Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

We only need one strong attacking prop. Him plus Brown plus Evans (the merkin will come good) is enough to fill the rest of the middle with defenders. But wing is our biggest weakness at the moment. We’re best spending our money there. Hopefully Hayne recovers from this injury and owns the position.

I like Gjennings.

It isnt getting blown away. Add Jnr and one more and be fine.
We should have 400k from Scott so its not like bringing Jnr costs us heaps more.
We should get 500k from Matagi and Vave pissn off too.

That's literally what I've been saying all year and you've been shit-talking....ffs!

lingard

I, for one, thought Semi was going to be a huge loss - but in all honesty, I never expected his loss to be this huge.

I reckon Arthur thought he could find adequate cover for Semi in Auva'a, George Jennings, Greg Lelileisuao, etc, and has found out the hard way that Semi was, to be blunt, irreplaceable.

I don't agree. I really don"t think BA is stupid enough to believe that Gennings, Auva'a or Lelilèisuao would come within a million light years of replacing (or covering for the loss of) Radradra. I think his mistake was in thinking that we had the forward power to compensate for it.

Quite possibly.

Either way - was a bit of a mistake to not find a better replacement.

I find Auva'a's go-forward to be lacking (imo, he's the backs version of Peni Terepo).

I like George Jennings, though - doesn't have the pure power of Semi, but can sniff out a try, and is more agile than Auva'a.

Here's hoping Junior Paulo does indeed come home - he'd be a great start to getting our pack on the right track.

lingard

He
Just my opinion, of course - but I reckon Arthur knew Semi would be a huge loss, but maybe underestimated just huge big a loss he would be.

Then again, like Baz said - Semi was so far ahead of the other wingers in the comp that nobody could have replaced him anyway.

Hey, just to make it crystal clear: no one is talking about replacing Semi. We're talking about making appropriate additions to the forward pack in order to compensate for Semi's departure.

No...I said we need 2 new props.
Jnr and one more in our top 17.

So who drops out of the team?

FFS is Leeson Ah Mau or Tevita Pangai Jnr the same player as Junior Paulo? Because I've said heaps about signing them.

Terepo Matagi Vave Scott and probably Gower gone (although I'd offer Gower something cheap), Paulo Ah Mau/TPJ and maybe a young prop in if we can fit.

Alvaro, Junior and Brown start. Ah Mau/TPJ, Mannah and Evans on bench

He

Hey, just to make it crystal clear: no one is talking about replacing Semi. We're talking about making appropriate additions to the forward pack in order to compensate for Semi's departure.

When I say "replace", I am talking about literally getting a player to fill his spot.

Semi is irreplaceable- best winger I've ever seen.

Semi was the best winger in the history of the game.

GJennings would imo do as good a job as if we signed B.Morris.

He is a talented kid who had some bad injuries. He has looked the part and is almost a rookie. Give him the year to improve and see how he goes.

lingard

There is no proof he wasn't either. How do you know he was 100% fit, merkin. How?

What are you basing your assessment on? Text messages from your mates during the game while you were on the mangoes?

There is more evidence that he was fit than that he wasn't. He played well in the trial game. BA said that all our forwards were looking very good; that there would be fierce competition for spots; and that some players would have to miss out despite deserving a place in the team. That's what he said. So it seems unlikely that he would select an unfit player in that situation. Now, we aren't looking at a 'beyond reasonable doubt' situation here; just what seems to be the most likely situation: that Kane Evans was fit, your Honour - and played like my little sister.

Do you reckon BA know he needs a winger?
We should probably discuss it in here for the next 8 months and every time he doesn't sign one, we can abuse him, suggest he didn't even talk to whomever was on the market, blame him for not signing whoever is off contract and lament the fact we all know more than our crap coach yet he doesn't listen to us.
Gold!

lingard

Do you guys reckon BA ever slips into this site late at night over a beer and has a bit of a giggle to himself of how far off the mark some peoples ideas are?

No. I think he'd have more important things on his mind. I hope he does

Dibs

Semi was the best winger in the history of the game.

GJennings would imo do as good a job as if we signed B.Morris.

He is a talented kid who had some bad injuries. He has looked the part and is almost a rookie. Give him the year to improve and see how he goes.
Better job in my opinion. Morris’s best is well and truly behind him

Joely01

Just the players???

Not our pack being too small to compete???

Not our mind numbing boring playing style 5 hit ups and a mid field bomb???

Not to mention our lack of discipline and footy smarts which is something we apparently worked on in the off season. No it’s not all Ba’s fault and some players need a rocket but to just say it’s all the players fault and their attitude is absolute horseshit.

Yet the same squad bar one player was good enough and the things you questioned were never questioned last year...
It’s the players 100%

lingard

The beyond doubt assertion is also coming from those who are suggesting he was a 100% fit.

The argument starts out as a suggestion and then when people climb into you for making such a suggestion it ends up being something you passionately defend to the point where it becomes a much stronger assertion.

Ah! It seems you understand now how the Poo operates when he defends the coach so vehemently, making others become more pasionate about criticising the coach - which then makes them 'whingers'. It's a fun game, isn't it?