland ?"

Back in the 50s/60s we used to talk about winning the "flag."ie winning the comp------back when I was a kid!! Don't remember ever seeing that "flag" even though Sths won plenty!

A bit to English? A bit to AFL Zhou men’s. Doesn’t appear Souths have won any flags lol.

callmack1

Can't wait for this one just like every week.

Will be really nice to have some Saturday arvo footy and I'll be very interested to see how the boys turn up after the bye. We'll be rested due to the two breaks we've had recently but I just hope it's not too rested. The run home starts this week and we need to start it well, this is by no means an easy match as the Dogs haven't performed too badly the past couple of weeks.

On another note, I'm not expecting any of our Origin guys to play.

Can't wait for this one just like every week.

Will be really nice to have some Saturday arvo footy and I'll be very interested to see how the boys turn up after the bye. We'll be rested due to the two breaks we've had recently but I just hope it's not too rested. The run home starts this week and we need to start it well, this is by no means an easy match as the Dogs haven't performed too badly the past couple of weeks.

On another note, I'm not expecting any of our Origin guys to play.
As we've seen over the years against the Dogs it doesn't matter where either team is on the ladder. It is always a fierce contest!

If our origin guys are out some of the Norths boys are gonna have to pull their socks up from what they dished up the other day!

I think you'll find he will name our origin guys but they'll be 6 men on the extended bench!

callmack1

As we've seen over the years against the Dogs it doesn't matter where either team is on the ladder. It is always a fierce contest!

If our origin guys are out some of the Norths boys are gonna have to pull their socks up from what they dished up the other day!

I think you'll find he will name our origin guys but they'll be 6 men on the extended bench!
Yea that was what happened with the naming of the side in Round 14 wasn't It?

doyen

A bit to English? A bit to AFL Zhou men’s. Doesn’t appear Souths have won any flags lol.

It was a long time ago when I was a kid at High School & I never followed AFL;had no idea about the game-----we had a small number of kids though in our 1st 15[about 2]who played AFL & RL on the weekend-----I can remember that AFL was played on Erskinville Oval & a very minor sport in Sydney back in the 50s/60s--my school[Cleveland St;SURRY HILLS] only played RU ---we had 2 of these kids in our 1st 15;they were tall & could both dropkick long distances & mark a ball with ease!!
I've been trying to figure out this "win the flag" thing which in my era was common for most sports & the term used often as a figure of speech. I had no interest in "Aussie Rules" so in my mind it didn't arise from there!
As individuals, playing kids sport ,one often received a small pennant which was a replica of the large one awarded to the triumphant team!!! I remember getting these mainly for soccer.Any Pom or Scot who had migrated to Aust. played ONLY soccer & we were always glad to have some in our team as they were our better players.
The pennant was the closest thing to a flag that may have been responsible for the "win the flag" term!!

Yea that was what happened with the naming of the side in Round 14 wasn't It?
Correct.

Earlier this morning I got Seibs members email insights and it's Hymel Hunt who gets that left centre spot. It's well deserved. Just as I suspected a few days ago after realising that's why Douiehi played for Norths and as Mixo said he didn't do himself any favours in that game for Norths unfortunately! I'd say Douiehi will still be wearing the 14 jersey though.

Also the plan is if they get through to play all the origin boys. Seibs is taking this match very seriously and says it's very important. The boys have had 4 days off and we need to build momentum starting this week!

Seibs was also saying how the Dogs have been really good last couple of weeks with Klemmer and Jackson and Hopoate etc they are always a danger!

So I'm thinking the 22 man squad may look something like this:

AJ
Campbell
Gagai
Hunt
Jennings
Cody
AR
Tom
Cook
George
Sutton
Angus
Sam

Douiehi
Murray
Nicholls
Tatola

Mcilwrick
Turner
Burns
Britt
Brittain

Something along those lines Callmack!

callmack1

Correct.

Earlier this morning I got Seibs members email insights and it's Hymel Hunt who gets that left centre spot. It's well deserved. Just as I suspected a few days ago after realising that's why Douiehi played for Norths and as Mixo said he didn't do himself any favours in that game for Norths unfortunately! I'd say Douiehi will still be wearing the 14 jersey though.

Also the plan is if they get through to play all the origin boys. Seibs is taking this match very seriously and says it's very important. The boys have had 4 days off and we need to build momentum starting this week!

Seibs was also saying how the Dogs have been really good last couple of weeks with Klemmer and Jackson and Hopoate etc they are always a danger!

So I'm thinking the 22 man squad may look something like this:

AJ
Campbell
Gagai
Hunt
Jennings
Cody
AR
Tom
Cook
George
Sutton
Angus
Sam

Douiehi
Murray
Nicholls
Tatola

Mcilwrick
Turner
Burns
Britt
Brittain

Something along those lines Callmack!
Yep, I just got a chance to watch Seibs' insights and see all that.

I like how we're taking it incredible seriously (as we should) since the Dogs always seem to lift against us no matter where we both are on the ladder.

Originally, I was thinking that we shouldn't play our Origin guys but then I realised this is a Saturday game so they'll have that extra 24 hours so they should be good to go. It all depends how they pull up after tomorrow night though.

My predicted Line Up is exactly the same as yours bro.