Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Ryan Matterson

Had a great finals series for the Chooks. At 194cms and 107kgs he is the same size as Ben Matulino yet can move like a center.

Outlandish Statement Time: Matterson will have a better season then Angus Crichton and push for Origin selection

Ryan Matterson returns to training early following Sydney Roosters premiership victory

PREMIERSHIP hangover?

Nup, not here in Centennial Park this particular Monday morning.

Where with the temperature already pushing high 20s, and Ryan Matterson sweating heavily, the reigning NRL premier churns through a series of sprints alongside younger brother Dean.

While most of the Roosters 2018 grand final side is — quite deservedly — still on holiday in Bali, Thailand, even the US, this workaholic backrower has effectively trained right through in preparation for 2019 … and a new life with Wests Tigers.

Already, his grand final ring has been gifted to dad Paul for safekeeping.

Roosters jersey, packed away in storage too.

And as for Matterson inking one of those tattoos now such a staple of October success?

“Nah,” he concedes once his fitness work is done. “I'm a cleanskin and happy to stay that way.”

Happy to work, too.

Indeed, while Roosters fans are yet to come down from last month's raucous grand final celebrations — a game where Matterson played a key interchange role — the talented Greenacre product is already focused on becoming a Tigers starter.

Despite being signed to the club by now departed coach Ivan Cleary, Matterson has since been assured he is part of incoming boss Michael Maguire's plans.

Better, the 24-year-old is also "completely over" a worrying run of concussion issues which, following three head knocks over as many weeks in May, saw him outed for two months.

Apart from suffering serious migraines, Matterson was also sleeping 16 hours a day, struggling with dizzy spells and battling to cope with even sunlight and the slightest noise.

“And yet all the concussion tests suggested I was right to play,” he reveals. “That's the scariest thing, I was passing the tests.”

But as for being pressured to play?

“Even if somebody had suggested it, I couldn't,” he continues. “Even the lightest jog would leave me feeling like I'd played an NRL game.

“So to then be passing the tests … I can't really explain what that's like.

“But it gets to the point where you have to draw a line in the sand and say ‘no, I'm not right’.”

While Roosters players are off until the end of November, Matterson rested for just over a fortnight before returning to training alongside Dean, a promising five-eighth signed with Canberra's feeder club Mounties.

Elsewhere, the Tigers recruit has also been rehabilitating a wrist injury at Cato Rutherford's Lift Performance Centre in Redfern.

“Personally, I need to keep going,” Matterson says. “If I don't train, I don't feel good.

“And with my brother Dean being a playmaker, it means we can do both fitness sessions and ballwork — where I'll run different lines off his passes.

“Plus, I like to keep on the front foot.

“That's the thing about winning a premiership, it makes you hungry to win more.”

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...y/news-story/d72825d16496018c9f457b543639e834

I hope this guy performs to a really high level for us. I think he fixes our right edge backrow spot but you could play him at 13. I think he would be really good at 13. A big skillful fast lock.

Tommy Smith

He played his best footy in the middle where his speed and footwork saw him punch through the line often - and indeed break the line in the GF.

I hope he goes well for you guys. Momirovski, too, who was kind enough to release Gagai from his pocket for the Test matches.

He played his best footy in the middle where his speed and footwork saw him punch through the line often - and indeed break the line in the GF.

I hope he goes well for you guys. Momirovski, too, who was kind enough to release Gagai from his pocket for the Test matches.

I agree he was really good in the second half of the year off the bench in the middle. His defence against Souths was top notch and he made huge inroads in the GF after the props got the roll on. The issue wwill be whether he will be getting the ball on the 3rd/4th tackle with that roll on with us to allow him to be effective in the middle.

Apparently Ivan promised him first crack at right edge which has been an issue for us for years. Rochow, Aloiai and MCK all looked ok at various stages but neither did enough to lock it down. I believe thats where he'll start but if he doesnt work out can then be drifted back in.

He has a similar frame and his career has followed the same path as Curtis Sironen. Juniour star 5/8 who was always destined for the back row. Difference is Matterson has proven he's tough enough to fit in there whereas Siro was putting up Adam Blair like stats.

What are your thoughts on Momirovski mate? I watched him a bit for Wyong and thought he never stood out. However in that grade being a center/winger can be tricky as most halves are bog average and never give them any good ball.

My mate whos a big Roosters fan has big wraps on him and said if he wasnt injured all of last year may have got the jump on Latrell/Manu and been hard to drop.

Specialist left center which again has been a problem area for us since Simona opened a Sportsbet account.

Tommy Smith

What are your thoughts on Momirovski mate? I watched him a bit for Wyong and thought he never stood out. However in that grade being a center/winger can be tricky as most halves are bog average and never give them any good ball.

My mate whos a big Roosters fan has big wraps on him and said if he wasnt injured all of last year may have got the jump on Latrell/Manu and been hard to drop.

Specialist left center which again has been a problem area for us since Simona opened a Sportsbet account.
Tbh I never watched much of Wyong so can't comment there.

There's no way he would have got the jump on Latrell or Joey. But that's no mark against Momo because those two are absolute monsters.

What I like about him is that he's a very strong defender and of high character. That's why Robbo picked him in the Prelim. I can't speak much for his attack but he's a big kid and scored a strong try vs the Titans.

Having had Naiqama for a while I'm sure you can appreciate the importance of a big, strong defensive centre so he's already an upgrade there.

Tbh I never watched much of Wyong so can't comment there.

There's no way he would have got the jump on Latrell or Joey. But that's no mark against Momo because those two are absolute monsters.

Certainly not saying he would be better then either of those two. More so I’m reference that he’s a year or two older. With Latrell getting dropped last year and Manu mainly playing wing if Momo didn’t have an early season ending injury he might have established himself in first grade before they got a chance.

Das Hassler

He ( Momo) reminds me a little of Shane Elford ( at his best)..big and smothering with good awareness of the man either side.

simmo1

I had never paid much attention to Matterson previous to signing him. I had suspicions that he may have been an average player in a great team, and possibly another Adam Blair.

He was awesome in the finals though. If he plays at that level he will be an excellent signing for us.

I like this guy as well. The problem is my expectations are now really high. I'm expecting we have a couple of the best edge back rowers in the comp next season.