Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

King-Gutho94

My thing is having so many jersey is fn BS.
Jerseys should be $99 and polos $50.
Pricing jerseys at $160 is a fair dinkum disgrace
The sporting codes have commercialised ANZAC Day.

Some people have the view its a bad thing.

I do have the 2020 Parra Anzac Jersey and that was a ripper.

Then we went to the abomination in 2022 where it looked schoolkids got some paint and designed a jersey.

Grigor

Bring back the 5 minute sin bin and get rid of the 10 , this way refs won't be afraid to use it and stops debate by nuffies whether it should be 5/10 in the bin

King-Gutho94

i thought Parra had the worst away jersey But it looks like the one newcastle are wearing tonight is by far the worst You wouldn't even think it was the Knights
The Knights are the worst team in the comp.

An absolute rabble in attack and Ponga has played every game.

Lucky for them for they have someone in charge who promotes the fact he made 4 x grand finals as an assistant coach.

He hasn't really gone close in 6 years as the top dog though.

The Knights are the worst team in the comp.

An absolute rabble in attack and Ponga has played every game.

Lucky for them for they have someone in charge who promotes the fact he made 4 x grand finals as an assistant coach.

He hasn't really gone close in 6 years as the top dog though.
They have made the finals more often than not. It’s pretty good for a club that previously won three straight spoons and only made the finals once in three years under Bennett.

The Knights aren’t a big club, and coaching isn’t the problem there.

lucablight

They have made the finals more often than not. It’s pretty good for a club that previously won three straight spoons and only made the finals once in three years under Bennett.

The Knights aren’t a big club, and coaching isn’t the problem there.
I thought Bennett only chooses to go to big clubs instead of a club like ours? They won premierships in 1997 and 2001. Were they a big club back then?

I think they were a big club for a couple of years before Tinkler went broke. The Johns/Harragon years are interesting. They had a lot of great players and a quality foreign coach. Were they a big club back then? They managed to keep all these great juniors, and there is no doubt that there would have been external demand for them. 50% of Newcastle's premierships were under Michael Hagan though. Was it coaching or did they have other advantages back then? And if they had advantages back then, is there a reason they would remain advantages forever? Clubs rise and fall, from a resourcing perspective. Parramatta was a massive club back when poker machines were a major factor in rugby league. These days they're not a big factor.

It’s not the only problem, but it part of it. A club is an ecosystem, you can’t just isolate one part and absolve it of any blame.
It's not about absolving anyone of blame; it's pointing out that the complex nature of a rugby league club and its onfield results means that outsiders are unable to determine blame. Are there better coaches than O'Brien? Undoubtedly. Would any of them want to replace him at Newcastle? This is the question that needs to be answered before blaming Adam O'Brien for Newcastle's lack of success.

Timana

There must be a better way?

Make them sub off for at least 20 minutes (and use an interchange to get someone else on). Needs to be something that gets used more consistently rather than the ref being scared that it might ruin the contest OR finding some token reason to chuck another guy in the bin to keep playing numbers even.

For a send off, maybe forfeit an interchange to get off (and cant come back on), and then use another to get someone else on?

Match review committee can then wipe out players for weeks to come.

Also, for back to back 6 against inside the 20, captain has to interchange.

I dunno. That might all be stupid as well. At least it is an attempt to keep the game a contest.
Maybe like you say mrc suspends them and instead of a 10 min sin bin, the team that was fouled gets 1 extra tackle per set for 10 mins. So in our game, each team got 7 tackle sets. Then when iongi got binned instead, Tigers get 8 tackle sets but iongi stays on the field

Johnny88

Saint, Sinner, Shoosh: Gladys Berejiklian’s unwitting role in Lachlan Galvin mess​

Former NSW premier Gladys Berejiklian’s unwitting role in the Lachlan Galvin mess,

The legal heavyweight in charge of Lachlan Galvin’s bullying complaint against the Wests Tigers just happens to be a Parramatta Eels tragic.
This isn’t to suggest prominent barrister Arthur Moses SC will legally manoeuvre to get the disgruntled Galvin off the Wests Tigers books to join his beloved Eels.
Of course not, although the esteemed lawyer would obviously love to see him there one day, alongside his namesake, champion halfback Mitchell Moses.
The barrister has followed the Eels entire life since growing up in Sydney’s west in a working-class family before becoming a highly-successful lawyer.
In an interview back in 2017, Moses was asked: “When were you happiest?” to which he replied: “When the Parramatta Eels were winning grand finals (39 years ago).”
The barrister was once pictured wearing an Eels beanie on a morning walk with his partner, former NSW premier Gladys Berejiklian.

1745652049100.png

There is a good story, too, as part of their relationship in this Galvin case.
The Wests Tigers’ chairman is former NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell, who Berejiklian once served under in the state Liberal government.
So we now have her partner heading up proceedings against her ex-boss.
Moses did not return phone our phone calls or text messages last week.
Instead, we heard back from Simon Berry who is a solicitor for Galvin.
“We have sought an urgent mediation between the parties to resolve the issues in a constructive manner,” Berry said.
Moses has a long history of being involved in some of the country’s biggest court cases, including rugby league disputes.
In 2008 he acted for the Canterbury Bulldogs against runaway star Sonny Bill Williams.
Ironically, he is currently acting for the Bulldogs in the club’s defence of bullying claims by ex-player Jackson Topine, who has launched a $4 million lawsuit against the club.
SAINT
You little beauty … 27 years after the heartbreak for tens of thousands of loyal North Sydney fans when their old club went broke, the Bears are baaaaack in big-time rugby league. Having a team based in Western Australia but playing six to eight games a year in Sydney will be huuuuge for their long-suffering supporters.
SINNER
AFL 360 host Gerard Whateley opened his show on Wednesday night by having a sly shot at NRL crowds after a weekend in which rugby league attracted 218,833 fans – the highest attendance figures for one round in 27 years. Yes, the AFL gets bigger crowds because Melbourne is such a bleak and miserable city and there is bugger all else to do on weekends but watch aerial ping pong. Perhaps Whateley should look at the TV ratings for both sports where the NRL is a mile in front as the most watched sporting code in the country.
SHOOSH
What is holding back Peter V’landys and Andrew Abdo in NRL player-management reform? For too long they’ve been threatening to weed out the small percentage of dodgy agents who continue to damage the integrity and image of the code. We’re over all the talk – how about actually doing something about it.
SHOOSH
Which two player agents, who work in the same management stable, have fallen out over the manner in which negotiations were carried out in a recent signing.

1745652103187.png
SPOTTED
One Parramatta Eels tragic is already prepared for Lachlan Galvin’s arrival at the club, whether it be this year, 2026 or the following season. He was at CommBank Stadium last week with Galvin’s name on the back of his blue and gold number six jersey.

SPENCER LENIU BLOWS UP AT ANOTHER JOURNO
Roosters forward Spencer Leniu has struck again … just a couple of weeks after his showdown with Johnathan Thurston at Suncorp.
This time Leniu had words with colleague Brent Read, who was working on the sideline for Triple M on Anzac Day at Allianz Stadium.
“I had the headsets on and didn’t hear what he actually said,” Read said.
The veteran journo says he won’t be lodging a complaint.
GALVIN WON’T RUIN OUR FRIENDSHIP
Steve ‘Blocker’ Roach and Benny Elias have declared their friendship will never be broken despite the Lachlan Galvin issue that has divided the two old Balmain teammates.
Roach has labelled departing star Lachlan Galvin a “disrespectful disgrace” for insulting coach Benji Marshall while Elias is firmly in the camp of twice-deregistered agent Isaac Moses, who manages the young playmaker.
Roach says: “What’s wrong with two mates having different views. We’ve spoken about it. Nothing will ever come between us.
“You know Benny rings me every week and he’ll say, ‘How you going, how’s the family, do you need anything?’
“Then he says, ‘You looked after me when we were playing together on the footy field for over a decade and I’ll look after you now.’
“I’ve told him I don’t need anything apart from his friendship.
“That we disagree on what’s played out with Lachlan Galvin doesn’t matter one bit.
“We’re mates for life.”

1745652184338.png

POOR KID LEFT TO FEND FOR HIMSELF
It’s now been two weeks since Lachlan Galvin officially told the Tigers he was out - and 10 months since I first revealed in this column that the teenager originally wanted out from the Wests Tigers.
We’ve heard from Benji Marshall, Jarome Luai, Api Koroisau, Shane Richardson, Galvin’s solicitor, Galvin and his father ina prepared statement, yet still no word from the key player in this circus – twice deregistered player agent Isaac Moses.
After all, he is known for getting his point across in the media via private briefings in daily phone calls to a handful of journalists and his ex-players who are employed in the media.
They then relay his thoughts in a positive manner.
The readers, listeners and viewers are not fools. They want answers.
Not once has this man been properly questioned or challenged about his actions.
It’s quite sad that the poor kid has been left to fend for himself.

GUS FULL OF BLUFF
What game was the great Gus Gould watching on Friday night as the Broncos towelled up his Canterbury Bulldogs in such an emphatic style.
Afterwards Gus tweeted: “Of all games Bulldogs have played so far this season, this was the game I enjoyed the most. Some really positive passages of play.”
Seriously? Sounds like Gus playing his mind games.
BRAD FOR THE BEARS
Your columnist reported in July last year that Brad Arthur was the man who had been earmarked to coach the Western Bears.
Arthur is managed by Gavin and Chris Orr, who will no doubt want to help their man build a competitive roster.
It could be a concern for Arthur’s old club Parramatta where he has such a deep knowledge of the Eels best young emerging players.

YOUNG’S OLD TIES
Remember where you read it first … there’s a chance English winger Dom Young could be heading back to the Newcastle Knights.
Young was dropped from the Roosters side for the Anzac Day game against St George-Illawarra. We’re hearing Knights coach Adam O’Brien would love to get him back.

Pazza

BRAD FOR THE BEARS
Your columnist reported in July last year that Brad Arthur was the man who had been earmarked to coach the Western Bears.
Arthur is managed by Gavin and Chris Orr, who will no doubt want to help their man build a competitive roster.
It could be a concern for Arthur’s old club Parramatta where he has such a deep knowledge of the Eels best young emerging players.

hahahahah

brad had players like smtih and tuivati in flegg

King-Gutho94

Saint, Sinner, Shoosh: Gladys Berejiklian’s unwitting role in Lachlan Galvin mess​

Former NSW premier Gladys Berejiklian’s unwitting role in the Lachlan Galvin mess,

The legal heavyweight in charge of Lachlan Galvin’s bullying complaint against the Wests Tigers just happens to be a Parramatta Eels tragic.
This isn’t to suggest prominent barrister Arthur Moses SC will legally manoeuvre to get the disgruntled Galvin off the Wests Tigers books to join his beloved Eels.
Of course not, although the esteemed lawyer would obviously love to see him there one day, alongside his namesake, champion halfback Mitchell Moses.
The barrister has followed the Eels entire life since growing up in Sydney’s west in a working-class family before becoming a highly-successful lawyer.
In an interview back in 2017, Moses was asked: “When were you happiest?” to which he replied: “When the Parramatta Eels were winning grand finals (39 years ago).”
The barrister was once pictured wearing an Eels beanie on a morning walk with his partner, former NSW premier Gladys Berejiklian.

View attachment 101461

There is a good story, too, as part of their relationship in this Galvin case.
The Wests Tigers’ chairman is former NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell, who Berejiklian once served under in the state Liberal government.
So we now have her partner heading up proceedings against her ex-boss.
Moses did not return phone our phone calls or text messages last week.
Instead, we heard back from Simon Berry who is a solicitor for Galvin.
“We have sought an urgent mediation between the parties to resolve the issues in a constructive manner,” Berry said.
Moses has a long history of being involved in some of the country’s biggest court cases, including rugby league disputes.
In 2008 he acted for the Canterbury Bulldogs against runaway star Sonny Bill Williams.
Ironically, he is currently acting for the Bulldogs in the club’s defence of bullying claims by ex-player Jackson Topine, who has launched a $4 million lawsuit against the club.
SAINT
You little beauty … 27 years after the heartbreak for tens of thousands of loyal North Sydney fans when their old club went broke, the Bears are baaaaack in big-time rugby league. Having a team based in Western Australia but playing six to eight games a year in Sydney will be huuuuge for their long-suffering supporters.
SINNER
AFL 360 host Gerard Whateley opened his show on Wednesday night by having a sly shot at NRL crowds after a weekend in which rugby league attracted 218,833 fans – the highest attendance figures for one round in 27 years. Yes, the AFL gets bigger crowds because Melbourne is such a bleak and miserable city and there is bugger all else to do on weekends but watch aerial ping pong. Perhaps Whateley should look at the TV ratings for both sports where the NRL is a mile in front as the most watched sporting code in the country.
SHOOSH
What is holding back Peter V’landys and Andrew Abdo in NRL player-management reform? For too long they’ve been threatening to weed out the small percentage of dodgy agents who continue to damage the integrity and image of the code. We’re over all the talk – how about actually doing something about it.
SHOOSH
Which two player agents, who work in the same management stable, have fallen out over the manner in which negotiations were carried out in a recent signing.

View attachment 101462
SPOTTED
One Parramatta Eels tragic is already prepared for Lachlan Galvin’s arrival at the club, whether it be this year, 2026 or the following season. He was at CommBank Stadium last week with Galvin’s name on the back of his blue and gold number six jersey.

SPENCER LENIU BLOWS UP AT ANOTHER JOURNO
Roosters forward Spencer Leniu has struck again … just a couple of weeks after his showdown with Johnathan Thurston at Suncorp.
This time Leniu had words with colleague Brent Read, who was working on the sideline for Triple M on Anzac Day at Allianz Stadium.
“I had the headsets on and didn’t hear what he actually said,” Read said.
The veteran journo says he won’t be lodging a complaint.
GALVIN WON’T RUIN OUR FRIENDSHIP
Steve ‘Blocker’ Roach and Benny Elias have declared their friendship will never be broken despite the Lachlan Galvin issue that has divided the two old Balmain teammates.
Roach has labelled departing star Lachlan Galvin a “disrespectful disgrace” for insulting coach Benji Marshall while Elias is firmly in the camp of twice-deregistered agent Isaac Moses, who manages the young playmaker.
Roach says: “What’s wrong with two mates having different views. We’ve spoken about it. Nothing will ever come between us.
“You know Benny rings me every week and he’ll say, ‘How you going, how’s the family, do you need anything?’
“Then he says, ‘You looked after me when we were playing together on the footy field for over a decade and I’ll look after you now.’
“I’ve told him I don’t need anything apart from his friendship.
“That we disagree on what’s played out with Lachlan Galvin doesn’t matter one bit.
“We’re mates for life.”

View attachment 101463

POOR KID LEFT TO FEND FOR HIMSELF
It’s now been two weeks since Lachlan Galvin officially told the Tigers he was out - and 10 months since I first revealed in this column that the teenager originally wanted out from the Wests Tigers.
We’ve heard from Benji Marshall, Jarome Luai, Api Koroisau, Shane Richardson, Galvin’s solicitor, Galvin and his father ina prepared statement, yet still no word from the key player in this circus – twice deregistered player agent Isaac Moses.
After all, he is known for getting his point across in the media via private briefings in daily phone calls to a handful of journalists and his ex-players who are employed in the media.
They then relay his thoughts in a positive manner.
The readers, listeners and viewers are not fools. They want answers.
Not once has this man been properly questioned or challenged about his actions.
It’s quite sad that the poor kid has been left to fend for himself.

GUS FULL OF BLUFF
What game was the great Gus Gould watching on Friday night as the Broncos towelled up his Canterbury Bulldogs in such an emphatic style.
Afterwards Gus tweeted: “Of all games Bulldogs have played so far this season, this was the game I enjoyed the most. Some really positive passages of play.”
Seriously? Sounds like Gus playing his mind games.
BRAD FOR THE BEARS

YOUNG’S OLD TIES
Remember where you read it first … there’s a chance English winger Dom Young could be heading back to the Newcastle Knights.
Young was dropped from the Roosters side for the Anzac Day game against St George-Illawarra. We’re hearing Knights coach Adam O’Brien would love to get him back.

Buzz seems obsessed with the Galvin story

How many cracks did he have mentioning it in his article.