Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Stevie

10% on a $1m salary is a lot, on $100k not much. You're obviously earning $100k with your comment above.
Earning $100k? f**k me mate if my wife and I were only earning $100k we’d be deadset on the street.

$100k is about a 1/3 of ehet you need to be earning minimum I’d say if you have a young family these days.

Mate it’s 2025, $100k is a low salary in my books today.

Stevie

Semi was a generational Talent

You could even hear Sterlo get excited & cheered in the commentary box whenever Semi got in space.

And we know Sterlo was very partial & professional during Parra games to not come across as being biased.

It was very rare to see him slip up but Semi even got him off his chair.

Not many other Parra players have done that in Sterlo's career at channel 9.
That’s true I remember that. Sterlo was always split who he got more excited over. Semi or Tom Humble.

Stevie

How f**king funny is it that Tigers board have actually just given the full George Costanza treatment.

Bosses are like “oh you thought we were serious when we sacked you?! Come on!!! We’re funny guys, we’re always making jokes. We weren’t serious…”

1765428200369.gif

Angry_eel

Earning $100k? f**k me mate if my wife and I were only earning $100k we’d be deadset on the street.

$100k is about a 1/3 of ehet you need to be earning minimum I’d say if you have a young family these days.

Definitely in Sydney, it is. Can't speak for other parts of the country.

Pazza

What do you do for work?

eels_fan

think you'll find about 95% of Australian families have a combined income far far far far less than $300k per year.

I'd say 60% or more are probably on less than $100k given the median fulltime salary is around $75k and most young familes wont have 2 fulltime working parents

eels_fan

I may sound like a baby boomer but I honestly don’t know what people do with their money sometimes.
People tend to live to their incomes these days. People push for a pay rise so they can live more comfortably but within months they lift their living standards and in turn outgoings to meet that new income and suddenly need more money to be comfortable or save.

in saying that, if my family was living off a combined wage of $300k a year I’d be having 1-2 overseas holidays a year, not looking for the specials tickets at Woolies and getting annoyed that you barely get change from $25 to buy a takeaway lunch these days

I may sound like a baby boomer but I honestly don’t know what people do with their money sometimes.

I reckon younger generations like Gen z have been conditioned mostly by GEN X to the idea that you only live once, live your best life, travel, have fun, convenience etc.....
GEN X will then profit off them for the rest of their lives.

Stevie

Yeah but I think many people have lost hope. Look at the cost of wages vs median house purchase cost now. Homeownership is a myth for kids without an inheritance.

Our cost of living is a disgrace. Simply driving to work and back is $60+ a day purely in tolls!

We should be the wealthiest continent on the planet but instead our people are getting poorer whilst we have given our country away.