Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

And he has his ring, so nowhere else to go with Brisbane.

They don’t have the same natural grain fed prey-drive as a Penrith.

They don’t have a Cleary, Dylan Edwards and Yeo with cheeks firmly planted on home turf.

I live out here and as @Kilkenny might agree, playing for the Panthers first grade side is a very high honour. It’s not like we used to be a couple of years ago.

In particular, starting side, early in the season, no injuries.

It’s almost as close to an Origin side as could be.

Although @Vic Mackey, in the full sage mode, might argue that the kangaroos are a good training run for soo.

Their depth and for the love of Ivan and his crew. We trip over junior marquee here. It’s amazing. Thus the beauty of the signing of Attard.

Smug is smug. The broncos are a deranged type of smug. A Chernobyl smug, fish with an extra tail stuff.

Haas knows that and wants some history under his belt.

A coup for souths ( depending on contract).

K

WA Tiger

And, Haas’s management said to south’s if you can match the Broncos he’s urs.. pretty categorical right? This is not a 2 bit player trying to strike a deal. He needed to get out of the Bronks! Why?

And Haas’s management said to south’s if you can match the Broncos he’s urs.. pretty categorical right?

Agreed but that doesn't mean Madge was to blame. It doesn't mean Madge wasn't partially a reason as well. It does mean Hass prefers Wayne over Madge.

WA Tiger

Agreed but that doesn't mean Madge was to blame. It doesn't mean Madge wasn't partially a reason as well. It does mean Hass prefers Wayne over Madge.
And It doesn’t mean Madge wasn’t totally the reason..the next couple of weeks could be the most tumultuous in the Broncos history depending if the Broncos set their mind to getting Haas to flip. Though I think Mitchell and co have convinced him to make the move. Broncos have a lot of pulling power tho and will prob do whatever it takes. The team would be like a flat tyre with the news leading into their title defence, regardless of what they say

WA Tiger

Id say Hass sees a 2nd ring at the Bronc’s way more than he’d see one at souths..regardless of Bennett

Nutz

And, Haas’s management said to south’s if you can match the Broncos he’s urs.. pretty categorical right? This is not a 2 bit player trying to strike a deal. He needed to get out of Bronks! Why?
I missed that article, can you give me the reference please. This is interesting.

Nutz

Nutztet, I disagree

Lomax signed for less re eels.

Galvo signed for less re dogs.
Galvo saw earlier rep duties and possibly a premiership if he succeeded at the dogs which means $. Being young, both his parents and manager saw a better future in dollars by leaving...imo.
Of course being the sook he is he couldn't handle not being the top dog so he went to a proper kennel.
Lomax...well he's a epoilt brat too imo however, his Dragons contract was reportedly back-ended (bigger money in later years).
If he left early he may not have actually received those higher back-end payments so it's feasible that the Dragons may have paid a settlement to release him.....unsure.
Or they may have been happy to move that future cap burden.
Sometimes when a player exits early
there’s a negotiated payout that's not always disclosed or salary paid in advance. That doesn’t always get reported clearly either to my knowledge.
The Eels may have helped line up commercial opportunities, which I've not heard if but it does happen.
TPAs don’t always show in headline salary figures. TPA's can be substantial.
The likely reality was media reported the annual base salary was lower at Parramatta.
But that doesn’t automatically mean that his total take-home across years was lower or that he didn’t gain in structure/security/opportunity.
The contract structure, release terms and third-party deals can change the real value.
Him wanting more $ with the breakawy league became unhinged so he wants to play with the Storm so he's guaranteed to play finals every year and play centre $$$
I agree with Tiger05 in that Haas reuniting with Bennett was a huge contributing factor but I maintain that a premier prop like Haas wouldn't be low balled, that just doesn't make sense.
As I said, the big fellow could have a career ending injury and could lose millions over the years.

Nutz

Hey guys, it makes for a good debate. What this does do, is highlight why contracts need to be transparent.
Many jobs in the public sector are totally transparent.
Salaries are even openly advertised. Why are these show ponies any different.
We'll never know if clubs are cheating the system unless it's 100% transparent. Then you'll see, once and for all, which players are genuinely taking a pay cuts or how much more money they are getting and if the cap is being breached.

Hey guys, it makes for a good debate. What this does do, is highlight why contracts need to be transparent.
Many jobs in the public sector are totally transparent.
Salaries are even openly advertised. Why are these show ponies any different.
We'll never know if clubs are cheating the system unless it's 100% transparent. Then you'll see, once and for all, which players are genuinely taking a pay cuts or how much more money they are getting and if the cap is being breached.
We are supposed to trust the NRL aren’t we?

There is no democratic accountability in the game, because it exists to make a profit and disclosure doesn’t really help the cause.

Nutz

We are supposed to trust the NRL aren’t we?

There is no democratic accountability in the game, because it exists to make a profit and disclosure doesn’t really help the cause.
Depends on how disclosure is handled. What it will do is keep managers accountable.
Apparently the Haas deal has been talked about 6mths ago acording to Inside Ball. They are allowed to so long as an offer isn't made.. integrity HAH.
Haas, according to Kevie, has a deep religious conviction and is a good bloke, he has close rellies in jail and he supports his young sibblings. His family are deeply rooted in Brisbane.
However, Brisbane low balled him. After winning a premiership his salary should have increased but it didn't.
So he got the money he deserved at Souths and reunited with Wayne.

I've always maintained that the NRL are somewhat spineless in tackling issues that is bringing the game into disrepute. They fail to fix contract debacles but then come out and make some dumb rule changes, ironically just before Vegas.
BUT we need to concentrate of grass roots, country, schools and polynesian countries.
Mate I'm a country boy at heart and we used to travel half a day to watch footy. There are several Groups all over the east NSW rural areas that are really struggling and as Sydney becomes too conjested, say 20 years from now, these Groups will need to be stronger to keep churning out the next champions. More and more people will leave Sydney and move to these areas or Queensland.
Whilst going to Vegas generates a greater TV experience world wide I still think that we need to pour more money, resources and TV games into the country groups.
Big deal if initially an NRL games there only draws 10-15k it still promotes the game to the kids and eventually it will grow and grow. Think of all the greatest footy players that have come from the country.
We need to broaden the base of football areas.
I'm passionate about this but I feel the country will always play second fiddle.

Alex Twal signs two-year contract extension.
View attachment 109559

To me this is fascinating. They must be working through extending players on the right dollars too manage the cap. He is 29 now so that gives him 4 more years.

I view this as a risk to us because he isn't an impact player and he must be at the end of his career.

He is consistent and I suppose you can build around a player like that.

To me this is fascinating. They must be working through extending players on the right dollars too manage the cap. He is 29 now so that gives him 4 more years.

I view this as a risk to us because he isn't an impact player and he must be at the end of his career.

I don't see the risk, you do need a few of these no frill guys, and yes it will probably see him finish his career here.
I think clubs are during up players they want, to keep the new franchises from pinching them.

Nutz

I think it's for his realiable D, which is always in the high 90%