Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Happy MEel

So why is IDG still playing the majority of the mins at dummy half and when Kaysa does get on it's more a middle forward anymore???

Not having a go just wondering out loud really, these Krakens are going down a treat.
I don't think Kaysa has come along quite as the coaching staff had hoped. He's a tough merkin but a quality 50-80 minute hooker he is not.

Never rated him, but in his defence has he ever really had a chance to show he can cut it??? And really it's not like IDG is setting the world on fire. Especially in the back end of games when his service turns to poo.

Is he a tough merkin? He's missed more games than he's played and been injured every season....

Happy MEel

Never rated him, but in his defence has he ever really had a chance to show he can cut it??? And really it's not like IDG is setting the world on fire. Especially in the back end of games when his service turns to poo.
Kaysa' service in his limited opportunities is just as bad. He can't pass left to right. The only thing going for him is his speed and intensity around the ruck. Something that's more useful off the bench to add spark against tired forwards.

I agree with all that, i have no idea why he was signed let alone IDG.

If they are dummy half options next year we are kidding ourselves, most clubs have one better dummy half, some even have two.

Roberts is awful. I hope the suggestion of signing him is just a rumour and nothing comes of it.

Has more try assists this year than Williams, Robson and Marshall combined....given we're apparently enquiring about two of those (and maybe re-signing one), he's easily the better option

That's the good shit! Been on the Baron Samedi spiced since midday....
Nice, went to a bourbon bar recently and the only rum they had to drink was Kraken. And i must admit i thought this is a bloody nice drop. BWS has bottles on special for 50 bucks so i bought a few, or even more......

Happy MEel

If they are dummy half options next year we are kidding ourselves, most clubs have one better dummy half, some even have two.
I'm sure Kaysa was signed on potential to become a quality starting hooker, which I can understand. Unfortunately he hasn't become one so we need to look elsewhere. IDG is definitely not the answer.

Obscene Assassin

Is he a tough merkin? He's missed more games than he's played and been injured every season....

Nah mate he is one of the toughest merkins I've ever met, one of the nicest and most genuine too. The reason he is one of the most injured is because of how hard he plays. He will go out there, find the biggest player on the field and try to put him on his bum. With the ball he thinks he's the prop and will run right into the middle of the line. Yes, he is injury prone but no one can ever question the effort or passion that he puts into every game whether it be a Blue and Gold or a Black and White jersey. If the rest of the comp was as hard as he is it'd be a much more interesting game to watch.

IDG is slow as f**k and Kaysa is glass, but I think we can get away with them for next year, IF we sign a reasonable halfback. We won't win the comp next year, but we can make the finals with IDG and Kaysa if our halves are better than what we have now

I'd like us to sign someone like Clydesdale or Moseley or Hodges or re-sign King, because there are plenty of hookers with something to prove out there...but there's no one objectively better than what we have. Except Farah, but he's cancer in human form

Nice, went to a bourbon bar recently and the only rum they had to drink was Kraken. And i must admit i thought this is a bloody nice drop. BWS has bottles on special for 50 bucks so i bought a few, or even more......

That Kraken is good shit dude. I can't do rum since an unfortunate night when I was 19, but the spiced stuff and I get along just fine....

Joshuatheeel

I reckon BA sees Pritchard as probably his number one hooker next year. He started the year in front of IDG ( who started in NSW cup) and was the first hooker to be re-signed.

Yeah Pritchard may not became a "great" but I dont think he is half as back as some make out. His defence is pretty good, he is bloody quick over 20-30 metres ( has made a few breaks this year around the ruck) and his service isn't that bad ( and will improve). His biggest issue is injuries but this year has been his best injury wise ( is he any worse then peats this year?). And hopefully next year will be better.

I see BA as wanting a very strong defensive hooker over a attacking one. He wants one that leads the line speed.

Nah mate he is one of the toughest merkins I've ever met, one of the nicest and most genuine too. The reason he is one of the most injured is because of how hard he plays. He will go out there, find the biggest player on the field and try to put him on his bum. With the ball he thinks he's the prop and will run right into the middle of the line. Yes, he is injury prone but no one can ever question the effort or passion that he puts into every game whether it be a Blue and Gold or a Black and White jersey. If the rest of the comp was as hard as he is it'd be a much more interesting game to watch.

Maybe that's part of his problem. He's not big enough or strong enough to do that. Not to say anything against Kaysa, he clearly puts in, but durability is a big part of toughness IMO. And I say that as a man who had more injuries than Andrew Johns when I played footy.

Shit, I blew every ligament in my ankle playing cricket FFS.

I'm sure Kaysa was signed on potential to become a quality starting hooker, which I can understand. Unfortunately he hasn't become one so we need to look elsewhere. IDG is definitely not the answer.
So it makes it even more strange that we have two more years of IDG.

Happy MEel

Maybe that's part of his problem. He's not big enough or strong enough to do that. Not to say anything against Kaysa, he clearly puts in, but durability is a big part of toughness IMO. And I say that as a man who had more injuries than Andrew Johns when I played footy.

I don't know about that. John Sattler had his jaw broken in the 1970 GF and played on. That's bloody tough!!

Joshuatheeel

I reckon Pritchard is a lot like Benji, started playing grade when they were to small. Takes time to be build bulk / strength / muscle. By the time Benji was 23 or so, he had bugger all injuries.

Pritchard isn't exactly small, probably average in size compared to other NRL hookers. He has had a few injuries this year but not as bad as previous years. Next year is a big year for him

Noise

I

Yeah Pritchard may not became a "great" but I dont think he is half as back as some make out. His defence is pretty good, he is bloody quick over 20-30 metres ( has made a few breaks this year around the ruck) and his service isn't that bad ( and will improve). His biggest issue is injuries but this year has been his best injury wise ( is he any worse then peats this year?). And hopefully next year will be better.

Well no. He hasn't made 1 line break all year.