Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

T-Boon

I think that’s probably it. He has just had a baby with beautiful young lady. Perhaps he knows he has no other chance and decides to be a model citizen? He certainly speaks as such.

I haven’t seen him play in so long see how he goes, but geez he looks like a lock to me, not a half.
He always seems like a dirty neck beard type of lad.

Stevie

TBF, I have seen him around a fair bit, and doubt that's the issue. It's weird, as he has plenty to offer.
Maybe giving him a shot as a #13 or #14 in a decent side instead of him needing to be the alpha #7 at every club might make a difference. The #7 inadvertently becomes the face of the clubs play and no one has ever liked that part of him as a young man.
Give him a regular squad spot. No spotlight, just enjoy playing footy.

Joshuatheeel

Maybe giving him a shot as a #13 or #14 in a decent side instead of him needing to be the alpha #7 at every club might make a difference. The #7 inadvertently becomes the face of the clubs play and no one has ever liked that part of him as a young man.
Yes, I reckon if he was willing to do that and take the lessor money (as opposed to the UK) he could have a "late" career revive similar to what the dogs did for Mann (decent squad / top 17 utility player at a few clubs). Where he has really kicked on as a "middle".

Tiger5150

Hastings is a knob on or off the grog.

Hastings has been able to cobble together a career based on two things.
1. he speaks very well in interviews and knows exactly what to say and plays the part when the reality is a completely different thing, good example him v Klemmer a couple of years ago after he was a complete merkin to one of the younger Tigers and then when the TV cameras were on him he went and made a public apology to him who correctly told Hastings to go F himself.

2. There is no better "pointer" in the game of Rugba Leeg. He yells and points constantly trying to give the impression he is an "organising halfback" despite the fact he couldnt organise the proverbial...

There is always fans and a club thinking "He doesnt seem THAT bad...and he sure points a lot, he must be a good organising halfback.....lets give him a crack, Im sure he is just misunderstood and we will be the ones who show him some love and he will turn it all around".

Roosters gave him a chance and kicked him out before the end of his Contract.....
Manly thought they will be the ones to love him and turn him around....then punted him before the end of his Contract....
he looked good in England because they love that pointy thing...
Tigers, in one of their lowest points...thought they will be the ones and offered him a stupid contract that was badly backended....and kicked him out before the end of his Contract..
Newcastle are the dumbest of them all and took on his massively overinflated Contract and despite the fact they are paying $800K, let him rot in reggies.

Im sure Parra are the one who could finally make it happen.....let make it happen.

Tiger5150

Played the vast majority of his games (13) at Roosters at 14.
Played every game other than 1 (12) games at Manly at 14
Played 3 games at Tigers at 13.

Exclusive at 7 at Newcastle.

Soto

Yes, I reckon if he was willing to do that and take the lessor money (as opposed to the UK) he could have a "late" career revive similar to what the dogs did for Mann (decent squad / top 17 utility player at a few clubs). Where he has really kicked on as a "middle".
Please no no and no...we already have Dylan walker. The fact he's been shown the door at a number of clubs speaks volumes. Anyone endorsing him has rocks in their head

Soto

What's wrong with Dylan Walker?
Nothing at all...I'm saying why would we want Hastings or another utility if we already have Walker..
Actually nice guy...had a nice long chat with him a few weeks back..very giving of his time.
Very happy to be back in Aus. He did however enjoy his time in NZ and going out on the boat of one of the players when they had downtime..

emjaycee

Nothing at all...I'm saying why would we want Hastings or another utility if we already have Walker..
Actually nice guy...had a nice long chat with him a few weeks back..very giving of his time.
Very happy to be back in Aus. He did however enjoy his time in NZ and going out on the boat of one of the players when they had downtime..
Yeah, I misread your "no, no, no..." as being because Hastings is a wanker - not because he is a potential 14.
My bad.

Soto

I really don't think he's the kind of player or person Ryles would want.
I'm certain he would promote 2 younger blokes before thinking about Hastings..
Ryies wants to play quick up tempo game. Hastings is everything but those traits

Joshuatheeel

Please no no and no...we already have Dylan walker. The fact he's been shown the door at a number of clubs speaks volumes. Anyone endorsing him has rocks in their head
Never said we should/or not sign Hastings...just he could make a good lock.

Anyhow what is wrong with 2 "Walker"type players in our top 17?

I actually think we do need another "Walker" type player in the 17. Hopgood isn't good enough in the role. While our attack needs someone for 80 mins doing it not just the 40-50 mins Walker does it.

Dogs who are coming first have 2 "Walker" type players in their 17. Hayward and Mann.