Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 24 V Warriors

You rest guys like Kikau,Yeo,Martin,Too,Edwards. Ridiculous if didn't. Not like its a 6 week rest its a week. They won't forget how to play footy in that time.

Why risk suspension,injury,fatigue.

I am really in two minds about this week, but next week I would love us to send a high quality team up to Townsville and smash the Cowboys, dropping them back to fourth, before welcoming them to Penrith Park a week later.

More than any other team in the top 8 we seem to have their measure and I personally would like to keep it that way!!

I am really in two minds about this week, but next week I would love us to send a high quality team up to Townsville and smash the Cowboys, dropping them back to fourth, before welcoming them to Penrith Park a week later.

More than any other team in the top 8 we seem to have their measure and I personally would like to keep it that way!!

That's actualy a good point. But prior to kick off you should know if Storm/Eels will be 4th at the end of next rnd.
I'd rather play Cowboys then either tbh.
Also feel finals structure needs to change.
1st and 5th should get to chose who they play of 3rd and 4th and 7th and 8th. Not a lock in.
Lock ins entice sides to rest or throw games.

I reckon Cowboys want 2nd spot mostly. They will go full pelt this week against Souths.

But those are really the 3 possibilities.

Cowboys,Storm or Eels.

That's actualy a good point. But prior to kick off you should know if Storm/Eels will be 4th at the end of next rnd.
1st and 5th should get to chose who they play of 3rd and 4th and 7th and 8th. Not a lock in.

I reckon Cowboys want 2nd spot mostly. They will go full pelt this week against Souths.

Cowboys,Storm or Eels.
I think that the Storm will win this week and the four will be locked in (ex some freak games the week after that effect for and against).

Bit you are right; we should know Thursday evening what the permutations are for our first week opponents based on what is the outcome of our game with the Cows (assuming that the Sharks beat the Knights).

Iamback

You rest guys like Kikau,Yeo,Martin,Too,Edwards. Ridiculous if didn't. Not like its a 6 week rest its a week. They won't forget how to play footy in that time.

Why risk suspension,injury,fatigue.

I would put Tago on that list, not having a centre in the extended squad says other wise

Whino

We didn't lose the 2020gf because the Storm were better rested than us. We were nervous that whole finals series and played like it in stages. The semi final performance against the Roosters was erratic.
We also changed what we went away from during the regular season by moving May off the bench to centre. We lost his impact mid match, and quality opposition exposed his defensive short falls against raw pace defending at centre.

We also cruised into the finals with a few games against bum sides. A harder opposition would have been ideal a week or two out from the finals in 2020. Not to be.

We learnt from that, and some of the players got much needed big game experience for next time.

Iamback

Cowboys,Storm or Eels.

Eels for and against is too poor to realistically get 4th spot

The Realist

Yeah what an idiot, should of learnt from last year, cost us a premiership......

Mate, lets not pretend that we won the Premiership with relative ease . 2 key early injuries and a George Jennings drop, those don't happen we lose against Storm. Several moments in the Eel's game and also in the GF. There was a huge element of luck/fate that got us over the line.

I still maintain that we won despite some of Ivan's Coaching not because of it.

Crashtest

Mate, lets not pretend that we won the Premiership with relative ease . 2 key early injuries and a George Jennings drop, those don't happen we lose against Storm. Several moments in the Eel's game and also in the GF. There was a huge element of luck/fate that got us over the line.

I don't think we won with relative ease. And there is always an element of luck and fate involved in winning a premiership.

We didn't rest players and yet won the hard games and won the premiership. Teams that rested players lost hard games and didn't win a premiership. I know its not that simple or black and white, and that there are both positives and negatives in resting of players.

I imagine that there is a lot of discussions between the coaching staff, medical team and players when making those decisions.

mxlegend99

We scored after 2 mins well before players went off.
TPJ especially was taking it to them
And only scored once more in the remaining 78 minutes despite them being down 2 men.

Could have lost that game due to an unlucky bounce of the ball it was that close.

Storm even ran for more metres and had more ball than we did. If they didn't lose 2 guys they would have almost definitely won that game.

We were running on fumes throwing almost nothing in attack all finals series. We just threw what little energy we had in to defending the best we could. We could definitely have done with some freshening up of the players. We won despite them being exhausted and busted.

Iamback

This.

We look to be doing the not resting guys route again, Unless we pull guys out from the 17 but we haven't got Luke in the squad or Jennings. So Api and Tago will play not sure we will run in with half a side the week before the finals too.

Time will tell if it is the right decision

Iamback

And only scored once more in the remaining 78 minutes despite them being down 2 men.

Could have lost that game due to an unlucky bounce of the ball it was that close.

Storm even ran for more metres and had more ball than we did. If they didn't lose 2 guys they would have almost definitely won that game.

We were running on fumes throwing almost nothing in attack all finals series. We just threw what little energy we had in to defending the best we could. We could definitely have done with some freshening up of the players. We won despite them being exhausted and busted.

We were guaranteed of top 2 with a few games left, So there were chances to rest guys before the final round. Ideally you don't rest guys in the last round if you can help it

Munky

We were guaranteed of top 2 with a few games left, So there were chances to rest guys before the final round. Ideally you don't rest guys in the last round if you can help it

In 2021 there was no guarantee of top 2.

We finished one game ahead of Souths who we defeated in the third last round.

Any loss after that point could have exposed us to third place (unlikely given F/A but possible if dropping one game).
We were guaranteed top 3 which made no difference since we were only ever going to play Souths in QLD in week 1.

Iamback

In 2021 there was no guarantee of top 2.

We finished one game ahead of Souths who we defeated in the third last round.

Any loss after that point could have exposed us to third place (unlikely given F/A but possible if dropping one game).
We were guaranteed top 3 which made no difference since we were only ever going to play Souths in QLD in week 1.

Souths were 8 points clear of 4th. So it was us v Souths week 1 of the finals for a while there.

After we played Souths had Tigers and Parra ran out a reserve grade side, Either one would of been the time to rest guys up

Smug Panther

I'd like Luai to play 40-50mins each game for the next 2 weeks. Also rest Api and Dylan as much as they need

Pomoz

Your premise may be valid for one game, but a coach who has delivered a one, two, one finish over three years is obviously doing something right. Throw in the GF win and the fact the team was the youngest in the NRL when it lost in 2020 and I would say Cleary ain't perfect, but he has turned into an excellent coach.

Luck and fate for three years and bad coaching?! Nah.