Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Nutz

By divine rights, the fate and to the law of averages, we are due at least 2 premiership in the next 6 years, so any deviances need to be…stomped on.

We’ve paid our dues and now need to stamp our eternal rugby league supremacy on the game now and forever.

It’s our game now and all those bastards who have been knocking and spitting on us…they are going to have to shut the f**k up and wear it.

Red for Go.
Red for Go :) or are you supporting Dragons. I appoint everyone on the WT forum to be the new NRL board.
Our first meeting is facetimed at your local pub.
Everyone has to throw in 50 bucks which we'll recover through media rights.
Before the meeting gets underway, TSP, it's your first shout.

Red for Go :) or are you supporting Dragons. I appoint everyone on the WT forum to be the new NRL board.
Our first meeting is facetimed at your local pub.
Everyone has to throw in 50 bucks which we'll recover through media rights.
Before the meeting gets underway, TSP, it's your first shout.

I’m just acclimatising to the concept of winning a couple a matches. Perpetual miracle, many lotto tickets bought.

Dragons are joint vultures like us, some good folk there.

We’ve got some synergies🍺

Nutz

I’m just acclimatising to the concept of winning a couple a matches. Perpetual miracle, many lotto tickets bought.

Dragons are joint vultures like us, some good folk there.

We’ve got some synergies🍺
You know my connections with Peter and norm are my cousins. Tigers are number 1 because peter was still playing when I took up a love for the sport and started playing myself. I actually played one game of jersey flegg for balmain, did you know that? ha ha :)

If you played for Balmain, I think you should be promoted to a junior deputy moderator here without having to apply.

Nutz

If you played for Balmain, I think you should be promoted to a junior deputy moderator here without having to apply.
I did say 1 game. Pete organised for me to trial for flegg. I broke my collarbone bone and rotator cuff and that was it. But I can say that I laced my boots up in the same sheds as the greats ;)
I finished my 3rd year as a sparky and threw it a in. I went on to play rep rugby after that and joined the army so that makes me half a centre and half the knowledge that I claim to know about rugby league :)
I get my inside oil from my barber who is bloody useless.

Cheers for this.
I smell greed from all parties.
Do you know who loses in all of this....the fans.
Manly supporters, St George over Hunt, we've also been burnt several times but then their was Teddy with Canberra.
The NRL have got their hands tied somewhat. Look how much grief was caused with the on again off again negotiations between Abdoe and Newton.
The players managers are getting too much power and some are backed by the big players Gould and Politas.
I think in all the mess that player negotiations are causing, we the fans are losing out big time.
The NRL know that we will watch the Tigers play, even if we are left with 30 x 18 year old players because we didn't have enough fire power at the table.
The NRL want to keep expanding the competition whilst there's hardly enough to have more two or three marquee players at our existing clubs.
So what is happing now is players who are marquee players arseholes are being thrown heaps of cash all because the agents know they are untouchable.
If every supporter failed to turn up to any games all year until this contract process got fixed up it never will.
In fact it's going to get worse.
Since the salary cap went up and up so did the agents involvement.
All done whilst the NRL who ratifies contracts keeps quiet, hoping the backlash will all go away. So let's talk about Las Vegas next year whilst a foundation club implodes or a group club powerhouse has to close it's doors whilst Perth gets a licence.
Rugby league is facing challenges in country NSW due to a lack of participation, funding and an aggressive approach by the AFL.
The game is prospering at the elite level, demonstrated by the NRL’s increasing attendance and rising TV ratings, but is struggling at the grassroots. Just ask Tamworth RL.
As I said yesterday, our NSW and Qld coastal area breeding grounds need to be shored up.....na, let's talk about poor DCE.
Or more recently, state leagues are preparing legal action against NRL over funding or lack thereof. Sort it out for yourselves say the NRL.
Does anyone care are who finances the NRL as an whole?
It's the fans....yes the fans. Without us, there would be no sponsors, no TV deals, just park footy where it all started years before we were all born.
Unfortunately mate, the fans don't count. The NRL gets it's money from corporate partners, some money from merch, ticket sales to origin, tests, and partially from finals, it's own investments, but mostly its TV money. The money fans kick in mostly benefits the clubs. The 'game' is now a business, and that's never going to change back to what it was. I don't like one bit. It's just the way it is though, and nothing can change it.

I've been giving a bit of thought to the influence of agents, and contracts in general, and come up with some ideas. This is with a view of giving the fans what they want, which is a bit of certainty about players at the club, and ensuring players and clubs treat each other with good intentions. Hopefully this also have a flow on effect of eliminating rampant speculation in the media, on an almost daily basis.

1. The NRL must support that all contracts run for their length, without the addition of any clauses benefiting either the player or club. If a player has a gripe against the club they can go through a corporate complaints process like any other major business. If a club has a gripe with a player then they need to go through a corporate disciplinary process (which most clubs do now.)
2. All player managers are banned at the end of 2025.
3. All future players negotiations have to have a representative from the RLPA (union) present and be between the player, the union rep, and the club. It is mandatory that these meetings be video and audio recorded for accuracy. Anyone found to be negotiating anything outside accepted criteria faces sanctions - players / banned for 1 year for the first offence, and 3 years for a second offence, and life for a third offence - clubs / $1 million removed from the next years salary cap per offence - RLPA / if a rep is found operating out of bounds they are banned from ever being part of negotiations again, with no chance of reversal. so effectively, they'd lose their job.
4. New contracts are not to be discussed until the current contract has expired. I'd change the expiration to the day after grand final day rather than 31 October, which it currently is. This allows all players to be on an equal footing about when they can start negotiating a new contract.
5. The current club can negotiate to extend the contract of a current player prior to it expiring, but if either the player or club want to do this the RLPA must be present for all meetings and they must be recorded.
6. All recording of any negotiation, either successful or unsuccessful must be provided to the NRL salary cap auditors. This will be the responsibility of the RLPA. If they fail to do this, the same punishment applies as in point 3.
7. The NRL, and RLPA have to enter into legal agreement on the proper storage or negotiation recordings, and that they are not be shared under any circumstance, and have it worded in a way that if it is shared, a legal prosecution will take place, on top of a lifetime ban for the offending party.
8. If a club is found to be systemically cheating the salary cap, all player contracts will be deemed null and void, and will have to be re-negotiated. A representative from the NRL salary cap auditors, and integrity unit must be present for all negotiations for the next 5 years, at the clubs expense.

The RLPA would need to staff up considerably to make this work. They'd need to up their dues to cover this. This would still be way less than the 6% to 10% that agents are taking now, so it would effectively give all players an immediate pay rise. I'm loathe to give any union too much power. The penalties in place should stop any shenanigans going on.

I did say 1 game. Pete organised for me to trial for flegg. I broke my collarbone bone and rotator cuff and that was it. But I can say that I laced my boots up in the same sheds as the greats ;)
I finished my 3rd year as a sparky and threw it a in. I went on to play rep rugby after that and joined the army so that makes me half a centre and half the knowledge that I claim to know about rugby league :)
I get my inside oil from my barber who is bloody useless.

Mate, you became a part of the club history as soon as they scrawled your name onto the team list.

Same status as say a Hemsley or Junior.

Nutz

Unfortunately mate, the fans don't count. The NRL gets it's money from corporate partners, some money from merch, ticket sales to origin, tests, and partially from finals, it's own investments, but mostly its TV money. The money fans kick in mostly benefits the clubs. The 'game' is now a business, and that's never going to change back to what it was. I don't like one bit. It's just the way it is though, and nothing can change it.

I've been giving a bit of thought to the influence of agents, and contracts in general, and come up with some ideas. This is with a view of giving the fans what they want, which is a bit of certainty about players at the club, and ensuring players and clubs treat each other with good intentions. Hopefully this also have a flow on effect of eliminating rampant speculation in the media, on an almost daily basis.

1. The NRL must support that all contracts run for their length, without the addition of any clauses benefiting either the player or club. If a player has a gripe against the club they can go through a corporate complaints process like any other major business. If a club has a gripe with a player then they need to go through a corporate disciplinary process (which most clubs do now.)
2. All player managers are banned at the end of 2025.
3. All future players negotiations have to have a representative from the RLPA (union) present and be between the player, the union rep, and the club. It is mandatory that these meetings be video and audio recorded for accuracy. Anyone found to be negotiating anything outside accepted criteria faces sanctions - players / banned for 1 year for the first offence, and 3 years for a second offence, and life for a third offence - clubs / $1 million removed from the next years salary cap per offence - RLPA / if a rep is found operating out of bounds they are banned from ever being part of negotiations again, with no chance of reversal. so effectively, they'd lose their job.
4. New contracts are not to be discussed until the current contract has expired. I'd change the expiration to the day after grand final day rather than 31 October, which it currently is. This allows all players to be on an equal footing about when they can start negotiating a new contract.
5. The current club can negotiate to extend the contract of a current player prior to it expiring, but if either the player or club want to do this the RLPA must be present for all meetings and they must be recorded.
6. All recording of any negotiation, either successful or unsuccessful must be provided to the NRL salary cap auditors. This will be the responsibility of the RLPA. If they fail to do this, the same punishment applies as in point 3.
7. The NRL, and RLPA have to enter into legal agreement on the proper storage or negotiation recordings, and that they are not be shared under any circumstance, and have it worded in a way that if it is shared, a legal prosecution will take place, on top of a lifetime ban for the offending party.
8. If a club is found to be systemically cheating the salary cap, all player contracts will be deemed null and void, and will have to be re-negotiated. A representative from the NRL salary cap auditors, and integrity unit must be present for all negotiations for the next 5 years, at the clubs expense.

The RLPA would need to staff up considerably to make this work. They'd need to up their dues to cover this. This would still be way less than the 6% to 10% that agents are taking now, so it would effectively give all players an immediate pay rise. I'm loathe to give any union too much power. The penalties in place should stop any shenanigans going on.
Mate that was well presented and it's worth another read so I can think about it and respond later...well done.
But just quickly mate the fans in a way pay for everything indirectly.
The first thing Peter V was asked when he got back to Oz was, do you think it was a success?
He said, unsure, we'll have to see how many viewers we got.
It wasn't long ago that clubs relied heavily on gate takings and grounds were massive compared to some games today. Why?
Because families are being outpaced to take a family to the footy and most of them don't mind sitting in front of the telly...it appeals to all ages because media now rules the world.
So the big companies, fox and nine heading them would not pay the dollars if people didn't tune in and pay subscriptions etc.
If you halved of got a quarter of viewers watching next year, how is that going to go with the bean counters.
Sponsors employ people to sus out social media accounts and players followers before nike start shelving out huge sponsorships.
We have to protect our game and that is finding out where all the clicks are coming from, then bombard the group with league....our nursery and rural clubs should only pay a small price to keep these kids from wandering off.

I don’t have issues with player managers unless they are advocating for the breaches of contract. Players don’t really know their rights etc. They need experts.

There is also a role for the rlpa in all of the proceedings. The players have a right to organise like anyone else, even if I wonder about some of their campaigns.

Most players aren’t on these massive contracts, they work very hard and give up a lot for the game. Heaps get injuries that last forever. The clubs and the league would pay them less if they could get away with it.

Business likes to cut its costs.

If we are going to nail players and their support, we need to see what Vlandys and co are ripping out of the game.

Vegas was a mess and this png business worse still. Vlandys said it was about cracking the US gambling market. There’s ethical questions about this goal. We know the project makes

Clubs services to their members are a bit of a joke. Our club in particular is extremely ordinary, no vision, little reward and quite lazy in its offerings.

How our management could charge $80 for a 20 cent sticker and a couple of emails a week is quite unbelievable.

They just expect us to sign and take us for granted.

Ticketed members do even more of the heavy lifting.

Thank goodness the team is flourishing because membership rewards has depreciated in the Richo era.

Nutz

As a 12 yr old kid growing up watching the tigers play at LO the ground was more oval shaped and it used to run more east to west. Our family always sat on a smallish hill at the northern sideline and there was a bigger distance from the fence to the side line, but it was a real bugger watching the game in the arvo with the setting sun. They started in the 70's to turn it into more of a rectangular field running the other way.
It didn't worry me cause I'd just keep walking around and around looking at the game from all angles.
When I ran out onto the field it was mid 70's so the upgrade must have been finished then, unless I'm dillusional again.
More to the point about contracts, I'm just trying to highlight how footy can save people's lives, it did with me as I was left home on weekends whilst my parents pissed it up at the local.
They didn't even know I got a train and walked miles to get to the game and come again. I spent my paperboy money to watch the footy.
Anything the NRL, players, managers or whoever do to jeopardise my sport that I live for, blood will be spilt. Probably be mine but they can't take away me freedom. Quote unquote

Nutz

I don’t have issues with player managers unless they are advocating for the breaches of contract. Players don’t really know their rights etc. They need experts.

There is also a role for the rlpa in all of the proceedings. The players have a right to organise like anyone else, even if I wonder about some of their campaigns.

Most players aren’t on these massive contracts, they work very hard and give up a lot for the game. Heaps get injuries that last forever. The clubs and the league would pay them less if they could get away with it.

Business likes to cut its costs.

If we are going to nail players and their support, we need to see what Vlandys and co are ripping out of the game.

Vegas was a mess and this png business worse still. Vlandys said it was about cracking the US gambling market. There’s ethical questions about this goal. We know the project makes

Clubs services to their members are a bit of a joke. Our club in particular is extremely ordinary, no vision, little reward and quite lazy in its offerings.

How our management could charge $80 for a 20 cent sticker and a couple of emails a week is quite unbelievable.

They just expect us to sign and take us for granted.

Ticketed members do even more of the heavy lifting.

Thank goodness the team is flourishing because membership rewards has depreciated in the Richo era.
Good read. Do you know how financial the NRL is TSP?
I listened to PV the other night and he was talking about the NRL having to invest in other things other than footy, like restaurants. Like apparently they own the big Gambaros restaurant near Lang Park.
But he was acting like if they don't invest they'll go broke. It's the reason they went to Vegas to get the clicks.
Where's all the money then?
Kick all the bludgers out of head office and give their salaries to struggling rural junior clubs, our grass roots.

Nutz

As long as we're successful, I don't really care what happens.
Well that's odd. But then again you may be long gone like me before it turns on its head.
Someone has to care Tm.
If not, you and I would be walking around wearing carbon monoxide poison masks.

Well that's odd. But then again you may be long gone like me before it turns on its head.
Someone has to care Tm.
If not, you and I would be walking around wearing carbon monoxide poison masks.
With respect Nutz, we all care, but what we write here, will have no bearing on anything the NRL might choose to do.
As long as there's footy and we are part of it, that'll do me.
The NRL are talking about $3B deals, they will spend the money where they see fit, I think they could do more for grass roots and country, but other than that, they'll do what they do and a lot of it probably won't be a great benefit to the current teams, except increase the cap.
I just want our little team to kick every other club arse and win more rings than the pennies, I don't think that is too much of ask.

Nutz

With respect Nutz, we all care, but what we write here, will have no bearing on anything the NRL might choose to do.
As long as there's footy and we are part of it, that'll do me.
The NRL are talking about $3B deals, they will spend the money where they see fit, I think they could do more for grass roots and country, but other than that, they'll do what they do and a lot of it probably won't be a great benefit to the current teams, except increase the cap.
I just want our little team to kick every other club arse and win more rings than the pennies, I don't think that is too much of ask.

With all respects too mate, you've posted over 11k posts. Why? I've read a lot of your posts where your concerned about something but then move on.
I can't move on when I know rural clubs are struggling and clubs money to help develop juniors should be increased significantly.
As usual it's clubs like Wests Tigers that get among the community but that is expected of them.
But for the treasurer of a group club
who can only look at the ledgers are scratching their heads and the president is wondering where the the next volunteers are going to come from.
You see when you were a boy, mum probably washed your shorts and socks and ya dad took turns at the BBQ and driving kids to games, but now families are are really struggling and it's hard for junior clubs to keep their lads. But as the cap goes up and up and player and managers pay going up, group clubs aren't getting substantial increases to develop and keep our kids in the game.
I'd like to see our away games go to Tamworth or whoever since they've reduce LO games from 7 to 3-4 if we are lucky and have others follow suit. The reason they won't increase games in rural areas is $ but players are getting more...go figure.
Don't fight, well sit back and watch it slowly erode.
In 2030 it will be a national game, all watched on telly with a few super clubs representing the big cities.
Unless of course you put stumbling blocks in front of the powers to be to say, hey leave the game alone.

WA Tiger

With all respects too mate, you've posted over 11k posts. Why? I've read a lot of your posts where your concerned about something but then move on.
I can't move on when I know rural clubs are struggling and clubs money to help develop juniors should be increased significantly.
As usual it's clubs like Wests Tigers that get among the community but that is expected of them.
But for the treasurer of a group club
who can only look at the ledgers are scratching their heads and the president is wondering where the the next volunteers are going to come from.
You see when you were a boy, mum probably washed your shorts and socks and ya dad took turns at the BBQ and driving kids to games, but now families are are really struggling and it's hard for junior clubs to keep their lads. But as the cap goes up and up and player and managers pay going up, group clubs aren't getting substantial increases to develop and keep our kids in the game.
I'd like to see our away games go to Tamworth or whoever since they've reduce LO games from 7 to 3-4 if we are lucky and have others follow suit. The reason they won't increase games in rural areas is $ but players are getting more...go figure.
Don't fight, well sit back and watch it slowly erode.
In 2030 it will be a national game, all watched on telly with a few super clubs representing the big cities.
Unless of course you put stumbling blocks in front of the powers to be to say, hey leave the game alone.
I don’t know anything about all that but I like that you do and I’m clever, I shut up, so no one knows the level of my ignorance.. well I suppose everyone knows now but you get my point