Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

You are confusing worth with his actual pay. Do you believe he got over a million dollars in 2018 with us? Because that is what he was getting at the titans. He most certainly was getting less with us hence he took a pay cut.
How much did the titans pay him in 2017/2018? ... he was still with them about 2 months ... and i would imagine they probably paid a bit more just to get most of his salary off their books ... i reckon they prob paid him 300k+

He was also reported to be on 1m for 2018 at titans cos that 600k marquee deal from the year prior wasnt for 2018 ... so i reckon his pay cut was between 100 and 200k

Noise

How much did the titans pay him in 2017/2018? ... he was still with them about 2 months ... and i would imagine they probably paid a bit more just to get most of his salary off their books ... i reckon they prob paid him 300k+

He was also reported to be on 1m for 2018 at titans cos that 600k marquee deal from the year prior wasnt for 2018 ... so i reckon his pay cut was between 100 and 200k

Yea I reckon about 200k pay cut all up.

IFR33K

At the end of the day , this inalbility to control the salarycap and possibly not have enough to to sign JH could well be the final nail for a lot of supporters.
I am in Hawaii and have had texts from family and from a long term fans saying that if they allow JH leave they have had enough of following such a poorly run team, it's so disappointing that they will switch off.
While there will be the usual people who say that their attitude is not good enough, we should have a real good look at the the current CEO. To say he has been anything but a big disappointment is an understatement. Don't like to suggest it , but BA was apparently involved in cap,management , what a f**k up when they stuffed it so bad that they can't manage it so a player that actually wants to play for the club ,and despite some failing is loved by the majority, is forced to possibly move elsewhere.
It's a really bad look for the club and they will lose a major part of the trust and unwavering support that they had.
There's a lot of truth here that we tend to ignore as rusted on fans, the CEO needs to come out and provide an explanation no matter how unpalatable, these are dark times despite the new stadium and signings.

Hope you’re enjoying your holidays mate!

TBH, Hayne has no one to blame but himself. Why did he want to wait till the offseason for contracts talks? His future could of been settled months ago.

At the end of the day , this inalbility to control the salarycap and possibly not have enough to to sign JH could well be the final nail for a lot of supporters.
I am in Hawaii and have had texts from family and from a long term fans saying that if they allow JH leave they have had enough of following such a poorly run team, it's so disappointing that they will switch off.
While there will be the usual people who say that their attitude is not good enough, we should have a real good look at the the current CEO. To say he has been anything but a big disappointment is an understatement. Don't like to suggest it , but BA was apparently involved in cap,management , what a f**k up when they stuffed it so bad that they can't manage it so a player that actually wants to play for the club ,and despite some failing is loved by the majority, is forced to possibly move elsewhere.
It's a really bad look for the club and they will lose a major part of the trust and unwavering support that they had.
There's a lot of truth here that we tend to ignore as rusted on fans, the CEO needs to come out and provide an explanation no matter how unpalatable, these are dark times despite the new stadium and signings.

Back up a little....

Are you certain the club did not offer him a contract mid season or by rnd 20? BA had stated that Hayne wanted to make mind up end of season what he wanted to do.
How about we did not sign Ferguson just incase Hayne wanted to stay but he decides not too. He has burnt the club before. So we miss out on a top 5 winger in comp.
Every eels fan I know want Hayne to sail into the sunset. Sick of hearing the drama he brings. Id rather put my energy cheering for Gutherson or Tepai then Jarryd f**king Hayne. So majority of fans? Id say under 30%

Hope you’re enjoying your holidays mate!

TBH, Hayne has no one to blame but himself. Why did he want to wait till the offseason for contracts talks? His future could of been settled months ago.

Why did he wait until October in 2014 to decide to go nfl leaving eels with no time to prepare his spot for 2015?
Speaks volumes.

Delboy

Just to put it more plainly, the majority of fans are not as rusted on as we are, they see JH as a symbol of the club and he came back and they want him to remain. If you believe we have offered a deal and he refused, let our CEO tell us.
Bernie is suave and is a decent operator, but he doesn't understand that this is footy district, not a club propped up by Uncle Nick and his mates. How poor has the projection of the club been, it's been bad news after bad news. Ignored by people like us on fan sites, but hurting the supporters who have a less rabid interest.
I will still be there, but this has been handled so badly it's not funny, it just seems Bernie is part of the problem on the footy side, perhaps good at the big picture stuff.

Don't underestimate the reaction of the so called causal fans .

Best post in a long time. :thumbsup:

Enjoy Hawaii. :island:

Back up a little....

Are you certain the club did not offer him a contract mid season or by rnd 20? BA had stated that Hayne wanted to make mind up end of season what he wanted to do.
How about we did not sign Ferguson just incase Hayne wanted to stay but he decides not too. He has burnt the club before. So we miss out on a top 5 winger in comp.
Every eels fan I know want Hayne to sail into the sunset. Sick of hearing the drama he brings. Id rather put my energy cheering for Gutherson or Tepai then Jarryd f**king Hayne. So majority of fans? Id say under 30%

Agreed.

Hayne is the most talented footballer I've ever seen - I am sick of his shit, and I'd love for him to go away.

Just to put it more plainly, the majority of fans are not as rusted on as we are, they see JH as a symbol of the club and he came back and they want him to remain. If you believe we have offered a deal and he refused, let our CEO tell us.
Bernie is suave and is a decent operator, but he doesn't understand that this is footy district, not a club propped up by Uncle Nick and his mates. How poor has the projection of the club been, it's been bad news after bad news. Ignored by people like us on fan sites, but hurting the supporters who have a less rabid interest.
I will still be there, but this has been handled so badly it's not funny, it just seems Bernie is part of the problem on the footy side, perhaps good at the big picture stuff.

Don't underestimate the reaction of the so called causal fans .
And another. You are on a roll my friend. To have players like Taka and Jennings here before Hayne and not strategically try and move them on 6 months ago was negligent to the extreme.

Edit. Wrong time frame and Stevie knows grammar better than I.

And another. You are on a roll my friend. To have players like Taka and Jennings here before Hayne and not strategically try and move them on 12 months ago is negligent to the extreme.

12mths ago Hayne was not even signed to the eels . What your suggesting is we moved on 2 guys who had excellent 2017s. With the intuition that both would be DOWN on form, Hayne would quit the Titans and sign for the eels AND then when he FELT like making a decision once the 2018 season was complete we had money spare for him just incase.......

f**k THAT

12mths ago Hayne was not even signed to the eels . What your suggesting is we moved on 2 guys who had excellent 2017s. With the intuition that both would be DOWN on form, Hayne would quit the Titans and sign for the eels AND then when he FELT like making a decision once the 2018 season was complete we had money spare for him just incase.......

f**k THAT
Sorry, make that 6 months ago.

Delboy

Dont enjoy posting negative stuff, so have been far less active recently. BA is a great guy, who held the club together that probably no one else could have done and he believes in the Eels and loves the place.

Loyalty has been a problem, in that there has been far too much loyalty shown to players near the end of their careers, and that has hurt us. JH is not what he once was, but the last 7 games of the year showed that he was more than useful . How on earth this roster chews up the cap needs some explaining.

We get so little information from Bernie that who knows what's true, our media dept is on the verge of invisible compared to other clubs, no wonder we expect the worst. Bernie doesn't need to spill everything, but as CEO there should be an understanding that he needs to,provide possibly the biggest fan base in NSW with confident explanation of issues. He does not.

Sorry, make that 6 months ago.

I agree on MJ. Taka however represents great utility value. He can cover halves,centre and edge forward. My guess he is not on a huge contract.
Taka was inspiring in 2017.

Keep in mind though Hayne never wanted more then a 12mth contract and from what I gather wanted to make his mind up in 2019 at the end of this season. Sounds like he was not prepared to commit.Thats when the club moved for Fergo.

On MJ theres a chance he will return to decent form. He wont be worth his 700 or 800k. He maybe worth perhaps 500 odd if gets form. At present other clubs prob wont offer more then 350k. Can we sign another centre better then MJ for that? Maybe or maybe not. It just wouldnt be worth the hassle considering his contract expires.
Lets hope he gets into form again. I think he will being a contract year. At 31 he still can land another few years somewhere.

Dont enjoy posting negative stuff, so have been far less active recently. BA is a great guy, who held the club together that probably no one else could have done and he believes in the Eels and loves the place.

Loyalty has been a problem, in that there has been far too much loyalty shown to players near the end of their careers, and that has hurt us. JH is not what he once was, but the last 7 games of the year showed that he was more than useful . How on earth this roster chews up the cap needs some explaining.

We get so little information from Bernie that who knows what's true, our media dept is on the verge of invisible compared to other clubs, no wonder we expect the worst. Bernie doesn't need to spill everything, but as CEO there should be an understanding that he needs to,provide possibly the biggest fan base in NSW with confident explanation of issues. He does not.

I think the same looking at the Tigers squad and Dogs.....

Taka is one of the worst defensive players in the comp, and is always good for a Brain fart or two.

He wouldn’t make any other top 17 in the NRL.

84 Baby

Why is Jarryd suddenly the bastion of truth? Is there not a benefit for him to spin his story in the media? Similar to Bernie with the stadium.

Plus why crucify BA for cap management despite the club having already admitted through the review and hiring of O'Neill that it shouldn't have been BA's job anyway. Pre that it clearly wasn't solely his realm given other people (Seward, Sharp, etc) have been found guilty of essentially gross cap mismanagement.
Crucify him for game tactics/overall squad selection but how do you blame a bloke for not doing a job that isn't his

You guys remember when I suggested we throw everything at Ponga about 2 years ago and offer French to other clubs? Sometimes you need to make such calls.

84 Baby

Taka is one of the worst defensive players in the comp, and is always good for a Brain fart or two.

He wouldn’t make any other top 17 in the NRL.
I liken him to French. If the team overall is going good then they're great to have in team because they can generate points, but if the opposition just applies a little bit of pressure yeah #VAVEFFS