Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 25 - our last game of pain

Dragon David

spazer
we have to develop a lot of our juniours in order to get the cap sitting better for a marquee type player For some reason we dont seem to be able to bring them through ready its like we dont put enough into them when they need it most I think we need to look at pathways to develop a plan ( knock off penrith bluprint) that will fully develop the young kids so that by the time they are in reserve grade biding their time they are pretty well ready for first grade . this is where we let ourselves down we havent got the system in place
Exactly! I don't think that there is anyone at the club who has that job and even if we do, so far he has not acquitted of himself very well.

Pathways and Development is a massive job and only the best person for this job is needed. Maybe Ben Woolf has this skill?

dannyt

I thought it was clear but to break it down a little bit to make it easier for you, the fact they're worse without Reynolds in not being a team challenging for a grand final victory tells me letting him go was a mistake. Hope that helps 🙂
I hope this helps.

What may appear to be clear to you is not necessarily clear to everyone else. This is demonstrated by my initial question and your response. What you said was not clear to me, hence my question, while the premise that what may appear clear to some may not be clear to others appears obvious to me, but, based on your response, this premise is not obvious to you, obviously. Your reasoning is also flawed, which added to the ambiguity of your response, hence my initial question.

Your premise is souths is worse without Reynolds because they are not challenging for a grand final victory in 2022, which they did in 2021. However, your premise is invalid because it is premature and based on assumption. It is premature because the semi final series hasn't started, and you assume that souths will not at least challenge for the grand final. Therefore, your conclusion that it was a mistake to let Reynolds because south are worse without him, based on your criterion for success, is completely invalid.

You may be correct in your premise, eventually, but it is invalid at this point in time.

Clear enough?

Mjab

Exactly! I don't think that there is anyone at the club who has that job and even if we do, so far he has not acquitted of himself very well.

Pathways and Development is a massive job and only the best person for this job is needed. Maybe Ben Woolf has this skill?
I think Brownie should be brought back for this job
he has the skill set and I think should still have a soft spot for the club

Mjab

Lots of easy metres up the centre for long periods
our defence in the middle is lacking

I enjoyed the win

our wins in the last 3 weeks are all piss poor teams terribly out of form
to win these mean nothing

we are still a joke of a club and not even close to being a force like professional clubs

Well I'm glad that's our season over. I feel less stressed already. I've sent a link for a video of Feagai's try to all the non St George followers I know, with a warning that that's what we'll be doing to their respective sides next year. Time to sit back with a stiff drink and just watch finals footy, without any emotion or care.
I barely watch the semi's if we're not in it - haven't watched a Grand Final for years (switched off before full-time in 2016 so that I didn't have to see the Scum win. A moment, I hasten to add, which took a lot of the joy out of watching league. Jubilee hasn't been the same on derby day when the Army can't sing "XX years and you've won **** all, Sharkies, Sharkies").
I drag out DVD's of great semi-final wins of past years - especially the big win over Norths in the 1996 PF, as they had become a bit of a bogey team.
Grand Final day it's '77, '79, 2010 replays. No matter how often you watch them they never get old.

Ghostrider22

spazer
we have to develop a lot of our juniours in order to get the cap sitting better for a marquee type player For some reason we dont seem to be able to bring them through ready its like we dont put enough into them when they need it most I think we need to look at pathways to develop a plan ( knock off penrith bluprint) that will fully develop the young kids so that by the time they are in reserve grade biding their time they are pretty well ready for first grade . this is where we let ourselves down we havent got the system in place
Everyone should look at the Penrith model, your right. The amount of juniors they have is huge. Bigger than Parramatta. Their systems in place and it works. Look, there are politics in every club that goes without saying, for JV clubs there are 2 sides to the committee. That’s the problem to many self interested individuals to be one club and go in the right direction, you need the direction from management and coach that makes your sides successful and make the finals, it’s not hard. Hopefully it will happen, you need a very strong hard arse individual to make it come together.

Ghostrider22

I barely watch the semi's if we're not in it - haven't watched a Grand Final for years (switched off before full-time in 2016 so that I didn't have to see the Scum win. A moment, I hasten to add, which took a lot of the joy out of watching league. Jubilee hasn't been the same on derby day when the Army can't sing "XX years and you've won **** all, Sharkies, Sharkies").
I drag out DVD's of great semi-final wins of past years - especially the big win over Norths in the 1996 PF, as they had become a bit of a bogey team.
Grand Final day it's '77, '79, 2010 replays. No matter how often you watch them they never get old.
I do the same, I watch all the old games too, I love BMoz against Manly at WIN a Sunday arvo in the sun picking the ball up in front of goals and proceeded to run across and down the hill side to score watching everyone just stand up as he went pass WOW never gets old. 👍

Trifili13

While Feagai's try was great, and don't want to detract from it, but can you imagine the pounding our players would have copped on this forum? No player should run through 8 or 9 players to score a try in first grade. I think it says more about Broncos clocking off than some powerhouse run by Feagai.

Notwithstanding the above, I did enjoy it.

TruSaint

While Feagai's try was great, and don't want to detract from it, but can you imagine the pounding our players would have copped on this forum? No player should run through 8 or 9 players to score a try in first grade. I think it says more about Broncos clocking off than some powerhouse run by Feagai.

Notwithstanding the above, I did enjoy it.

The Broncos are shite, but that was special. It's not as if they nothing to play for. Effort alone deserves a heap of praise.

redandwhite4evr

Everyone should look at the Penrith model, your right. The amount of juniors they have is huge. Bigger than Parramatta. Their systems in place and it works. Look, there are politics in every club that goes without saying, for JV clubs there are 2 sides to the committee. That’s the problem to many self interested individuals to be one club and go in the right direction, you need the direction from management and coach that makes your sides successful and make the finals, it’s not hard. Hopefully it will happen, you need a very strong hard arse individual to make it come together.
While it's true Penrith has a huge local junior nursery, it doesn't tell the whole story. They also recruit extensively and cleverly in 16-17 year olds from NSW country towns, particularly the Central West where they invest resources, and NZ and bring them into their junior system. Three that spring to mind like that are Dylan Edwards, James Fisher-Harris and Charlie Staines- could be others as well- they're just the ones I know of.

I've always felt that NZ, particularly the South Island where there is no organised RL structures that I'm aware of, would be a fertile ground for recruitment for an NRL club. There must be any number of talented Rugby players not quite at All Black level, who we could target. Jordan Pereira had to come to Australia to be discovered and while he didn't set the world on fire, he still had an NRL career.

dragon thomo

It shows where we are at when the Raiders lead the Tigers 42 zip at half time and the Roosters put 70 odd on them.
We were lucky to beat the Tigers.
Our last 3 wins were against piss poor out of form teams.
Our management are kidding themselves if they think we are going any better than the last 4 teams.
If we don't make changes now kiss 2023 good bye.

getsmarty

I counted 10 defenders in his wake. Mat Feagai, legend.
Yep..close to highlight of our year...glad everyone enjoyed watching.

jeffdragon

It shows where we are at when the Raiders lead the Tigers 42 zip at half time and the Roosters put 70 odd on them.
Our management are kidding themselves if they think we are going any better than the last 4 teams.
I just posted a similar.post in nrl gsmes post.
We think alike.
Broncs got smashed twice and we struggled to bt them.
Look also at Xavier Savage and Sloan.
Savage had issues and Sloan too.
Savage has been given more of a chance and in motor racing terms he has lapped Sloan.

Yow

Dont forget we beat both them also . We have been in good positions to win games but sin bins have cost us and what our players went to the bin for is nothing to what the loved are allowed to get away with. Valandy has his head stuck up the arse of high end of town he could see the back of their eye balls

Ghostrider22

While it's true Penrith has a huge local junior nursery, it doesn't tell the whole story. They also recruit extensively and cleverly in 16-17 year olds from NSW country towns, particularly the Central West where they invest resources, and NZ and bring them into their junior system. Three that spring to mind like that are Dylan Edwards, James Fisher-Harris and Charlie Staines- could be others as well- they're just the ones I know of.

I've always felt that NZ, particularly the South Island where there is no organised RL structures that I'm aware of, would be a fertile ground for recruitment for an NRL club. There must be any number of talented Rugby players not quite at All Black level, who we could target. Jordan Pereira had to come to Australia to be discovered and while he didn't set the world on fire, he still had an NRL career.
They are very clever Redandwhite4evr they have been doing this ground work for years and you see the proof in all their sides. We use to have scouts like you said that went to country carnivals to recruit. I don’t know anymore, NZ well there’s another question. There is a question to ask Ryan Webb. There are players out there, we don’t seem to have a vehicle to recruit will or won’t.

SaintPeter

Saints forever said
It’s funny how the players of the weaker sides are always treated differently at the judiciary.

Same when it comes to decisions made by referees.

Dare I say, it almost feels as if results are orchestrated.

Mate.
Ive been watching RL for sixty years and agree with you completely.
Always,, (still do) feel the Storm games were manipulated, by the NRL.
To ensure the success of a RL franchise in an AFL town, and provide a return on investment to News Corp.
Anyway, I might be paranoid, but that comes from seeing decision after decision after decision go a certain way ??