Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Homo man69

The whole Parra junior argument is crap. We decided to just concentrate on our juniors in the 90s. That ended well. We probably produce one maybe two good solid first graders every 5 years. We produce one superstar every 10 years. Sure their are a lot of players who play grade from the Parra area but not very good players. That’s why it’s extremely important that we scout players from other areas and not just concentrate on the locals.

Obscene Assassin

Exactly...it hasn't. Are you even getting the gist of this conversation?

You said "this club has that many quality players in our catchment area". You're the one making the claim, now name them. What players have been in the local Parramatta districts that have not played first grade and should have?

Obscene Assassin

The whole Parra junior argument is crap. We decided to just concentrate on our juniors in the 90s. That ended well. We probably produce one maybe two good solid first graders every 5 years. We produce one superstar every 10 years. Sure their are a lot of players who play grade from the Parra area but not very good players. That’s why it’s extremely important that we scout players from other areas and not just concentrate on the locals.

The people that ran the elite junior program in the 90's aren't in charge now. Have a look at our players under the age of 20, a number of them come fromt external districts.

emjaycee

The people that ran the elite junior program in the 90's aren't in charge now. Have a look at our players under the age of 20, a number of them come fromt external districts.
Mate, you are arguing with people who don't or won't necessarily understand the complexities of bringing Juniors through a 'system' and into FG.
What they are apparently failing to grasp is the lead-time required from identification of a 'talented' junior through to grade. I am by no means an expert, however I recognise that the first "pool" of talent is identified in or around the 13-14 year age group, and sometimes earlier.

I reckon the process is then that these players are watched for a couple of years and a bunch of them selected for Matt's trials and potentially Matt's final squad. A lesser number of these will make Flegg and if there are identified positional weaknesses at this level, the club will look to bring in players they have scouted from outside the area. Same goes for Under 20's. Of the Under 20's squad about half could be expected to make ISP and from there, only half again might eventually make First Grade.

By the numbers I reckon this would be something like:
Harold Matts (40 players) Local Juniors = 100%
Flegg Squad (30 players) Local Juniors = 80% or 24 players. Imports = 20% or 6 players
Under 20's (30 players) Local Juniors = 70% or say 20-22 players. Imports 8-10 players
ISP Squad (30 players) NRL Contracted = 5 players, Ex-U20's = 10 players, Imports = 5 players, Never Rep'd = 10 players
NRL Squad = 4-5 debutants from the "system" via ISP.

For a "Local Junior" to have debuted in 2014, 15, 16, 17 at say 21 years of age they would have had to have been identified as a talent in 2007, 08, 09, or 10 as a 14 year old or have been imported sometime later into Flegg, U20's or ISP.

Who did we have doing the scouting of our juniors in the late 'norties'?

Chipmunk

Mate, you are arguing with people who don't or won't necessarily understand the complexities of bringing Juniors through a 'system' and into FG.
What they are apparently failing to grasp is the lead-time required from identification of a 'talented' junior through to grade. I am by no means an expert, however I recognise that the first "pool" of talent is identified in or around the 13-14 year age group, and sometimes earlier.

I reckon the process is then that these players are watched for a couple of years and a bunch of them selected for Matt's trials and potentially Matt's final squad. A lesser number of these will make Flegg and if there are identified positional weaknesses at this level, the club will look to bring in players they have scouted from outside the area. Same goes for Under 20's. Of the Under 20's squad about half could be expected to make ISP and from there, only half again might eventually make First Grade.

By the numbers I reckon this would be something like:
Harold Matts (40 players) Local Juniors = 100%
Flegg Squad (30 players) Local Juniors = 80% or 24 players. Imports = 20% or 6 players
Under 20's (30 players) Local Juniors = 70% or say 20-22 players. Imports 8-10 players
ISP Squad (30 players) NRL Contracted = 5 players, Ex-U20's = 10 players, Imports = 5 players, Never Rep'd = 10 players
NRL Squad = 4-5 debutants from the "system" via ISP.

For a "Local Junior" to have debuted in 2014, 15, 16, 17 at say 21 years of age they would have had to have been identified as a talent in 2007, 08, 09, or 10 as a 14 year old or have been imported sometime later into Flegg, U20's or ISP.

Who did we have doing the scouting of our juniors in the late 'norties'?

How does this compare to the Storm and the Roosters?

Homo man69

How does this compare to the Storm and the Roosters?
The storm are the new broncos. They basically pick n choose players from Queensland. Why do you think the broncos have been on a slow decline whilst the storm ascend. The roosters basically have no juniors and in a way that’s a positive. Because every player is scouted. So they just pick em off whilst the larger juniors do all the work. Where larger catchment teams are more inclined to give alright players a go. Where the roosters just sit back and watch then grab them once they are solid first graders.

Chipmunk

The storm are the new broncos. They basically pick n choose players from Queensland. Why do you think the broncos have been on a slow decline whilst the storm ascend. The roosters basically have no juniors and in a way that’s a positive. Because every player is scouted. So they just pick em off whilst the larger juniors do all the work. Where larger catchment teams are more inclined to give alright players a go. Where the roosters just sit back and watch then grab them once they are solid first graders.

In fairness to the Roosters, they don't really purchase that many first graders.

Only Keary, Cronk, Tedesco and Ferguson were established NRL players from their GF side this year. That's 4 players in 3 seasons. We've purchased 3 or 4 alone for next year.

Delboy

In fairness to the Roosters, they don't really purchase that many first graders.

Only Keary, Cronk, Tedesco and Ferguson were established NRL players from their GF side this year. That's 4 players in 3 seasons. We've purchased 3 or 4 alone for next year.
The Rorters outbid by a long way the base club for Cordner, JWH,Pearce and Manu was flown over from Auckland for SGBall each week, Fergo workd in very well paid development role while serving suspension, then they paid up for Tedesco, Cronk, Keary and others.

Playing golf Is a good way to improve your footy income too.

Chipmunk

The Rorters outbid by a long way the base club for Cordner, JWH,Pearce and Manu was flown over from Auckland for SGBall each week, Fergo workd in very well paid development role while serving suspension, then they paid up for Tedesco, Cronk, Keary and others.

My point is, why don't we just spend all out money on juniors the way the Roosters do?

It's obvious the current system doesn't work for us.

IFR33K

Well said mate. I don’t think uncle nick minds losing golf games to his star players.

TheRam

That's because we have been relying on shit juniors.