Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

lingard

Ok, maybe a better term can be used but still it's dumb to say "if we lost these games that we won we would have finished lower" that's a given but the fact is we won those games.

Not completing sets, lack of direct play from the halves, not fighting to get up when we're tackled which leads to slow play the balls and not allowing the backs enough space, lack of confidence. Plenty of reasons why we're not winning, don't think it has anything to do with the BMI of our forwards or that we're just shit.

Fair enough. That's not my take on it, though.

84 Baby

Not with the players I have mentioned. And in reference to your statement, there in lies a big part of our problem.
Well have a look around the country. Barring bush league (and even that isn’t immune) then you’re white supremist desires are pushing shit uphill. And the hill is only getting steeper

You're right. There is no absolute proof either way. There's no proof that BA has tried to do anything other than what he's actually done. But, you know, this is Brad Arthur's first stint as a first grade coach. He's got exactly four and one third seasons' experience in the role. To expect that he would be perfect and not have made at least some f*ck ups, is ludicrous.

Absolutely, mate.

I think hes doing a good job, but he needs to tweak a few things.

So we can't say anything? Okay.

That's not what I said, and I know you're better than that.

Several people seem to be taking a view that Arthur is no good, because he didn't address our deficiencies.

I'm saying that we don't know, one way or the other, what he did or did not try to do, so why paint the bloke as clueless, or as having no idea?

If several armchair experts can see we have issues, then I'm positive our qualified (and far more experienced) coach can, too - but only he knows what went down behind closed doors.

Latest one doing the rounds on FB is the Chooks are set to sign Mansour and we are going to sign Ferguson for next year.

giphy.gif

Joshuatheeel

Absolutely, mate.

I think hes doing a good job, but he needs to tweak a few things.

Yes, definitely we need a few changes but not a huge amount of change is required.

Fair enough if we are flogged each week, there is massive issues, but we have lost 4 time this year where we have scored the same tries as the opposition. So we are close just not close enough.

Yes, definitely we need a few changes but not a huge amount of change is required.

Fair enough if we are flogged each week, there is massive issues, but we have lost 4 time this year where we have scored the same tries as the opposition. So we are close just not close enough.
That lends weight to the argument that we were not as good last year as the number of wins suggested. The same goes for this year, as in we're not as bad as the number of losses suggest. In our games last year decided by ten points or less we were 8-1. This year it's 1-5.

lingard

T
That's not what I said, and I know you're better than that.

Several people seem to be taking a view that Arthur is no good, because he didn't address our deficiencies.

I'm saying that we don't know, one way or the other, what he did or did not try to do, so why paint the bloke as clueless, or as having no idea?

If several armchair experts can see we have issues, then I'm positive our qualified (and far more experienced) coach can, too - but only he knows what went down behind closed doors.

That's all well and good. But, you know, this is a forum for footy fans. We can't all just say, "Oh well, I'm sure the coach knows what he's doing." We have opinions. And, contrary, to popular belief, coaches are human and actually sometimes do make mistakes. Especially inexperienced ones.
And I agree that it is ludicrous to say that BA is a 'shit coach' full stop. He is very good in many respects, but has his faults. For example, I don't think he's great tactically. I don't think he's too good at balancing a side and I'm starting to think he's not so good at handling the interchange. But he's a great man manager, an inspirational leader and seems to know how to get the best out of his players individually. But you and others have to understand that when fans call him a 'shit coach', it's just a sweeping statement; a generalisation; an expression of frustration; a venting of emotion; all that sort of stuff. It's not meant as a literal statement. It doesn't make them whingers. It doesn't make them deathriders. Fans are allowed to second-guess the coach. It's part of what fans do.
And (last thing) I always find it amusing that it's not proper to criticise the coach in any way, but we can have open slather when it comes to criticising players' attitudes (as if we can judge the attitude of someone we've never even met).
End of rant

Hahaha ... you've changed your initial list from ...

Of course watmough and evans wouldnt have been cheaper - 1 yr of frank might not have been but tbh we have no idea if he was cheap and he was only 1yr while all those others were multi year deals - so yes, cheaper ..... way to backtrack and be a dirty rotten liar ..... mr 0%

But the guys we let go are all on 500k... Go root a boot. Hasson and co wpuld of been on 100k and the guys that left perhaps an extr 30-50k.
We let them walk for that. Ok fair enough.

We then blasted 700k on watmough and got f**king lucky with insurance. merkin of a buy. Along with Beau one good year, one average one superanutaion year. Guys not better then one of those 130k juniors.

Yes BA is a genius, pur signing are grest, pull my dick,
Hahaha ... you've changed your initial list from ...

Of course watmough and evans wouldnt have been cheaper - 1 yr of frank might not have been but tbh we have no idea if he was cheap and he was only 1yr while all those others were multi year deals - so yes, cheaper ..... way to backtrack and be a dirty rotten liar ..... mr 0%

Im sure the guys we let go got offered no more then 150k.
Guys like hasson or Rory would of been close to the 100k mark.
We dodged a massive bullet with Watmough.
Pull your dick 100 x and same result. Beau Scottts had 1 solid year, one average and this year so far garbage. But only 400k. Put that with Evans and its only 800k. Church change realy. And Beau is far better then Gower. Or is he?

f**king morons

Matterson was a 5/8 when he left the club.
Jnr was released for personal reasons and cap!
Kelepi I have rated since watching him in the jnrs and the player for mine that shouldn’t have been let go

So the Roosters where smart enough to move him to the backrow. Im glad they signed him. We chucked him in f**king Ron Massey cup.

Twal-Bench player who is identical to Alvaro in style. I rate him, but he's not what we're missing
Fuimaono-Fringe first grader, abysmal defender.
Ailoai-Left because his manager was Will Hopoate's manager and wanted his clients out of Parra, it was well spoken about at the time. Fringe first grader.
Matterson-Still can't work out whether he's a forward or not. Fringe first grader
Paulo-Quality player, left for massive overs at the time though.
Keppie-Young player offered a top 30 spot at Manly, hasn't even played NSW Cup yet.

It's hardly a list to get worked up over, to be fair....

Of course not.But all capable of 35mins off the bench like Beau Scott or Matagi.