Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

T

That's all well and good. But, you know, this is a forum for footy fans. We can't all just say, "Oh well, I'm sure the coach knows what he's doing." We have opinions. And, contrary, to popular belief, coaches are human and actually sometimes do make mistakes. Especially inexperienced ones.
And I agree that it is ludicrous to say that BA is a 'shit coach' full stop. He is very good in many respects, but has his faults. For example, I don't think he's great tactically. I don't think he's too good at balancing a side and I'm starting to think he's not so good at handling the interchange. But he's a great man manager, an inspirational leader and seems to know how to get the best out of his players individually. But you and others have to understand that when fans call him a 'shit coach', it's just a sweeping statement; a generalisation; an expression of frustration; a venting of emotion; all that sort of stuff. It's not meant as a literal statement. It doesn't make them whingers. It doesn't make them deathriders. Fans are allowed to second-guess the coach. It's part of what fans do.
And (last thing) I always find it amusing that it's not proper to criticise the coach in any way, but we can have open slather when it comes to criticising players' attitudes (as if we can judge the attitude of someone we've never even met).
End of rant

Criticise Arthur all you like - all I'm saying is it's ludicrous to judge him on his recruitment, when we know three-fifths of f**k-all what happened.

He's plenty of flaws, and fans can criticise him all they want.

But in the interest of a balanced view, I'm pointing out that we've no idea what really happened to our recruitment, thus to make authoritative comments on the subject is silly.

Criticise Arthur all you like - all I'm saying is it's ludicrous to judge him on his recruitment, when we know three-fifths of f**k-all what happened.

But in the interest of a balanced view, I'm pointing out that we've no idea what really happened to our recruitment, thus to make authoritative comments on the subject is silly.

Stop being a nice guy. Yes we know 15 other coaches are fighting for the same prixe

lingard

Yes, definitely we need a few changes but not a huge amount of change is required.

Fair enough if we are flogged each week, there is massive issues, but we have lost 4 time this year where we have scored the same tries as the opposition. So we are close just not close enough.

What few changes do you think we might need?

lingard

What the hell? Did you even read my post?

That's only because you don't know what a death-rider is. A death-rider is actually someone who has a vested interest in seeing the team do badly. That's not me, mate. Out of curiosity, what's your take on why we're going so poorly this year? Just bad luck?
It might not be you but there are plenty of others that would be lost if they didn’t have anything to complain about.

It’s like a weird, perverted sport, sport.

T

That's all well and good. But, you know, this is a forum for footy fans. We can't all just say, "Oh well, I'm sure the coach knows what he's doing." We have opinions. And, contrary, to popular belief, coaches are human and actually sometimes do make mistakes. Especially inexperienced ones.
And I agree that it is ludicrous to say that BA is a 'shit coach' full stop. He is very good in many respects, but has his faults. For example, I don't think he's great tactically. I don't think he's too good at balancing a side and I'm starting to think he's not so good at handling the interchange. But he's a great man manager, an inspirational leader and seems to know how to get the best out of his players individually. But you and others have to understand that when fans call him a 'shit coach', it's just a sweeping statement; a generalisation; an expression of frustration; a venting of emotion; all that sort of stuff. It's not meant as a literal statement. It doesn't make them whingers. It doesn't make them deathriders. Fans are allowed to second-guess the coach. It's part of what fans do.
And (last thing) I always find it amusing that it's not proper to criticise the coach in any way, but we can have open slather when it comes to criticising players' attitudes (as if we can judge the attitude of someone we've never even met).
End of rant
You need to stop with whatever sick campaign you are on as you are rapidly losing credibility.

So, if someone says “shit coach” it is actually an informed opinion masquerading as a dumb statement?

That’s not particularly believable, I’m afraid...

Joshuatheeel

What few changes do you think we might need?

Based on our cap and who we have under contract for next year I would:

First I would offer T-Rex a contract if he looks like overcoming his knee injury (decent big forwards aren’t easy to find) and Hayne a contract if he shows decent form on the wing.

Also I think Evan will come good (hopefully) and add something to our top 17.

Obviously we need a decent attacking prop, which looks like we have done with Paulo.

I also think we need another forward, but I would be looking at another big body on the edge.

I would move Manu to the middle, he basically just runs hard with good speed, but don’t think he is suitable for the edge much longer.

So what options are available on the edge? Papalii may be an option, while NS would be great - both of these players can also play in the middle. Also I am sure there are other options available that are under contract.

Not sure Taka is good enough option defensively moving forward for centre. I reckon it would be good to bring some youth into the side, maybe centre is a spot where we could do that. Is DA/Salmon an option there?

French doesn’t offer enough with rucking it out, we could buy a winger but reckon Hayne is a good option there.

I would keep Pritchard but look for a better option. Not a lot available really but, we may just have to do make to with what we have.

I wouldn’t re sign Vave / Matagi / Scott / king while Gower could be an option for another year as a back up on a small contract.

1. Gutherson
2. Jennings
3. Jennings
4. Maybe DA/Salmon
5. Hayne
6. Norman
7. Moses
8. Paulo ??
9. TBC
10. Alvaro
11. TBC
12. Moeroa
13. Brown

14. Manu (moves to the middle )
15. T. rex
16. Evans
17. Mannah

Rough look at possible options for filling out the squad:

18. Peni
19. MK
20. Stone
21. Maloney
22. Taka
23. Smith
24. Pritchard
25. Salmon / DA
26. KA
27. French
28. Edwards
29. Forward
30. Forward

Obviously it’s like a puzzle putting a squad together and you can’t always get the best option you want for a number of reasons.

emjaycee

Based on our cap and who we have under contract for next year I would:

First I would offer T-Rex a contract if he looks like overcoming his knee injury (decent big forwards aren’t easy to find) and Hayne a contract if he shows decent form on the wing.

Also I think Evan will come good (hopefully) and add something to our top 17.

Obviously we need a decent attacking prop, which looks like we have done with Paulo.

I also think we need another forward, but I would be looking at another big body on the edge.

I would move Manu to the middle, he basically just runs hard with good speed, but don’t think he is suitable for the edge much longer.

So what options are available on the edge? Papalii may be an option, while NS would be great - both of these players can also play in the middle. Also I am sure there are other options available that are under contract.

Not sure Taka is good enough option defensively moving forward for centre. I reckon it would be good to bring some youth into the side, maybe centre is a spot where we could do that. Is DA/Salmon an option there?

French doesn’t offer enough with rucking it out, we could buy a winger but reckon Hayne is a good option there.

I would keep Pritchard but look for a better option. Not a lot available really but, we may just have to do make to with what we have.

I wouldn’t re sign Vave / Matagi / Scott / king while Gower could be an option for another year as a back up on a small contract.

1. Gutherson
2. Jennings
3. Jennings
4. Maybe DA/Salmon
5. Hayne
6. Norman
7. Moses
8. Paulo ??
9. TBC
10. Alvaro
11. TBC
12. Moeroa
13. Brown

14. Manu (moves to the middle )
15. T. rex
16. Evans
17. Mannah

Rough look at possible options for filling out the squad:

18. Peni
19. MK
20. Stone
21. Maloney
22. Taka
23. Smith
24. Pritchard
25. Salmon / DA
26. KA
27. French
28. Edwards
29. Forward
30. Forward

Obviously it’s like a puzzle putting a squad together and you can’t always get the best option you want for a number of reasons.

Playing devils advovate here but if Auva'a is fit would you see him as the other centre with Jennings?