Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rtr2011.

boo_boo

G'day all Bluebag supporters.
With the news that Souths will be playing Newtown at Redfern Oval in Febuary next year then i hope all Newtown supporters are going to attend the match to support their team.
I reckon it's a brilliant initiative by Souths to put on a match where we can renew our long standing rivalry with Newtown & give us supporters a chance to get back & see two foundation clubs do battle at Redfern Oval.
Although i buy a season ticket every year i hate ANZ Stadium & very rarely go to watch Souths play there (preferring to watch our games in a pub in either Redfern or Surry Hills) so this game has a special significance to me & i wouldn't miss it for anything.
Hope to see you all there in Febuary.

boo_boo

Exactly Greg.
This is what the game is all about.
Anything that supports the games true traditions will always get my support.
Cant wait for the game & to able to watch a game between the Bunnie's & the Bluebags once again.

bluebag43

I'm really looking forward to attending that game at Redfern. I will love seeing the colour of our jerseys up against each other once more!

boo_boo

I'm really looking forward to attending that game at Redfern. I will love seeing the colour of our jerseys up against each other once more!

Those two club jerseys remind me of why i love the game of Rugby League.
You cant beat tradition.

NZ Jet

Great stuff - woukld enjoy seeing it. I was in Sydney recently and went past Redfern oval in a cab - different world!

SF - JJ's probably not had sign/rego on completed by then and a bit bloody hot during the day in Feb. Hope the main game is twighlight as I didnt reaall seeing a lot of shade at the ground.

Go the blues.

Bluebag

Shade only in the stand and only 1 toilet so either hope they have a lot of portables or hold on

boo_boo

Well last year it was raining, the outer ground was a bog hole & whilst porta-loos were available you had to walk through slush & mud to get there & the other conveniences like the food caravans etc.
However nothing can take away from the atmosphere of returning to Redfern Oval especially to see the Bunnies & Bluebags go around against each other.
I cant wait for this game & all the memories it will bring back.

chelseabree

Souths had a promotion poster of the game and it had a picture from 1968 with a Newtown player leaping over Dennis Pittard

slammingsam

It was played at around 6 or 7 last here and was pissing down rain. The year before it was about 5pm and it was deadset 40 degrees. The hot weather made it a really nice day though. It wasnt unbearable. It is a good day out to hangout and watch footy etc.

jackb

Happy to buy you a beer after the game boo boo - provided the leagues club is open by then.

I hope that the organisers have some memorabilia on sale at the ground. Anything with red & green + newtown blue will be worth having.

boo_boo

Happy to buy you a beer after the game boo boo - provided the leagues club is open by then.

I hope that the organisers have some memorabilia on sale at the ground. Anything with red & green + newtown blue will be worth having.

No worries Jack & agreed with you on all accounts.
Can never get too much of Souths & Newtown.