Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Djay

One of them was apparently massive, great team next year we were going to have............
Story of Parramatta's entire existence, plenty of "if's" and "but's" and "maybe" and "potentially's".

Tide may turn some day......

IFR33K

Story of Parramatta's entire existence, plenty of "if's" and "but's" and "maybe" and "potentially's".

Tide may turn some day......

I'm adamant we are cursed and will never win the premiership. We just seem to get too much bad luck for it to be a coincidence.

You blokes obviously missed 1981-1986. It was fun. Even as a kid. It will happen again, but there are 16 teams, at least one of which presently has a huge advantage in the form of a monopoly in a large league city, so it isn't / ain't / aren't (depending on your grammar standards) surprising that we may not win so often. It could even happen before 2050.

It's true. In the past 16 years, all but four of the current NRL teams have won a premiership. Next year the Knights will be added to that list and maybe one of the four will fall off it.

We have made two grand finals in that time and finished top four thrice, including two minor premierships.

Djay

I am with ya, I honestly reckon last year we would have gone a long way but look how that ended, prime example.

Just one is all I ask for, so much happens so often and repeat mistakes it is no coincidence.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...n/news-story/008f059ee1d4c32720b6a06df05b1d75

Semi Radradra to test life in French rugby before considering an NRL return
Michael Carayannis and Christian Nicolussi, The Daily Telegraph
May 25, 2017 8:00pm

SEMI Radradra is in no rush to recommit to the Eels, and plans to see how he settles into French rugby life before entertaining a return to the blue and gold next season.

Parramatta coach Brad Arthur confirmed the club had been in talks with Radradra’s management about the winger returning next May when his season with Toulon finishes.

“If Semi wants to come back, he’s not the sort of player that you’re going to turn away,’’ Arthur said.

“We’re hoping that when he goes overseas and he enjoys his footy there, but at some stage we want to see him back in the blue and gold.’’

Radradra stands to earn $900,000 AFTER tax with Toulon, which is way more than most playmakers let alone wingers in rugby league can expect to pocket.

The Fijian proved a handful for Canberra last weekend, and is sure to terrorise South Sydney’s Aaron Gray on his left wing at ANZ Stadium on Friday night.

KANE ADDS HEIGHT TO EELS

PARRAMATTA coach Brad Arthur made it clear to new recruit Kane Evans he needed a ‘’tall, rangy prop’’ because his current batch of front-rowers were ‘’nuggets’’.

Evans is nearly two metres tall and will tower over his new Eels teammates next year, including stocky props Tim Mannah, Nathan Brown and Suaia Matagi.

“I met BA a few times, he seems a really good bloke, and from what I heard from their players, he reckons he can get the best out of them,’’ Evans said.

“He told me they were looking for a tall rangy prop, and they had a lot of short ‘nuggets’ who were powerful.

“Nathan Brown, he’s a weapon. There are a lot of short, stocky props, and he wanted a tall dynamic prop, and saw me fitting in their well. I was grateful for the opportunity.’’

Evans labelled his own form for the Chooks ‘’pretty average for me’’, and wanted to make sure he aimed up the second half of the year and farewell Bondi with a bang.

He will need fire against Canberra on Sunday with fellow giant Dylan Napa in Queensland Origin camp.

“I’ve been getting good speed on to the ball in attack, but I’ve just got to not throw that pass when it’s not on,’’ Evans said.

Brown is listed as 185cm in the NRL media guide, and if that’s the case, we’re both 200cm.

TEPAI’S PRIDE AND JOY

TEPAI Moeroa and his partner welcomed their first bub into the world last week, a son, Keanu.

Weighing a healthy 3kg, Keanu is light by the Moeroa family’s standards.

“I think he’s the smallest boy when it comes to my family. I was 10 pounds, and they actually said I was obese before I turned one,’’ the Eels backrower told us.