Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 4 (2005) Souths Vs Bulls

roosterboy60

South Sydney v South Florida Bulls

Game Thread
Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
Any other posts will result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
Only original essays, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.

Home team captain will be allowed 3 reserves, visiting captain will be allowed 2 reserves
Rules: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.asp

Full Time: Wednesday 27th April at 9pm (Syd time)

Venue: Redfern Oval
ground_redfern_1.jpg

Crowd: 10,440
REFEREE: MysteryGirl

**Referee Blows Game On!**

Seano

The South Sydney Rabbitohs

Seano (c)
Terracesider
Nqboy
Pistol
Murphdogg1

Reserves
Olympic Park
Drewsta
Rabs

terracesider

Terracesider: Souths.

The Tri-Nations Massacre.

In his former career as a policeman, Brian Noble, the Great Britain coach, probably attended a few inquests in the line of duty but few will have been as long and, for him, as painful as the current investigations into Australia’s murderous assault on Great Britain’s line in the first half of last seasons Tri-Nations final.

The original inquiry focused on Noble’s team selection, particularly his preferred half-back pairing of Harris and Long, with McGuire left on the bench. Since then, the press has regularly alleged that over the three matches between Great Britain and Australia there was nothing between the sides for five out of the six halves, but in first half of the final the Kangaroos produced some of the most brilliant rugby ever seen, which few teams in history could possibly have lived with.

Such arguments may offer some crumbs of comfort to GB fans, but this post suggests that they totally miss the point and therefore fail to offer any useful insight as to how to improve matters, other than by annexing Australia’s western coast and making the populations of NSW and Queensland eligible for GB selection. To me, it was the GB players’ lack of experience of high-pressure representative football that was the most significant factor behind the Tri-Nations final massacre.

The way I saw it at the time was that prior to the final there was indeed nothing between GB and Australia. The previous two matches have been closely fought affairs, as near to a traditional forwards’ battle as we can probably expect with the 10 metre rule. On each occasion the result could have gone either way. It was, therefore, with some justified optimism that GB fans approached the final and certainly we had no expectation of being on the wrong end of a 38-0 drubbing by half time. What then happened to our players in that, by now, infamous first half?

To say GB were outclassed on the day is no satisfactory answer; it’s just a blindingly obvious description of what happened. I saw no evidence of the brilliant football with which posterity has endowed this game. Rather, the optimism drained away as the Kangaroos did no more than go through a number of basic routines in which they would have drilled on the practice ground - the sort of stuff seen weekly in the NRL – and, to their obvious delight, scored from them all.

For the first try, the Aussies swept forward and Miniciello chipped the defence to put in Singh, a move absolutely typical of the Rooster’s fullback but perhaps the GB lads don’t watch NRL videos because nobody tried to get across to cover. The second try was created by Lockyer’s reverse pass, a move typical of a class five-eighth but one which seemed to be totally unexpected by the bemused GB defence. And for the third try, Lockyer pumped a regulation high diagonal ball over the GB line which seemed to hypnotise Carney who stood and watched whilst Tonga jumped and caught it. And that was that. It was all over long before GB got themselves organised at half time. [1]

My own theory is that the importance of the occasion got the better of the GB players who, unlike their Aussie counterparts who have benefited from the State of Origin series, have little experience of high pressure representative football. Both sides would probably have felt nervous before the game but once it kicked off the Aussies drawing on the experience from SOO, controlled those pressures and, to judge by the confidence with which they played, even enjoyed them.

The guilty men responsible for the players’ lack of experience of high-pressure representative football are those club chairmen who have successfully sabotaged inter-county games. Hence, when the GB players meet the pressure of the final in a prestigious international tournament, it should be no surprise they are totally unprepared and behave like frightened rabbits caught in headlights.

Unfortunately there are absolutely no signs of any reform so that in future they will be better prepared for the highest level of international competition. There are no representative games at all scheduled for 2005. Once again, a GB will be less prepared than they might have been. In the absence of any change to the ESL chairmen’s attitudes, my advice to RL fans in both continents is to find a bookmaker giving anything approaching evens on an Australian victory in 2005.

[1] Tri-Nations 2004, statistics:
http://sportsaustralia.com/nrl/2004/tri_series/results.html

749 words.

broncoman

broncoman
USF Bulls #3

The Raiders Aren't Going Anywhere

As a Broncos fan I rarely praise other teams, but the Canberra Raiders are the real deal. Whether or not you like them isn't the question, but I can tell you now they are here and will be contenders for the next ten years.

I’m the first to admit I watch too much footy, Usually every game every week. It's probably not healthy, but I don’t care; I love it. But I feel I’m just as entitled to my opinion as anyone else and on this occasion my opinion is that everyone who has slagged off the Raiders in the last two years is going to look pretty stupid ten years from now.

Bringing back Jason Smith from England for one year may well have an impact until he is well into his forties. Sure, Jason will have his feet up and sipping on a fine wine, but his arrival at the club has coincided with the rising of a future star, Todd Carney. Its easy for any old codger who’s been there and done that to pretend they know that they are talking about, but Smith really does. in 2015 Carney will be one of the best players of the past decade and you can put that down to the work being done now.

A lot of people have been critical of the depth in the forwards. I'd like to ask opposition fans if they would be disappointed to have players like Alan Tongue, Tyran Smith, Alan Rothery and Ben Cross as Premier League players for their club. While Canberra have had more than their fair share of injuries in recent times they have still battled through and the experience guys like Rothery and Troy Thompson have gotten will be invaluable in coming seasons. I ponder this question; Canberra are comfortably near the top of the table now, yet what’s going to happen next season when Ryan O'Hara comes back into the team? If they can keep even half of their experienced players on the field they will continue to be a force.

While many clubs have dynamic outside backs, the Raiders again have a great advantage in this area with new-found depth. With fringe players Marshall Chalk, Nathan Smith and Michael Robertson all seizing their chances in the top grade, it means the established first grade players are always looking over their shoulder. Unlike a lot of clubs, the Raiders wont have to panic if their star players out wide go down. Off-season recruit Craig Frawley has already been injured early in the season, but the valuable experience gained by Matt Gafa and Chalk in 2004 means that the loss of Frawley is only minimal. If you add exciting youngsters David Milne, Bronx Goodwin and Jermaine Ale to the mix, there’s certainly some tries in this Raiders back line!

It's all well and good to say the future is bright, and I realise Raiders fans are thinking they want success now, not in ten years, but I think there's short term hope for them. The 2005 competition is as close as its ever been and there’s ten teams with a genuine chance to win it. Canberra are one of those for the following reasons:

* Canberra Stadium has long been a graveyard for visiting teams
* Their best players in the key positions - Smith, Withers and Woolford - form a dangerous combination in the middle of the park
* The presence of a quality goalkicker; in Schifcofske, Canberra have one of the best
* The ability to cope with injuries and suspension; Canberra can still field a quality side despite the absence of eleven top-line players.

The most important Raiders recruit this year may well be David Furner. The former great was appointed Premier League coach for 2005 and it's always a bonus to have people like him around. You know he will give 100% to the club and also has recent playing experience, thereby coaching with knowledge of the speed of the game. Coach Elliott has plenty of good people such as Furner on his coaching staff; a model organisation for other clubs to follow.

In coming years the combination of experienced international players and the continual influx of young talented players may well see the Raiders climb to the top of the NRL pecking order in the same way clubs like the Roosters and Canterbury did during the nineties.

739 words including title

Bomber

Bomber
USF Bulls #4

746 words

-----

STATE OF HATE

07.jpg

In the halcyon days of the Sydney premiership, the most intense rivalries in rugby league were founded on the basis of geography, developed upon the theme of socio-economic discrepancy and cemented by a jolly good dose of hatred. After the social fabric of the game was stained and ripped by the Super League war, it appears that the lines that so clearly defined the classic rivalries in rugby league are blurred.

As new teams were founded and old teams were replaced, it only stood to reason that the traditional rivalries would fall by the wayside. Never again shall we see the Bears and Sea Eagles together at North Sydney Oval, nor the Tigers and Magpies trading tries and bruises at Leichardt Oval. Even the battles between the Sharks and the Dragons will never be quite the same again, ever since St George joined hands with Illawarra and waltzed down the aisle towards footballing matrimony.

The essential ingredients for rivalries still exist; Parramatta and Penrith offer an excellent example of a geographical rivalry. State of Origin will always provide the benchmark for a rivalry founded on hatred. Even contests such as those between the Roosters and the Rabbitohs reflect the struggle between the haves and the have-nots; a battle where the hearts of most neutral supporters will be championing the cause of the marginalised.

In 2004 the NRL witnessed what may prove to be the emergence of a new force, breaking the recent domination of a select few. The Cowboys defied the critics and overcame the odds to reach the finals for the first time in their history with a combination of ad hoc attack and blue collar defense. With the support of virtually all neutral league fans, they took on the might of rugby league’s superpower of the new decade, the Sydney Roosters, for a spot in the grand final. Twenty years from now, historians may record this match as the start of a new rivalry.

The first seventy-nine minutes and forty eight seconds of the game was magnificent rugby league. However, depending on whom you supported, the actions of a certain referee in the last twelve seconds will either provide a mere footnote or an indelible stain on the match. Personally, for an experienced referee to order a scrum when the correct call would have been a penalty was pathetic and disappointing. Although the chances of a Cowboys victory would have remained marginal, justice was not delivered on that fateful afternoon.

In the immediate aftermath of the game, as the Cowboys argued vehemently with the referee but to no avail, the image of Chris Walker mockingly patting a Cowboy on the head only served to stir the blood of disappointed Cowboys fans everywhere. Here were the Roosters, straight after a hard-won victory, rubbing their opponents’ faces in it! In the eyes of some, the reaction of some Roosters players was uncalled for and clearly inappropriate.

Ricky Stuart took it to a new level in the press conference. “This is the grand final everyone wanted,” he huffed and puffed. Their judgment clouded by the last twelve seconds of the game, many could only disagree with him. Not one single word was uttered by the Roosters coach about his recently vanquished opponents. Cowboys fans made a mental note: bad winner.

This Saturday night, the people of northern Queensland have the opportunity to take the rivalry to a completely unprecedented level. Many will still seethe over the injustice of the final moments of their last clash in Sydney. Many will recall Stuart’s magnanimous sportsmanship – or lack thereof - in victory. The real villain of the match, Paul Simpkins, will be plying his trade elsewhere but the essential ingredients will be in place for revenge, North Queensland style.

On Saturday night, the atmosphere will be poisonous. Townsville’s reputation as a spectator-friendly venue will be tossed aside in favour of the State of Hate; hatred of the Roosters, of Ricky Stuart, and of the Roosters and all that they represent in rugby league. There will also be anger at the circumstances of defeat in the finals, and although an egg cannot be scrambled, only a Cowboys victory can ease some of the pain. Does becoming angry and spiteful make a rivalry legitimate? Perhaps not, but it does provide an outlet for disgruntled supporters bent on righting past wrongs.

One only hopes this time it is the players - and not the referee - that decides the outcome.

Pistol

Pistol picks up the cardinal and myrtle guitar and begins to play a tune for the Bunnies...

Out With The Old, In With The New

Throughout the years, stemming back to league’s inception back in 1895 in England, there have been many changes to this very day. Much of it similar as to what happens in the movie “Office Space”, starring Ron Livingston and Jennifer Aniston, a “consultant” comes in to see what works where, how it works and whether it is redundant or irreplaceable.

League is the petulant younger brother of Rugby Union, aching to break free and go out on its own. It did exactly that. So there was never any confusion between the Rugby codes, the number of players on the field was reduced down to 13. Added to that was the elimination of a lineout should the ball leave the field of play in general play, a play the ball was introduced instead of a ruck or a maul, and field goals and penalty goals were made two points each. As it was with Rugby, league had an unlimited tackle count. So theoretically, a team could hold onto the ball for an extended period of time without surrendering possession via a kick. It was in this vein that ball control became the focus of many, many sides of that era.

But like with most things and events nowadays, league had its individuals and groups, which alone forced the game’s hierarchy to look at ways to improve. Winning back-to-back premierships nowadays and even back in the 90’s is proven to be a significant task. Parramatta were the last team to “3 peat”. Easts won 3 in row in the 1911-13 and in the mid 30’s and Souths pulled off 5 in a row from 1925-1929, which stands second of all time in consecutive Grand Finals won but none of this compares to the mighty St George Dragons who from the year 1956-1966 won an unprecedented 11 titles in a row, unrivalled in any other sport in history. These were from the days when players like Brian “Poppa” Clay, Norm “Sticks” Provan and Ken Kearney were running other teams ragged. St George won their 11 titles in a row under the unlimited tackle rule. Coincidentally, the year the league introduced a limited tackle law, St George’s 11 year run ended in the semi final, ultimately won by Souths. Back then the tackle limit was 4 (later bumped up to 6 in the early 70’s). It is still regarded as the most significant change in the history of the game.

Many of us grew up with field goals being of only 1-point value. But until 1971, league had the field goal set on two points. Like with a team like St George exploiting the unlimited tackle law, there was no greater exponent of the field goal in the history of the game like Souths custodian, Eric Simms. Simms kicked field goals as if his life depended on them. In the 1970 season he kicked 20 field goals in total, that’s 40 points onto his season tally. In the Grand Final that year against Manly (won by Souths) he kicked an amazing 4 field goals (still a record today). In total, Simms kicked a jaw dropping 86 field goals for his entire career. The ruling body decided that they would reduce the value to 1 point. In 1973 Newtown defeated St George by 1-0.

It seems hard to fathom, but until the year 1964, there was no such thing as replacements or interchanges. So a player had to go the full 80 minutes or go off injured and the side plays with the man down. Actually until recent times interchanges were not heard of. In 1964, the league introduced a law, which allowed two replacements up to and including the half time break. The difference between replacements and interchanges is a replacement is permanent, whereas an interchange player can go off and come back on.

Another significant change that comes to mind is the change from the 5 metre gap to 10 metres. The lawmakers back in the 90’s thought with the advent of a wider television audience and pay-tv, they should open the game up. This gives the attacking side more time to cart the ball up and more options. However, the one downside is that it does take the defence longer to turn and get back.

Throughout the years, the laws have changed as the game progressed. This is so the rules can’t be exploited, but also so that the game can improve.

748 words inc the title.

Links: Office Space information and review. (Directed by Mike Judge. Based on his Milton animated shorts. Also he is the man behind Beavis and Butthead and King of The Hill)
http://movie-reviews.colossus.net/movies/o/office_space.html

Games of 1973 (Newtown vs St George 1-0)
http://stats.rleague.com/rl/seas/1973.html

Some statistics taken from "TheNRL Information Handbook 2005"

Davester

USF Bulls - Davester #7
Word Count: 739 words

----------------------------------------------------

PRINCE VS THURSTON
Battle for Queensland's Halfback

queensland_state_of_origin_home.gif

“We are in the surroundings of a boxing arena, the crowd is jeering and cheering awaiting the two men to enter the ring, the lights dim and the crowd goes nuts, a spotlight appears in the ring and it's the announcer..."

“Ladies and Gentlemen,

”In the red corner, with black and orange shorts, weighing 81 kilograms and 177 centimetres high, he has the tenacity of a tiger and doesn’t know when to give up…all the way from Mt Isa Townies, please welcome to the ring Scott Prince!

“And in the blue corner, with blue and gold trunks with a flash of grey, weighing 83 kilograms and 179 centimetres high, he has the grit of a bulldog but all the skills of a bareback cowboy….hailing from the Toowoomba All-Whites, give it up for Johnathan Thurston!"

"Well George, I think that Prince would be slightly favoured in this fight, although he did walk out on his first trainer and then had some terrible misfortune at his second....he's in good hands with Timmy 'the Tiger' Sheens though, he certainly knows how to develop the young talent."

"Well Mal, I disagree slightly with you. Thurston is a real talent in the making. His development was stunted a bit at the Folkes Academy, since the trainer was grooming another couple of prize fighters, however he's taken a chance and signed on with Honest Graham's Boxing Troupe....it looks to have really paid off"

The selection of a state of origin halfback can often be compared to a boxing prize fight.

When the Queensland State of Origin selectors chose these two players, the man on the street could easily have foreseen a possible Thurston/Prince combination in the halves. However, with the five-eighth position sealed by captain Darren Lockyer, only one position remains available for these two young halves on the rise.

So who is likely to be picked?

Queensland's chairman of selectors Des Morris says that in the next three weeks it all comes down to form. Recently Johnathan Thurston has been in hot form where as Scott Prince has gone from hot to cold. Prince and Thurston locked horns at Townsville back in Round 6 with Thurston getting the upper hand after North Queensland picked up a massive 44 – 20 win over the Wests Tigers.

Historically however, when it comes down to a choice between two players, Queensland selectors have been known to back the player with the track record; this would seem to indicate that Prince has his nose in front. Queensland selectors are known to reward the incumbent based on the reality that the Maroon's player pool is significantly smaller than that of New South Wales, and do not have the luxury of chopping and changing their line-up at will.

Regardless of whoever is chosen at halfback for May 25, it is arguable whether they can measure up to the legacy of Allan Langer. True, they are two quality players who can slot into the Queensland halfback role but to live up to the legacy is a big thing. Just as Brad Fittler's retirement has left big shoes to fill in for State Of Origin, Queensland is yet to uncover a player of the quality of Allan Langer.

It's really hard to narrow down who will take the number 7 jersey for State Of Origin, in the next three weeks although there are high expectations out of both players to perform.

State Of Origin is any rugby league player's dream or goal to achieve so to not perform up to that standard when you know that you are in the running for a spot is to throw the jersey back and say that you don't want it.

The next three weeks will be crucial in the fortunes of both Prince and Thurston. Prince's Tigers host the Dragons before taking on the high-flying Sea Eagles and the struggling Knights on the road, both of which represent danger games for Wests.

On the other hand, Thurston's Cowboys face an acid test of credibility when they take on the Roosters at home, the Eels down in Sydney and their archrivals Brisbane back at Dairy Farmers Stadium in Round 10.

The public can expect a tight and hard fought battle between two great halfbacks in the lead-up to May 25. The real pity is that in this contest of two prodigious talents, there can only be one winner.

nqboy

The Evolution of my Support (Part 2)

I’ve always been a proud Queenslander and I grew up in a great era for Queensland footy. Throughout the 80s, Queensland were blessed with a number of wonderful players, far better than we’d had for years. King Wally, Big Mal, Choppy Close, Gene Miles, Rowdy Shearer, Steve “Tractor” Walters, Alfie Langer, Trevor “The Axe” Gilmeister, Fatty Vautin, Bob Lindner, big Sam Backo and others too numerous to mention, supported by lesser names who grew 10 foot tall and bulletproof when they pulled on the Maroon jersey.

Having supported South Sydney through the 80s, the birth of the Brisbane Broncos in 1988 was like the changing of the guard. “It’s been great Souths, and you will always have a place in my heart, but I’m a Queenslander and I now have a Queensland team to support. Sorry.”

So it was that I jumped on board the Broncos bandwagon, with everybody else in Queensland. It wasn’t a hard gig, they started with a virtual Origin side and largely bought from the top shelf (Jackson, Shearer, Backo, Lazarus, Gilmeister).

I was, of course, on Brisbane’s side in most of the battles with the judiciary and the NSWRL (and later the ARL), but I prided myself on not being one-eyed. It always thought there was clear bias against Brisbane from the blokes who ran the League but Brisbane whinged for the sake of whinging plenty too.

After a few years, the Broncos grew cocky and arrogant, winning was too easy and the corporate side had overtaken the football side in my mind so I became a passive Brissie fan, still interested but not passionate. I enjoyed the premierships but it still lacked something for me.

It stayed like that until 1995. The introduction of the Cowboys, Crushers, Warriors and the Perth Reds (how great was that name?) breathed new life into my passion. A committed expansionist, I now had a rival for the arrogant Broncos, a team to strengthen NZ rugby league, a one team town from the golden west and most importantly (to me at least), footy mad North Queensland had a team. Born in Cairns, raised in Mount Isa – I was an NQ Boy. My home, such a golden nursery for so long (Boustead, Meninga, Miles, Dowling, Bella, Shearer, Backo, Sailor, Gavin Allen, Tallis etc, etc), now in the NRL.

I was still living in Brisbane and didn’t have PayTV or the internet so it was difficult to support them, but I had my passion back. Right from the start, we struggled against the tyranny of distance, being unable to attract top players. Super League split the club and the game but my support and belief in the Cowboys’ future never wavered. I had no merchandise, not even a jersey, but if you had asked me, you would have seen the passion in my eyes and heard it in my voice.

And so it went. Year after year we performed poorly and there seemed no light at the end of the tunnel. Poor administration, infighting, attendances and regional support falling. And yet I still believed. I knew we had the juniors; we just had to get the right men to guide them. Big names came and went, most over-priced, nearing the end of their careers or having burnt their bridges elsewhere. Some gave all they had, most weren’t worth the money.

Then, a few games into 2001, Graham Murray took over as coach. Unheralded Peter Parr came with him as football manager and Dennis Keefe later joined as CEO. Murray handpicked his inner circle – Billy Johnstone and assistant coach Neil Henry – and finally the club started moving forward. Recruitment improved and the club worked hard to re-establish faith with regional supporters and juniors

Throughout this time, I had moved to Cairns and was driving down to Townsville every couple of weeks to barrack from the hill. I bought the merchandise and prowled the forums, defending them against all comers. With success, crowd numbers gradually ceased their downward spiral and climbed slowly. People wanted so badly to believe.

Today, they sell out games and sponsorships. They’ve taken away my hill and I’m lucky to get a ticket. That’s okay. The Pride of the North is in good hands and the future is assured.

I’m one of the true believers, not one of the latter day bandwagon jumpers. I was there when they were friendless, and whenever they need me in the future, I’ll be there again.

750 words, including title.

Seano

Seano takes the ball and throws a cut-out pass to Rabbs!

I’ve often wondered what would be said behind closed doors after a series of poor performances. Even more so, what would the coaching staff say to a group of under-performing players after a series of disappointing losses?

Would there be formal correspondence between Coach and Players? Or simply an informal chat?

I decided to try my hand at a formal memo from South Sydney Head Coach Shaun McRae, and put down what I'd say to those overpaid bludgers:

Shaun McRae said:
Attention: South Sydney Rabbitohs First Grade Squad
Subject: Team and Training Information

Firstly I will start by saying that recent form displayed, culminating in last weeks performance against Manly, is not only unacceptable but an embarrassment to the great club we represent. Irrespective of how positive our training sessions continue to be, it is unacceptable for this positive attitude to disappear once we enter the field.

More specifically it is unacceptable for a first grade rugby league team to show a total lack of commitment in defence, disregard the set game plans, or lose composure and structure at the first sign of pressure.

As such, not only will changes be made team line-ups, but also modifications made to the leadership structures currently in place.

Take this as a last warning - Those players who continue to make mistakes, even after intensive coaching intervention, will be punished both financially and on the field.

Leadership

An announcement will be made to the press at 11:00am on Friday morning indicating that Bryan Fletcher will be stepping aside as captain of the first grade team effective immediately. Bryan has indicated to us that the will continue to be a leader within the team however the coaching staff believe that his game will flourish without the added responsibility that being the captain entails - much in the same manner as Steve Menzies did for Manly.

Bryan’s abdication paves the way for Ashley Harrison to assume the leadership role for the rest of the 2005 season while Shane Walker will move into the Vice-Captaincy position. Please note that all leadership positions will be re-evaluated during the 2005 off-season.

The coaching staff will rely on the example set by these players to guide the team throughout the game, and have absolute faith that the job will be successfully accomplished.

Team Changes

The coaching staff spent yesterday afternoon analysing the performances of several players over the last three games. The purpose of the session was to analyse the coaching directions that the players were given, and how these players have responded to the given directions on the field.

Unfortunately, some players have continued to display an inability to follow coaching instructions and as such, after much discussion the following players will not be considered for first grade until further notice:
  • Roy Bell
    Joe Williams
A number of other players who continue to make the same mistakes have been put on notice – lift your performance and your attitude or you will be not be considered for first grade as well.

Training

As a result of continued poor form, the coaching staff have decided that there will be extra training sessions until further notice. These sessions will focus on those areas that we have identified as our main weaknesses:
  • Domination of the ruck
    Marker defence
    Defensive patterns and decision making
These sessions will be focused and intense. The coaching staff will heavily censure those players who do not perform in these sessions and they will not be required for first grade duty.

Details in regards to the scheduling and duration of these sessions are yet to be finalised, but will be communicated to you all when the squad reconvenes after bye break.

Finally, all we ask is that as a first grade Rugby League player you put your finest foot forward whenever you don the Red and Green and walk onto the field.

Much is said about the great tradition and history of this club, however we must focus on the here and now. No longer will the South Sydney Rabbitohs accept less than 100% from its paid employees.

The coaching staff have identified the areas in which we have fallen down this season and we all will be working hard with you to remedy these problems. We have the utmost faith that if the attitude and commitment from the training paddock is carried out onto the field, then success will follow.

Shaun McRae
South Sydney Rabbitohs Head Coach

747 Words

rabs

rabs chips ahead for the bunnies

Mascot Games

We have no World Sevens or midweek knockout competition. To fill the void I present you with ‘Mascot Games’; where team mascots go head to head. To ensure an even 16 teams the Wests Tigers have been split into their merged clubs of Magpies and Tigers. Nonsense dictates here so anything can and will happen.

First Round

Bulldogs vs Rabbitohs
Unfortunate first round match-up for the bunnies as Bulldogs are well known for demolishing cute furry animals and this match was no different. Mercy rule invoked after all the rabbits were mauled. Bulldogs 78-0

Storm vs Eels
The Eels must have had a good chuckle on seeing the draw, the Storm rained down on them all day but the Eels revelled in the wet conditions and slipped through for try after try. Eels 48-0

Roosters vs Sea Eagles
Bird against bird, a real species of origin clash here. The Sea Eagles made the most of their ability to fly high and get over the top of the opposition. Later the Roosters coach was heard crying fowl. Sea Eagles 24-20

Broncos vs Panthers
Breathing a sigh of relief at avoiding the Cowboys in the draw the Broncos proved too big and strong for the speedy Panthers whose main asset was nullified by the manure droppings all over the field. Broncos 32-12

Warriors vs Raiders
The only all-human contest was a throwback to ancient history as both teams played it tough. The Raiders proved that a team of great clubmen will prevail every time. Raiders 22-6

Cowboys vs Dragons
The dry weather and unmown field was an accident just waiting to happen. At the coin toss the Dragons captain wished good luck to the opposition and an accidental spark from his mouth set the field ablaze and took the complete Cowboys team with it. Forfeit win to the Dragons.

Magpies vs Knights
The Magpies were ahead 30-0 through brilliant play when they got too confident and tried a special ‘single file manoeuvre’ that backfired when their whole backline ended up on the Knights front rowers jousting rod like a shish kabob. Against 6 men the Knights ran away to win 32-30

Sharks vs Tigers
On a stinking hot day the Sharks coach expected the Tigers to be drawn to the refreshingly cool moat they placed on their goal-line, where the teams two great whites waited patiently. The tactic failed as the Tigers crossed the stripe again and again with well-timed leaps. Tigers 42-0

Quarter-Finals

Bulldogs vs Tigers
These two fighting machines battled a war of attrition. With no member left fit to play from either team, best first round loser Roosters are reinstated.

Eels vs Knights
A mismatch. Not a single tackle was made and both teams went try for try with the Knights prevailing 48-32 due to them having feet to kick the goals.

Sea Eagles vs Dragons
The Dragons had little opposition here once the Sea Eagles winger spotted a mass of vermin vacating the area following the previous inferno set ironically by the Dragons. The ensuing feast proved to be a meal ticket for both teams! Dragons through to the semis.

Broncos vs Raiders
Against all predictions the Raiders kept their line intact by using the sun reflecting off their shields to spook the Broncos whenever they looked like scoring. Raiders 10-0

Semi-Finals

Roosters vs Knights
This battle of two proud fighting entities was decided the moment the Knights heard that the Roosters were to employ c0ck-fighting tactics. With that in mind the Knights ducked and weaved all game to keep their family jewels out of harms reach and won 20-10.

Dragons vs Raiders
Once again tragedy struck when the heavily bearded Raiders were set alight by a fire-breathing Dragon misdemeanour. The Raiders water-boy worked overtime but the distraction proved fatal. Dragons 44-0

Final

Knights vs Dragons
The dream match-up organisers had hoped for. In a bloody battle defence was dominant as these naturally opposed units displayed all their skills. The match looked headed for extra time when the Knights captain threw the pea-brained Dragons off guard by informing them that St. George was in fact the name of a brave Knight. While the Dragons argued amongst themselves the Knights fullback snuck through their front line and headed for the try-line. The Dragons lock fire-breathed in desperation but there would be no stopping the fullback, he was literally, and figuratively, on fire! Knights win 4-0.

Thank you to all the mascots for your participation.

word count 747

rabs

rabs chips ahead for the bunnies

Mascot Games

We have no World Sevens or midweek knockout competition. To fill the void I present you with ‘Mascot Games’; where team mascots go head to head. To ensure an even 16 teams the Wests Tigers have been split into their merged clubs of Magpies and Tigers. Nonsense dictates here so anything can and will happen.

First Round

Bulldogs vs Rabbitohs
Unfortunate first round match-up for the bunnies as Bulldogs are well known for demolishing cute furry animals and this match was no different. Mercy rule invoked after all the rabbits were mauled. Bulldogs 78-0

Storm vs Eels
The Eels must have had a good chuckle on seeing the draw, the Storm rained down on them all day but the Eels revelled in the wet conditions and slipped through for try after try. Eels 48-0

Roosters vs Sea Eagles
Bird against bird, a real species of origin clash here. The Sea Eagles made the most of their ability to fly high and get over the top of the opposition. Later the Roosters coach was heard crying fowl. Sea Eagles 24-20

Broncos vs Panthers
Breathing a sigh of relief at avoiding the Cowboys in the draw the Broncos proved too big and strong for the speedy Panthers whose main asset was nullified by the manure droppings all over the field. Broncos 32-12

Warriors vs Raiders
The only all-human contest was a throwback to ancient history as both teams played it tough. The Raiders proved that a team of great clubmen will prevail every time. Raiders 22-6

Cowboys vs Dragons
The dry weather and unmown field was an accident just waiting to happen. At the coin toss the Dragons captain wished good luck to the opposition and an accidental spark from his mouth set the field ablaze and took the complete Cowboys team with it. Forfeit win to the Dragons.

Magpies vs Knights
The Magpies were ahead 30-0 through brilliant play when they got too confident and tried a special ‘single file manoeuvre’ that backfired when their whole backline ended up on the Knights front rowers jousting rod like a shish kabob. Against 6 men the Knights ran away to win 32-30

Sharks vs Tigers
On a stinking hot day the Sharks coach expected the Tigers to be drawn to the refreshingly cool moat they placed on their goal-line, where the teams two great whites waited patiently. The tactic failed as the Tigers crossed the stripe again and again with well-timed leaps. Tigers 42-0

Quarter-Finals

Bulldogs vs Tigers
These two fighting machines battled a war of attrition. With no member left fit to play from either team, best first round loser Roosters are reinstated.

Eels vs Knights
A mismatch. Not a single tackle was made and both teams went try for try with the Knights prevailing 48-32 due to them having feet to kick the goals.

Sea Eagles vs Dragons
The Dragons had little opposition here once the Sea Eagles winger spotted a mass of vermin vacating the area following the previous inferno set ironically by the Dragons. The ensuing feast proved to be a meal ticket for both teams! Dragons through to the semis.

Broncos vs Raiders
Against all predictions the Raiders kept their line intact by using the sun reflecting off their shields to spook the Broncos whenever they looked like scoring. Raiders 10-0

Semi-Finals

Roosters vs Knights
This battle of two proud fighting entities was decided the moment the Knights heard that the Roosters were to employ c0ck-fighting tactics. With that in mind the Knights ducked and weaved all game to keep their family jewels out of harms reach and won 20-10.

Dragons vs Raiders
Once again tragedy struck when the heavily bearded Raiders were set alight by a fire-breathing Dragon misdemeanour. The Raiders water-boy worked overtime but the distraction proved fatal. Dragons 44-0

Final

Knights vs Dragons
The dream match-up organisers had hoped for. In a bloody battle defence was dominant as these naturally opposed units displayed all their skills. The match looked headed for extra time when the Knights captain threw the pea-brained Dragons off guard by informing them that St. George was in fact the name of a brave Knight. While the Dragons argued amongst themselves the Knights fullback snuck through their front line and headed for the try-line. The Dragons lock fire-breathed in desperation but there would be no stopping the fullback, he was literally, and figuratively, on fire! Knights win 4-0.

Thank you to all the mascots for your participation.

word count 747

Broncodroid

Canterbury Bulldogs: Write them off at your own peril, that's exactly what they want us to do!

I sat down to the morning paper reading the "experts" writing off the Canterbury Bulldogs for 2005, I shake my head casting my mind back to the 1995 season when the Doggies came from 6th position to win the premiership. How quickly some in the media forget. We are talking about a team that has 8 premierships to its name and 6 of those have come since 1980.

After 7 rounds of the competition, the "experts" do have a point when we compare where the Bulldogs were sitting this time last season in comparison to today.

2004 Table said:
1st – Canterbury: 6G – 5W – 1L – 1B - 158F – 121A – 10pts

2005 Table said:
12th – Canterbury: 6G – 2W – 4L – 1B - 152F – 216A – 6pts

The 2004 version of the Canterbury Bulldogs sat alone at the top of the NRL table after round 7 completed. Their only loss was to eventual Grand Finalists Sydney and the team from fullback to the bench was as good as any 17 man squad in recent times. The team that took to the field versus South Sydney in round 7 last season read:

Code:
1. L. Patten
2. H. El Masri
3. J. Lolesi
4. W. Tonga
5. M. Utai
6. B. Anasta
7. B. Sherwin
8. M. O'Meley
9. A. Perry
10. S. Price (c)
11. W. Mason
12. A. Ryan
13. T. Grimaldi

14. R. Maitua
15. R. Asotasi
16. S. Williams
17. J. Feeney

On Sunday, the Canterbury Bulldogs languishing outside the top 8 took on Newcastle who sat last on the NRL ladder minus Andrew Johns. The 17 man squad was shadow of its former self missing the likes of Price, O'Meley, Mason and Williams, all 4 test players and amongst the most damaging forwards in the game. The side in full read:

Code:
1. L. Patten
2. H. El Masri
3. J. Lolesi
4. W. Tonga
5. M. Utai
6. B. Anasta
7. B. Sherwin
8. N. Myles
9. C. Hughes
10. R. Asotasi
11. R. Maitua
12. A. Ryan
13. T. Grimaldi

14. C. Tonga
15. C. Armit
16. T. Cutler
17. B. Martin

Now we all know the story. Price left for New Zealand, Mason, Williams and O'Meley are out injured whilst the backline is intact; the go forward has been missing. Think about this, from the 4 guys mentioned, the Bulldogs are missing 568 meters per game going off their 2004 averages! That is half a kilometer every damn game, of course the Doggies are going to be struggling a little in comparison to 2004.

Don't be fooled, Steve Folkes and his Doggies are not gone just yet. No, they are not going to be the same team that averaged a league leading 31.11 points per game this season nor is their defense going to be as solid where they allowed only 20.21 points per game. What the Bulldogs will bring is more smash mouth Rugby League with the pride and passion that is has been the backbone of this proud family club.

Round 20 should see the return of O’Meley and Mason, Sonny-Bill is only weeks away in returning and whilst they will not replace Price, Asotasi is a more than capable replacement who is going from strength to strength in 2005.

Canterbury know they will need 24 competition points to make the top 8, this is the figure I and most believe will secure a birth come September in the NRL Finals. Once there, as we all know, anything can happen and with a team consisting of proven representative stars in the key positions, Canterbury are the team ALL teams will once again fear heading for the final game of the year…the 2005 Grand Final.

Word Count is 635

Broncodroid

Well done Souths, 5 articles in! That vs 3 from us..well technically 4 though well yeah, as you can see, one (mine) was rushed :roll:

Anyway...

Good luck, god speed to the referee!

Seano

Yeah well done to the Souths boys for all posting and bad luck Bronco for not getting em all in. Better luck next time

Bomber

Congratulations to Souths for some fine articles and a good contest.

Hard luck to our team but I'm sure we'll regroup - it all starts again next week

Well done Souths.

Bomber

MysteryGirl

Souths:
Terracsider - The Tri-Nations Massacre: 88
Well written, enjoyable piece with insightful observations.

Pistol - Out With The Old, In With The New: 91
The evolution of the game explained in a nicely researched article.

nqboy - The Evolution of my Support: 85
Following the writer through his own footy journey.

Seano - (no title): 87
A very unique approach and an enjoyable read of what could happen "behind the scenes"

Rabs - Mascot Games: 89
An original and humorous piece. I laughed right out loud. <fowl>

Souths: 440

Bulls:

Broncoman - The Raiders Aren't Going Anywhere: 85
Nice read about the potential hidden in the Raiders - a few grammatical errors played into the score.

Bomber - State of Hate: 90
Enjoyable colorful writing style. Ref's aren't always right.

Davestar - PRINCE VS THURSTON Battle for Queensland's Halfback: 88
Very nice intro to this piece. Who is the best halfback?

Broncodroid - Canterbury Bulldogs: Write them off at your own peril, that's exactly what they want us to do! :76
If only you had a bit longer, I have no doubt this would have been one of the top stories.

Bulls: 339

MOTM: Pistol

Well played by both sides.